Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drinking and Going Out

• 02-04-2007 7:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭

Whats everyones deal with going out and drinking now that the LC is getting close?
    Im not gonna drink before the LC, besides the Graduation Night, but Ill still go out and just not drink. Also, Im going to try and start going to bed early and cut out the PS2 until afterwards

• Registered Users Posts: 21,388 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

I never like going out really anyway, cos the nightclubs suck, as do the pints they serve. I want to be able to talk to people without having to shout in their eaers over the music, and want to have at least a half-decent pint in my hands, not one where the pipes are never cleaned and just mixed with loads of other kinds if it runs out mid-pour. And as for the price of it and me being relatively broke...I normally never go out unless I'm away.

Always go to bed early anyway. School nights, weekends, holidays...its all the one to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Spank

Starting to feel like I am loosing my life to the LC. Going to be sad when school is over but at the same time dying to establish a bit of a life again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

Not drinking? Hell no.

As a wise 25 year old once told me, "Go on the piss as much as possible in 6th year".

Plan your studying around going out and your hangovers and you'll be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭Steve01

I gave up being an underager long before I turned 17. Not because I think drinking in the lead-up to the Leaving Cert will have an adverse effect on my results, I just couldn't be bothered going out tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭Haven't a Clue

JC 2K3 wrote:
    Not drinking? Hell no.

As a wise 25 year old once told me, "Go on the piss as much as possible in 6th year".

Plan your studying around going out and your hangovers and you'll be grand.
    A wise man indeed. ;)

I'll head out easter as normal, but I reckon that'll be it for drinking until the summer. Might head out alright, but I won't be drinking much at all...

• Registered Users Posts: 705 ✭✭✭yurmothrintites

nah i'm not going drinking at all now apart from the grad, can't bear another hangover at this stage!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Carsinian Thau

I think I'll be going out as much as usual. Will definitely cut back on the drink though. But provided my hangovers don't get unbearable there's really no reason to give into the pressure and move to hermit-ville.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

poll it!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,778 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

You'll never be 17/18 again but you'll also never do your Leaving Cert again and it could alter your life, best to find some equilibrium.

Im going to go out just a couple of nights this Easter because im screwed for the LC.

Got hardly anything done today:o

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭Attol

I will go insane if I lock myself up in my room for the next few weeks so I so don't think so. Gotten a load of brilliant friends lately as well so another reason to go out. You just need to learn to balance it properly. You'll freak out just thinking about nothing else. All through life you'll have deadlines and important dates. If you cut yourself off from life to work every time you're anticipating some big date or event happening you will just end up losing all the important things and stressing yourself out more. Relax and just do things in moderation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 cormac17

oh god,,i av gone out nearly every weekend since the beginning of 6th yr,,nd i feel that im well able to keep my study nd work as well as going out nd drinking.
    I even worked at weekends b4 xmas,,went out b4 the mocks nd still got 420 points,,i no i prob could av got a lot more if i didnt drink,,but sure why not live to the max!

but i do feel that i av to stop drinkin in may nd june,,,only grad nite,,gonna have to do it,,it will b worth it in the end,,the summer is long,,4 yrs long:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

If going out gets in the way of your homework, cut down on going out. Doesn't mean you've to stop it altogether.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭md99

the hangover is the greatest possible hindrance to study, I wish it wasn't so but it is, for those of us who get bad hangovers, ...well, not the hangover as such, but rather being mentally tired/fatigued, which DOESNT go away until the next day (ie after hangover)... 2 months left, for what could be the rest of our lives? The choice is obvious now..

Obvious indeed, simply don't plan to study the day after going out. I mean you can easily study every day after school for a good 3 hours, 5 hours or so on Saturday morning and afternoon, get pissed Saturday night, recover on Sunday and repeat - possibly swapping Saturday and Sunday's schedules if you happen to be going out on Friday night.

And all this crap about the LC being the biggest test in your whole life is laughable. You have to study for difficult exams in College too and you have to do well in them also, yet you don't see college students giving up alcohol/distractions to study. The LC is just hyped up so much as being so important because everyone does it.

As far as I'm concerned, going out once per weekend is a nice and manageable break. If alcohol is involved then so be it - most people can recover from it in at most a day.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,194 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

I don't get hangovers, just a general weak feeling. Going out tomorrow night, possibly once over the weekend, Monday night and one other night before Easter ends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭md99

JC 2K3 wrote:
    Obvious indeed, simply don't plan to study the day after going out. I mean you can easily study every day after school for a good 3 hours, 5 hours or so on Saturday morning and afternoon, get pissed Saturday night, recover on Sunday and repeat - possibly swapping Saturday and Sunday's schedules if you happen to be going out on Friday night.

And all this crap about the LC being the biggest test in your whole life is laughable. You have to study for difficult exams in College too and you have to do well in them also, yet you don't see college students giving up alcohol/distractions to study. The LC is just hyped up so much as being so important because everyone does it.

As far as I'm concerned, going out once per weekend is a nice and manageable break. If alcohol is involved then so be it - most people can recover from it in at most a day.

I agree with most of what you said, but I just won't risk it myself, the effects of getting off your head on the brain are probably not all they're hyped up to be... but at this stage in the game, I just don't want to risk it.

As regards the LC being the biggest test in your life... In a way, it is... Often in college the tests will be over your area of interest, usually in the LC you have subjects that you're only doing because you have to which can be very difficult....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭deisedolly

Go out as much as ye want FFS!
    I worked every Saturday up until mid-may, went out on the piss every Saturday night, did feck all on a Sunday because of my hangover!
    I did my work during the week(homework, maybe and hour or 2 study and grinds on Monday and Wednesdays) and maybe abit on a Saturday morning.

And I got 430 points in the Leaving! Ok i'm sure there are many of you aiming for much higher than that, but 430 was way more than I expected and I'm so glad I didn't let my social life suffer because of the Leaving Cert.

Ye all have to suffer during the week so go mad at the weekend.... every weekend!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭Donald-Duck

cormac17 wrote:
    oh god,,i av gone out nearly every weekend since the beginning of 6th yr,,nd i feel that im well able to keep my study nd work as well as going out nd drinking.
    I even worked at weekends b4 xmas,,went out b4 the mocks nd still got 420 points,,i no i prob could av got a lot more if i didnt drink,,but sure why not live to the max!

but i do feel that i av to stop drinkin in may nd june,,,only grad nite,,gonna have to do it,,it will b worth it in the end,,the summer is long,,4 yrs long:)
    Whats with the double commas?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭That Guy 901

Mushy wrote:
    I never like going out really anyway, cos the nightclubs suck, as do the pints they serve. I want to be able to talk to people without having to shout in their eaers over the music, and want to have at least a half-decent pint in my hands, not one where the pipes are never cleaned and just mixed with loads of other kinds if it runs out mid-pour. And as for the price of it and me being relatively broke...I normally never go out unless I'm away.

Always go to bed early anyway. School nights, weekends, holidays...its all the one to me.

Your such a grandad! Live a little and stop complaining! :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 21,388 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

ThatGuy901 wrote:
    Your such a grandad! Live a little and stop complaining!

Just saying the truth. I do normally end up in clubs, but thats also where the night ends up turning to absolute crap. Nothing better than sitting in a free house, own drinks, your own music and just having a laugh more that way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

Here Here! There'll be sore heads tomorrow! /me winks at CorruptedMorals and An_Fhile...THREESOME!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,194 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

WRONG! Pint of water trick ftw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 Andeh

I go to the pub, or a friends house, most weekends, not all.
    No stupid Clubbing, I still get to drink and have a laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,163 ✭✭✭✭Boston

JC 2K3 wrote:

You haven't a clue! You know nothing about college.

In the sense that the exams are as hard/important as the LC or that college students actually do give up drinking/going out etc. to study?

JC 2K3 wrote:
    In the sense that the exams are as hard/important as the LC or that college students actually do give up drinking/going out etc. to study?

Have you been to college? Are are you just spouting BS you see on tv or in the media? People who do well in exams don't mix getting hammered and studying.

Quite likely spouting bs. However, you cannot honestly say that those doing well in college exams don't drink or go out for the last 2 months of college.

Or perhaps they don't. I am making assumptions.

Quiet a normal trend is to seriously cut back on drinking and socialising when it comes to important exams. Just have look at the threads on the trinity forum about the schols exams and what people put themselves through before hand. Simple fact is the leaving cert is a competition for places in third level. You're competing with people all across Ireland and you'll want to do the absolute best you can. Doing your best doesn't involved getting hammered once a week. You're talking about something which will affect the rest of your life, and it says a lot that you can't give up underage drinking for a few months in an effort to insure you get that place you want. Imagine how you'll feel if you miss out on the place you really wanted? Will be at least be able to say, I gave it my all? Nope. Getting drunk has a serious tole on your body and when you're body is already under a lot of stress it's not a good idea.

Also the Leaving cert in a way is the most difficult exam you'll ever do because of the competition element to it, and the drive to do the best you can to insure your place. In college if I get 70% and you get 95% that's the same grade under most systems, ( a first class honour). Most people are never under the same level of pressure in college exams as they are for the leaving cert. There's so much BS surrounding it.

You have to remember also, that a lot of course have continuous assessments and exams through out the year, so while you might still be getting 6-7 exams at the end of the year, you could potentially already know you've passed them or exams can be split over the year. In third year I had 4 exams at Christmas and another 4 in June. A further point is that the leaving cert exams are based on material covered over 2 years at least, where as college exams tend to limit it to only what was covered in a few months. My final year exams will be based on material covered in 18 weeks of lectures, 20% of the overall grade is from a final year project I've already completed. 20% of the remaining grade is for other continuous assessment I've already completed. I basically have my degree without having sat a single exam. There is no fear of failure and no pressure that goes with it. The leaving cert on the other hand is all about how much of the last two years can i cram into a two and half hour exam.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,500 ✭✭✭Fuzzy_Dunlop

Mushy wrote:
    Just saying the truth. I do normally end up in clubs, but thats also where the night ends up turning to absolute crap. Nothing better than sitting in a free house, own drinks, your own music and just having a laugh more that way.

Yeeeah thats the way to do it, stupid gee bag money grabbin clubs. Free houses or the pub are just so much more relaxing and better, oh and going to a few gigs too is what i plan on doing/have been doing.
    Oh yeah, but then of course there's the lack of money which is a bit of a hindrance at this stage

Boston wrote:
    Quiet a normal trend is to seriously cut back on drinking and socialising when it comes to important exams. Just have look at the threads on the trinity forum about the schols exams and what people put themselves through before hand. Simple fact is the leaving cert is a competition for places in third level. You're competing with people all across Ireland and you'll want to do the absolute best you can. Doing your best doesn't involved getting hammered once a week. You're talking about something which will affect the rest of your life, and it says a lot that you can't give up underage drinking for a few months in an effort to insure you get that place you want. Imagine how you'll feel if you miss out on the place you really wanted? Will be at least be able to say, I gave it my all? Nope. Getting drunk has a serious tole on your body and when you're body is already under a lot of stress it's not a good idea.
    See, I'm not under stress. Stress is simply a mindset. Perhaps it's due to the fact that I only need 355 points, which I could have gotten had I sat the LC at the end of 5th year. Perhaps it's the fact that I drink and socialise without guilt and itgives me a chance to relax. In any case, unless you're going for something with a very high demand like medicine you'll only need between 300 and 500 points. If you pay attention in school and do your bit of study every night there's no reason you can't get those kind of points while still having a night out with drinking on the weekend. And I'm 18, it's not underage.
    Boston wrote:
    Also the Leaving cert in a way is the most difficult exam you'll ever do because of the competition element to it, and the drive to do the best you can to insure your place. In college if I get 70% and you get 95% that's the same grade under most systems, ( a first class honour). Most people are never under the same level of pressure in college exams as they are for the leaving cert. There's so much BS surrounding it.
    That was exactly my point. I don't let the competition bs get to me.
    Boston wrote:
    You have to remember also, that a lot of course have continuous assessments and exams through out the year, so while you might still be getting 6-7 exams at the end of the year, you could potentially already know you've passed them or exams can be split over the year. In third year I had 4 exams at Christmas and another 4 in June. A further point is that the leaving cert exams are based on material covered over 2 years at least, where as college exams tend to limit it to only what was covered in a few months. My final year exams will be based on material covered in 18 weeks of lectures, 20% of the overall grade is from a final year project I've already completed. 20% of the remaining grade is for other continuous assessment I've already completed. I basically have my degree without having sat a single exam. There is no fear of failure and no pressure that goes with it. The leaving cert on the other hand is all about how much of the last two years can i cram into a two and half hour exam.
    I find that despite being a two year course, most subjects don't have a massive amount to cover. A lot of subjects are very drawn out and could be covered in 6 months.