Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Premiership team of the year

• 09-03-2007 1:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,846 ✭✭✭✭

A little early to be putting this one up, but we were talking about this the other night and found ourselves stuck on a few positions. dodgy one's are in red font

Foster

---Neville
    Carragher
    Dunne
    Evra

Gilberto
    ---Ronaldo
    Essien
    Scholes
    Giggs

Drogba

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

A little? There are three months left to play!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,846 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

A little? There are three months left to play!
    8 games or so left... sure thats only around 1/5 of the season! Best team so far then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,746 ✭✭✭✭Galvasean

Well considering my team's season is finished I feel at home here.

Cech

---Toure
    Carragher
    Terry
    Clichy

---Ronaldo
    Fabregas
    Scholes
    Giggs

Drogba
    K. Doyle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,144 ✭✭✭gracehopper

Foster

---Neville
    Carragher
    Vidic
    Evra

Gilberto
    Scholes

---Ronaldo
    Martins
    Drogba
    Van Persie---

Weird formation but heres mine!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,079 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

id go Vidic over Dunne anyway, been a rock and a massive improvement this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,204 ✭✭✭woodyg

Trilla wrote:
    A little early to be putting this one up, but we were talking about this the other night and found ourselves stuck on a few positions. dodgy one's are in red font

Foster

---Neville
    Carragher
    Dunne
    Evra

Gilberto
    ---Ronaldo
    Essien
    Scholes
    Giggs

Drogba

No chance Neville should be in there a head of Finnan who has been a rock of dependable quality again this season! I'd have taylor left back as well. the rest seem like a good choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Cech

---Finnan
    Carragher
    Terry
    Vidic

---Ronaldo
    Essien
    Gerrard
    Fabregas

Drogba
    Martins

Foster

---Toure
    Carragher
    Meite
    Evra

Gilberto

Essien
    Scholes
    ---Ronaldo
    Giggs

Drogba

I've decided on my team making two changes. Meite has been fantastic for Bolton this year, and I forgot that Touré can easily slot in RB. Gary Neville has had a solid season so the Finnan argument isn't that much of a solid one. Its tight decision between the 3 I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,067 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

Cech

---Finnan
    Carragher
    Terry
    Vidic

---Ronaldo
    Essien
    Scholes
    Fabregas

Van Persie

Drogba

Finnan deserves to be in there ahead of Neville. From what Ive seen of Febregas and Van Persie, they have been excellent also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,072 ✭✭✭✭event

well i believe you should only pick players in teh position they have played this year

you cant really say toure has been teh best right back when he hasnt played there this year, or fabregas on the wing

James

--lescott----Toure
    carragher
    Evra--

--Ronaldo---Essien----Scholes
    RVP--

Drogba----Benni McCarthy----

I think lescott has been at right back, may be left back. If so, i swap in finnan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Lads seriously, it's like 3 months away yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Jaaskelainen

---Toure
    Carragher
    R. Ferdinand
    Evra----
    ---Ronaldo
    Essien
    Scholes
    Downing

Drogba
    Martins

Subs

GK: Ben Foster
    DF: John Terry (would be first choice but has suffered a lot with injury)
    MF: Cesc Fabregas (tough choice to leave him out)
    FF: Dirk Kuyt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 102 ✭✭mickith

Van De Sar

Carragher
    Terry
    Toure/Vidic

---Ronaldo
    Gerrard
    Scholes
    Fabregas
    Bentley

Rooney/Lita

Drogba

think this would be my team. dont think i could make any other changes
    solid at the back, stong and effective in the middle and powerful up front

it would be nice if this did actually happen. get the best players from a few leagues and have a little tournament. EuroLeague is here! :D

Lads seriously, it's like 3 months away yet.

jsut a bit of craic. maybe when the end of season comes we could compare them to each other and see how far we were off

i find it mad people arent putting Finnan in this team! he has produced quality deffending all season and is the top ranked defender in the fantasy league.

There is only about 8 games left and the players are votein for there player/team of the year so it seems the right time

Perhaps.

Don't know how you could include Terry, besides him missing lots of the
    season, he wasn't at his best at the start of the year either.

VDS
    --Neville----Toure
    Vidic
    Evra
    Gilberto

Scholes----Essien
    --Ronaldo
    Giggs-
    Drogba

Went for a 4-3-3, cause only one striker has really impressed me, and while I think Scholes and Essien are defo the best two midfielders this year, I think Gilberto has been outstanding, and therefore 4-3-3.

Can't say I'm really pushed on Giggs or Evra, but nobody has really impressed me down the left.

Also not too sure about Vidic or Rio. Both have their talents, both have their ****ups on a regular basis. Carraghers big ****up against Arsenal still sticks in my head, although this might be unfair. I could easily go for Carragher here instead.

Neville is undoubted in terms of RB imo, and I'll wager a lot of money, the PFA team of the year will agree with me. Finnan is great, but Neville has been incredible for United. He provides them incredible width, and has formed a partnership with Ronaldo akin to his old one with Beckham, and Ronaldo wouldn't be as good without Neville behind him encouraging himt to do the right thing.
    What he adds in attack, is only matched by the quality of his defence. Captain of the team at the top of the league says it all really.

Ronaldo, Drogba, VDS are obvious.

event wrote:
    well i believe you should only pick players in teh position they have played this year

you cant really say toure has been teh best right back when he hasnt played there this year
    Yes he has. In fact he played in that position against PSV the other day and was Arsenal's best player by far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Van Der Sar

---Neville
    Terry
    Vidic
    Evra

---Ronadlo
    Essien
    Scholes
    Fabregas
    Giggs

Drogba

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Actim team of the season so far.

Van Der Sar
    Finnan---Ferdinand---Vidic---Evra
    Ronaldo---Lampard---Arteta---Barry
    Drogba---Rooney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,099 ✭✭✭✭WhiteWashMan

Cech

---Neville
    Carragher
    Toure
    Vidic

---Lennon
    Essien
    Scholes
    Ronaldo

Berbatov

Drogba

Galvasean wrote:
    Yes he has. In fact he played in that position against PSV the other day and was Arsenal's best player by far.

so one game?

what other games has he played there this year?

event wrote:
    so one game?

what other games has he played there this year?
    That was the first example to come to the top of my head. I'm sure once I get my hands on Arsenal's end of season DVD I'll be able to count them for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

cech
    finnan
    carra
    vidic
    baines
    ronaldo
    scholes
    gerrard
    giggs
    drogba
    doyle

Galvasean wrote:
    That was the first example to come to the top of my head. I'm sure once I get my hands on Arsenal's end of season DVD I'll be able to count them for you.

grand, cos you wont find more than 10

on those occaisions, who would have been playing centre half

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

To my knowledge, the game against PSV was the first time Toure has played RB all season. As I didn't see the game, I'll have to trust you guys that he did infact play there, as I find that quite surprising.

The team of the season that 25% of the forum are thinking:

GK: The best Goalkeeper in the League
    LB: The premiership's best LB since Denis Irwin
    CB: The best CB in the league
    CB: Rio 'United' Ferdinand
    RB: The best RB in the world
    LW: The best left-winger since George Best
    DM: Token Offering (That Ghanaian fella who plays for Chelsea)
    AM: The best midfielder in the history of the premiership (other than Keane)
    RW: The best player in the world
    CF: Wayne 'Red' Rooney
    CF: Ferguson's loan spark of genius

rooney has been so inconsistant this season. i dont see how he could be included in the line up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Cech

---Neville
    Carragher
    Toure
    Vidic

---Lennon
    Essien
    Scholes
    Ronaldo

Berbatov

Drogba

So he does exist then:eek: I was about to say well done but then I realised you are a spurs fan. Obviously I am biased but I am surprised at how many on here feel Martins and doyle are better than Berbatov. Do neutrals really not rank him that highly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,587 ✭✭✭✭Dont be at yourself

Berbatov's a quality player, certainly better than Doyle. Martins did steal the show at White Hart Lane though :)

Babybing wrote:
    So he does exist then:eek: I was about to say well done but then I realised you are a spurs fan. Obviously I am biased but I am surprised at how many on here feel Martins and doyle are better than Berbatov. Do neutrals really not rank him that highly.

well, i think he has performed consistantly. perhaps i only notice because i watch him every week?

you have no idea how close i was to picking chimbonda as well, as a consistantly great player this season, but i do think berbatov has been one of the best premier forwards this year.

martins has played great football, but he has spent half the season doing nothing, and the other half scoring explosive goals!

along with ronaldo, i think lennon has been one of the best and most explosive and exciting players this year. the rest have just been their usual very high standard and consistant selves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

Berbatov's a quality player, certainly better than Doyle. Martins did steal the show at White Hart Lane though :)

Yeah one of the best strikes I have personally ever seen.(Thats strikes btw not strikers;)). Just feel Berbs has been better over the season, but like I say I am biased.

Agree 100% on chimbonda WWM. He has been immense for us all season both defensively and in attack. Gonna be very hard for him to get some spotlight though with Finnan and Neville. Their will always be bias towards players from the top four teams in this sort of thing becuase people see them playing more, thats just the way it is.

Have to disagree with Lennon though. I think he is without doubt one of the best young players in England but I just feel he has been a bit inconsistent this season(the inkury didnt help) and he is capable of much better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭tdv

..............................Given...............................

Finnan...........Carragher.......Vidic...................Evra

..............................Essien...............................
    ..................Fabregas........Scholes.....................

Ronaldo........................................................Giggs
    ..............................Drogba.................................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭tdv

Why are people picking Vidic as a left full back? I think he played there once for 15mins the whole season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,441 ✭✭✭✭jesus_thats_gre

tdv wrote:
    ..............................Given...............................

Finnan...........Carragher.......Vidic...................Evra

..............................Essien...............................
    ..................Fabregas........Scholes.....................
    Ronaldo........................................................Giggs

Pretty much the exact same myself with only 2 changes:

..........................VanderSar.................................
    Finnan...........Carragher........Vidic...................Evra
    ...............................Essien................................
    ...................Fabregas........Scholes.....................
    Ronaldo....................................................Arteta

With Gerard, McCarthy, Berbatov, Terry, Giggs, Lennon and Gareth Barry on the bench for a cup match ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

Van Der Sar
    Neville---Carra----Vidic
    Shorey
    Ronaldo---Essien----Scholes----Giggs

Drogba
    Berbatov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

besty wrote:

Van Der Sar
    Neville---Carra----Vidic
    Shorey

Drogba
    Berbatov

I honestly can't pick anyone for the left side, but other than that I agree with your choice.

Trust me on this folks, Berbatov is world class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭Mossin

GK: Hahnemann

CB: Carragher
    CB: Dunne
    CB: Campbell

DM: Essien

RM: Ronaldo
    CM: Arteta
    CM: Sidwell
    LM: Giggs

CF: Drogba
    CF: Berbatov

I agree, if he's not then he almost is. What i cant figure out is why people haven't picked Ben Foster as their keeper?

Surprised no one picked Stephen Hunt on the left wing (or right wing perhaps, correct me if im wrong). I feel for honesty of effort ( i know i sound like gilesy now) and the fact the guy is playing some great stuff for Reading. He's played well against the big teams too. Id pick him no bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭MrPillowTalk

besty wrote:

Van Der Sar
    Neville---Carra----Vidic
    Shorey

Drogba
    Berbatov

Same team except I have Evra at left back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,423 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Jaaskelainen
    Neville--Vidic--Toure--Evra

Lennon--Essien--Scholes--Ronaldo

Drogba van Persie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,589 ✭✭✭✭Necronomicon

besty wrote:

Van Der Sar
    Neville---Carra----Vidic
    Shorey

Drogba
    Berbatov

Good call, except I'd put Foster in goal and Evra at left back.

What I'd do to have Berbatov at United, he is different class. Another two great goals last night.

They were in talks with him before. I read (prob in some shítty tabloid) that they wouldnt pay the 11 or 12 million for him, that they wouldnt go over 7m!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,659 ✭✭✭The Rooster

The team will be announced in April, at the same time as Players Player of the Year, so its not a bad time to have a thread about it. Plus I believe its always named as 4-4-2

Van Der Sar

Finnan --- Carragher --- Vidic --- Evra

Ronaldo --- Scholes --- Essien --- Giggs

Drogba --- Berbatov

I think Finnan and Neville have both been better than Evra (or any other left back) so its hard to leave one out. Dunne also pushes Vidic very close.

I'm not a big fan of Lampard, but 20 goals in what is generally regarded as a mediocre season for him is not bad!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Dunne 3 bonus points again in the fantasy football for last night.
    So, of the 22 players he has been regarded as the best player on the pitch (by Press Association analysts, all of whom are ex-professional footballers) against:
    Arsenal (h)
    Reading (a)
    Middlesbrough (h)
    Newcastle (h)
    Sheffield United (a)
    Bolton (a)
    Chelsea (h)

The 2nd best player against:
    Liverpool (a)

and 3rd best player against:
    West Ham (h)
    Everton (h)
    Portsmouth (a)

He's the top defender and the only players to get more bonus points are midfielders Fabregas, Essien, Gerrard, Scholes and Ronaldo.
    Still not regarded as a top premiership defender by most (in that there'd be shock if Mourinho bought him but not if he went for Ledley King).

how much have you seen him play?

more weight to my argument that finnan should be on the team of the year
    http://www.liverpoolfc.tv/news/drilldown/N155291070315-0910.htm

event wrote:
    how much have you seen him play?

lots, whats your point?

how can you say a player is world class after around 40 games?

people bandy that word around far too much

i wouldnt call him world class yet

whilst he has a good cup record, his league form is just ok

8 goals in 23 starts (2 subs)

just 2 have been away from home

1 of those has been against a top ten team

a very good player, but world class?

Everybody has different definitions of world class,

In terms of current form, I think Berbatrov is up there with Drogba as the top two strikers, however, that is current form, it remains to be seen whether or not he can continue it for the rest of the season, and most importantly, whether or not he can do it next season. Personally, I think he can, and I think the partnership of Keane and Berbatov would be electric, and give Spurs a real chance of pushing for 4th again next year if they can settle, and solidify their defence.

well, hes scored over 20 goals a season for the last 4 seasons.

but theres more to him than scoring goals.

keane and berbatov is an exciting combination. but hey, if you dont think he is world class, thats cool. you wont want him in your team then, will you :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Tonio

Foster

---Finnan
    Carragher
    Vidic
    Evra

---Ronaldo
    Fabregas
    Scholes
    Pedersen--

Drogba
    Berbatov