Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The accent

• Registered Users Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭PixelTrawler

No, I didn't say that. I don't live 10 miles down the road either smartarse; plus, if you think you're that smart, you would know Galway is more than 10 miles from Dublin.

I think what the poster meant is that for such a small country Ireland has a massive variation in accents. For example Athlone and Roscommon are about 15 miles apart and have completely different accents. And theres a variation of accent in between!

Anyway back to the Galwah accent - my gf is German and she says things in a very distinct Galway accent now! She says "grand" just like a local now...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

And we say "ten" like "tin", and "deaf" as "dif". It sounds a bit like Eamonn De Valera in that movie the treaty.

NeoSlicerZ wrote:
    Was playing poker in a casino the other day, dealer asks me if I'm american -_-;, lived in Galway my entire life. Sigh.

You'd be amazed at number of times that's happened to me. One customer in work wouldn't even believe me when I said that I wasn't from the States, and that I had lived in Galway most of my life.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭hairyfairy00

Nearly everyday in work some customer will say "So what part of the country is your accent from"? When i tell them Galway, like boneyarsebogman, half of them don't believe me. :mad:
    I grew up in Westside, which does have its own accent and some people (from galway) find it hard to believe that not everyone from around westside talks like a skanger.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭fricatus

biko wrote:
    If any of you can produce evidence to suggest that Galway people have accents, I will be happy to defer to you.

Ah come on, Galway people do definitely have an accent, but I agree that it is a fairly "default" accent that you hear generally across the west (Mayo and Roscommon too). Think Mick Lally or Padraig Breathnach. As someone else said, ask a Galway person to say "howsagoin" and you'll see what I mean... or ask them to say the name of their city, and it will come out something like "Gawl-weah".

And everyone thinks their own area has no accent. I remember someone in Waterford saying that we had no accent. To think that someone could say that with a straight face!

• Registered Users Posts: 570 ✭✭✭stevecrow74

Caliden wrote:
    cregmore/athenry has an accent?
    Been livign here all my life and never noticed

why would you.. you live there...:rolleyes: :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,178 ✭✭✭kevmy

fricatus wrote:
    Ah come on, Galway people do definitely have an accent, but I agree that it is a fairly "default" accent that you hear generally across the west (Mayo and Roscommon too). Think Mick Lally or Padraig Breathnach. As someone else said, ask a Galway person to say "howsagoin" and you'll see what I mean... or ask them to say the name of their city, and it will come out something like "Gawl-weah".

That is the way its pronounced though. I really hate it when people pronounce it Gal-Weah. Corkonians are the worst for it although it pretty poor all over Munster. Yer man Tony Davies on the Sunday Game is particularly bad I wonder sometimes how Lyster restrains himself from jumping across the table and slapping him in the smig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Telling if somebody is from Galway is mostly dialect rather then the actual accent. For example, whenever I used to go away on holidays, and meet people from Ireland, other Galweigans let alone Irish people in general could never say where I'm from just based on my accent.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭galah

Anyway back to the Galwah accent - my gf is German and she says things in a very distinct Galway accent now! She says "grand" just like a local now...

Funny - the bf is from Galway, and could hardly contain himself when I (German) told our cat to 'geddout te f*ck ya little bollix'.

A couple of years in Galway will ruin your accent forever, I tells ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭Kristinaxxs

galah wrote:
    Funny - the bf is from Galway, and could hardly contain himself when I (German) told our cat to 'geddout te f*ck ya little bollix'.

A couple of years in Galway will ruin your accent forever, I tells ya!

Lmao good! I hate my english accent! It sounds so common. I wanna say "think" like "tink" and "three" like "three"

So cute!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,146 ✭✭✭Ronan|Raven

Lol, I pulled this guy in a club, mind you I dunno if he was drunk but I was off my face and I still understood him.:p

I was pretty sober at the time. How you keeping since?

• Registered Users Posts: 445 ✭✭soundbyte

And we say "ten" like "tin", and "deaf" as "dif".

Ahh, well that's where the Mayo accent kicks in. You have to remember there must be about 10,000 Mayo blow-ins in the city at the mo.

And getting back to one of the original posts, around 30 people in my class at college (from all around the country) said my accent, which I consider a "plain" accent, was not noticeable at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 75 ✭✭Kristinaxxs

I was pretty sober at the time. How you keeping since?

Lmao, he was called Brendon

• Registered Users Posts: 2,327 ✭✭✭NeoSlicerZ

Lmao good! I hate my english accent! It sounds so common. I wanna say "think" like "tink" and "three" like "three"

So cute!
    No... no you don't really

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭moldypeach

So cute!
    hi im new to the forum and galway from england originally lol but i have to agree im starting ot pick things up quickly like tink and filem makes a change from usual london ish accent though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 264 ✭✭cacio

i get asked if i'm from whales, sweden, norway etc all the time. not one person would say i have a "galway" accent and i've lived here all my life. most people think its a neutral accent anyways.
    and most people i know do NOT say 'tink' or 'tree(3)'. it's so annoying when people dont pronounce th properly. whats so hard?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

And we say "ten" like "tin", and "deaf" as "dif". It sounds a bit like Eamonn De Valera in that movie the treaty.
    lol what time is it tin to tin put on the kittle so :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭Muzzy

Galway defnitly has an accent, and many different ones too.

Small ball country, Athenry/Loughrea/Craughwell have a very distictive accent.
    I'm from Tuam and we have an accent.
    There's a seperate accent from the city as well.
    And the folks from the Islands have there own accent too.

I've a Tuam accent when I'm drunk/stoned but am always asked if I'm from Dublin/Kildare/Meath durin the day but when I'm in Dublin I always get, "Ah, yer a Galway man" the dubs love us, from my experience anyway!

• Registered Users Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I've been told by Americans that we speak allot faster in Galway but it's easier to understand than a Dublin or Cork accent.
    I love that when the blow ins (:p ) start using our frases, hearing a Brazilian saying Jaysus like an old farmer is priceless. That seems to be the first one they pick up too.
    I'm from Tuam and we have an accent.
    Ye sure do scan, I didn't realise it until I was over in a small town in eastern Europe, hadn't heard an Irish accent in over a month and what do I hear when I walk into me hostel.

• Registered Users Posts: 101 ✭✭Bonzodog

Heh...I'm from the Uk (leicester), but I grew up with a Brummie/East Midlands accent, with a bit of Oxford (mother), and a smattering of East London (Father).

I've been here nearly 3 years now, and I have started using Irish Phrases, like "Jayzuz" and "Sin e". I have picked up about 40 words of Irish as I lived and worked around Spiddal for 18 months. I also have started saying things in a more Irish way like "can ye not do that?" instead of "why can't you do that?" etc....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 389 ✭✭Jamey

ScumLord wrote:
    Ye sure do scan, I didn't realise it until I was over in a small town in eastern Europe, hadn't heard an Irish accent in over a month and what do I hear when I walk into me hostel.

I think it must have been a Milltown man you heard in the hostel..! Bad idea to call a Tuam person scan, sham. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 6,790 ✭✭✭cornbb

ScumLord wrote:
    I love that when the blow ins (:p ) start using our frases, hearing a Brazilian saying Jaysus like an old farmer is priceless. That seems to be the first one they pick up too.
    Haha, so true. I went to college with a Californian who started using the words "feck", "lads" and "jaysus". He also developed a brown sauce addiction over here. Hilarious stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 143 ✭✭elpresdentde

the ballybane is accent probably the strongest in galway

• Registered Users Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭hiscan

Jamey wrote:
    I think it must have been a Milltown man you heard in the hostel..! Bad idea to call a Tuam person scan, sham. :D
    ye should listen to the sawdoctors all the way from tuam that explains alot of the names