Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Irish Open on RTE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,894 ✭✭✭✭phantom_lord

Well Tom obviously didn't know. How was anyone else supposed to know??
    semibluff told me he heard roy brindley saying it to everyone.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Yesterdays coverage was much better. What other sport does Pádraig commentate on? Is it golf/snooker?

Life in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,516 ✭✭✭Hoki

yeah, I was very surprised at him, he just donked off his whole stack, just acted like he had no interest in the tournament at all.

and lol @ that guy at the end of the table, doesn't play a hand all day and then shows.............AA, surprise surprise!!

The table was pretty tight, nobody was spewing chips at all, which meant none of us could build up a stack, just an unfortunate table draw I guess. You got a very nice start tho, just unfortunate with the kjs hand.

Thats the table i started off on , wernick as he said himself ws just a calling machine , i was the PPP qualifier sitting between him and the american with the cowboy hat , was a pretty tight table , im surprised that PP player at the end of the table didnt fold his big blind when it was just called round to him !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

Am I the only one watching it on a TV which cuts off the left hand card on the hands shown on the side of the screen because they are placed too far to the left?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

hotspur wrote:
    Am I the only one watching it on a TV which cuts off the left hand card on the hands shown on the side of the screen because they are placed too far to the left?

You're probably watching it on Movie Expand or Superzoom, go back to 4:3 and you'll be grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,836 ✭✭✭connie147

Hoki wrote:
    Thats the table i started off on , wernick as he said himself ws just a calling machine , i was the PPP qualifier sitting between him and the american with the cowboy hat , was a pretty tight table , im surprised that PP player at the end of the table didnt fold his big blind when it was just called round to him !

Hi Hoki
    So thats who you were.Thought I had you nailed early on when you raised my BB from mp(for the 2nd time I may add:D ) and I called with the Qd-10d, flop came 9-J-K and I check raised you(for the 2nd time). you had a dwell up for a minute and I was hoping you had AK but you eventually folded:( . Nice to have met you

Connie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭hotspur

Flushdraw wrote:
    You're probably watching it on Movie Expand or Superzoom, go back to 4:3 and you'll be grand!

Actually the telly I was watching it on was a small old school 4:3 TV in my bedroom with which Superzoom would entail crawling closer to the screen. If it was just me then it was probably just a cataract developing in both left hand sides of my eyes. I hope it's on tonight at it's scheduled time cause if it's too late I may be blind by then!

Hoki wrote:

ah ok, nice to meet you.

I was surprised to take down that pot where I raised with a6s, u called my c-bet and my ace high was good on the river! kj/kq or something I'm guessing:confused: .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭The Sheriff 101

hotspur wrote:
    Actually the telly I was watching it on was a small old school 4:3 TV in my bedroom with which Superzoom would entail crawling closer to the screen. If it was just me then it was probably just a cataract developing in both left hand sides of my eyes. I hope it's on tonight at it's scheduled time cause if it's too late I may be blind by then!

no you are right just checked it on sky+ and changed all view modes and they are slightly cut off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

The hand of the day thing is a little bit of a farce to be honest.

While we all dream of owning our own poker tables I'd say those things they have in the burlo are really heavy, shoddily made MDF monsters that they're trying their best to unload.

I'd say whoever actually wins them will get a bollicking from their wife/mother and will then be eating their dinner off of it for the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭FungiWalsh

Lol at montage song. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

that's called a montage

rofl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

WTF!

"It's the first hand of the final table and Nicky Power is all in"

FFS, Nicky busted about 2 hours in, was hoping to see a bit more of him.

WP Nicky, fantastic result.

Aye, I noticed that. A bit odd. WP Nicky, though, great result. Loved the interview on Antesup. "A Flipper move". :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,501 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

"Its a montage"

That was disgusting 99 v's A5 with 99 making trips and A5 hitting the four flush

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭delanec8

"Even Rocky had a montage!!!!!" LOL

This is way better than the first 2 episodes mainly because of all the montages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,587 ✭✭✭gerire

ROFL at Team America music

Harsh indeed for the fox

My girlfriend is watching too and finds it very unfair that he hit 3 out of 4 9's where as the other guy only hit 5 out of 13 hearts; call the rules police please and change it so it's "fairer" for my missus to watch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Solksjaer

delanec8 wrote:
    "Even Rocky had a montage!!!!!" LOL

youve the writers of SouthPark to thank for that humour...

i think the interviewer is cute but bad, she doesnt let them get the answers fully out before she blurts out the next Q

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,448 ✭✭✭Lazare

Ye gotta love Padhraig, Marty raised with A10, and De Wolfe dwells, then finally folds AJ, then Marty tells Roland he had AQ.

Padhraig: "It's an old Irish thing Jesse, Collette Doherty told me this, it's bad manners to volunteer a lie, but if someone asks you what cards you had, it's bad manners to volunteer the truth"

Classic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Whether you think Roland DeWolfe is a sick luckbox or not, i think he played some good cards, made some good moves and brave calls and he looked like a gentleman at the table. WP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭insafehands

Your one Liz Bonin is a ruckin' retard.

She knows ruck all about poker, and just repeats or agrees with what the player says. Ridiculous.

PS. Don't play blackjack online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,924 ✭✭✭shoutman

I doubt she volunteered herself for the job.... and shes not going to turn it down, so lay off the poor girl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭califano

Your one Liz Bonin is a ruckin' retard.

She knows ruck all about poker, and just repeats or agrees with what the player says. Ridiculous.

PS. Don't play blackjack online.

Shes a jack of all trades. I was surprised to see her in a Ch4 programme a while back as a blue movie analyst giving her opinions on 'deep throat' when she was working in England a while back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭Hoops1888

Great to see an Irish man win.

Have a qestion for all the pro's. Say for example one guy raises to say 150,000 guy says raise but only puts the 150,000 in then he puts in the raise say 400,000 is that called a string bet?

Nopw it isnt, he has declared his intention to raise so the first 150,000 is just calling his bet and anything put in after is then the raise....

To keep things simple say for example your opponent has bet 2chips (yes two whole chips) and you wish to raise to 5 chips and you have them all in your hand, and you just hold them in the air past the line and drop them with the chips scattering all over the place this is a string bet....

Hoops1888 wrote:

Have a qestion for all the pro's. Say for example one guy raises to say 150,000 guy says raise but only puts the 150,000 in then he puts in the raise say 400,000 is that called a string bet?

No, when you put in the 150,000, that's considered the call, so long as you either declare the amount of the raise before you put in another chip, or else put your raise in in one go, it's not a string raise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Hoops1888 wrote:

No, he announced raise before he put ANY chips in.
    As long as the 400k went in in one motion its ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,352 ✭✭✭Ardent

Hoops1888 wrote:

Would be clearer if you used proper punctuation here. No, not a string bet - he declared raise; so he can call first and then put in the raise after, as you described above.

Lol the spell czechers are all around us.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

Shes a jack of all trades. I was surprised to see her in a Ch4 programme a while back as a blue movie analyst giving her opinions on 'deep throat' when she was working in England a while back.

:eek: :D

i like her, jesus, how many hot girls are poker nerds...?

i like her a lot.

Ardent wrote:
    Would be clearer if you used proper punctuation here. No, not a string bet - he declared raise; so he can call first and then put in the raise after, as you described above.

Well ive had a few drinks so sorry.

Anyways here is an example I was playing in a tournament before nothing as big now or anything that was on the tv.

Anyways I said raise before cant remember how much but I think I was going to triple his bet but the dealer said I can only double the bet because I didnt put it all in together :confused:

I don't mean to be an arsehole, just took me a while to figure out if you meant you wanted to raise to 150k or 450k from your post.

If you announced raise before any money crossed the line, you can put in as much as you like, unless you were playing limit or pot-limit holdem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭SpermManJelly

Hoops1888 wrote:

Good Question.Correct Thread.

Sperm Man Jelly.

Good to see Marty Smith win it, rough justice for De Wolfe that he lost while ahead with the pocket 3s. Have to say De Wolfe came across as a gent during and after the tourney. Some man for the gamble.

Ardent wrote:
    I don't mean to be an arsehole, just took me a while to figure out if you meant you wanted to raise to 150k or 450k from your post.

If you announced raise before any money crossed the line, you can put in as much as you like, unless you were playing limit or pot-limit holdem.

Ok no problem. Well I was playing in celtic poker tournament one night guy called say it was 20,000 I said raise I stuck the 20,000 raise in like they were doing on tv, I wanted to raise say another 60,000 after my 20,000 in but the dealer said I can only double the bet because I didnt put it in together :confused: is that right because they werent doing that on tv.

Also have another question all night long I was told I have to double the big blind then when I got to the final table a guy says raise but he didnt rasie double the blind then someone turns around and says you have to double the bet on the first round of betting then another guy turns around and say no you dont becasue its only first round betting. Can anyone point me somewhere to the rules of poker im a poker novice but seem to do ok in tournaments, always make the money.

Have another question sorry but sure if you dont ask you dont learn :o.
    Is it a dealers job to say to you if you put to much in? For example where I play the money signs on the chips are you can hardly see them so say if I announce a raise 3,000 raise but put in 11,000 (I put in two 5,000 chips instead of two 1,000) is it teh dealers job to say I put in to much?

That 33 vs 22 hand was brutal for De Wolfe but in fairness he got his fair share of luck too.

Glad to see Smith won it, he seemed to play a very good solid game, and in fairness De Wolfe was expecting to be racing at best when he called the 33 vs 22 hand, as he had done a fair few times with small pocket pairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,900 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Hoops1888 wrote:
    Ok no problem. Well I was playing in celtic poker tournament
    Stop right there, theres the problem. Celtic Poker.
    They made a cock up of the rules. It happens.

Also have another question all night long I was told I have to double the big blind then when I got to the final table a guy says raise but he didnt rasie double the blind then someone turns around and says you have to double the bet on the first round of betting then another guy turns around and say no you dont becasue its only first round betting.
    Thats trash too. Unless you got the details wrong and it was a limit game
    Is it a dealers job to say to you if you put to much in? For example where I play the money signs on the chips are you can hardly see them
    No, its your job.
    You shouldn't need to see the $ amounts, are they not colour coded?

Also, your post is a little off topic for this thread.
    If you have any more questions its ok to start a new thread.

Hoops1888 wrote:
    Also have another question all night long I was told I have to double the big blind then when I got to the final table a guy says raise but he didnt rasie double the blind then someone turns around and says you have to double the bet on the first round of betting then another guy turns around and say no you dont becasue its only first round betting. Can anyone point me somewhere to the rules of poker im a poker novice but seem to do ok in tournaments, always make the money.

Have another question sorry but sure if you dont ask you dont learn :o.
    Is it a dealers job to say to you if you put to much in? For example where I play the money signs on the chips are you can hardly see them so say if I announce a raise 3,000 raise but put in 11,000 (I put in two 5,000 chips instead of two 1,000) is it teh dealers job to say I put in to much?

If I were you I'd create a new thread in the main poker forum to get answers to these questions. I'm by no means an authority but:

1) To re-raise, you need to raise a minimum what the other guy bet. To raise more than this, you should multiples of the original raise. Fairly sure about this but best to get others opinions.

2) If you put in too many chips, it's binding...and your fault, not the dealers.

Ok ill start a new thread I only posted here because people who post here seem to know what there talking about so sorry its the wrong place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 342 ✭✭Matt Santos

Hoops
    With regard to your post about the string bet correction whilst playing with Celtic Poker Tour I would just like to add my tuppence worth.
    I find that this crew have done wonders for the game within the country but I do have a huge issue with the self dealing that is necessary until it gets down to 20 or so players. This is open to outrageous decisions and have seen some bizarre acceptances from people before I would intervene and request a ruling. There is some big money involved in these events and its incredible how gullible people are about their own money and position. I even seen a guy sneak a peak at the burnt cards each time he had to flop, turn and river cards!!
    I just think that this format is only a quick organised gang away from disaster!

Hoops1888 wrote:
    in fairness, mr imperium did take most of the cash.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

feck him, de wolfe had nine lifes to get as far as he did as usual, must be an exellent player to get himseelf deep enuff, but seems to win 85% of races when deep!!

just in the door from celebrating with the irish open champ of ireland, Marty Smyth! good friend (name drop :p ) couldn't happen to a nicer, more down to earth, genuine guy! :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 9,035 Mod ✭✭✭✭mewso

Hoops
    With regard to your post about the string bet correction whilst playing with Celtic Poker Tour I would just like to add my tuppence worth.
    I find that this crew have done wonders for their pockets

As others have said start a new thread for questions hoops. The same people that post here post in other threads too you know. One thing though if you state you are raising 3k and put out 10k then you are ok because you stated the amount. You won't or shouldn't be forced to raise 10k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,602 ✭✭✭patmac

Back on topic I didn't think the show did do anyone any favours, my wife hadn't a clue what Jesse May was on about when he was trying to explain the rules so that was a waste of time, they showed one hand in the first 25 minutes and 5 hands in 45 minutes, it was just 'all-in' and bad beats whether this was down to the aggressive structure or not but it looked like they were playing bingo. I felt very sorry for the Fox and everyone accepted defeat very graciously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,434 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭busbybhoy

The-Rigger wrote:
    feck him, de wolfe had nine lifes to get as far as he did as usual, must be an exellent player to get himseelf deep enuff, but seems to win 85% of races when deep!!

just in the door from celebrating with the irish open champ of ireland, Marty Smyth! good friend (name drop :p ) couldn't happen to a nicer, more down to earth, genuine guy! :)

Have to agree. I watched Marty throughout. I didnt know much about him before the Open but was very impressed with his play. Rock solid from the start. His timing seems to be perfect at all times. Some outstanding lay downs early on. Deserved champ and think we will be seeing a lot of him in future.

Special mention for Danny McHugh..First major event and finished in 4th..Great achievment!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭busbybhoy

patmac wrote:
    Back on topic I didn't think the show did do anyone any favours, my wife hadn't a clue what Jesse May was on about when he was trying to explain the rules so that was a waste of time, they showed one hand in the first 25 minutes and 5 hands in 45 minutes, it was just 'all-in' and bad beats whether this was down to the aggressive structure or not but it looked like they were playing bingo. I felt very sorry for the Fox and everyone accepted defeat very graciously.

It really was a crap shoot at the final table. When blinds were at 30k/60k guys were raising to 250k (usually about third of entire stack) so were pretty much commiting there full stack to the pot if reraised. Players new that they couldnt call and had to fold or go over the top.

De Wolfe showed his experience by raising to 160k/175k usually. He knew everyone would fold or come over the top so he was giving himself a chance to get out of the hand with limited damage to his stack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

You have to ask yourself, if you had never played much poker before would the coverage over the weekend inspire you to go out and give it a go this week?

I think if anything, the sheer amount of prize money (rather than the quality of the coverage) would inspire people to go out and start playing. The coverage portrayed poker as a game of luck and people would be attracted to the prospect of being able to win so much money by doing so little.

• Subscribers Posts: 32,859 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I am really starting to dislike poker as shown on tv. The fact that at one point they announced blinds up at heads up, then skipped the whole of that level in coverage amazed me. I also think Nicky was kind when he said the structure was 'aggressive'. Good to see poker gaining a bit more profile, but it being portrayed in a 'this is all luck' manner can't be the best sort of publicity in my opinion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,038 ✭✭✭slegs

Yeah, just watched it there. I think it was unfortunate that there wasn't much play at the final table. It looked a bit like he who is luckiest wins. I can only imagine that it was quite difficult for those who are not experts to follow the action and be fully aware of what was going on.

Raises the question whether this experiment will help the game in the country or hinder it. I thought the live coverage of the final six last year on Sky was brilliant. But the raise; fold; fold; fold; next hand nature of it didn't make for great TV for the general public. As a result Sky did not persist with that idea this year.

You have to ask yourself, if you had never played much poker before would the coverage over the weekend inspire you to go out and give it a go this week?

I agree last years live coverage of the final table was excellent considering the logistics of covering live poker and not being able to see hole cards.

But you wont be able to please all people all of the time...the RTE production was clearly aimed at Joe Public but I dont believe they even did that well. At least the SKY live production would have met the expectations of poker players.