Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Recruitment (Archived)

1397398399400401403»

• Registered Users Posts: 527 ✭✭✭Haz33

srdb20 wrote: »
    Howdy all,

*Also would it be possible to sticky the closed threads for anyone brave enough to read through all 800 odd pages* - Just a thought!!!!!

Good Idea!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,451 ✭✭✭CharlieCroker

Dr_MaSoN wrote: »
    sorry to hear that charlie, i thought ya were just waiting on the call to show up for duty. :(

Ya, so did i!! Quit the job, moved back in with my parents, the whole hog!!
    Ah well, I'll just struggle on for the next 12 weeks and find something to tie me over until then.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,329 ✭✭✭✭Esel

srdb20 wrote: »
    *Also would it be possible to sticky the closed threads for anyone brave enough to read through all 800 odd pages* - Just a thought!!!!!
    One of you hopefuls waiting for August might volunteer to prune the thread of the huge amount of extraneous posts, just leaving the real information for reference? Just a thought! :D

Not your ornery onager

esel wrote: »
    One of you hopefuls waiting for August might volunteer to prune the thread of the huge amount of extraneous posts, just leaving the real information for reference? Just a thought! :D

I would do it! except I have a funny feeling you will be left with about 16 pages...:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 288 ✭✭Paolo5

A few q's on the call for the medical:

- Do they only call you for it when the backround checks are nearly processed?
    - I got my evenlope to say I passed Stage 2 about 10 days ago. Should I expect a call soon if all in order?
    - I have not called HQ to see how things are going - should I? - Am not too bothered waiting.
    - When they call do they give you a date that you have to be there or can you change it etc?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 277 ✭✭soundlad

Paolo5 wrote: »

- I got my evenlope to say I passed Stage 2 about 10 days ago. Should I expect a call soon if all in order?
    - I have not called HQ to see how things are going - should I? - Am not too bothered waiting.
    - When they call do they give you a date that you have to be there or can you change it etc?

They will contact you paolo . i was waitin a month then i rang them and they gave me a date for a it but i wud wait another while be4 i rang them. if a date doesnt suit u can change.

Paolo5 wrote: »

Paolo, I can only tell you how it was for me. But once stage 2 is passed, public appointments hand the rest over to Gardai and in my opinion, all hell breaks loose. There seems to be no merit, order or tracebility to what goes on. This is only my opinion and is open to correction but it seems they vet candidates on anything from age, race, education, sex.......whatever positions they happen to be looking to fill at any particular time. I know this will sound a bit vague, but I cant make head nor tail of it neither.
    There are people with everything done for months, who can start straight away, still waiting on a call. At the same time there are people who have just passed interview who are being pressed to start when they dont want!
    I feel the background checks can be done fairly quickly but this depends on when they are started. ( they can take 11 months if they are sitting on someone's desk for 9). This again is only my opinion.
    So I would suggest anyone who feels the process has stalled for them, should ring HQ and ask where they stand. You have applied for a job with these people and are entitled to know where you stand in the process.
    Sorry for the long post but I think everyone will agree that the recruitment process needs to be unravelled from time to time!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭RichieM.08

Haz33 wrote: »
    Paolo, I can only tell you how it was for me. But once stage 2 is passed, public appointments hand the rest over to Gardai and in my opinion, all hell breaks loose. There seems to be no merit, order or tracebility to what goes on. This is only my opinion and is open to correction but it seems they vet candidates on anything from age, race, education, sex.......whatever positions they happen to be looking to fill at any particular time. I know this will sound a bit vague, but I cant make head nor tail of it neither.
    There are people with everything done for months, who can start straight away, still waiting on a call. At the same time there are people who have just passed interview who are being pressed to start when they dont want!
    I feel the background checks can be done fairly quickly but this depends on when they are started. ( they can take 11 months if they are sitting on someone's desk for 9). This again is only my opinion.
    So I would suggest anyone who feels the process has stalled for them, should ring HQ and ask where they stand. You have applied for a job with these people and are entitled to know where you stand in the process.
    Sorry for the long post but I think everyone will agree that the recruitment process needs to be unravelled from time to time!

+ 1, well said that man

• Closed Accounts Posts: 151 ✭✭quirkek2

Had my interview last week so thought I'd put up a post to help anyone who's still waiting for their interview.

The verbal reasoning consisted of 15 short passages and 4 questions pertaining to each passage. 60 questions in all. It was straightforward and there was nothing in there to trip you up so dont worry about that. There's also no negative marking either in either of these exercises.

The interview itself lasted about 35mins. The lady from the public appointments service came out to greet me first and explained to me how the interview would work. She then brought me inside and explained it again in the presence of the Super. They were both very nice and put me at ease which was a relief because i dont think i've ever been shaking so much before going in for an interview!

They didn't ask me for any back up situations which i was surprised at. I had 16 stories in my head learned off by heart. I would still recommend to anyone who has yet to do their interview to learn 12-16 stories off by heart for the 4 different scenarios (ie to have 2 to 3 back up stories for each of the 4 scenarios. _Dont assume the same will happen to you_ and you won't get asked for any backups. It's always good to be over prepared in this area as you will feel more on the ball when you're in there as you're nervous enough as it is so the more prepared you are the better.

The general type of questions they asked me were as follows:

What's your plan B if the minister turned around in the morning and said there was a recruitment freeze and they wern't hiring any more Gardai?

Why do you want to be a Garda?

What do you take into account when making a decision?

They also asked for an example of how you would apply each of the 4 scenarios to the work of a Garda.

What area of the Gardai would you like to specialise in?

What qualities do you have that would make you a good Garda?

They quizzed me on my work experience and my degree and asked plenty of questions there.

I think that's about it. Hope this helps somebody who might be nervous about their interview. If theres anything else i can tell people about the interview just let me know.

The very best of luck to anybody waiting to hear from any stage of the process!

All the best

• Registered Users Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭shakin

just after catching up with the weekend posts!
    no recruitment yet, next week maybe?
    how the lads getting on in templemore?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭kaizersoze1980

shakin wrote: »

for people wondering on the next recruitment drive, ring publicjobs and ask them if they know. Would be good to get an update.

recovering after a night in the pub last night i'd say! :pac:

Hopefully we'll hear some reports back this weekend on what the craic is down there

Hi Guys
    I rang Garda medical today to see if they got my Opticians report and the girl said that the doctor had reviewed the report this morning and has passed me fit. My file will be sent on to HR and I should hear something in the coming weeks re PCT. Happy days...:D

Hi Guys
    I rang Garda medical today to see if they got my Opticians report and the girl said that the doctor had reviewed the report this morning and has passed me fit. My file will be sent on to HR and I should hear something in the coming weeks re PCT. Happy days...:D

nice one! congrats. You could have a job offer within the next few weeks! 2 months notice...not bad!

• Registered Users Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

Hi Guys

Happy Days indeed :) nice one Haz ... good to hear more good news coming to boards

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭tabatha

quirkek2 wrote: »

Had my interview last week so thought I'd put up a post to help anyone who's still waiting for their interview.

The verbal reasoning consisted of 15 short passages and 4 questions pertaining to each passage. 60 questions in all. It was straightforward and there was nothing in there to trip you up so dont worry about that. There's also no negative marking either in either of these exercises.

The interview itself lasted about 35mins. The lady from the public appointments service came out to greet me first and explained to me how the interview would work. She then brought me inside and explained it again in the presence of the Super. They were both very nice and put me at ease which was a relief because i dont think i've ever been shaking so much before going in for an interview!

They didn't ask me for any back up situations which i was surprised at. I had 16 stories in my head learned off by heart. I would still recommend to anyone who has yet to do their interview to learn 12-16 stories off by heart for the 4 different scenarios (ie to have 2 to 3 back up stories for each of the 4 scenarios. _Dont assume the same will happen to you_ and you won't get asked for any backups. It's always good to be over prepared in this area as you will feel more on the ball when you're in there as you're nervous enough as it is so the more prepared you are the better.

The general type of questions they asked me were as follows:

What's your plan B if the minister turned around in the morning and said there was a recruitment freeze and they wern't hiring any more Gardai?

Why do you want to be a Garda?

What do you take into account when making a decision?

They also asked for an example of how you would apply each of the 4 scenarios to the work of a Garda.

What area of the Gardai would you like to specialise in?

What qualities do you have that would make you a good Garda?

They quizzed me on my work experience and my degree and asked plenty of questions there.

I think that's about it. Hope this helps somebody who might be nervous about their interview. If theres anything else i can tell people about the interview just let me know.

The very best of luck to anybody waiting to hear from any stage of the process!

All the best

interesting that they asked about a recruitment freeze. this seems to be a question that they have only started to ask. wonder why they are asking this now?

tabatha wrote: »
    interesting that they asked about a recruitment freeze. this seems to be a question that they have only started to ask. wonder why they are asking this now?

:eek::eek::eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 90 ✭✭kmurray

hi does anyone know how long they were waiting on the results of the interview??i done mine on the 28th april and was just wondering when i should maybe expect the letter saying either way....all hoping that i passed i presume that they will slow down the medicals and pct that they have no rush ta get people in now until august???

Got my results a week after interview.... still waiting to med that is a month ago ive a feeling it will be a while

• Closed Accounts Posts: 441 ✭✭Murphy(Cork)

Hey Shakin,

Is there another recruitment intake starting soon, do you know??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭onthebeat

Well done Haz, good stuff, kick back and relx man:cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭onthebeat

Hey guys,

IMPORTANT FOR ANYONE DOING AN INTERVIEW

THe new minister for justice is Dermot Ahern, he was just ratified.

That could be asked in the interview, and it wouldnt be funny to be caught cold:cool:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 9,812 CMod ✭✭✭✭Shield

...and on that note, we bid a fond farewell to this thread. 3 years is a long time for one thread to be open.

The all-new Garda Recruitment master thread contains links to all stages of the Garda Recruitment process, which will make it easier to find information than before.

I'll let pacman have the final say: