Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats the furtherist you have driven in Ireland in a day?

• 10-03-2007 7:58pm
    Registered Users Posts: 15,401 ✭✭✭✭

I drove to Cork and back today which is about a 560KM round trip.
    My shoulders are a little sore from holding the steering wheel all day and feel a bit tired after it all.

Am sure others have done much more, especially on continental motorways, but eating the miles up on a motorway isn't as hard I reckon as driving down narrow twisty roads for large parts.

I reckon 1000KM would be doable, but would be mighty tiring, anyone done over the 1000KM mark in a single day here?

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Nenagh to Belfast and back again in one day.
    According to the AA website it's about 650km but I took a longer route home so I say it was about 680km.

Took the most direct route up and that was the N52.
    Took the M1, M50 & N7 home. Longer route but far more straight forward. I'd say there wouldn't be much difference time-wise between the two routes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Mike07

Galwayy to Dublin for an all ireland qtr final, down to west cork after game to drop mate off -- then on to tralee--- was shattered---we won though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

It would probably be driving from Dublin to the town of Bushmills in the very top of Co. Antrim last summer, via Belfast. I can't remember what the exact distance was, but it was well over 200 miles.

It was alot of miles to do in one day in a Micra!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,401 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

micmclo and Mike07, thats pretty savage distances alright, must have been very very tiring.

Have a weather station?, why not join the Ireland Weather Network - http://irelandweather.eu/

• Registered Users Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

myself and my brother drove cork to ballymena and back. we were collecting his new car. this is the worst part. got there and realised the seller was a total spoofer "stunning mint '00" car was shagged- overheating, rattling, banged up etc. etc.:eek: :eek: :eek:

we arrived home dejected and carless.

945km according to AA doesn't that sound too much?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭Mike07

Most annoting part was around 11pm in macroom-- needed petol--- Do I drive on to killarney , about 45 mins and risk there being no station open-- or go 20 mins back to ballincollig where i know there will be one open

I chickend out and added 60 odd Ks to jny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭Redshift

Dublin to Buncranna and back in one day, Not sure of the distance. but it nearly killed me. All to do a job which took about 15 mins:rolleyes:
    Twas an emergency call so what can one do.

My old man used to drive for a living and he done Dublin>Waterford>Cork>Kilkenny>Carlow>Dublin
    Three times a week, he eventually had to give that up.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,660 ✭✭✭maidhc

Done Cork -> Dublin -> Cork a few times. It is grand when you get used to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,164 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

I did Lucan-Castleisland and back in one day - 546km

Two years ago I drove from Holyhead to Folkestone (590km) and then from Calais to St Jean-de-Monts (736km)the following day, a total of 20 hours on the road, including stops. The roads are much better, but it also makes it more monotonous.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,939 ✭✭✭wingnut

Antrim to Cork but it was one way lol. I drove Limerick to Birmingham but there was a kip on the ferry along the way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,752 ✭✭✭cyrusdvirus

Examples of stupid (and highly dangerous given driver fatigue) driving from me.

Leixlip to Athlone
    Athlone to Cavan
    Cavan to Galway
    Galway to Clonmel
    Clonmel to Kilkenny
    Kilkenny to Waterford
    Waterford to Cork
    Cork to Tralee

only 885KM according to AA. Felt like a LOT longer. That in a 1.25 99 Fiesta

left hone at 8.30am, arrived into tralee at 10.30pm

• Registered Users Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Redshift wrote:
    Dublin to Buncranna and back in one day, Not sure of the distance. but it nearly killed me. All to do a job which took about 15 mins:rolleyes:
    Twas an emergency call so what can one do.
    Have done something similar a few times....that journey is a killer

I've done Naas to the Derry/Donegal border to Seagate, done about 5hrs work and then back home again. Normally leave the house about 7am, get to Seagate about 11'ish and get out about 4pm and then home.
    Knocks me for six but I usually take the next day off when my boss thinks I've stayed over night up north with a relative.
    Its about a 420mile round trip but they are killer roads.
    I've also done Naas-Cork-Naas, 2 days in a row and I'd prefer that to the round trip to the north in one day.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

gatecrash wrote:

Leixlip to Athlone
    Athlone to Cavan
    Cavan to Galway
    Galway to Clonmel
    Clonmel to Kilkenny
    Kilkenny to Waterford
    Waterford to Cork
    Cork to Tralee

holy $hit....thems some tough roads in that car

• Registered Users Posts: 8,720 ✭✭✭Hal1

Left early one morning and began this tiring drive from: Dublin to Buncrana then to Dunfanaghy and on to Donegal and back to Dublin through Cavan. It was alot of millage and all done in a transit. :o 723km according to AA routeplanner.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,164 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

gatecrash wrote:

Have to agree here. I nodded off on the M5 while driving from Holyhead to Exeter a few years back. Got up at 4.30 to get the fast ferry. All 8 members of the family were with me in the car. It was a major wake-up call. Never again. Now I make sure of my sleep and bring cans of red bull for the drive.

P.S. When I say nodded off I mean for a few split seconds, and it was due to the lack of sleep rather than length of time driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Kerry to Donegal one way as a passenger; sweet mother of god never again, I'd drive to Cork and Fly to Belfast and hire a car from there first before I'd do it again. However that trip involved several deviations from a straight run I was 13 at the time and all I can remember was starting out at sunrise and arriving at sunset 11hours total and god knows how many miles.

Slow coach wrote:
    Have to agree here. I nodded off on the M5 while driving from Holyhead to Exeter a few years back. Got up at 4.30 to get the fast ferry. All 8 members of the family were with me in the car. It was a major wake-up call. Never again. Now I make sure of my sleep and bring cans of red bull for the drive.

P.S. When I say nodded off I mean for a few split seconds, and it was due to the lack of sleep rather than length of time driving.

I added in the bit about the driver fatigue because i was well punchy on the elast leg of the trip, and same as you, i'll never do it again. i was full of youthful stupidity and misplaced self confidence, and wanted to get to tralee for the overnight stay to go out on the beer!!!
    Had a stop at each place for around 30 mins, so at least the journey was broken up.

• Registered Users Posts: 519 ✭✭✭cujimmy

Blackrock to glasgow and back which according to the rac site comes in at 803 km

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,476 ✭✭✭✭Our man in Havana

Templemore to Londonderry and back in a day. 12 hours in a 91 Micra. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 2,827 ✭✭✭tech

dunmanway - letterkenny & back in a day
    dunmanway - portrus & back in a day

• Subscribers Posts: 16,586 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

have done, dublin - cork - limerick - galway - dublin in a day, wasn't very pleasant but saved a lot of individual trips. should have prob stayed the night in galway it was a couple of days before I recovered...

• Registered Users Posts: 902 ✭✭✭JMSE

Bond-007 wrote:
    Templemore to Londonderry and back in a day. 12 hours in a 91 Micra. :(

Didnt realise the Tipperary home of the Garda Training College had an orange lodge.

In a previous existence as a van courier, we did a week on each run. The 'Cork' run meant going starting from Dublin delivering to Portlaoise, Dundrum Co. Tipp, Ballylooby Co. Tipp, Mitchelstown, Castlemartyr Co. Cork, Cork city, Ballineen in west Cork and the last drop was in Millstreet before coming back up to Dublin again and do it again the next day. Friday evenings in Millstreet after that last drop was a happy time.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,992 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Dublin to Cork and on to Letterkenny was probably the longest I've driven.

Bond-007 wrote:
    Londonderry

• Registered Users Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Altreab

Longfield wrote:
    I drove to Cork and back today which is about a 560KM round trip.
    My shoulders are a little sore from holding the steering wheel all day and feel a bit tired after it all.

Am sure others have done much more, especially on continental motorways, but eating the miles up on a motorway isn't as hard I reckon as driving down narrow twisty roads for large parts.

I reckon 1000KM would be doable, but would be mighty tiring, anyone done over the 1000KM mark in a single day here?

Drove from West and i mean WEST Galway to Santry and back before 1 in the afternoon in the last century (1999) total trip was 380 Miles (610 approx KM)

8 hours solid driving and the roads were so much worse than they are now. (despite what many say) :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭mumof2

I remember driving back from Dublin Airport one year after coming back from Tunisia, no sleep, flight arrived in at around 5 am, so decided to drive straight home back to cork. Jesus, 10 am we got home, had to stop loads of times to stay awake!! Know better next time!! (Fly from Cork:D )

• Registered Users Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Altreab

mumof2 wrote:
    I remember driving back from Dublin Airport one year after coming back from Tunisia, no sleep, flight arrived in at around 5 am, so decided to drive straight home back to cork. Jesus, 10 am we got home, had to stop loads of times to stay awake!! Know better next time!! (Fly from Cork:D )

Yeah and if you hadnt been sensible and stopped you could have ended up having a nasty accident :( lack of sleep has killed a lot of people on the roads :(

• Registered Users Posts: 6,229 ✭✭✭Rowley Birkin QC

gatecrash wrote:

Leixlip to Athlone
    Athlone to Cavan
    Cavan to Galway
    Galway to Clonmel
    Clonmel to Kilkenny
    Kilkenny to Waterford
    Waterford to Cork
    Cork to Tralee

What were you doing in each of those towns?

Im guessing you aren't a courier or a specialist mechanic as you would have either a van or 4x4. Sales rep would have something more comfortable and better engined.

Student on a daft escapade maybe?

And yeah your right it was highly dangerous. I lost my girlfriend last year to a driver fatigue induced accident. IMO its as dangerous as drink driving.

bigkev49 wrote:
    What were you doing in each of those towns?

Im guessing you aren't a courier or a specialist mechanic as you would have either a van or 4x4. Sales rep would have something more comfortable and better engined.

Student on a daft escapade maybe?

And yeah your right it was highly dangerous. I lost my girlfriend last year to a driver fatigue induced accident. IMO its as dangerous as drink driving.

No, not a student. The company i work for have units in those towns and i was picking stuff up from one dropping in another (collecting in Athlone, dropping in Cavan etc)

this was about 4 or 5 years ago, have a mondeo now. i'll freely admit it was stupid and dangerous. and i have highlighted that in another post in this thread. i can only offer condolences from one internet username to another on losing your girlfriend. And yes you are right, it is every bad as bad as drink driving

• Registered Users Posts: 15,401 ✭✭✭✭Supercell

No-one has done the 1K run so far?, though Wishbone Ash's Dublin - Cork - Letterkenny journey strikes me as being pretty damn tough, fair play!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,992 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Longfield wrote:
    Wishbone Ash's Dublin - Cork - Letterkenny journey strikes me as being pretty damn tough, fair play!
    Dublin to Cork and up to Sligo was handy enough. From Sligo on it was tougher especially along Barnsmore Gap in driving rain. I had to pull over for a rest in Ballybofey even though I was only about 14 miles from my destination.