Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Get fit, or Die trying ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,417 ✭✭✭Dr4gul4

lol this will be interesting so

Roysh went to Tf in sandyford to night, met Dragan, Kenny 5 and jayroc

Dragan, savage man doing 1 arm rows at 60kgs and there i was squatting 60kg's thinking i was doing ok.

Jay thanks for the advice on the dead's i'll try and be carefull

Squats
    30x10
    50x10
    55x10
    60x5x2

Straight Leg DL's
    30x10
    50x10
    60x10
    65x10

DL's
    30x10
    50x10
    60x10
    70x10

LP
    140x10x3

Lunges after each set of DL's and LP's

DB curls
    12.5x10x3

Rower
    Lvl 12 500mtrs in 1.43 mins

Walked 600mtrs

Strange but i always feel i could do more with my legs, more as in more exercises.

I just need to find out what else i can do

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Dr4gul4 wrote:

Strange but i always feel i could do more with my legs, more as in more exercises.

I just need to find out what else i can do

Just do more and heavier squats! Seriously, if in doubt, get under the bar!

Good move on not neglecting the hamstrings too, it will serve you well.

thanks for the comments trib, Tbh it's either the RAM working miracles or i really didnt do enough last nite, as my legs feel okish today, there a little sore but no where as bad as they were last week.

Had a cardio night up TF tonight, my self and the big man Kenny 5 to keep me going.

Warm up
    Did about 600 Meters of a jog while waiting for kenny.

Main doings
    45 min Medium spin class.

Cool down
    Ehhh 600meter walk and about a gallon of water.

It's been a while since i've done any cardio and i only arrived back from liverpool this morning ( with my new bike in case you all didnt realize :D )
    and was pretty tired.

Well when i met mark earlier he asked me if i was going to the gym, i nvr though i'd be sitting on a damn bike for 45 mins and urinating out of every pore.

Over all, the first 10 to 15 minutes were horrific, simply horrific.

Once i got the old breathing sorted i was gettin in to the action, and the water.

Thank feck Mark kept me going, there was a good few moments when i could have walked. but im glad i didnt.

Tomorrow it's back and chest .

Back n chest.

Warm up

Bicept curls
    12.5x10x3

Bench press
    40x10
    45x10
    50x5
    50x5
    40x10

Assisted dips
    52.5x10x3

Assisted Pullups
    52.5x10x3

Inclined Bench Press
    40x10
    45x10
    45x9

DB Press
    15x10x2

Shrugs
    45x20x2

Preacher curls
    20x10x2

Thats it folks, i think i for got a few bits, i'd have done leg sweepers however sum dood was benching inside the damn rack for ages. and i couldn't wait.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,521 Mod ✭✭✭✭BossArky

I'm still waiting for that video!

i'm waiting for the return of christ but he hasnt had the time to come back yet it seems, maybe like me, he just hasnt had the time.

DB Curls - 12.5x10x3
    MP - 40x10x4
    UR - 40x10x4
    RDR - 40x10x4
    BC's / 21's - 25x21x3
    DB Over head's - 17.5x10x3
    SC's - 25x10x1
    Floor Sweepers - 40x20x2

Twas a prety short session tonight, i was short for time any way.

Got sum great pointers on cleans from Dragan though.

Shoulders are burning nicely tonight.

Well im home, a good while now, had me 2 cups of tea already :D

Put down a good day in TF with sum of the folks from the TT forum.

Well when i finally got going.

Squats

40x10
    50x10
    60x10
    60x5
    50x10
    Thanks for the help T-ha

Deadlifts
    40x10
    60x10
    60x10
    Thanks for the help G'em

Leg press
    80x10
    120x10
    120x10

Floor sweepers

40x20
    40x20

Feel the burn, i know i can still :rolleyes:

Did a half a Km jog to finish.

Went for food after nuummmm noommm

G'em missed her ride, she decided to go with ali in her car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,819 ✭✭✭✭g'em

Dr4gul4 wrote:
    G'em missed her ride, she decided to go with ali in her car.
    smart arse :p I wanna have a go!!!!! puh-leeeeeeasee!!!!

g'em wrote:
    smart arse :p I wanna have a go!!!!! puh-leeeeeeasee!!!!

Exqueeze me missy, but im merely requoting what you said.

I'll get a spare lid one of these days and pick ya up 4 a spin up the M50 when it's sunny, not to day though..... damn rain

Doms in my legs are still paining me to day, im sure thats a good thing, means i was finally doing them semi correctly on the last set.

Bench Press
    40x10
    45x10
    50x10
    55x5

Inclined D/Bell Press
    12.5x10
    17.5x10x2
    Superset
    Rear Rows
    22.5x10xL+Rx3

Shrugs
    50x10x3

Inclined B/Bell Press
    40x10
    45x10
    50x5
    45x10

Lateral Pull Downs
    57.5x10
    65x10x2

Assisted Dips
    52.5x10x3

Assisted Pull ups
    52.5x10x3

Cardio

Cross trainer
    Lvl 12 10 mins

Push ups
    10x3 ish

RAM !!!!!

In the words of the Fraggles

Lift you're Doms away,
    Worries for another day ;) ....

Arms are quite sore now after this, my back is a little sore, what worries me most is that my cheat is nvr really sore, which leads me to believe that im not benching properly.

Might ask Dragan on thursday for sum advice ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭tribulus

Do you feel it more in your front delts or armpit are when you bench?

It's hard to say without seeing you but like a lot of people you could probably do with tucking your elbows in slightly when you bench, it will save your shoulders in the long run and you should feel it in you pecs more ;)

hmm front delts, kinda ( if only i could remember ) i think i feel it more in my arms. maybe i'll drop in to mick's if he'll let me :p and u can see what im doing wrong trib

i'm going to start by saying, my chest is sore, im guessing thats a good thing.

Changing my diet a little, going to do a carb less ( ish ) diet, bar my post work out RAM.

Tonights work out was savage, i don't really know why it was, i just had this weird feeling going in to the gym that i was going to pound my arms and shoulders until i was close to screaming.

And .... well i pretty much did...

Military Press
    40x10x4

Upright Row
    35x10x4

Over head D/bell Ext - Superset with 1 Arm Rows
    22.5x10x3 - 27.5x10xL/Rx3 This was pretty painfully right here.

B/Bell Curls
    25x21x4 - Savage, i could really feel these in the arms each time.

Skull Crushers
    25x10x3

Assisted Dips
    52.5x10x3

Assisted Pull-ups
    52.5x10x3

D/Bell Curls
    12.5x10x1 - had to stop here, couldn't actually do any more at this point

So that was to days savage set, im pretty sore all over, my back, my arms, my shoulders but i think it's finally paying off, the MP's were tough, but not seriously tough, the UR's also were tough but not really hard.

I might do a nite of cardio to morrow nite, and then do legs on thursday. depends my legs are still a little sore from Saturdays squats.

So i wasn't going to the gym this evening, there i was after me fish, playing Scarface on me xbox. taking over sum beach front property.

So the big man kenny 5 drops me a txt

8 bells, and at 8:25 im standing in front of a squat rack. speed limits, well... i was free wheeling along the way ;) at 60 mph

so i found out a few extra points tonite, thinks to this small dwarf dude from LOTR's

51765.jpg

I **** you know he was just missing the Axe.

so any way, it seems i should stop my bounce in the middle of my squat, i need to drop down, and pause, then push back up forcing my hips out.

Also, it seems i for sum strange reason bend my knee's in on the way up, along with my feet, so im putting all my weight on the inside of my feet. ( new shoes im thinking )

any way on with the session.

D/Bell Curls
    12.5x10xL/R

Back Squats
    barx10
    40x10
    50x10
    60x6
    60x7
    50x10

Deadlift
    barx10
    40x10
    50x10
    60x10

i was pretty tired at this point,and my back was getting a little sore.

Leg Press
    80x10
    120x10
    120x10

Floor Sweepers
    40x20x3
    Ohh god was i sore in the middle of the second set of these.

RAM !!!

Thats it folks, Gimli gave me sum decent advice, fair play to him, even tho he was a little feaky looking he maintains i have good form.

Sleep now, to morrow is a rest nite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Twas a good session dude, good job.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 405 ✭✭Patto

Dr4gul4 wrote:
    i'm going to start by saying, my chest is sore, im guessing thats a good thing.

Changing my diet a little, going to do a carb less ( ish ) diet, bar my post work out RAM.

Tonights work out was savage, i don't really know why it was, i just had this weird feeling going in to the gym that i was going to pound my arms and shoulders until i was close to screaming.

And .... well i pretty much did...

Military Press
    40x10x4

Upright Row
    35x10x4

Over head D/bell Ext - Superset with 1 Arm Rows
    22.5x10x3 - 27.5x10xL/Rx3 This was pretty painfully right here.

B/Bell Curls
    25x21x4 - Savage, i could really feel these in the arms each time.

Skull Crushers
    25x10x3

Assisted Dips
    52.5x10x3

Assisted Pull-ups
    52.5x10x3

D/Bell Curls
    12.5x10x1 - had to stop here, couldn't actually do any more at this point

So that was to days savage set, im pretty sore all over, my back, my arms, my shoulders but i think it's finally paying off, the MP's were tough, but not seriously tough, the UR's also were tough but not really hard.

I might do a nite of cardio to morrow nite, and then do legs on thursday. depends my legs are still a little sore from Saturdays squats.

Dave, the DIP/Pull up assist machine downstairs in TF only assists you half the weights on the plates (whatever way the pulleys work, I don't understand exactly). So if you have 52.5Kg of assitance plates you are in fact only getting 26.25Kgs of assitance. I tested it on Tuesday by balancing plates on the seat.

I was delighted, I hate that damb machine, you can't lean forward enough, without sticking your head into a pully, to get decent form on the Dips. Only 10Kg of assitance to go, hopefully I'll be off it for good in 4-6 weeks.

Lol, how did i miss you running around with Plates to the Dips thingy on Tuesday lol.

Well thats good news then, i only need to work harder now to get off the damn thing.

TBH the day i can do my 1st unassisted dip i'll buy you all lunch ( you all being you and kenny )

• Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭ali.c

I thought that dip machine was well awkward on sat!! No doubt you'll get your first unassisted dip in no time! Good work on the squats btw!

yup it's prety damn annoying, i try to stay back off it as much as possible and lean in to the machine. so my chest gets a good stretch.

Any way to nites rest nite for me, thank feck :D

just an update on my cut / carb depletion diet

so fat things are okish, im semi hungry at times but it's not as bad as i though it would be.

i'm takin supercuts 3 for the fat burn/ appetite suppressant, 6 tabs a day, there pretty big.

Sum BCAA's to prevent the break down of muscle and loss of strength.

CEE twice a day, and RAM only after a resistance workout.

And no im not eating broccoli or cauliflower, jebus i dont think i will ever be able to eat this stuff.

Current weigh in 92 Kg's so im up two Kg's it's been a while since my weight has moved.
    This is only day 3 or 4 of this cut so it's early days yet.

Nice to see you on boards ali, and remember if ure other half give you lip, just threaten to kick his ass if he dosent cop on ;)

Took two days rest.

Bench press
    Bar x 20
    40 x 10
    45 x 10
    50 x 10
    55 x 6
    40 x 10

1 Arm Rows
    22.5 x 10
    25 x 10
    27.5 x 10
    25 x 10

Inclined Bench Press
    Bar x 10
    40 x 10
    45 x 10
    50 x 7
    40 x 10

Inclined D/Bell Press
    12.5 x 10
    17.5 x 10 x 2

Dips
    52.5 x 10 x 3

Pullups
    52.5 x 10 x 3

Lat pull down
    57.5 x 10
    65 x 10
    57.5 x 10

Mill
    2k @ 10kph

RAM !!!

Time for sum tuna i think, arms and shoulders to morrow, looking forward to that. i get the feeling im still not working my chest muscles enough ( there not sore )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭maxi-twist

Dr4gul4 wrote:
    i get the feeling im still not working my chest muscles enough ( there not sore )

Try some flyes on the pec deck machine,they always hit the inner pecs.

maxi-twist wrote:
    Try some flyes on the pec deck machine,they always hit the inner pecs.

Fock new there was sum thing i should have tried

Warmup

D/Bell Curls
    12.5x10xL/R

Military Press
    40x10
    45x10
    50x6
    50x5
    40x10

Upright Row
    40x10
    45x10
    40x10

1 Arm rows Superset with French Press
    27.5 x L/R + 17.5 x 10 x 3

B/Bell Curls - 21's
    25x21
    30x21
    30x14
    30x10

Shrugs
    60x20
    60x20

Dips
    52.5x10x3

Pullups
    52.5x10x3

Hammer shoulder uppy thing that this called kenny ?
    10x20

Hammer shoulder thingy once again bit lad
    20x2

Fly
    40x7
    40x5
    35x10

D/Bell Curls
    12.5x20x2

Fock me shoulders, arms feel pretty damn tired

Warmup

D/Bell Curls
    12.5x10xL/R

Military Press
    40x10
    45x10
    50x6
    50x5
    40x10

Upright Row
    40x10
    45x10
    40x10

1 Arm rows Superset with French Press
    27.5 x L/R + 17.5 x 10 x 3

B/Bell Curls - 21's
    25x21
    30x21
    30x14
    30x10

Shrugs
    60x20
    60x20

Dips
    52.5x10x3

Pullups
    52.5x10x3

Hammer shoulder uppy thing that this called kenny ?
    10x20

Hammer shoulder thingy once again big lad
    20x2

Fly
    40x7
    40x5
    35x10

D/Bell Curls
    12.5x20x2

Fock me shoulders, arms feel pretty damn tired

In good news im down from 92 Lbs to 91 yippee .. my crazy ass low calorie diet is working.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 317 ✭✭rainglow

Dr4gul4 wrote:
    In good news im down from 92 Lbs to 91 yippee .. my crazy ass low calorie diet is working.

I hope you mean kg!! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭ali.c

congrats on the weightloss nice work!!

fock yea KG but there again it could be time of day / food / gone to the jacks etc etc.

I will say this, my shoulders are in bits. but i love the way you're muscles feel red hot for hours after a good workout