Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New M50 Speed Camera??

• 22-03-2007 11:22am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭

Just got an email reading below:

Speed Camera appeared on M50 last night. Same as the 2 cameras near to

the Airport. Lines put on the road last night, pole and bracket for

Camera is standing. Expect the Camera itself to be up tonight!

Camera is positioned going Northbound just after Tallaght junction where

the cars merge.

This is the point at which the current roadworks start, there are big

signs up for 60 km/h.

Anyone notice it this morning?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

Saw the lines and pole yesterday afternoon.
    No one is obeying the 60kph speed limit and there are signs for Garda speed checks.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,251 ✭✭✭KeRbDoG

Another new one, just on the southside of the M50 Bridge over the Liffey, aiming at traffic heading south. Looks like its more to catch traffic going up the off ramp to the Lucan road.

• Registered Users Posts: 45,767 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

i was going through there this morning and both lanes going northbound were sticking to the 60kph limit, this was at about 7.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Yeah, saw the northbound one last night. Unlike the ones near the M1 junction, you can't see the lines until you're on top of them, and they haven't put up any signage yet.

I'd say these will just cause worse tailbacks at times when traffic is light.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,312 ✭✭✭mr_angry

Saw the Northbound one at Greenhills Park going up over the past couple of days. There was some activity at it this morning, so it looks like it will be up and running by tonight.

You can almost see it on the traffic monitoring camera for Greenhills Park:
    http://www.dublincity.ie/living_in_the_city/getting_around/traffic_cameras/

That one outside the toll bridge is going to be unpleasant. Trying to come out of the EasyPass lane and sticking to 60kph is nearly impossible. The number of merging lanes means that you need some leeway to adjust your position relative to other vehicles. Still... the law is the law. I guess we just have to live with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭I.S.T.

Stick the new camera locations in here lads, if you don't mind! Thanks.

http://www.irishspeedtraps.com/input_location.aspx

• Subscribers Posts: 16,586 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

saw the lines this morning and they were doing work where I guess the camera will go, it is going to be interesting seeing people go from 100-60km/h in a few feet as they look to have painted them right at the very start of the 60 km/h zone.

To top it off I got a speed notice in the post for those bloody roadworks today. How you are meant to do 60 in them without getting run off the road I dunno although looks like I was way over. Don't remember the van but it is so long ago I don't know how you could. The notice is from 25th of Feb, I could easily be getting another 5 since then and be off the road soon!

• Registered Users Posts: 893 ✭✭✭I.S.T.

copacetic wrote:
    saw the lines this morning and they were doing work where I guess the camera will go, it is going to be interesting seeing people go from 100-60km/h in a few feet as they look to have painted them right at the very start of the 60 km/h zone.

To top it off I got a speed notice in the post for those bloody roadworks today. How you are meant to do 60 in them without getting run off the road I dunno although looks like I was way over. Don't remember the van but it is so long ago I don't know how you could. The notice is from 25th of Feb, I could easily be getting another 5 since then and be off the road soon!
    Bad luck. Best thing when driving on the M50 is to stay in the driving (left) lane, it is easier to stick to the 60kmh there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

just drive in the slow lane on the right :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Reesy

I sympathise with posters who are wary of sticking to the speed limit. A year or 2 back I drove from Dublin to Rosslare obeying the speed limit the whole way - and at the time there was a 60km/h limit thru some very long roadworks on the N11. I drive an MX5. Trucks, big saloons, 4x4s would come up on me really fast then hit the brakes at the last minute really hard when they realised how slow I was going. Very scary, I won't be trying that again anytime soon.

Of course, if the enforcement was thorough & consistent, then it would not be scary at all. And I'll show my backside in BT's window if ministerial cars stop breaking the speed limit!

R.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭drdre

Yes i noticed them yesterday on the way to the airport.Its only a 60kph zone:mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 7,398 ✭✭✭fletch

I passed it last night at 60kph as cars flashed by me going considerably faster. Is the camera not enabled yet as I didn't see it flash. Do I not recall some law whereby they have to have a signpost up indicating that there is a speed camera ahead?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,603 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

about time they put more enforcement in place on the m50. People just arent sticking to the speed limit and that road is lethal in some parts.

faceman wrote:
    about time they put more enforcement in place on the m50. People just arent sticking to the speed limit and that road is lethal in some parts.
    i agree people don't stick to the limit (and the damned Mortons double decker was right up the arse of my car this morning becauae i was sticking to the limit) but i disagree with the road being "lethal in some places".

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,603 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Tauren wrote:
    i agree people don't stick to the limit (and the damned Mortons double decker was right up the arse of my car this morning becauae i was sticking to the limit) but i disagree with the road being "lethal in some places".

when i need to travel the m50 i usually take my motorbike and the road is completely uneven in parts, particularly the left lane where the removing of the old paint lines has left plenty of bumps in the road.

PLus the road is pretty narrow in most sections, and while it may seem quite easy for drivers to do 120k, a minor misjudgement or slip could be fatal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,430 ✭✭✭testicle

fletch wrote:
    I passed it last night at 60kph as cars flashed by me going considerably faster. Is the camera not enabled yet as I didn't see it flash. Do I not recall some law whereby they have to have a signpost up indicating that there is a speed camera ahead?

The actual camera is not there yet.

faceman wrote:
    when i need to travel the m50 i usually take my motorbike and the road is completely uneven in parts, particularly the left lane where the removing of the old paint lines has left plenty of bumps in the road.

PLus the road is pretty narrow in most sections, and while it may seem quite easy for drivers to do 120k, a minor misjudgement or slip could be fatal.
    no motorbike rider i have seen seems to care, i have never seen one obeying the rules of the road on the M50, on any section of it. Probably never seen you on it though, so its not a comment directly at you.

The only section i think is a bit iffy is the Ballymount(?) section just beofre the turn off for the N7 - it does get a bit thin there. I've never noticed the road surface being particularly poor for the rest of the M50, but i suppose in a car i wouldn't notice as easily.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭ciarsd

testicle wrote:

Northbound, I believe it is. Have not passed the southbound section yet to see whats happening there, next to the toll booth's..

Tauren wrote:
    no motorbike rider i have seen seems to care, i have never seen one obeying the rules of the road on the M50, on any section of it. Probably never seen you on it though, so its not a comment directly at you.
    Its lke drivin a car, there are good and bad drivers among us all but at times it seems there are more bad drivers out there than good! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭Gran Hermano

testicle wrote:

There were two Serco vans there at 9.00 this morning working
    on the camera. I'd be surprised if it's not operational today.
    http://www.serco-is.com/specialist_services_trafic.htm

• Registered Users Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Tauren wrote:

The only section i think is a bit iffy is the Ballymount(?) section just beofre the turn off for the N7 - it does get a bit thin there. I've never noticed the road surface being particularly poor for the rest of the M50, but i suppose in a car i wouldn't notice as easily.
    The left hand lane for most of the roadworks is a complete mess. As you pass the interchanges, there's a series of bumps where they've scraped out the old road markngs. After you pass the N7 interchange, the road is continually potholed, and for a number of months, the extreme left hand side of the left hand lane has been collapsing into the verge. They just keep filling it in, but it's massively uneven. As you approach the N4, the road gets slightly narrower and a lot bendier.

These are all things that would easily catch out a learner or a trucker who was half asleep. I haven't driven a bike on the M50 since they started the works, but I can't imagine it's a barrel of laughs.

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭McCalvin

Tauren wrote:
    no motorbike rider i have seen seems to care, i have never seen one obeying the rules of the road on the M50, on any section of it. .

Where as car drivers always stay in the driving lane rather than the overtaking lane, never speed and always indicate when changing lanes.

McCalvin wrote:

Where as car drivers always stay in the driving lane rather than the overtaking lane, never speed and always indicate when changing lanes.
    ah - but i have actually seen drivers obey the rules, never seen a biker do so on the m50 - seriously, never.

Anyway, i don't want to get into a car vs bike argument, i'm not intellegent enough for it - so you win. :D

Seamus - i take your point about the road after the N7 turn off. I've never driven further then the N7 turn off so i have no experience of what it is like beyond it - i have been up along it the odd time with the GF when we have been going to Liffey Valley, but not in a while, and well....i'm usually half asleep at that point, don't know why!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,985 ✭✭✭✭Stark

Tauren wrote:
    ah - but i have actually seen drivers obey the rules, never seen a biker do so on the m50 - seriously, never.

Many car drivers don't see motorcycles full stop ;)

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 13,498 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Has the one at the toll bridge gone up yet?!

As rightly said, you do need to get some form of speed to get in front of 5 trucks coming from your left.

Im just wondering that when the roadworks do end (in 2076!!) how long will it take them to re-adjust the cameras?!

• Subscribers Posts: 16,586 ✭✭✭✭copacetic

ciarsd wrote:
    Northbound, I believe it is. Have not passed the southbound section yet to see whats happening there, next to the toll booth's..

yes, it definitely is there northbound, there was a van beside it today as if they were still setting it up...

• Registered Users Posts: 34,819 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Tauren wrote:
    :rolleyes: You gotta love that little disclaimer on the end though.
    It's like saying to a black man "All blacks I see are lazy b*stards, not you though" as if that last bit makes it all right.
    There's a lot of very trolly anti-bike comments in Motors today...

Fingal County Council are certainly not competent to be making decisions about the most important piece of infrastructure on the island. They need to stick to badly designed cycle lanes and deciding on whether Mrs Murphy can have her kitchen extension.

ninja900 wrote:
    :rolleyes: You gotta love that little disclaimer on the end though.
    It's like saying to a black man "All blacks I see are lazy b*stards, not you though" as if that last bit makes it all right.
    There's a lot of very trolly anti-bike comments in Motors today...
    erm - how is it? I said no motorbike rider i have SEEN on the m50 obeys the rules of the road. And that is the truth, every single one of them has been speeding. I do the speed limit in every section of the m50 and i have never once overtook or kept pace with a bike. Never. That is a simply fact. Don't try and compare it to a racist comment.

My comment was fair comment.

If some riders obeyed the rules, i would have said most i have seen haven't. If most i saw did obey the rules of the road i wouldn't have said anything. However, it is FACT that i have NEVER seen a motorbike not breaking the speed limit on the m50.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 13,498 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

that southbound one is very hidden! Right behind the bridge! Also, the white speed lines are marked off in the middle of the faded yellow box! Thats sneaky!!

The northbound one was connected up around midday today. Some arseh@le nearly went into the back of me as I was travelling 60kmh along the white lines.

Also, the guards were out on the chapelizod bypass today! Managed to see them as I was going up the hill under the truck! (i saw the reflection of the garda car under it!!)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

Are there plans to put speed cameras in wheelie bins as they are doing in Australia
    http://aussieexotics.com/category/speed-cameras/

The story is at the bottom of the web page.