Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Which International Manger would you like managing your nation?

• 26-03-2007 8:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭

None of them are fantastic on paper but Lawrie up in the north gets my vote. He has passion, has a tactical mind and is better all round than Toshack, Staunton, McLeish and McClaren imo.

Edit, ****e, the poll was never added. :(
    Any chance the 5 mangers mentioned can be added to a poll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭DerekD Goldfish

He has passion, has a tactical mind and is better all round than Toshack, Staunton, McLeish and McClaren imo.

Are there only 5 countries in the world now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,640 ✭✭✭Gillie

Martin O'Neill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Rollo Tamasi

Are there only 5 countries in the world now?

From the English based countries that contain most PL players
    Wales/England/Ireland/N.Iron/Scotland...I would have thought that was obvious no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

English based countries

speaking ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,323 ✭✭✭Savman

Gillie wrote:
    Martin O'Neill
    :mad::mad::mad::mad::mad:
    Get yer eyes off the prize!

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

If it has to be a manger I'll go with Jesus' Manger.
    Jesus ruled. So his manger might too....

Oh, phew. It's ok folks he's talking about a "manger"
    better all round than Toshack, Staunton, McLeish and McClaren imo.
    Feckin mangers, it's a manager we need ;)

ps- ye cant ask for "International" candidates then suggest Lawrie Sanchez.:eek:

If it has to be a manger I'll go with Jesus' Manger.
    Jesus ruled. So his manger might too....
    Maybe that's why we ended up with Stan. He applied for the "manger position" thinkin he'd get a crib for his bed.:D:D

christ, this thread is ready for the scrap heap
    how asleep was I this morning? answers on a post card please.

We're depressed we need a lift :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,921 ✭✭✭✭Pigman II

I'd like Paul Jewell or Neil Warnock. Someone who manages teams that are usually in a scrap (be it promotion or relegation) and more imporantly who can get the most out of the shíte at his disposal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

i wish roddy colins was england manager but mc claren isnt far off:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,841 ✭✭✭Running Bing

From the English based countries that contain most PL players
    Wales/England/Ireland/N.Iron/Scotland...I would have thought that was obvious no?

No. And what are you on about English based countries? I dont understand that at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

FAI can't afford to sack Staunton, and we can't afford any really half decent manager (unless one of our many multi millioners would kindly consider donating to the cause a la Ambramovich). Charlton quit, McCarthy Quit, Kerr didn't have his contract renewed, none off them were sacked outright (AFAIK). i don't see that pattern changing anytime soon either. This thread is kinda pointless...

if we were to engage in wishful thinking here i would actually like Sam Allardyce.... never gonna happen though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,109 ✭✭✭ThE_IVIAcIVIAIV

it would never happen in a trillion years but i'd like marcelo lippi..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,881 ✭✭✭bohsman

McLaren might be out of a job over on the mainland soon enough, could poach him I suppose.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭DerekD Goldfish

it would never happen in a trillion years but i'd like marcelo lippi..

Lippi is reluctiont to manage in england because of his poor English you could imagine him trying to figure the Irish accent

If you ask me, Kerr was the best person for the job. It was a pity to see him go, worse still when you consider FAI had no great plan of action other than "ah sher it'll be grand"
    Only a bunch of idiots...oh wait...:rolleyes:

Pigman II wrote:
    I'd like Paul Jewell or Neil Warnock. Someone who manages teams that are usually in a scrap (be it promotion or relegation) and more imporantly who can get the most out of the shíte at his disposal.
    Aye we need an underdogger alright, or someone with track record of getting the best out of (very) limited resources. Neither Stan nor Bobby Robson fit that criteria imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭odonnell

i didnt realise England was actually a group of countries

As for the other countries in the Union, Id recommend McLeish - he does a very good job with the players he has and always has done. His tactical awareness isnt amazing but sure - who's is these days? Hes a battler and is well liked by the players but respected at the same time. Hopefully he can keep up the good work Walter Smith started with the Scotland set up - fingers crossed for Wednesday night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭herbieflowers

John Aldridge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,245 ✭✭✭✭Fanny Cradock

Big Phil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,326 ✭✭✭Zapp Brannigan

Big Phil

• Closed Accounts Posts: 868 ✭✭✭tdv

Mr.Lippi

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,483 ✭✭✭Töpher

Lippi is reluctiont to manage in england because of his poor English you could imagine him trying to figure the Irish accent
    How many of the team would actually have anything remotely resembling an Irish accent though? :p:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

Gone are those days mate. :) Kilbane, McGeady and Carsley are the only foreign born players in the squad.

maybe that's why we've been so poor of late...a lack of Englishmen!

Don't worry. Folan, Bruce and St Ledger will save us.

shame about Chliontáin not being in the squad though, I'm still peeved...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,894 ✭✭✭evad_lhorg

eirebhoy wrote:
    Gone are those days mate. :) Kilbane, McGeady and Carsley are the only foreign born players in the squad.

stephen reid is english isnt he?

evad_lhorg wrote:
    stephen reid is english isnt he?
    He's not in the squad...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,646 ✭✭✭cooker3

Give me lawrie out of the current lot, he has done a great job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

maybe that's why we've been so poor of late...a lack of Englishmen!

Then again the England team has 11 Englishmen in it and they're not much use either!