Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do I have to give the buyer a refund..?

• 19-03-2007 9:49pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7

Hi everybody,

I sold an Xbox 360 in the buy&sell and it was working grand...

2 Weeks later the buyer wants a refund because it has broke.

Do I have to give him a refund..... surely not???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 YMCA-KING

And he said he contacted hte gardai and they said he should take me to small claims court..?

• Moderators Posts: 6,861 ✭✭✭Spocker

Did he confirm it was working when he received it? If he did did you keep proof of this?

well, if it was broken when he collected it and saw it working then he wouldn't of bought it?

It was working and he knows it, I showed him it working........?!

• Registered Users Posts: 732 ✭✭✭bbbbb

The guards will have a laugh. He's not a consumer under legistlation, see here
    By law, you are not a consumer if you:

* Receive goods as a gift
    * Buy goods for commercial purposes (i.e. you will be using the goods for commercial and not private use)
    * Buy goods for private use that are normally used for business purposes
    * Buy goods from an individual who is not in business (i.e. you buy a car from an individual whose normal business is not selling cars)

When buying privately, it's "buyer beware"

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Unless you offered him a guarentee, he's screwed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

No you dont have to give him a refund. Buyer beware and all that. However the warrenty might be still valid and so you could tell him to check out the details of the warrenty.

However, I think there's a lot more to this then meets the eye....

cheers

• Registered Users Posts: 6,440 ✭✭✭jhegarty

YMCA-KING wrote:
    And he said he contacted hte gardai and they said he should take me to small claims court..?

he can't take you to small claims court, you can only take a business to small claims court... which means he didn't speak the the gardai because they (should) know that...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,593 ✭✭✭johnnyrotten

Tell him to ring his solicitor!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭peepsbates

YMCA-KING wrote:
    well, if it was broken when he collected it and saw it working then he wouldn't of bought it?

It was working and he knows it, I showed him it working........?!

sounds iffy to me, how is it broke? what happened to it like?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

The seller is not a business therefore consumer law doesn't apply in this case

Well.....It was a console with Xtreme flashed onto it.

But it just 'stopped' working.

Thanks for all your help guys.