Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guards insured to drive any car

• 06-03-2007 11:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭

Are Guards insured to drive any car while on duty? Gardai cars and other peoples cars?

yes

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,934 Mod ✭✭✭✭Turner

As long as they hold al licence to drive the specific vehicle.

ie to drive a HGV they need to have passed a test in a HGV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

And who covers this insurance? It's under one big Gardai insurance policy?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

They're state indemnified, just as members of Óglaigh na hÉireann and cabinet ministers...

again..as long as they have a licence and within reason for govt. ministers (i.e. State cars only, can't commandeer a vehicle)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

ninty9er wrote:
    just as members of Óglaigh na hÉireann and cabinet ministers...
    I thought Óglaigh na hÉireann disbanded on 28 July 2005 ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,276 ✭✭✭damnyanks

Some of us like to live in the past mannnnn

• Registered Users Posts: 5,379 ✭✭✭DublinDilbert

I could be wrong but I'm 99% sure they don't even need a licence for that type of vehicle.

I've seen quite a few garda's bring mopeds back to the station, where they've taken them off some one, i seriously doubt they all have a full A class licence...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Car Mad

you can drive a moped once you have a b licence

• Registered Users Posts: 65,393 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

Why would they need insurance? The tax payer will pay for any damage - no limits there

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

unkel wrote:
    Why would they need insurance? The tax payer will pay for any damage - no limits there

Is that not a bit like saying yer one mdelores from Limerick shouldnt have to have insurance because she can afford to pay for anything she damages?

Stekelly wrote:
    Is that not a bit like saying yer one mdelores from Limerick shouldnt have to have insurance because she can afford to pay for anything she damages?

Pretty much, although even a lottery winners' fortune is very limited. The tax payer is a much better source to draw unlimited funds from. A better example perhaps is that big fire in that big and of course uninsured castle in England a few years ago

Who needs insurance, eh old chap?

DonJose wrote:
    I thought Óglaigh na hÉireann disbanded on 28 July 2005 ;)

Don't even go there....not funny!!!

Let me remind you that Óglaigh na hÉireann is a higly regarded international peace keeping force whose commander in chief holds the highest office in this country:mad: :mad: :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

ninty9er wrote:
    Let me remind you that Óglaigh na hÉireann is a higly regarded international peace keeping force whose commander in chief holds the highest office in this country:mad: :mad: :mad:

Does he work on a mountain?

I'm already wearing my coat.

I could be wrong but I'm 99% sure they don't even need a licence for that type of vehicle.

I've seen quite a few garda's bring mopeds back to the station, where they've taken them off some one, i seriously doubt they all have a full A class licence...

You are 100% wrong.

They need a licence to drive any vehicle they drive on duty.

Gardai who have completed a four week garda motorcycle course (which they need to drive the smallest bikes owned by the gards 550's and 650's) automatically can apply to have the full A catagory added to their licence.

Other Garda courses include advanced motorcycle driving, escort driving, VIP driving all of which are either a 2 week or 4 week duration. with a very high failure rate.

Generally the gardai on m/bikes are very highly trained.

Car Mad wrote:
    you can drive a moped once you have a b licence

I've also seen them drive motor bikes too.... who says a garda even has a class 'b' licence?? many of the younger ones don't!

Chief--- wrote:
    You are 100% wrong.

They need a licence to drive any vehicle they drive on duty.

Gardai who have completed a four week garda motorcycle course (which they need to drive the smallest bikes owned by the gards 550's and 650's) automatically can apply to have the full A catagory added to their licence.

Other Garda courses include advanced motorcycle driving, escort driving, VIP driving all of which are either a 2 week or 4 week duration. with a very high failure rate.

Generally the gardai on m/bikes are very highly trained.

Are you a garda yourself? cause i just asked one and he said they can drive anything once it's in the line of duty...

Just to clariffy we are talking about Garda driving vehicles they have ceased at a check point ect, not garda vehicles!
    Yes every garda who drives a garda motorbike has done an intensive course in it, and they are trained to a very high level.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,470 ✭✭✭DonJose

ninty9er wrote:

It wasn't a joke, I was just correcting you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭Random

"Just to clariffy we are talking about Garda driving vehicles they have ceased at a check point ect, not garda vehicles! "

Yes, this is what I ment in my original question.

Yes we are on about vehicles they have siezed at a checkpoint...

And yes they must hold a driving licence to cover the vehicle they have seized.

A Garda isnt going to get into a 18 wheeler and attempt to drive it unless he has a licence to do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭testicle

Members of the Defence Forces do not need a civilian licence to drive military vehicles of any variety.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,706 ✭✭✭craichoe

No so, They can drive any vehicle they have seized as long as they feel its safe to do so or they need to move it.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,012 ✭✭✭Wossack

Dont need a full A to drive a moped, an 'M' on your license will cover 49cc 'peds. Used to be that this 'M' would automatically be added if you got a 'B' license, but I think this has stopped.

M - 50cc
    A1 - 125cc
    A(full) - anything (including the above)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭testicle

To answer the original question, Garda cars, or Gardai, are not insured, so the question is ambiguous.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,256 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

SteKelly wrote:

I think that's called self-insurance. If you can calculate the potential claim, and you have a dedicated fund / surety to cover it, then it can work out cheaper than paying an insurance premium every year. I don't know how it applies to individuals, but Irish businesses have saved lots of money by doing that. Dublin Bus may also be self-insured.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Are Gardai exempt from the laws governing mobile phone useage when driving a motor vehicle? I've seen five of the <edit> do it in the last fortnight, 4 of whom were doing it while turning at junctions.

There's no need to refer to Gardai in those terms. You should know better than that!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

There seems to be some confusion here with lots of mis-information. Gardai can drive any vehicle without a licence but as long as they have the course done. If an accident occurs, they are covered. If they have not done the course and an accident occurs then the guard him/her self is fully liable.

Gardai also can use their own or state mobile phones while driving. While this is discouraged by some senior officers, it can done when on official duty and when the need requires it and safety is not jeopardised. An example is if the antiquated radio system is not working then the use of a phone is allowed for emergencies or if sensitive information needs to be passed on to the station or other members. The radio will not be used to pass along sensitive info for obvious reasons.

Basically under Road Traffic law a Garda can break just about any law but it has be to for very good reason and with safety in mind.

TheNog wrote:
    Basically under Road Traffic law a Garda can break just about any law but it has be to for very good reason and with safety in mind.

Does that also cover the guy I saw reading the local paper in slow moving traffic???:D :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭TheNog

ninty9er wrote:
    Does that also cover the guy I saw reading the local paper in slow moving traffic???:D :D

Absolutely not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭overdriver

ninty9er wrote:

Please God, he won't be holding it for much longer, there's an election coming.

Don't the Gardai normally have stuff towed by truck these days? I have seen them drive cars away, though never anything bigger / more unusual