Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

HRTA Airsoft (Archive)

• Registered Users Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

Rew wrote:
    its advisable to wear eye proection as much as possible even when you feel safe!!

It's advisable to wear eye protection at all times, until such time as HRTA have a fully closed-off safe zone.

I'm always surprised that there's never been more accidents 'round the back', with corpses traipsing up from the engagement zone up the alley (with eyewear removed for comfort) and always a few peeps taking potshots at the far wall for hopup tweaking and whatnot. Redundant now with HRTA2 anyway.

For what it's worth, I've taken one on the cheek from what I'd have expected to be a reasonably safe distance (50ft plus), yet that left a small scratch. Taken one smack on the brink of the nose from 30ft and that one hurt some for a while. Add a few full volleys to the lower face (lips/chin), but thankfully I kept my gob shut and lips tight so no damage :rolleyes: - Still not taken enough medicine, though :D

But yeah, if you're slightly whimpish, definitely go for full-face.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

A tooth hit at the right angle will chip with a lot less than 1 joule of impact force.

Very true. Just adding the point about testing

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Hmm I have taken one of those feckin rotten Black BB's that Lemming uses at around 15mtrs on the nose and it took 2 weeks for the bruise to disappear!!! Man that did hurt !!!!

I have migrated from full mask to goggles but you do have to be prepared for more pain that way and keep your mouth shut. If you are in any way a big jessy then you need full mask protection.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,341 ✭✭✭Fallschirmjager

gandalf wrote:
    Hmm I have taken one of those feckin rotten Black BB's that Lemming uses at around 15mtrs on the nose and it took 2 weeks for the bruise to disappear!!! Man that did hurt !!!!

I have migrated from full mask to goggles but you do have to be prepared for more pain that way and keep your mouth shut. If you are in any way a big jessy then you need full mask protection.

WHICH as the NOMINATED LEADER OF the ENTIRE ZIMMERFRAME DIVISION, you are not...:D

get a loose face wrap or the neoprene face wraps...ehobby sell them but be prepared to swear like a fat guy in the front row of a vegas strip club

they still sting but the speed is taken out of them...also they do tend to steam up your goggles..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

Myself and a mate are gonna take the looong looong car journey to HRTA ths weekend. Itll be our first time up. I beleave the games start at 10am? Could someone clarify this for me? Nice 630am start if so. Huraaaah!

Just wondering too, what happens if it starts pissing rain about 930am? Does everyone shag off to the old indoor site or is that gone now?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,659 ✭✭✭CrazyRabbit

Arcto wrote:
    Myself and a mate are gonna take the looong looong car journey to HRTA ths weekend. Itll be our first time up. I beleave the games start at 10am? Could someone clarify this for me? Nice 630am start if so. Huraaaah!

Just wondering too, what happens if it starts pissing rain about 930am? Does everyone shag off to the old indoor site or is that gone now?

10:30 official start (I think.)

11:00 actual start...after the morning chit chat, gun porn and cups of coffee.

If it rains...you get wet. It doesn't stop play. I think we once played in almost non-stop rain for about 6 hours.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,414 ✭✭✭kdouglas

indoor site is gone, if it rains, we get wet

it was the same at the old site, even when we had the indoor section, nobody really bothered using it

games officially start at 10.30, aim to be there at 10 and you'll be grand

• Registered Users Posts: 1,401 ✭✭✭Arcto

Sweet. Id actually love to play in the rain, but id be afraid of me gun dieing. I supose once yer batt compartment is tight it wouldnt really matter. And ballbuger....ballplough...hold on....Ballybougal, there we go, is past swords? IE: Ya have to go through swords to get there? If yer comeing from the cork side can u avoid dublin city? Sorry i only been up to dublin on the train about 8 or 9 drunken times so i dnt know the way very well. Think ill have to re-download google maps or use AA road planner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Fianna1916

Hey just wondering were this airsoft shop is been told a bout it but cant find it.Can anyone help?

• Registered Users Posts: 207 ✭✭Hunter1100

Its an internet shop
    www.eirsoft.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 3,533 ✭✭✭iceage

jeez....as to facial injuries i.e. bruised noses, scratched cheeks and foreheads and of course, chipped teeth. mask hire for a day, 1 yoyo!!

Lads hire the mask, I would (when I get there of course) I'm so ugly I woluld have to as not to scare the bejesus outta yah!!:D

Arcto wrote:
    Sweet. Id actually love to play in the rain, but id be afraid of me gun dieing. I supose once yer batt compartment is tight it wouldnt really matter. And ballbuger....ballplough...hold on....Ballybougal, there we go, is past swords? IE: Ya have to go through swords to get there? If yer comeing from the cork side can u avoid dublin city? Sorry i only been up to dublin on the train about 8 or 9 drunken times so i dnt know the way very well. Think ill have to re-download google maps or use AA road planner.

you wont need to go through the city, but skirting around the m50 might be necessary, not sure exactly coming from cork, but google maps or aa route planner will help you out alright
    Fianna1916 wrote:
    Hey just wondering were this airsoft shop is been told a bout it but cant find it.Can anyone help?

The shop Shiva runs is an online store (eirsoft.ie), there is also BFSL/MIA which is based in blanchardstown and is a walk-in store

• Registered Users Posts: 593 ✭✭✭joe90

Hi Arcto,

I took the trip up by car from cork city about 3 weeks ago and its not to hard to find.Just follow the road signs for swords at the red cow round about M50 will avoid most off Dublin and you cant go wrong. Just check the maps in the threads to find HRTA2 from there.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Just wondering is theres a toilet at the new HRTA yet? Thought someone would have asked that by now!

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

There was a mention of a camo'ed portaloo a few pages ago.

Just wondering is theres a toilet at the new HRTA yet? Thought someone would have asked that by now!

yup, there's a portaloo alright

• Registered Users Posts: 13,995 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

kdouglas wrote:
    yup, there's a portaloo alright

One mans portaloo is another mans sniper perch.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

krazy_8s wrote:
    One mans portaloo is another mans sniper perch.

Shhhhhh. Dont tell them:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭hoplite

Poster in another thread seems to suggest HRTA is closed this weekend?

Say it aint so :eek: :(:(:(

Nonex?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,877 ✭✭✭liamo333

afik it aint so....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

I'll but it this way, if it where true it wouldbe stated on the site as such.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭hoplite

Good stuff! I'm planning on going up on Saturday. Last Sat was good craic.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,061 ✭✭✭whydave

just to let you know contractor catering will be on site again this weekend ,new kit needed by all ,a spoon when the weather is bad (for stew) , bbq when not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭nonex

hoplite wrote:
    Poster in another thread seems to suggest HRTA is closed this weekend?

Say it aint so :eek: :(:(:(

Nonex?
    we are not closed, it would be nice to khow you said we where closed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 409 ✭✭nonex

it would be nice to see some tactics being used in the games like,
    1 Basic Reconnaissance
    2 Communication
    3 Cover and Concealment
    4 Movement and Clearing
    5 Using Snipers
    6 And last but not leased, a good plan

• Registered Users Posts: 5,021 ✭✭✭Hivemind187

nonex wrote:
    it would be nice to see some tactics being used in the games like,
    1 Basic Reconnaissance
    2 Communication
    3 Cover and Concealment
    4 Movement and Clearing
    5 Using Snipers
    6 And last but not leased, a good plan

Lol ... the lads who usually wind up lone wolfing it because no one else knows what to do will appreciate that one.

• Registered Users Posts: 705 ✭✭✭CTU_Agent

I agree with nonex, perhaps marshalls can design scenarios that depend on at least two of these.

Example...

2 Special covert assault teams take control of a site held by a terrorist faction. Entry points both North and South of the site.

A plan must be considered to ensure each team member has a function and both teams clear their portion of the site. A 2 man recon team will survey the site and report back to team leads with details.

Team A must communicate with TEAM B during the assault to ensure no blue on blue.

Assault will be as much as possible by stealth, using cover and concealment.

Employ Effective team movement and clearing techniques

Snipers will be employed to clear the perimeter of tango's that pose a threat to the assault team. Also to ensure that no tangos exit the site during the assault.

;) Mission complete.

HRTA's website explains the tactics of a Counter Terrorist team. Read it!
    http://www.hrta.ie/9.html

• Registered Users Posts: 4,061 ✭✭✭whydave

all sounds great but you seem to forget that there are a lot of new players to this sport ,the games (i think) should for the time, be fast moving ,high turn over with quick regen to draw players in and let them learn .
    then we can add comms and the like .

• Registered Users Posts: 705 ✭✭✭CTU_Agent

Im a noobie myself. To be perfectly honest ive NEVER played airsoft. (yet, im hoping to go on sat. my kit is almost complete.)

Perhaps Noobies should be introduced to some sort of tactical ways of playing airsoft. Rather than just run and shoot. It may add a new dimension to the game for some.

From what I can see internationally the game tends to develop this way anyway over time as players become more experienced and interested.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

Ah, c'mon guys, this ain't rocket science... Just play a few war film DVDs as 'Research Material', and Google up tactical deployments :D