Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Champions League Quarter Finals Leg 1

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,294 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

I made a comment earlier in this thread that I dont like watching Liverpool because they bore me to tears, last night was no different. It was a very dull game and I actually swicthed over midway through the second half I was that bored. The RTE lads had a point, it wasnt an entertaining game.

That said though im a nuetral and want entertainment, im sure the Liverpool fans couldnt care less that the game was dull.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

I'm sure the United game will be alot more entertaining tonight. You'll see alot of heated exchanges between the players, no doubt. Totti, if he doesn't get his way could end up getting a yellow and missing the second leg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,617 ✭✭✭✭PHB

Roma have Totti, De Rossi, Mancini, Taddei, Mexes, and Tonetto all one booking away from suspensions.

With the way Roma will have to deal with Ronaldo, I could easily see De Rossi, Tonetto and Mexes getting booked.

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

Problem is Ronaldo is on a booking too, so if the referee precieves that Ronaldo has taken a dive he could well get booked. The yellow he got was for a "dive" against Lille, even though he was actually fouled.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,983 ✭✭✭leninbenjamin

PORNAPSTER wrote:
    Problem is Ronaldo is on a booking too, so if the referee precieves that Ronaldo has taken a dive he could well get booked. The yellow he got was for a "dive" against Lille, even though he was actually fouled.

in all fairness, seeing as he doesn't tackle it should be pretty easy for him to go without getting booked. all he has to do is not fall so easy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,013 ✭✭✭✭eirebhoy

PHB wrote:
    Tomorrow is interesting. Form suggests United are gona beat them, we havn't lost in so long I forget what it feels like.

Uniteds defense is shaky, but to be honest, I think Roma are a bit overrated, that said I'm a bit drunk so :)

Totti is a class act, but Mancini is a player who can't get into the national squad, which is lacking in any wide players. Tadetti isn't that great for me.

De Rossi is good, but no match for Scholes. Personally, I changing from the view of a score draw to a win, but I think we will concede.
    Taddei isn't the greatest player in the world tbh but I wouldn't read anything into Mancini not making the Brazil squad. Juninho was the same for years. ffs Wagner Love is now getting his game and he's rubbish (relatively speaking).

De Rossi is superb. He's ahead of Pirlo for a place in the Italy team now which says it all. Obviously Perrotta and Totti were first teamers in the Italy world cup winning team too.

Mexes and Chivu have a great understanding. Excellent partnership.

Without Pizarro, De Rossi will have to play as the deepest midfielder. He's a huge miss.

Don't mind Roma's recent form. They couldn't care about the league, nothing to play for for a couple of months now.

I'll go 2-1 Roma.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

PHB wrote:

Totti is a class act, but Mancini is a player who can't get into the national squad, which is lacking in any wide players. Tadetti isn't that great for me.

De Rossi is good, but no match for Scholes. Personally, I changing from the view of a score draw to a win, but I think we will concede.

What planet do you live on?

Mancini not getting into the national team has more to do with the fact that they play a duel pivot with Ronaldinho and Kaka infront of it than his ability.

As for Taddei, his ball control is sick and he is pretty damned fast.
    he also knows where the net is, as does Mancini.

Di Rossi no match for Scholes?

Daniele De Rossi is at 22 better than Scholes was at 26, the boy is a special talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,148 ✭✭✭✭Raskolnikov

Seaneh wrote:
    What planet do you live on?

Mancini not getting into the national team has more to do with the fact that they play a duel pivot with Ronaldinho and Kaka infront of it than his ability.

As for Taddei, his ball control is sick and he is pretty damned fast.
    he also knows where the net is, as does Mancini.

Di Rossi no match for Scholes?

Daniele De Rossi is at 22 better than Scholes was at 26, the boy is a special talent.
    Well with the way you're raving about Roma, Man Utd might as well not turn up tonight.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,300 ✭✭✭✭Seaneh

I'm not saying they are the best team in the world, I'm just saying that in my book Mancini is the best wide player in the world and Taddei isn't bad either.

Di Rossi is just a player I really like watching.

Man Utd have a chance, don't get me wrong, I just fancy Roma to be up for it and really go at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Seaneh wrote:
    I'm not saying they are the best team in the world, I'm just saying that in my book Mancini is the best wide player in the world and Taddei isn't bad either.

Di Rossi is just a player I really like watching.

Man Utd have a chance, don't get me wrong, I just fancy Roma to be up for it and really go at them.

U are going ott about your italian football fetish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

Makes a change from hearing everybody elses PL fetishes.

Seaneh wrote:
    Man Utd have a chance, don't get me wrong.
    Oh come on now. United are clear favourites to go through. I'd call that more than "a chance".

For me, Roma need to win tonight if they want a chance at progression. I just can't see Roma going to Old Trafford and getting the result they want, especially against an in form United team.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Pepe LeFrits

Man United and Roma better serve me up a football feast tonight. With Arsenal playing absolute sh1te I need to see some entertaining footie. The prospect of Valencia and Chelsea trying to out-cynic each other doesn't really appeal.

• Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 9,049 Mod ✭✭✭✭Aquos76

Roma v Man U teams

Roma:
    Doni
    -Casetti-Mexes-Chivu-Panucci-
    De Rossi
    -Taddei-Wilhemsson-Perotta-Mancini
    Totti

Subs: Curci, Faty, Defendi, Ferrari, Vucinic, Rosi, Okaka Chuka

Man Utd:
    VDS
    -O'Shea-Rio-Browne-Heinze-
    -Giggs-Carrick-Scholes-Ronaldo-
    ----Ole
    Rooney

Subs: Kuszczak, Fletcher, Eagles, Richardson, Dong, Smith, Saha

Somehow I cant see Man U starting with that formation mind you.

Man United and Roma better serve me up a football feast tonight.
    I wouldn't count on it. At this stage of the competition there's too much to lose for playing an attacking and open game.

Which unfortunately is why football, by and large, is dull to watch these days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,346 ✭✭✭✭KdjaCL

Which unfortunately is why football, by and large, is dull to watch these days.

Depends on what you watch really. CL knockouts generally are dull.

kdjac

Jesus RTE really annoy me. I've no problem with them showing Man Utd but at least pretend you're neutral.

"Man Utd vs Roma, Chelsea vs Valencia" - You expect that from SKY or ITV. It's bloody Roma v Man Utd. I know I'm being petty but it bugs me.

"Roma have very little in attack" - Yeah, Perrotta, Taddei, Mancini, Wilhelmsen and Totti... 5 attacking players.

Brady: "Chivu will play the holding role" - ok, so they'll play 1 centre half?

At least Brady actually knows Chivu is Romanian. Giles probably hasn't a clue who Totti is ffs.

and then off to spend 15 minutes talking about Ronaldo...

For all Dunphy's faults he does actually research Man Utd's opposition (I say Man Utd as they're the only team on RTE these days).

I wonder are the pundits in France spending the entire time talking about one team? They probably show more premiership football in France than they do here but I'm sure they still analyse Roma.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,987 ✭✭✭✭zAbbo

at least Giles came clean and admits he hadn't a clue about Roma, 2nd in Italy, last 8 in Europe, it's his fecking job to know about them.

The opening script to every RTE football show is 'Is C.Ronaldo a World Class player...discuss' :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,213 ✭✭✭✭therecklessone

zabbo wrote:
    at least Giles came clean and admits he hadn't a clue about Roma, 2nd in Italy, last 8 in Europe, it's his fecking job to know about them.

Giles is a lazy sod who makes no effort to prepare himself for any game. People will tire of the RTE circus after a while.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 35,945 Mod ✭✭✭✭dr.bollocko

VALENCIA! My new favourite word!

ONE NIL ONE NIL ONE NIL ONE NIL
    David Silva apparently. In the 29th minute.

SCHOLES SENT OFF!!!
    ****ING HELL!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,115 ✭✭✭Pacifico

LOL @ Scholes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,905 ✭✭✭bucks73

Fúckin idiot Scholes. Two stupid challenges.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Shred

VALENCIA! My new favourite word!

ONE NIL ONE NIL ONE NIL ONE NIL
    David Silva apparently. In the 29th minute.

And what a cracker it was, from about 20 yards out on the left wing:eek:

Just keeps getting better!

1-0 Roma

Yes! Roma have to push on now for the 2nd or 3rd. Keep a clean sheet and job done. My Roma - Liverpool/Valencia final bet is looking good anyway. :)

Have Roma ht/ft at 4/1 aswell.

Roma have been poor but then United have been pretty dire too, and have gotten what they deserve for a massive lack of ambition. I think I might watch Chelsea Valencia in the second half.

italian Police 4 Man utd fans 0

jesus its never new when it happens there.

kdjac

KdjaCL wrote:
    italian Police 4 Man utd fans 0

jesus its never new when it happens there.

kdjac

Also, how in the name of god is O'Shea a United player. Beglin saying he hasn't been bad shows how much standards are falling with him.

: We're seeing pictures of the crowd scenes and it does not make for pleasant television. One fan has blood streaming down his face and is being dragged to his feet by police. The police are wading in with batons.

"United fans appeared to charge the police and the police went in. It got pretty vicious. We're about 80 yards away but it seems to have quietened down now. We've just heard a loud crash and there is smoke over there. It is very, very nasty inside this ground now. I don't know if the Roma fans started this but they are happy now as it is between the police and the United fans."

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,538 ✭✭✭PiE

They only showed a short clip of the trouble but the guy on the ESPN stream saying there's questions over the 2nd half going ahead... is it that bad?

Edit: Well they're kicking off, so I guess not.

Utd lodged complaint over multiball being used at the corner. Showed what happened with the crowd on Sky Roma fans celebrated goal Utd fans tried to charge them didnt notice big glass screens ran into them police tried to beat some sense into them for not seeing the big glass things.

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

ah now KdjaCL, as stupid as it was to retaliate, the Roma fans were taunting the United fans, and not just celebrating, and it looked as if they were the antagonists.

chelsea one all

jesus chelsea, calm down the player looks badly hurt. i like terry but there is no need to act like a pratt...

Call_me_al wrote:
    ah now KdjaCL, as stupid as it was to retaliate, the Roma fans were taunting the United fans, and not just celebrating, and it looked as if they were the antagonists.

chelsea one all

For shame taunting away fans or home fans for that matter is not on and should be banned from football :eek:

Which Utd defender will take out Totti, he is running the game for Roma.

kdjac

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,048 ✭✭✭DerekD Goldfish

Call_me_al wrote:

chelsea one all

jesus chelsea, calm down the player looks badly hurt. i like terry but there is no need to act like a pratt...

Giving oposing fans abuse is perfectly acceptable behavior
    reacting to it is not

now dont be a smart arse - just coz the roma fans didnt have to sprint over to the glass, coz they were already there...

i am not saying its okay to charge at them, coz its not, but the way you have portrayed it you would swear united fans instigated it and the roma fans were angels...

Brilliant goal...Rooney. Great work from Ronaldo and Ole.

Call_me_al wrote:
    i am not saying its okay to charge at them, coz its not, but the way you have portrayed it you would swear united fans instigated it and the roma fans were angels...

Roma fans taunted them its the police who did it, they always do that as long as i can remember english fans in that stadium got battered whether they did anything or not.

kdjac

rooney 1-1

nice goal

kdjac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,711 ✭✭✭kaisersose77

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Trizo

1-1 ROOOOOOOOOONEY

That away goal could be crucial , gotta be careful now though down to 10 so we are gonna tire at some stage just gotta defend well now and try and hit them on the counter

does anyone else think the ref is giving some strange decisions ?

are the boys pronouncing chivou right, i was never sure how its pronounced...

and the roma fans were at them at the beginning.

2-1 great first shot.

2-1. Another mistake...VDS.

2-1 roma

mad game going end to end in seconds.

kdjac

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Trizo

yeah the power of that strike dont know if VDS could have done any better .....ill take 2-1 though if it finishes this way dont know or think it will though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,800 ✭✭✭county

wouldn`t be suprised if roma get another

cole and wright-phillips coming on for chelsea.

Nice one 2-1 full time. Well confident of going through after seeing what Roma have to offer.