Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Adventures you've gone on.

• 18-02-2007 8:50pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,372 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

Last summer me and my friends (my friends and i - whatever!) got bored, and decided to walk to bray - from whitehall. It was a 10 hour walk (people bought drink, got drunk and sobered up on the way, which slowed us down) and it was feckin brilliant. I suppose it wasn't strictly an adventure, but i was wondering what kind of stuff other people have done during long, boring breaks from school/work/college/whatever or any ideas people have for stuff to do.
    Finding some tunnels from the underground ireland thread does sound appealing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,403 ✭✭✭passive

On a very similar note; myself and about 7 friends walked from Bray-Howth for charity one time when we were 17ish.. Took ages, stopping for sweets at every single shop didn't really help though. It was a really great day and one of my best memories :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭So Glad

Sounds fun, I'd just like to **** off with a load of my mates into the country and go see here and there, do whatever we please. S'pose it's all to do with money, eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

During 2005 while I was in the states on a long hot boring day my cousin who lives there and I decided to go on a drive, anyway the drive lasted 800miles and took us from Queens, New York to the Indiana State line, it must have lasted near 10 or 11 hours and entailed several stop off for Gas, Wendy's, more Gas (20MPG car) and of course the gall bladder had to be emptied. The plan was to head to Chicago but we then decided to scrap that idea and went to 6 Flags Great Adventure in New Jersey the following Day.

The Highlight was a blowout on the Highway in the middle of some old oak forest somewhere in Rural Pennsylvania doing over 80MPH ! :eek: That was one fun roadtrip, incidentally we had been watching the movie "RoadTrip" the day before and it gave us the inspiration for the trip. That was one of my longest adventures! An 11 Hour Journey to Donegal comes to mind as a child too... shudders with memories of awful carsickness.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

So Glad wrote:
    Sounds fun, I'd just like to **** off with a load of my mates into the country and go see here and there, do whatever we please. S'pose it's all to do with money, eh?
    Buy a tent and then all you have to worry about is food :) And drink ;) And badgers :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,472 ✭✭✭So Glad

DaveMcG wrote:
    Buy a tent and then all you have to worry about is food :) And drink ;) And badgers :/

Eat the ****in' badgers, now I've only to get drink!

:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36,634 ✭✭✭✭Ruu_Old

So Glad wrote:

You'd be surpised how far a Ryanair flight can bring you, get a good deal and head off somewhere. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,249 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

Me and a mate went quadding at home last year at about 9:30pm through forestry,rivers mountain trails in pitch dark, ended up on the fringe of an army firing range and watched flares and infantry manouvres, some laugh!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭brianthebard

So Glad wrote:

You could do worse than to hit the fleadh cheoil or any of the numerous festivals that happen in the country over the summer. I've often thought of taking a trip for around the country taking in all the festivals and stuff. One big long party for a whole summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,711 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Bought a coulple of buses (with 22 other people), renovated them, drove them from Denmark to India, dossed around Inida for a bit, drove them back.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,452 ✭✭✭Time Magazine

netwhizkid wrote:
    During 2005 while I was in the states on a long hot boring day my cousin who lives there and I decided to go on a drive, anyway the drive lasted 800miles and took us from Queens, New York to the Indiana State line, it must have lasted near 10 or 11 hours and entailed several stop off for Gas, Wendy's, more Gas (20MPG car) and of course the gall bladder had to be emptied. The plan was to head to Chicago but we then decided to scrap that idea and went to 6 Flags Great Adventure in New Jersey the following Day.

The Highlight was a blowout on the Highway in the middle of some old oak forest somewhere in Rural Pennsylvania doing over 80MPH ! :eek: That was one fun roadtrip, incidentally we had been watching the movie "RoadTrip" the day before and it gave us the inspiration for the trip. That was one of my longest adventures! An 11 Hour Journey to Donegal comes to mind as a child too... shudders with memories of awful carsickness.
    Anyone else see the potential logistical problems with travelling 800 miles in 10-11 hours (72mph non-stop) including "several" stops for gas, stopping for food, stopping for toilet breaks and also fixing a burst tyre on the way?

Did you pick up some hookers on the way too?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,563 ✭✭✭connundrum

When I was like 11 or 12 myself and my best mate decided to go exploring. We planned to use an old map of the area and try find a lake, whilst not using and modern roads etc.

6 hours later we had gone about 15 miles, had countless nettle stings and were very hungry. We had to go into a farm house and ring my ma to pick us up. Good times though, good times. Never did see that lake :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Haven't a Clue

Cycled up to the local forestry with a mate, mainly to see what was up there a few years ago. Ended up getting a puncture on my front tyre and it started pissing rain at the same time. Still found out what was up there though.

Was in Delphi for a couple of weekends. Now that's a great laugh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,061 ✭✭✭✭Terry

Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    Bought a coulple of buses (with 22 other people), renovated them, drove them from Denmark to India, dossed around Inida for a bit, drove them back.
    Who are you?
    Cliff Richard?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

decided to go for a few drinks with the lads and we said screw it, lets go to prague. so with about 3days notice 4/5 of us went to prague for 3days on the beer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,711 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

Terry wrote:
    Who are you?
    Cliff Richard?
    ****, no. Think Priscilla queen of the Desert with more people and less constumes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Ibid wrote:
    Anyone else see the potential logistical problems with travelling .......

Havn't you heard? netwhizkid is a millionaire! he could have paid for some kind of police escort to drive him most of the way at 100mph+!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Hitch-hiking from Darwin to Adelaide with not enough water.
    Was cutting it a bit close but I can laugh about it now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

i was going out with a girl from bandon years ago and she brought me on an adventure along the old rail line, i was scared stiff because she brought me into a huge tunnel but it was facinating, and enjoyable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,584 ✭✭✭shane86

andrew wrote:
    Last summer me and my friends (my friends and i - whatever!) got bored, and decided to walk to bray - from whitehall. It was a 10 hour walk (people bought drink, got drunk and sobered up on the way, which slowed us down) and it was feckin brilliant.
    passive wrote:
    On a very similar note; myself and about 7 friends walked from Bray-Howth for charity one time when we were 17ish.. Took ages, stopping for sweets at every single shop didn't really help though. It was a really great day and one of my best memories :).

haha, is there anywhere better than Bray for all day drink fuelled summer madness. We headed out on a bit of a Del Boy jolly boys outing during the summer (recall it was the day that Engand played Paraguay). Drinking since 2pm, kick around on the beach, trying to score some underagers who we bought drink for and they then fecked off saying they were going for food and would be back in 10 :D They had earlier mentioned something about going drinking at the woods, or the river or something, all I recall was that from what they called it we thought it was along the river. Cue a 3 odd mile walk, pissed and suffering early sunstroke, the sight of us walking up to families in playgrounds on the way and asking did they know where it might be located. We eventually reached the motorway on the outskirts of town, where we collapsed on the grass for a rest and conceded defeat. We then headed back to the Dart station where we ran into some lads from home we knew and had a game of football. When full of drink a train station isnt the best place for a kick about, which is why my mate got thrown out for jumping onto the tracks to retrieve the ball :D From there we ended up at a house party in the south inncer city, and from there onto a 2nd party in Finglas, finally stumbled in home at 6am as the sun is coming up. Great times :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,149 ✭✭✭J.S. Pill

The other night my friend and I took some mushrooms and went down to the docks in Cork. Everything was so...brilliant!

It was an epic adventure for us

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,986 ✭✭✭Red Hand

There was that time in 1992 when I misplaced my stamp collection for a whole two hours. Whew! Wot larks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,283 ✭✭✭gucci

its been said alredy but the fleadh is a great "adventure" excellent craic, great music, great atmosphere and you'll surely meet someone you havnt seen for years there. or try travelling to london on a bus eireann bus (40 euro return i think) with two leitrim men(optional)....thats scary!! then jump on 3 different tubes and go where it takes ya!!

• Registered Users Posts: 441 ✭✭brown*eyed*girl

One adventure that sticks out in my mind was when I was around 15 & I pretended I was sleeping in my mates house & she pretended she was sleeping in mine. Our parents didn't check because we never got into trouble but little did they know. We had dates with these two youngfellas from out of town so we had a few cans in the train station toilet, then we thumbed (hitch-hiked) & got a lift off a man driving a Coca-Cola lorry & he gave us free coke :eek: . We then met our dates & we all went down the railway tracks to the woods & had some more cans. We then slept in a cave :eek: . Despite what you might think myself & my date didn't even kiss as we were both too shy :o Seriously, it was a mental night though & a great laugh. The next morning around 6 myself & my mate walked home & went to her sisters house to get some sleep & freshen up before we went home.

Another time when I was around 19 & should've known better I ended up thumbing home from Cork to Waterford with my mate (a different but crazier one!). We had gone to Cork for a dj weekender with very little money & decided drink was more important than accomodation so ended up going to house parties all weekend which turned into one big mad session which was mental to say the least. Anyway we missed our bus & thought it'd be a good idea to thumb home. We ended up getting several different lifts & even walked a few miles. At one stage I think we were going to die from thirst but we made it home safely. Looking back now its disgraceful behaviour but at the time we thought it was hilarious.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,343 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

netwhizkid wrote:
    it must have lasted near 10 or 11 hours and entailed several stop off for Gas, Wendy's, more Gas (20MPG car) and of course the gall bladder had to be emptied.

I'm curious as to how one does this. Did you bring a surgeon with you or can you do a DIY job? :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Nothing really, I cycled home from town on the Luas line one night fairly recently with a friend who lives in Rathgar. It was well after the last Luas but we thought it might be funny, in fact it wasn't funny or dangerous, though a bit bumpy. Making "Ding Ding" Luas-noises coming up to the stations, and shouting "Guards!" every couple of hundred feet was quite amusing though.
    netwhizkid wrote:
    several stop off for Gas, Wendy's, more Gas (20MPG car) and of course the gall bladder had to be emptied.
    Ah, nothing like stopping off to off to pee concentrated bile on a long car journey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

August Bank Holiday 2003 we decided on the Thurs to drive to Paris. So we got the Ferry at 1pm Friday, drove all the way through England and got the Channel ferry at 2am. Thought we'd find somewhere to stay in Calais but no joy, ended up stopping in a few places with no joy so we got to Paris about 1pm on the Sat.
    Got 5 hours kip and went out on the batter for 12 hours until 6am Sun morning. Slept until 3pm, got up went to the Eiffel Tower, went for dinner, got back to hotel around 10pm to find one of the lads had his credit card nicked by the nice African lady he hooked up with.
    Got to bed at midnight, up at 3am to drive home, and arrived back in Dublin at 9pm on Monday.

Also have Driven from Toronto to San Diego, and Paris to Barcelona to Monaco, To Basel back to Paris. I like driving holidays!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,555 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

A 40km walk up the rail-track to Machu Picchu in the dead of night, crossing fingers in the tunnels, batin' the coca leaves into us. Fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,294 ✭✭✭Pigeon Reaper

Most memorable one ended up in Laos. I've also been known to hop onto sailing boats for a day trip and coming back a few months later. Alas I now have a steady job so these little trips are no more. Apart from a lack of clothes nothing should stop you once you have a passport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

It could've taken maybe 12 - 14 hours but it was one long journey and there was a few stop including nature's call. As for Gall Bladder I may have misinterpreted the human anatomy slightly however.

Three drivers made it easier, myself not included as I did not drive there. still good times we were averaging 65 to 80mph most of the way except for the stops and a few hold ups due to road works and one nasty road accident involving an 18 wheeler. Blowout was a little scary too, 15 mins and one spare wheel later voila!

[EDIT] I know people who have driven 1,000 miles in one day, it was through Northern Texas originating somewhere in Alabama or Mississippi and ending up further West, RUU should know what I'm talking about as should anyone who ever did the highway in the states... just keep on trucking! [EDIT]

Most memorable one ended up in Laos. I've also been known to hop onto sailing boats for a day trip and coming back a few months later. Alas I now have a steady job so these little trips are no more. Apart from a lack of clothes nothing should stop you once you have a passport.
    i had to read that three times before I saw it was Laos and not Laois

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,463 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Leaving home at 18 and taking a job overseas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,048 ✭✭✭SimpleSam06

A few months ago I was watching hundreds of fireflies dance among the rafters in a bamboo hut in a jungle in the Philippines, halfway up a mountain...

Ikky Poo2 wrote:
    i had to read that three times before I saw it was Laos and not Laois
    Ditto... I was wondering what was so interesting about laois...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

I drove from NY to Toronto with some people I meet in a line for a flight to Toronto after it got cancelled due to the black outs in 2003.

Spent the night before that drinking on the roof of our aparmeant block while the cops tried to stop looting. Nice!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I've been on many journeys, but this one stands out & I think about it alot.

It was leaving our base in Lebanon (1989) and driving out over the mountain's towards the Israeli border (about 2am). At one stage we were looking out north over Lebanon, and the civil war was in full rage. From Tyre, to Sidon and up to Beirut the place was being levelled.

I was feeling very sad leaving Lebanon. We'd had five lads killed, three from the west of Ireland, two from the border counties.

But I also felt strange looking at the war below us, like I was a voyeur. As though looking at someone else's war was obscene.

Back to the present day.... (2001 Lebanon).

When the Israeli's withdrew from Lebanon and peace broke out the army invited over family members of those who'd been killed to lay wreaths and visit the places where their loved one had died.

I met the families of the three lads from the west. When they were killed their kids were the same age as mine were in 2001!. For me, that reminder was very sad.

I hope I put all that across right.

Great thread btw.