Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Championship run-in tightest in years

12346»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

I dont think the championship will be a huge matter for brum. I'd expect PReston to win that one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭3greenrizla's

MrJoeSoap wrote:
    Yeah thats the way it would be, practically every time we've played Derby in the past two seasons the game has been exciting, so it'd be a good fixture from a neutral pov anyway.

That said, I'd fancy us to take Wolves again... :D

Howaya Mrjoesoap, thought you had been absent on the boards of late but I see you have better things to do atm.

Wolves would be handy we have beaten them twice this season, however we owe derby as they were lucky twice already this year.

We have to get there first though, Bring on Southend on Sunday.

also if results go our way, Good luck to Stoke.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 348 ✭✭watman

also if results go our way, Good luck to Stoke.

Take that as meaning bye bye stoke ? . Speaking to Sheep Romancers (Derby) and Dingies (Wolves) fans in work today they are hoping we don't get in playoffs as they don't want to play us in the playoffs. They also don't want to play Southampton. Roll on Sunday - Pub open at 6.30am - depart for London at 8am.

6 Hours till wakey wakey time. Can't sleep. Spent the day watching re-runs of happy days of been a stoke fan - trust me their ain't too many. Tomorrow is going to be immense - Good Luck to all clubs and supporters involved. Hopefully someone will slip up though :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,514 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Am hoping Stoke actually make the playoffs. Team who havent been too close to making it, this is a massive chance for your team. However, I do think Southampton will win the playoffs, if they make it in. Today is a great day for supporting an already relegated club:o . Can watch all the drama without the stroke-inducing heart attacks

Well Its the last day of the season Stoke & Wolves have started poorly both 1-0 down.

COME ON SAINTS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

preston, chasing a playoff place are giving birmingham a right game, should be 2-0 up, but still 0-0, which as it stands, with sunderland 2-0 up after 6 mins (stokes and murphy), means that sunderland are champions.

long way to go yet

watman wrote:
    Take that as meaning bye bye stoke ? . Speaking to Sheep Romancers (Derby) and Dingies (Wolves) fans in work today they are hoping we don't get in playoffs as they don't want to play us in the playoffs. They also don't want to play Southampton. Roll on Sunday - Pub open at 6.30am - depart for London at 8am.

No I would like Stoke to get into the playoffs, but I am confident we could beat ye.

Nooooooooooooooooooo

Saints go 1- 0 down, still in playoffs though

edit half time scores;

Burnley 0-1 Coventry
    Colchester 0-1 Crystal Palace
    Derby 0-0 Leeds
    Hull 0-1 Plymouth
    Ipswich 1-1 Cardiff
    Leicester 1-2 Wolverhampton
    Luton 0-2 Sunderland
    Preston 0-0 Birmingham
    QPR 1-0 Stoke
    Sheff Wed 1-0 Norwich
    Southampton 1-1 Southend
    West Brom 4-0 Barnsley

1) Sunderland
    2) Birmingham
    3) Derby
    4) WBA
    5) Wolves
    6) Saints
    7) Stoke
    8) Preston

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,677 ✭✭✭Chong

West Brom winning 7-0 WTF!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

Brum losing, Sunderland are champions.

PNE 1-0 Brum
    Luton 0 - 4 Sunderland
    Stoke 1 - 1 QPR
    Saints 2 - 1 Southend

looks like Sunderland are champions.

Saints need to win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Bravo Roy Keane, incredible turnaround, and a well deserved trophy.
    A league title in his first season says it all really.

Saints 4 - 1 up

Saints playing Derby in Playoff semi

PHB wrote:
    Bravo Roy Keane, incredible turnaround, and a well deserved trophy.
    A league title in his first season says it all really.

Fair play to Keane & Sunderland AFC.
    what a great job Keane has done.
    how many points did they have when Keane took off?

oh & Sunderland have won quite a few fans this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

Fair Play Sunderland and Keane.
    He's raging about not getting the trophy though!
    Reckons its a disgrace!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,198 ✭✭✭kensutz

Gillie wrote:
    Fair Play Sunderland and Keane.
    He's raging about not getting the trophy though!
    Reckons its a disgrace!

It's normal if a team is playing away not to get the trophy. Happened to us when we went to Sunderland and won the league there.

Just back from London , not the result we needed , Martin hit the post , Fuller had a shot cleared off the line , Higginbottom's goal ruled out for offside , Dom Matteo managed to miss from bout a yard and a half , just wasn't to be .

Best of Luck to Southampton. I reckon ye will win promotion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

Fair play to Keane & Sunderland AFC.
    what a great job Keane has done.
    how many points did they have when Keane took off?

oh & Sunderland have won quite a few fans this year.
    They've got a big fan in me. I bet on Sunderland to win the title at 14/1 each way in September when they were last in the league and rumour were going around that Keane was taking over. I put another bet in when the odds went to 22/1, again each way. I'll be donating a grand to the guide dogs this week ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,329 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

kensutz wrote:
    It's normal if a team is playing away not to get the trophy. Happened to us when we went to Sunderland and won the league there.

Not in the last game of the season?

I can see no good reason for the trophy to be witheld if there are no games left to play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

fair play to keano and the Irish contingent.

Everyones second favourite team now.

Not in the last game of the season?

I can see no good reason for the trophy to be witheld if there are no games left to play

Yes not in the last game of the season "due to safety reasons", we won the league at the Stadium of Light and had to get the trophy presented at City Hall, Norwich because there was no league games left to play at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,371 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Good to see Sunderland up.
    Pity Derby didnt join them automatically as they are a better side than Birmingham who will go straight back down.
    Every time I have seen them this season they have been very unimpressive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

zabbo wrote:
    :confused::confused:

Not mine tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,283 ✭✭✭gucci

zabbo wrote:

not mine either....what odds on them getting relegated next year?? would love to see how the bandwagon jumpers would weasel out of that one

zabbo wrote:

Definitely not mine, I support one club and that is all.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

zabbo wrote:

Not mine either. I despise all these bandwagon jumpers! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

I don't know if they'd be my second favorite team, behind United obivously and Brighton (who I have a soft spot for)
    But I love Keano, so I will support them in matches against most premiership opposition.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,338 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

zabbo wrote:

Not mine either, I still haven't forgiven them for the 1973 cup final. ;)

I don't see why they should be everyone's second favourite team just because they've a strong Irish connection. Plenty of clubs have had that over the years and I didn't have any particular affection for them either at the time, so this is one bandwagon I won't be jumping on. In addition, I'm not a Keane fan either.