Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where do I go with an idea for a comic?

Options
  • 21-02-2007 6:37pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭

I have an idea for a comic, but I'm not really good at sequential art. Are there any Ireland/UK based publishing companies out there that are looking for submissions based on writing and character art? What's the best way to find an artist and inker? I can do colouring myself.

I'm also looking to write for a childrens books/comics, which I can draw myself. Where would I go with that? They'd be orientated towards younger children but a lot more "intelligent" than Ladybird kind of things.

Comments

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,045 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

Hmmm. In Ireland there's not a great deal going as regards publishers looking for submissions. You could try Wolfman Productions (bearing in mind that last I heard, they were still not in a position to pay people for their work - admittedly this was a while ago) or perhaps chat to the folks who post in the Comic Creation thread.

Another option to consider, depending on what exactly you want to do with the project, would be to find yourself an artist to work with and develop it as a webcomic - there are plenty of sites that offer free hosting, or you could spend a bit of cash and set up your own site. (This means more freedom to set up the site as you want without having to run ads, but does involve spending money and a bit more involvement on the website administration side of things).