Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mini PC build (sff)

Options
  • 02-04-2007 10:57am
    Registered Users Posts: 700 ✭✭✭

I'm building a mini PC so I can have it in my bedroom, I'll be using it mostly for music, video and net. May even run some audio apps (ableton, cubase).

Anyone care to take a look at the list and check that it's all right?
    I'm no expert at pc building.

I'm not sure if I need a graphics card? The shuttle barebones has a graphics controller, so that means I still need a PCI card?
    A TV card would be nice anyway.

Will I need to get a fan for the amd processor?

1 stick of 1024 is ok? Or does it need 2 equal sized sticks?
    Might go for 2 sticks of 1024.

List: http://www.komplett.ie/k/shoplist.asp?mode=receive&si=449559&su=8A80B4A9-243B-4634-9700-4E05565A7D13

Any advice appreciated.
    Don't want to find out I've missed something obvious....

Thanks

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,757 ✭✭✭8T8

Everything is fine for the most part though I'll suggest one or two slight changes.

You don't need a graphics card the integrated one is sufficient for 2D usage. The integrated graphics has only VGA out so if you for instance wanted a DVI output for a digital link to the monitor then you would need a graphics card (A VGA output can work with a DVI display via an adapter but of course the signal is not digital it will still be analouge).

You do not require a fan for the CPU Shuttle have their own cooling mechanism built into the chassis which attaches to the CPU socket.

A TV card is possible if you want it.