Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Half Marathon Questions

• 20-03-2007 12:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,531 ✭✭✭✭

Hi Guys,

I'm running the Connemarathon Half Marathon in just under a fortnight, and have a couple of questions I hope you can help out with. I've been training for a couple of months now, so I'm confident about the run, however, just to plan a little better, I have set myself two loose targets, one is to run the entire thing non-stop (I've been doing a lot of hill-training) (higher priority) and the second is to finish in under two hours (not as important).

1#: So, to meet my target of finishing in under two hours, should I divide the time by the distance and make sure that I'm consistently doing a 9 minute mile, or start more aggressively (of course not too fast), and give myself more time later on (as I tire)? I'm currently running under 8 minutes a mile, so that would offer a good bit of leeway..

2#: Given recent weather conditions, I think I may need to be prepared for low temperatures, heavy winds and potentially rain and/or snow. Can anyone recommend a weather-resistant top that is comfortable and lightweight?

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

I wouldn't try and bank that much time myself - I'd suggest getting the course profile (I think it's on their website) and trying to run the whole thing at as even an effort (not pace) as possible.