Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HRTA Airsoft (Archive)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,518 ✭✭✭[--SC(+)PE--]

quite the difference alright hmmm

• Registered Users Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

rough estimate for this saturday? if you were 2 venture a calculated guess?

About 6-10 people. Enough for some good games.

And that's a conservative estimate.

Well im sure the outdoor battles would be class in anycase, i cant wait :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,401 ✭✭✭Shiva

My first time was last week, and the outdoor stuff was great craic.
    Even if I barely managed to actually fire my gun before getting KIA'd. :D

Next time....it will be different !!

*prods Shiva* head up this saturday so :p

I can't :(

I'm limited to the amount of time I can devote to going to skirmishes.

I was just reading on the ASI site yesterday about the Predator Summer Event this year, and it sounds awesome. And of course, I can't make it.

Flippin' pregnant wives....they should be OUTLAWED !

Shiva wrote:

Flippin' pregnant wives....they should be OUTLAWED !

And whose's fault is it that she is pregnant????

And if you think you have no free time now, just wait until after junior arrives. Say goodbye to sleep for the next 2 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

the postman? :D

(just kidding Shiva)

Nobody told me there would be consequences !!!!
    And if you think you have no free time now, just wait until after junior arrives. Say goodbye to sleep for the next 2 years.

I know :(
    I've already got two five year olds. I can't wait until they're 16, actually. 'Cos then we'll all have the same mental age :D

kdouglas wrote:
    the postman? :D

(just kidding Shiva)

Heh heh heh. If only...then I could feck off to Predator the weekend she's due and let him attend the birth !

• Registered Users Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

shiva i feel your pain...LOL we have a 2 year old but the better half and son afre off for a few weeks...so if ehooby deliver the truck load i bought -- i might be up with ye guys in a week or so...

just got my G&G m4 CQB from uncompany this morning, got hit with customs but not too bad.., she is waiting for me...all dusky in the wrapper at home....the little minx... LOL LOL

still i need ehooby to deliver the batt, chest rig.. otherwise it just expensive gun porn..

i just realised i should have order 2 batts...bugger....

still i need ehooby to deliver the batt, chest rig.. otherwise it just expensive gun porn..

That happened to me too...my AEG and its battery were shipped in separate packages.
    Man....Talk about frustration !

• Registered Users Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭thecivvie

Cannot make HRTA this weekend, due to me hurting my knee. And just as my Tactical vest and holster arrived

Join Ireland Weather Network

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 14,320 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Master

Ill be heading there this saturday , might have a couple of rentals with me too.

Shiva wrote:
    That happened to me too...my AEG and its battery were shipped in separate packages.
    Man....Talk about frustration !

well here is frustration..got home last night and there she was...g&g m4 cqb (as soon as i can work out how to post pics i will). excellent piece of kit..full metal. added my ris handle, red dot scope, light, sling, mmmh, and then to add to the brilliance the other package delivered! ooh baby, open the box up, mags and battery...excellent. after an hour trying to figure out how to get the crane stock back on with the batt...i was ready..now i just had to go online and check when the charger will arrive, i was hoping today...i ordered it at around the same time. what do i find, the bugger hasnt even posted it yet! AAAAHHHHHH!!!!! so i am dead in the water...

Maplins is your friend. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Jelly 292

just got my G&G m4 CQB from uncompany this morning

Hay Fallschirmjager, I have the ICS CQB M4, I will be intrested to have a look at yours, compare and contrast and all that.Sounds the same, all metal, laser, etc but mine has standard rectractable stock.

They are perfect for HRTA though, really handy for poking around corners all crafty like:cool:

Shiva wrote:

jesus shiva i just bought the mother of all dumb ones on ebay as i have lost count of the number of burned batteries from mobile phones etc, you know the ones that start all techy like but really mean, 'look i know you are dumb as a bag of spanners, so just plug it in for gods sake, and i beep when finished')...but man i so want to see it work...do they have a cheap charger for airsoft? hell i am sure i have an old tm one somewheres about -- might need to dig around tonight at home... :D

Jelly 292 wrote:
    Hay Fallschirmjager, I have the ICS CQB M4, I will be intrested to have a look at yours, compare and contrast and all that.Sounds the same, all metal, laser, etc but mine has standard rectractable stock.

They are perfect for HRTA though, really handy for poking around corners all crafty like:cool:

Jelly, i will let you know. i cant goto hrta this weekend but next wekend is a possible. just checked google.. fine piece of kit there, jelly...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,323 ✭✭✭Spitfire666

jesus shiva i just bought the mother of all dumb ones on ebay as i have lost count of the number of burned batteries from mobile phones etc, you know the ones that start all techy like but really mean, 'look i know you are dumb as a bag of spanners, so just plug it in for gods sake, and i beep when finished')...but man i so want to see it work...do they have a cheap charger for airsoft? hell i am sure i have an old tm one somewheres about -- might need to dig around tonight at home... :D

The charger doesnt need to be airsoft specific, just a good charger for the likes of r/c cars that can charge a 7 cell pack

• Registered Users Posts: 3,035 ✭✭✭thecivvie

Shiva wrote:

I thought Maplins no longer did RC stuff :confused:

Join Ireland Weather Network

tcob1 wrote:
    I thought Maplins no longer did RC stuff :confused:

Blanchardstown still has a couple of items, and Mary St had a large selection of various RC batteries and chargers. I didn't notice any actual RC models, but I wasn't particularly looking, so I dunno.

Jelly, i will let you know. i cant goto hrta this weekend but next wekend is a possible. just checked google.. fine piece of kit there, jelly...

Yes indeed, I think we have fine taste sir!
    I'll catch up with you sometime at HRTA anyway, there are only 2 of us CQB jobbies so we'll know eachother I think;)

Oh and maplins in town said they did not do any RC stuff anymore and sent me to Smyths who only had crappy chargers that wernt up to the task.

Jelly 292 wrote:
    Oh and maplins in town said they did not do any RC stuff anymore and sent me to Smyths who only had crappy chargers that wernt up to the task.

Not that I'm doubting you or anything, but was it the security guard that said that ? I was in there last week looking for a charger, and I asked one of the floor staff, who then asked the security guard, and indeed...he sent me into Smyths. Like you say, they had nothing I wanted, so I went back into Maplin's, thinking the SG was talking through an orifice he shouldn't have been talking through, and sure enough, in front of the cash desk there's 2 four foot shelf sections full of batteries and chargers of various types. Batteries were all 7.2 and 9.6 of various sizes, and the variety of chargers was pretty comprehensive.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

there is a model shop on capel street, bring the battery with you and they'd probably be able to find a charger to fit

there is also mark's models on hawkins street

ive never tried to get a charger in dublin, but either one of those places would be your best bet id say

[QUOTE
    Not that I'm doubting you or anything, but was it the security guard that said that ? I was in there last week looking for a charger, and I asked one of the floor staff, who then asked the security guard, and indeed...he sent me into Smyths. Like you say, they had nothing I wanted, so I went back into Maplin's, thinking the SG was talking through an orifice he shouldn't have been talking through, and sure enough, in front of the cash desk there's 2 four foot shelf sections full of batteries and chargers of various types. Batteries were all 7.2 and 9.6 of various sizes, and the variety of chargers was pretty comprehensive.[/QUOTE]

I think it was one of the floor staff. It was mad busy but I though it very odd they had no chargers!
    He was quite rude anyway so I just left, I cant stand Maplins for this sometimes.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

Green hobby and model should have what you want, there in harolds cross but dont let them rip you off. I got my mum to buy me a charger in there cos she was near it and they charged her 25 euro for a slow charger. http://www.greenhobbymodel.com/

For all your recharging needs....

http://amasci.com/emotor/vdg.html

Can't beat it.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,005 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

Going to attempt to bring everything I have this Saturday. Just put it all into a guitar bag. Heavier than I thought! :eek:

Your ehobby zip still bust ya?