Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking for good home for two old cars

• 28-03-2007 9:23am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭

I am moving my family to America at the end of May 2007 and want to get "good homes" for my two beloved cars. I don't want them to end-up in the hands of boy racers or any other kind of destructive user, but want them to go to owners who will be interested in restoring them or at least using them kindly. I know this will seem daft to many who read this, but to the right persons, who get emotionally attached to their old cars, and old dogs, it will seem eminently reasonable!

We have owned both cars for 10 years and they have had good maintenance over that time, but both have suffered body corrosion which I have tried my best to repair by MIG welding.

The first car is a 1985 Ford Fiesta with a 1.117 litre petrol engine. It failed its last NCT because of corrosion above the rear wheels where I can't get at it to repair. People in the know have told me that if a flap is neatly cut open in the body above the wheel, it is possible to get at the area that needs repair. The car was originally registered in England, then brought to West Cork. The time in England and the salt on the roads probably accounts for the rust that I found on its sills. (I replaced one inner/outer sill set and patched the other.) One of the previous owners replaced the original Mark II carburettor with one from a Mark I, I suppose to get better petrol mileage. I've reground the valves and replaced the valve stem seals twice. The cylinders of the engine have gone a little egg-shaped with wear, and I should have replaced the block with one from Kennedy engines of Cork City when I had the chance last summer (200 euros for the remachined block they had). At the time, I had the engine out of the car and replaced the crankshaft bearings and the piston bearings as well as the timing belt and the timing belt tensioner. I didn't replace the piston rings because they were costly, and because the cylinders were egg-shaped. The engine is a little hard to start because compression (and suction for pulling the petrol mix into the cylinders from the carburettor) is low until oil gets splashed around with cranking and makes a seal between the rings and the cylinders. Once it starts, it runs like a clock. However there is blow-by into the rocker arm area and so oil gets wafted out of the breather. The car has new fuel lines, new parking brake cable, new front windscreen and new exhaust system. The tyres are practically new with very little wear. Would be a great car for someone who is willing to do some work on the rusty bits and get it through the NCT. This car will be free to the right person.

Other items I replaced that I forgot to mention: I replaced the steering rack and pinion with a rebuilt one together with the tracking rods and ends (actually replaced the ends more than once), replaced the tie rod bushings, replaced the radiator with a new one, replaced the top bearings for the front struts to ease the steering, replaced the windshield wiper motor with a good used one, and replaced the rear axle with a good new one. Replaced the front brake pads once, one or both rear brake cylinders, and overhauled the brake balancing valve.

The other car is a 1989 Mitsubishi Space Wagon, 1.755 liter petrol engine, 5 forward speed gearbox, power steering, central locking, 7 passenger. It also failed its last NCT because of body corrosion, but I think I have done enough welding repairs to get it through again. The car has about 265,000 miles on the engine and is a great family car. I have done an immense amount of work on it in the 10 years we've had it. We got it used from a rural dealer who was selling it for a Church of Ireland bishop! I have reground the valves twice and replaced the valve stem seals, had the gearbox reconditioned at a cost of about 900 punts, replaced the CV joints (outer and inner), replaced the shocks, replaced a rear wheel, replaced the fuel pump (twice), replaced the carburettor, renewed the collection of belts three times (timing, balance, alternator and power steering belts), been religious about replacing engine oil and oil filter every 3,000 miles, replaced the head gasket twice and had the head skimmed by a professional machinist the last time, replaced the trailing arms (rear wheel axles) bushings, and on and on. I've also done quite a bit of (amateurish) MIG welding of the wheel arches and the door sills. The car has always been in Ireland, it is not a grey-import! The tyres are practically new, only 3 months old, bought from and installed by a rural tyre specialist. They are beauties, and the car tracks down the road straight as an arrow. A wonderful car. I want market price for this car, whatever that is, but will only sell it to the right person who will take care of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

eh in fairness I don't think those cars would be on a 'boyracers' top 10 list of 'must haves'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 645 ✭✭✭TomF

Very true! :D I should have used "joy riders" in the context.

• Registered Users Posts: 192 ✭✭mickey mac

eh in fairness I don't think those cars would be on a 'boyracers' top 10 list of 'must haves'

Or anybody elses! How is it possible to get so attached to a car?

• Registered Users Posts: 10,210 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

PM 'WKD RWD' on driver.ie he's mad into restoring old yokes. He's in Claregalway

• Registered Users Posts: 653 ✭✭✭DukeDredd

You must be well organised at moving your family to America if you're able to spend this much time worried about two old (and unremarkable) cars in the drive!

Well organised? Well, I suppose the German Army General Staff could take a few cues from me.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭maidhc

DukeDredd wrote:
    You must be well organised at moving your family to America if you're able to spend this much time worried about two old (and unremarkable) cars in the drive!

Anyone who likes cars for what they are will care about what happens them. Neither car is worth much, obviosly, but that is completely irrelevant.

Just because the man isn't like most Irish people who view anything less than an 07 BMW with disdain.....

Fair play OP! It is nice to see someone who actually cares.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,386 ✭✭✭BrianD3

I can relate to getting attached to an (unremarkable) car - especially one that has been in the family 10 years and has given good service. I wouldn't see others showing whole lot of interest in either of your cars though. In 5 years time perhaps people will be getting nostalgic about the Mk2 Fiesta but not yet. If it was in immaculate condition then that might be a different story. Or if it was a Mk1 Fiesta it would be more interesting.

As for the Space Wagon - sorry to say but some banger racer would probably like to get his hands on that as it would be a bit different to the norm. Whatever about the chances of finding an enthusiast for a Mk2 Fiesta I can't see you finding one for a Spacewagon with rust issues.

However, as maidhc says, fair play for caring!

JohnCleary, thanks for tip. Am registering on Driver.ie and will contact yer man.

And yes, I talk to my old cars, and pat them encouragingly whenever I walk past them, or get in to drive anywhere in one (even though they don't have NCT stickers!). And when I get to where I am going or get home safely, I thank the old car and give it another pat before going into the house. They say it works for growing flowers and plants, so why not for keeping an old car happy and on the road?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

Any chance of putting at least one of the two cars into a container and bringing it to America? Surely if you're moving to America, you'll be getting a 40 ft. container to move everything with you. You might be able to squeeze a car in there as well.

maidhc wrote:
    Anyone who likes cars for what they are will care about what happens them. Neither car is worth much, obviosly, but that is completely irrelevant.

Just because the man isn't like most Irish people who view anything less than an 07 BMW with disdain.....

Fair play OP! It is nice to see someone who actually cares.

Didn't say anything about viewing old cars with disdain - but an '85 Fiesta & '89 Space Wagon that are rusting and without NCT's - c'mon! And now someone thinks shipping them off to America is a good idea :rolleyes: Could it get more ridiculous?

You also drive them without valid NCT's - what would you do if you crash into someone because something failed with the car - pat them on the head like your cars and say sorry?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭AsphaltRisin'

Would gladly take the festa to fix it up as i've a fondness for the older fiestas, but cant at the moment i'm afraid as i'm trying to get two tired old Granadas back on the road, and have just bought a Ford P100. Plus i've already decided that for space and cash flow reasons i have to sadly let my Opel rekord go, even though i'd love to keep it.

The fiesta doesnt sound too bad, and could be put motoring again easy enough. TomF i hope you find someone to take it on as a project, as these will become more valuable in the future.
    Someone on www.everyfordireland.com, a new Ford website may be able to find a home for it

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,714 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

DukeDredd wrote:
    Didn't say anything about viewing old cars with disdain - but an '85 Fiesta & '89 Space Wagon that are rusting and without NCT's - c'mon! And now someone thinks shipping them off to America is a good idea :rolleyes: Could it get more ridiculous?

You also drive them without valid NCT's - what would you do if you crash into someone because something failed with the car - pat them on the head like your cars and say sorry?!
    tbh if you are not going to help then don't post.
    There may be many people looking for these cars for whatever reason (to fix up, for parts, etc.)

@TomF - place an advert on adverts.ie for these also. Good luck in shifting these and best of luck in America

kbannon wrote:
    tbh if you are not going to help then don't post.
    There may be many people looking for these cars for whatever reason (to fix up, for parts, etc.)

@TomF - place an advert on adverts.ie for these also. Good luck in shifting these and best of luck in America

Edit: OK fair enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,558 ✭✭✭netwhizkid

Can't old cars be dropped of the main dealers now and they are responsible for disposing of them in an environmentally friendly manner ie. Recycle them?

This is new EU legislation that has to be introduced by the Irish Government along the lines of the WEEE (Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment Initiative). I wonder is this up and running here yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

sell them for parts.... or put them through merlin car auctions

• Registered Users Posts: 7,659 ✭✭✭maidhc

netwhizkid wrote:
    Can't old cars be dropped of the main dealers now and they are responsible for disposing of them in an environmentally friendly manner ie. Recycle them?

This is new EU legislation that has to be introduced by the Irish Government along the lines of the WEEE (Waste Electrical and Electronic Equipment Initiative). I wonder is this up and running here yet?

It is up and running, but this is presumably what the OP doesn't want.

I'd hate to see my 1995 Mondeo with over 180k miles scrapped.

Thanks for the input, all. I'll be going to the recommended sites. I even get a smile out of the "drive it off the pier" comments. My brother would agree with that wholeheartedly! We are only shipping a pallet of belongings by sea to America, not a container. It measures 100X120 cm and stands 140 cm high. Everything else goes into the suitcases and the carry-ons to the plane, and the airlines are getting very stingy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭overdriver

Put them up on Dublin Freecycle? It's populated by a lot of likeminded people to yourself. I will drive my Haice into the ground, asI cannot understand people's throw-away attitude to cars.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,210 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Hi, if the fiesta is still available i would be interested in it (as long as its not a million miles away!!)

Genuine ford fan here currently driving an ST focus. Previous fords owned are a Fiestas MK1 & MK XR2i, Escort MK1 2 dr, MK2 2dr, MK3 XR3, MK4 XR3i, MK 5 XR3i (130), MK1 Focus and a few sierras!! Am not addicted - honest. Currently looking for another MK1 Fiesta and an original XR3i 86-89.
    C.

I've never done attachments, so expect anything, but I'll try for four views of the Fiesta and one of the engine compartment.

Well, well, it worked. The red rusty areas are where I MIG-welded in patches and didn't get around to covering them with primer. I'll probably be doing that because of the "naming and shaming" of this site!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,658 ✭✭✭old boy

i would love the space wagon if the price is not two high it has to be better than my clapped out laguna, btw i can pm you my age if you require it, also i need a car with a high seat for medical reasons

I haven't forgotten or ignored the answers here. I want to hold on to the cars until late May because that is when we are leaving.

Well, the Fiesta was driven away by a neighbor who is having a friend do some welding on her. The Space Wagon is also being taken by a man who can use her. Very pleased at the outcomes, and very grateful for all the responses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Volvoboy

Well atleast they found good home:)

-VB-

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭legs11

whats with the decimal places in the engine size....

are you a math lecturer who pays great attention to detail.:p

hope you have a good time state side, whatever you end up driving