Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

End of Spurs Vs Chelsea game !! Fan attacks lampard

• 19-03-2007 11:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭

Looks like a fan(nutter) ran onto the pitch and punched lampard .. he was then carried off by stewards ... disgraceful TBH :eek: Its a bit early but if anyone gets a link to youtube for it can they post it ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭justfortherecor

Chelsea were perhaps a bit over the top though, the whole team taking off their jerseys and Cashley Cole pumpin fists at the Spurs supportters as well.

You'd swear they had just won at Anfield with an extremely late goal in front of the Kop by John O'Shea to all but seal the premiership!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 623 ✭✭✭hawker27

fat frank is a prat and over weighted,sorry i mean over rated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,746 ✭✭✭Drag00n79

While not justifying what happened I'm sick of the post-match vitriol of some players and teams. It was particularly careless tonight considering it was such a tight match not to mention it being a London derby replay. I'm just sick of that shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

Chelsea went waay over the top with their cock sucking of one another.
    Nice to see someone throw a smack in their direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭andrewie

Surely the Spurs fan will be up in court and charged and rightly so but Cashley Cole must almost be charged with GBH!

Disgrace.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭Jazzy

hawker27 wrote:

20 goals in all competitions and the highest assists in the PL ?

yeah, hes crap

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

I didn't see anything on the tv about it. What gives? Sky Sports News have information about some darlington defender getting an injury but nothing about this???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,403 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Nice to see someone throw a smack in their direction.

Least intelligent post ever..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,982 ✭✭✭Big Ears

hawker27 wrote:

Something tells me you won't be here long..............

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

video pleeeeeaase!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

DaveMcG wrote:
    video pleeeeeaase!

Oh yeah a video would be swell

that must have came against,watford,sheff utd,west ham e.t.c.

Jazzy wrote:
    20 goals in all competitions and the highest assists in the PL ?

yeah, hes crap

whats up BIGEARS.

Big Ears wrote:
    Something tells me you won't be here long..............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,723 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

andrewie wrote:
    Surely the Spurs fan will be up in court and charged and rightly so but Cashley Cole must almost be charged with GBH!

Disgrace.

I'm not a Chesea fan , but Cashley got a fair amount of abuse tonight, yes hes greedy , but hes also human.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,341 ✭✭✭✭Chucky the tree

http://img6.picsplace.to/img6/27/tit.gif

What a shocking attempt at a punch, disgrace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 631 ✭✭✭andrewie

thebaz wrote:
    I'm not a Chesea fan , but Cashley got a fair amount of abuse tonight, yes hes greedy , but hes also human.

He got abuse because he's an ex gunner. That doesn't give him any right to lay into someone who's been held down on the ground.

typical coward.

What a shocking attempt at a punch, disgrace.

Agreed...my Granny could have taken him..what a pussy :D Fair play to the fat man though..he didn't run off, looks like he was going in to give some back..probably not to be condoned but and the FA will probably give him stick but he has a right to defend himself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

andrewie wrote:
    He got abuse because he's an ex gunner. That doesn't give him any right to lay into someone who's been held down on the ground.

typical coward.

Who's in the what now? What happened?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,249 ✭✭✭✭Kinetic^

Jaysus, worst punch evah!!!!

Poor punch and a good duck saved the fat man's so called pretty face.......maybe he should lay off the duck!!! :D

Stekelly wrote:
    Who's in the what now? What happened?

I am guessing ashley cole stuck a few digs in while the lad was being restrained by the stewart on the ground.

lampard needs to take a leaf out of graham stacks book when dealing with troublemakers who invade the pitch.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yXxChycLh3k

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,732 ✭✭✭Reganio 2

Collie D wrote:
    Fair play to the fat man though..he didn't run off, looks like he was going in to give some back
    Of course he didnt run off that would have required more effort than he put into the match:D .
    lampard needs to take a leaf out of graham stacks book when dealing with troublemakers who invade the pitch.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yXxChycLh3k
    Jaysus the guy that fell looked like a right twat Stack didnt touch him. Fair play to Stack though..... leaving Arsenal:D . Thats what they teach in the Arsenal academy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,818 ✭✭✭Bateman

Of course Chelsea players shouldn't be allowed celebrate. What next? Passion? Standing up at football??? :rolleyes:

Keep on slagging Lampard lads; Fat Frank keeps on scoring; when he is busy outscoring every other English midfielder, and most in Europe, do you think he loses sleep worrying that a few barstool geeks in Ireland think he's "over-rated". Well duh, nearly everyone English born is over-rated by Sky, and then of course some are under-rated.

Who do the people slagging Lampard actually support?
    Does Fabregas have more goals than Lampard?
    Does Stevie Me have more goals than Lampard?
    Does Xabi Alonso have more goas than Lampard?
    Does Scholes have more goals than Lampard?*

Zzz lads, change the record, when it comes to kick and rush, thrill a minute English football matches, Frank Lampard tends to come in handy. Well, he plays for a team who tend to lose less than 5 competitive games in any calendar year.

*Yes obviously he has more league points in his pocket. ;) Trophies are the only thing more important than goals.

I am guessing ashley cole stuck a few digs in while the lad was being restrained by the stewart on the ground.

I'm guessing the pitch invader was escorted from the pitch by the onrushing stewards, and that no Chelsea player assaulted him while he was on the ground. Anyone who "guesses" otherwise is a fool.

Maybe Frank Lampard should spend his time pursuing some of Graham Stack's off-field activities, instead of walking his dog. :rolleyes:

Isnt banging your spainish chaffeur out of it enough off field antics already for big frank?

Isnt banging your spainish chauffeur out of it enough off field antics already for big frank?

Obviously it is, unless you know of anything less harmless than that that he has been up to.

...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

hawker27 banned.

Rollo offically warned RE: the deserves a smack.

Guys, if you don't have anything worthwhile to contribute, don't bother.

I'm watching this thread, any further carry on will see bans, not warnings.

Some one is not in a happy mood you seem to forget that Lampard plays with some great players who make him look better, its very easy to score goals from midfield with a guy doing the dirty work behind you. Also Lampard is a great player against Watford and West ham and the like he always goes missing the big games. Look at the Barcelona matches he disappeared for the majority of the match pops up with a goal and everybody remebers him. In all honesty he is over-rated.

Bateman wrote:
    Obviously it is, unless you know of anything less harmless than that that he has been up to.

...?

Yes, so he doesnt need too follow graham stacks off field antics, hes doing plenty himself.

Reganio 2 wrote:
    Some one is not in a happy mood you seem to forget that Lampard plays with some great players who make him look better, its very easy to score goals from midfield with a guy doing the dirty work behind you. Also Lampard is a great player against Watford and West ham and the like he always goes missing the big games. Look at the Barcelona matches he disappeared for the majority of the match pops up with a goal and everybody remebers him. In all honesty he is over-rated.

How many points does a team get for beating Watford at home?
    How many points does a team get for beating Liverpool away?

Seems like you only rememer Barcelona games as being "big games". Guess what, a knock-out game against Bayern Munich (during which Lampard put in a 180 minute masterclass of midfield play a couple of seasons back) is just as important as a knock-out game against Barcelona.

How many of Barcelona's world class players declined to show up over 2 legs against Liverpool recently, but were all begging for the ball away to Recreativo on Saturday night?

One big game a few years back is exactly my point he is living off the past games he has played. He puts in one good game every season and lives off that. Ok I admit he scores goals but if Scholes had a DM behind him he would score more goals same for Gerrard and Fabregas.

Can we get back on topic please? Anyone got a longer video that shows what (if anything) Cole did?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,079 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Reganio 2 wrote:
    Some one is not in a happy mood you seem to forget that Lampard plays with some great players who make him look better, its very easy to score goals from midfield with a guy doing the dirty work behind you.

In all honesty he is over-rated.

Ill be honest. I dont like Lampard, largely due to petty club allegiance reasons, but he had one of the best season's i've ever seen a few years ago in Ranieri's final season. He absolutely ruled the midfield every game. Now he does a different job. More support is built into the team and his job is to go forward and focus on his attacking game, scoring and setting up goals. So in short he's had both jobs over the past few years and excelled at both.

Yes he goes missing the odd time but in an attacking role sometimes that happens to every player regardless how good you are. And he's had some very poor performances for england (who hasnt in the past few years), but im basing him on his Chelsea form here as thats who he plays for week in week out, and theres not a lot you can say against him. He doesnt do so much tracking back and tackling, because thats not so much his job anymore, and the team dont suffer from it. when it was, he did it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Lampard in all fairness has performed in big games, and has performed in games against Barca too, anyone remember his wonder goal?

Lampard is overrated when Mourinho calls him the best in the world, but he's still a cracking player.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rMZT1D2iDD0

Never thought I'd see Redknapp so animated about anything....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,552 ✭✭✭✭GuanYin

Kenny5 banned. Collie D warned. If you want to have a go at Lampard because of his ability or attitude, fine.

Having a go at him over his appearance is against the charter.

I admit he is an okay player but Bateman was saying he is better than Gerrard, Scholes and Fabregas maybe its just me but I dont think he is as good as them maybe Fabregas but he is going to get better. People always remeber his goals and he pretty much lives off that not well he didnt touch the ball for 89 mins they remember oh he scored that great goal. He didnt play well against Barca yes his goal was a screamer but that was all he did. Like can you imagine Lamps going right back to watch a player who he knows can cross the ball and set up goals like Gerrard did with Serginho in the Champions League final even tough he is cramping up and the winger has fresh legs. Correct me if I am wrong but I couldnt see lamps doing that. Sorry to go on rants and all but I just think he is very over-rated a good player but very over rated.

EDIT... PSI that appearance slagging should be removed from the charter I mean what if another Luke Chadwick comes along :)
    3678.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Attractive Nun

I don't really get why people call Lampard crap, he's probably one of the fittest players in the Premiership and, in general, clearly isn't fat. Disgraceful behaviour by that fan in any case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

I don't really get why people call Lampard crap, he's probably one of the fittest players in the Premiership and, in general, clearly isn't fat.

You secretly find him a bit sexy too, do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

It's hard to tell from that video if Cashley is laying in some punches or just telling the guy to ooh behave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Wonder what the PL will do about that, Spurs should be thrown out of the league, deducted points or made to play behind closed doors.

Or whatever feyenoord got.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 340 ✭✭twilight_singer

The fan who tried to attack lampard is an idiot ,and I'm a spurs fan. He'll probably be banned from games for life now. players are only human of course they are going to celebrate a win in the FA Cup quarter finals. That "fan" will probably get spurs into trouble with the FA now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 355 ✭✭SCULLY

I don't think that Spurs should get into trouble over this incident - a review into what happened might be in order though.

Hopefully they will give a lifetime ban to the 2 pitch invaders (posibly the FA can extend it to all grounds - don't know if they have that power).

I think the result will be punishment enough for spurs!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

SCULLY wrote:
    I don't think that Spurs should get into trouble over this incident - a review into what happened might be in order though.

Failure to control fans and one got onto the pitch to strike a player, was it monica Seles who was stabbed after/during a tennis match ? :confused:

As they cant be docked points over it or kicked out (well maybe from next seasons cup), forced to play behind closed doors would be sufficent.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭Kold

In fairness, what were Spurs meant to do to stop this incident? It could've happened on any grounds to any team. The fan should be punished heavily as an example but I don't see how the club is at fault. If anything, force Chelsea to play a bit of football instead of that farce of a last 10 minutes where every throw-in merited a team talk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,955 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Bateman wrote:
    Of course Chelsea players shouldn't be allowed celebrate. What next? Passion? Standing up at football??? :rolleyes:

Keep on slagging Lampard lads; Fat Frank keeps on scoring; when he is busy outscoring every other English midfielder, and most in Europe, do you think he loses sleep worrying that a few barstool geeks in Ireland think he's "over-rated". Well duh, nearly everyone English born is over-rated by Sky, and then of course some are under-rated.

Excellent post.
    KdjaCL wrote:
    Wonder what the PL will do about that, Spurs should be thrown out of the league, deducted points or made to play behind closed doors.

Or whatever feyenoord got.

kdjac

It's outside the remit of the English Premier League. The match was in the English FA Cup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

He got all the way onto the pitch without a challenge from stewards, unacceptable tbh.
    In other news, Lampard is a class act. Some sour grapes there me thinks :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭stooge

IMHO Chelsea went over the top in their celebrations -

Players get booked week in week out for overcelebrating goals, Chelsea I feel went just a little too far considering it was only a quarter final match. They should get a little slap on the wrists but no more. It just seemed a bit nasty the way they were celebrating, like it wasnt just the victory it was like F* YOU Spurs fans.

Spurs deserved to get beat, they werent good enough. And they also deserve to get a fairly hefty fine for failing to control their fans. The two arrested at the end should be banned for a good few years if not life.

One more point, after the match stewards and Chelsea staff had got the man on the ground, there was absolutely no need for Drogba and Cole (and one other player who I cant identify) to go anywhere near the situation. Dont give me crap about sticking up for your teammate, Frank was about 5 yards away by this stage. What if the supporter had a knife or gun, your running right towards a serious injury.

It shows the togetherness of the Chelsea players, but it also goes to show just how thick they are as well.

and no, I'm not a spurs Utd, liverpool or arsenal fan nor am I a chelsea hater.

Great effort by the cops aswell for strolling up well after it was over.

I hope Ashley cole is banned for impersinating a rugby player aswell. Needs to work on his rucking technique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Bull****, let them celebrate. If fans want to abuse players all game, then if the players win, they deserve whatever they get. That's why I'm ok with Neville celebrating in front of the Liverpool fans, that's why I'm ok with Fowler giving the five finger salute if he scores at Old Trafford. People are growns up, they don't need to be coddled.

Spurs should be heavily fined. They are guilty of not policing their ground properly, which is essential to the viability of the premiership. It is totally their fault.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

PHB wrote:
    Spurs should be heavily fined. They are guilty of not policing their ground properly, which is essential to the viability of the premiership. It is totally their fault.

I dont understand this. If I wanted to run onto the pitch at any ground in England I could. The only your going to stop someone is if you have a solid wall of Stewards around the pitch.