Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ignorant and stupid woman driver (just one, not generalising)

• 03-04-2007 8:55am
    Registered Users Posts: 3,600 ✭✭✭

8.15 a.m this morning I decided I better get some petrol. Giving that I wasn't planning to start work until 8.30a.m I thought I'd have plenty of time. Went to my local tesco's as its 6c a litre cheaper than my local shell and seen as i was puttin in €60 it makes a fair old difference. Even at 8.15 the queue in there was pretty long (all pumps occupied and a couple of pumps out of order)

Anyway i pull up behind this black alfa 156. I don't tink much was out of the ordinary... the back window was sorted fogged up so I couldn't see who/what was in it. I assume the person is in paying for petrol so I patiently wait a couple of mins until all the people from the shop leave. I'm beginning to wonder at this stage whats going on so I give it another couple of mins 2 see wot the story is. Somewhere around 8.25 i'm getting impatient as i don't want to be late for work so i get out and wander up to the car. I politely ask if something is wrong as i thought maybe they were broken down and mightn't have been able to restart the car. To my utter amazement she's in the car having a chat to another woman from another car who was blocking up the air pump in the corner of the forecourt (not as big a deal seen as no one was waiting to use it) I ask politely if she'd mind moving so I could fill up and to my utter amazement she says she hasn't filled up herself yet and was just having a chat!!!

Like what the f**k how ignorant & stupid do you have to be to block up a pump for 15 mins without even having filled up.

Now i didn't want to flip out and start an argument as its not the best way to start my day but I proceeded to go back to the van behind (who had been waiting as impatiently as me) and told him that we may reverse due to the thick ***** in front of us wasting all of our time.

I know this isn't of any great importance to anyone but i had to vent my anger.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,433 Mod ✭✭✭✭Mr Magnolia

can't b arsed readin txt spk tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 11,389 ✭✭✭✭Saruman

I battled through it... seriously lassykk there is no need for that text crap when you have a keyboard :D

Yes she was a b!tch though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,600 ✭✭✭lassykk

5 words entered in text amended. I also fixed some of my gramatical errors like capitalising I's, etc. Just for you Sparks!!! ;-)

Sorry though for the text language. Its just such a force of habit at this stage. I'll try keep it in check.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,715 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

1. if you are not generalising then surely her gender is irrelevant?
    2. no offence but you are almost as much to blame for sitting behind her for 15 minutes

• Registered Users Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

That's quite bad, but not as bad as this pig-ignorant and utterly selfish habit of people parking first in the queue for the car wash, and only then going to buy a car wash token or code slip at the shop/booth. Most aggravating, when you already have your token/slip yourself.

But fear not, for I have my own solution: reverse into the car wash (from the front), while they get their slip/token :D

The look on their faces is usually priceless ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 45,767 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

kbannon wrote:
    2. no offence but you are almost as much to blame for sitting behind her for 15 minutes
    1. She is a woman, so it is hardly a crime to describe her as one. If it had been a lad sitting in the car and the OP had said "some guy" you wouldn't have batted an eyelid.

lassykk wrote:

Fair play, all the text speak must have been at the start - only 5 words? I'm no English teacher, but text speak hurts my face

She sounds like a right twat tbh, I wouldn't have had the patience to wait as long as you did

• Registered Users Posts: 744 ✭✭✭cold_filter

Something similar happened to me a few weeks ago, the garage on clonkeen road usually is the cheapest around, anyway when it re-opened i went up to fill up, there was a range rover 07, couldnt see in, like the op i thought the driver was in paying about ten mins have passed and i get out walk up the door and the woman was feeding her baby!!

I said what are you doing her exact reply " he gets cranky if he's not fed at 6.30 every day" so said move the car so i can get petrol finish feeding him then get petrol, " then i'll lose my place in the Q" she replies, i just said f**k that move the car or me and the people behind you will push it out of the way "some people are so rude" she says

@Kbannon

Personally i feel her gender is relevant. It was a woman creating the problem therefore i said an ignorant and stupid woman driver. However as i didn't want to spark a mass war I wanted people to be aware that I meant only her and not the remainder of the female driving population. If I had left that as just stupid woman driver I'm quite sure there would have been a strong (and deserved) reaction from the forum.

Damned if I do, damned if I dont :rolleyes:

Well common politeness means I waited until the shop emptied which as it was a busy forecourt took the bones of 5 minutes. I gave her another 5 whilst I was wondering what was going on. The remainder was taken up between going up and talking to her, going back to the van behind me and getting him to move and then moving myself. Pardon me if I was polite and waited before going up to her

I said what are you doing her exact reply " he gets cranky if he's not fed at 6.30 every day" so said move the car so i can get petrol finish feeding him then get petrol, " then i'll lose my place in the Q" she replies, i just said f**k that move the car or me and the people behind you will push it out of the way "some people are so rude" she says

This woman seemed genuinely shocked that I was even wondering what was going on. Maybe she considered it normal to stop for a chat in a busy petrol station.
    Fair play, all the text speak must have been at the start - only 5 words? I'm no English teacher, but text speak hurts my face

I think there were a few the's and this's in there but as my anger abaited as I vented I became slightly more coherent and included slightly better english in the post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 90 ✭✭potty pete

Sparks400 wrote:

She sounds like a right twat tbh, I wouldn't have had the patience to wait as long as you did

Text spiel? 'tbh'? Is that not text spiel. And you've used it a couple of times.

Nice one for the edit :D

He is not generalising, though its more likely for a woman to have a natter to someone like that than a guy.. then again.. guys are more likely to stop their cars on a road if heading in opposite directions and have a quick chat so we are no better :D

And on the carwash thing, a lot of garages have no actual parking or only 2 places that are full so the only realistic thing to do is park at the carwash.. or would you rather people park at the pumps preventing petrol users from getting fuel?

If its a big garage with ample space (rare) then there is no excuse.

TBH is boards speak :D Thats ok... well no not really....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭DO0GLE

ambro25 wrote:
    That's quite bad, but not as bad as this pig-ignorant and utterly selfish habit of people parking first in the queue for the car wash, and only then going to buy a car wash token or code slip at the shop/booth. Most aggravating, when you already have your token/slip yourself.

But fear not, for I have my own solution: reverse into the car wash (from the front), while they get their slip/token :D

Excellent tip!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,994 ✭✭✭ambro25

Saruman wrote:
    And on the carwash thing, a lot of garages have no actual parking or only 2 places that are full so the only realistic thing to do is park at the carwash.. or would you rather people park at the pumps preventing petrol users from getting fuel?

If its a big garage with ample space (rare) then there is no excuse.

Of course not (parking @ pumps). If you bother to go through some of my posts (not expecting you, but...:rolleyes:), you'll hopefully realise that I don't as a habit complain/rant about "unrealistic matters" - such as expecting people to park anywhere else than in the car wash queue, if there's no other space and especially if they've come to wash their cars. It's sometimes a fine line between common sense, and common courtesy. ;)

But it is a big garage, with ample parking spaces. Each instance this has happened, there were plenty of spaces right beside the shop.

So a little bit of initiative called for, and hopefully a lesson learned by the culprits (though most probably not, judging by the usual reaction :D ).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Car Mad

ambro25 wrote:

I like your style reminds me of me :D:D:D:D
    Wouldnt recommend any woman do that though she might stop for a chat on the way in:rolleyes:

Its a great tip though... would love to do that some day.. but i almost never wash my car.

the car wash ting is a good idea i must admit... in fact i tink i'd hav a good laugh if i saw someone doin it whilst i was getting petrol... usually wash my car at home so can't say its ever happened to me but i can imagine its jus as annoying as wot happened to me n cold_filter when ppl do it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

ambro25 wrote:

That does my head in as well. Must try this tactic. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,173 ✭✭✭overdriver

lassykk wrote:

Wt wer u told abt txt spk erlyer?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

lassykk wrote:
    That is the problem with 95% of the bad drivers on our roads. A complete lack of awareness.

A lot of Fr. Dougal Maguires at the wheel, frankly.

• Registered Users Posts: 744 ✭✭✭cold_filter

The esso garage on the N11 if you really want to piss some one off, just drive in right behind the person then reverse out, the tracks usually shut down and i've heard of people getting stuck in there for a while!

I know I'm going to cause serious aggro here but I am a woman so I'm allowed!! a guy would never ever have sat for 15 mins in his car chatting, he would have had the cop on to, at very least, be pumping the petrol as he was talking - that would be multitasking, something which Women are supposed to be best at. As a woman, I hate (most) women drivers, they are painful to be stuck behind, especially in the fast lane of a motorway etc, or when they are so engrossed in reapplying their lipgloss that they fail to notice the light has turned green. there, I feel better now!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭blastman

You'll never get into the ICA with that attitude!

Grainne C wrote:
    I know I'm going to cause serious aggro here but I am a woman so I'm allowed!! a guy would never ever have sat for 15 mins in his car chatting, he would have had the cop on to, at very least, be pumping the petrol as he was talking - that would be multitasking, something which Women are supposed to be best at. As a woman, I hate (most) women drivers, they are painful to be stuck behind, especially in the fast lane of a motorway etc, or when they are so engrossed in reapplying their lipgloss that they fail to notice the light has turned green. there, I feel better now!!!

There are good/bad male and female drivers, they may not be evenly proportioned but such is life. My wife for instance is a good driver, probably a safer driver than I am, maybe a better driver than I am all round, who knows?

Still if a fella said the above he'd be slated, that's probably a different debate though.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,807 ✭✭✭Calibos

Grainne C wrote:

Em..Er.....I think I love you!! What ya doin Friday night? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,387 ✭✭✭BrianD3

Is it any surprise. I bet the same idiot who was chatting at the pumps is the sort who will take half an hour at an ATM while there's 20 people queuing up behind. And if her mobile rings at the ATM she'll answer it and chat away causing even more of a delay.

Another good one is when idiots turn up at an express checkoput at the supermarket with about 50 items. Then they go rooting in their purse for change, spend ages fussing with their laser card and getting cash back or club card points then changing their mind etc. :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,648 ✭✭✭gyppo

BrianD3 wrote:
    Is it any surprise. I bet the same idiot who was chatting at the pumps is the sort who will take half an hour at an ATM while there's 20 people queuing up behind. And if her mobile rings at the ATM she'll answer it and chat away causing even more of a delay.

Another good one is when idiots turn up at an express checkoput at the supermarket with about 50 items. Then they go rooting in their purse for change, spend ages fussing with their laser card and getting cash back or club card points then changing their mind etc. :mad:

While we're at it, have you ever noticed how long it takes for some (note I said "some", not "all") women to get into their car and drive it away.
    Picture a busy car-park, and you spot a lady getting into their car.

Ten minutes later, after checking their hair, applying lipstick/eyeliner/foundation, scrutinising the little area on their face where a spot/blackhead/blocked pore might be forming, texting their friend that she was walking out to the car with a few minutes before, checking her mirror, rechecking her hair again, rummaging in her handbag for her eyeliner again, she starts the car.

Repeats some/all of the above cycle.

If you're lucky the parking place will be free in another ten minutes...:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 45,767 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Calibos wrote:
    Em..Er.....I think I love you!! What ya doin Friday night? :D
    heading down to the local garage for a bit of socialising maybe?

Sparks400 wrote:
    There are good/bad male and female drivers, they may not be evenly proportioned but such is life. My wife for instance is a good driver, probably a safer driver than I am, maybe a better driver than I am all round, who knows?

Still if a fella said the above he'd be slated, that's probably a different debate though.

yep you're right, there are bad male and female drivers alike, I might be completely wrong but in my opinion and experience, while men can be bad drivers, they're usally not as stupid and stubborn, for example, as I said earlier, motorways, if you get stuck behind someone in the fast lane who won't pull over even though they are only doing 90kmph then (in my experience) it is usually a woman, it is also 9 times out of 10 that it's a man that will let you out while a woman will put her foot down to make sure you can't.... yeah, you're right, if a man said it you would be slated BUT that's because you're not allowed to slag us women off about anything, even though it's ok for us to say that your brains are in your d*cks etc, that's equality for you!! double standards? what are they? anyway, nope not free friday Calibos, I'm going to my anger management class haha :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 467 ✭✭Clank

Im not surprised tbh, I worked in a Shell garage for 2.5 years.
    I saw this happen every second day and the women were usually to blame, then the anger was taken out on me :(