Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Good reliable secondhand cars

• 08-03-2007 11:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 162 ✭✭

Alright Lads,

Can anyone tell me what secondhand car amakes i should be looking out for. They've got to be fairly cheap 1500-2500 but no little punto/fiesta sometime of a decent size with an engine above 1.4.

So here's the Q what makes/models have a really good rep as yokes that just keep running and running with little trouble. Someone has already mentioned 1997 Carina's as a good bet so any experts out there chip in please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Mike07

I'll sell you a v reliable hyundai accent

wait for the abuse now :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭md99

Toyota Toyota Toyota...

Nissan Nissan Nissan...

• Registered Users Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

you forgot

Mazda Mazda Mazda

and the old reliable:

service history service history service history

• Registered Users Posts: 51,239 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Something like a mid to late 1990s Toyota Carina E, Nissan Primera, Mazda 626, Mitsubishi Galant, Honda Accord, Ford Mondeo, etc are very reliable and dirt cheap these days. The only problem is trying to find one that hasn't had the crap driven out of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

unless you're willing to pay a grand more than it has to be Japanese.
    forget about milage, it'll be over 100k, pray it has a year of nct left and take it for a test drive. if nothing falls off then you're ahead.
    4 tyres that arent bald.
    an engine that isn't leaking.
    electrics that are mostly working.
    brakes, lights and a comfy seat. you're in business

if it has a less than a year left on its nct then you could be badly burnt. best to pay someone who knows what they're really doing, 100 bucks to look it over.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,660 ✭✭✭maidhc