Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tips cos im too lazy/cool to study

• Registered Users Posts: 9,472 ✭✭✭AdMMM

If you want to flip a coin and try and predict the papers, by all means do it but I think your time would be better spent flipping whoppers instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,312 ✭✭✭Limerick Dude

If you want to flip a coin and try and predict the papers, by all means do it but I think your time would be better spent flipping whoppers instead.

ZING!!

Oh no he didnt!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

fuinneamh wrote:
    I am going for civil engineering in Ucc, but its civil all the way down the cao right down to civil in carlow, just in case as a level 6. It makes no sense to choose a course for the sake of choosing a course. You should choose something you actually want to do.
    Perhaps you misinterpreted what I read, that was essentially my point.

However, you must also remember that the majority of 17/18 year olds haven't a cluw what they want to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,794 ✭✭✭JC 2K3

capslocked wrote:
    the lc is a pile of **** - i know im not stupid - i just cant sit down and memorise a french conversation as well as someone else - some people get their points by memorising everything and not having a clue what it means - i just think my way of taking risks might works better for me - i dont hink i want to go to college anyway - how many people do you know with a degree and have **** jobs - its all about your social skills - thats why i cant stick those (that i know) who want to do medicine cos they wouldnt know how to socialise with people if it bit them in the ass - 6 years of school and all theyll get out of it are points - i shouldnt generalise im just going by the ones i know
    If you're bad at French then don't do French. If you're not stupid then in what way are you intelligent? Some people are good at learning stuff off, some people are good at problem solving and mathematical stuff, others are good creatively. The LC is not a pile of ****, it's an internationally renowned examination. And some people might get their points by mindlessly learning off stuff, but there are many subjects which do reward thinking for yourself and understanding what you're doing such as Applied Maths and Physics.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 capslocked

This thread is more boring than my physics notes - you're all boring

capslocked wrote:
    the lc is a pile of **** - i know im not stupid - i just cant sit down and memorise a french conversation as well as someone else

Here's a tip that doesn't involve burgers: Get the conversation you wish to learn, and write it out in front of you. Put it in your own hand-writing. Then, get up from the chair (assume it's in your room/house) and pace around saying it over and over to yourself.

After around 15 minutes, go and write it out again, but try to use the book/original notes less. You'll find it easier this time.

Repeat, & rinse. And stop focussing on people who do medicine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

JC 2K3 wrote:
    The LC is not a pile of ****, it's an internationally renowned examination.

LOL, about as internationally renowned as my comptia A+

• Registered Users Posts: 2,149 ✭✭✭ZorbaTehZ

capslocked wrote:

oh ghad, he called me boring nooo NOOOO.
    Did you really think that making a thread with "PLX GUYZ GIEF ANSWERS!!11" would solve all your problems?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,878 ✭✭✭Rozabeez

capslocked, we already have our resident troll, he goes by the name of JC_2K3, you'll never out-troll our boy.

Now take a look at yourself, you ask for advice then throw it back in peoples' faces? Why bother? We can't do your studying for you, we can only tell you to start now.

Take it or leave it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,564 ✭✭✭Naikon

2 months is ages.

I have my doubts:o

• Registered Users Posts: 14,469 ✭✭✭✭cson

capslocked wrote:

Hmmm I see, well Mr Capslocked my solution to your problem is a bit alternative but anyway.... Fail the leaving. Don't do a tap. Arse it all away. Then when September comes this year you start on a new leaf, a fresh start, where you can study from the start and already have the benefit of a 'practice' leaving cert. Then you won't have to guess at whats coming up on the papers if thats what you wanted originally.

Cos you won't find out whats on them. Barring a James Bond esque Mission Impossible style raid on the SEC in Athlone, the papers are a more closely guarded secret than how they get the figs into fig rolls.

And I smell a trolling match between you and our resident troll JC 2K3....... To the Thunderdome!

Let's not forget the fact that there are back up papers, so that if the papers are stolen (which isn't really going to happen) and leaked out onto the internet, they can just use the back up ones.

Hmmph.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 139 ✭✭Your Man

capslocked wrote:

have fun down the job centre next august ya bollix with your social skills..

Your Man wrote:
    have fun down the job centre next august ya bollix with your social skills..

lol, I don't think I could have put it more perfectly myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭Nehpets

Rozabeez wrote:
    Let's not forget the fact that there are back up papers, so that if the papers are stolen (which isn't really going to happen) and leaked out onto the internet, they can just use the back up ones.

Hmmph.

Woah! Let's not forgot the armed gaurd who sleeps naked on top of the papers! It's unlikely anyone could get past him. My friend's younger brother's friend's cousin's dog's real owner once told someone he knew that someone else he knew told him that this gaurd has three eyes and 5 arms!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭Steve01

Nehpets wrote:
    Woah! Let's not forgot the armed gaurd who sleeps naked on top of the papers!
    He sleeps NAKED on top of the papers? Way to give the thread a whole new level of creepiness :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭colm-ccfc84

capslocked wrote:
    the lc is a pile of **** - i know im not stupid - i just cant sit down and memorise a french conversation as well as someone else - some people get their points by memorising everything and not having a clue what it means - i just think my way of taking risks might works better for me - i dont hink i want to go to college anyway - how many people do you know with a degree and have **** jobs - its all about your social skills - thats why i cant stick those (that i know) who want to do medicine cos they wouldnt know how to socialise with people if it bit them in the ass - 6 years of school and all theyll get out of it are points - i shouldnt generalise im just going by the ones i know
    You are so deluded! Convincing yourself that studying is pointless is really going to get you far! I loathe you and your ilk. The ones who do nothing all year and then decide 'sure I didn't want to go to university anyway, waste of time, school is pointless, my shít results don't mean a thing'. I have to laugh at you and just remind myself that I will reep the rewards in a few short months.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,469 ✭✭✭✭cson

Nehpets wrote:
    Woah! Let's not forgot the armed gaurd who sleeps naked on top of the papers! It's unlikely anyone could get past him. My friend's younger brother's friend's cousin's dog's real owner once told someone he knew that someone else he knew told him that this gaurd has three eyes and 5 arms!

Yup, and once you enter the building it transforms into a parallel universe thats strangely like the lord of the rings. High cliffs, wooden rope-bridges, magma, wizards, dragons and the naked guard - examinator. Apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭shazzyshaz

sorry ur screwed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭md99

capslocked wrote:

Sure, all they get out of the 6 years in school is points... Points, a career, money, respect, self fulfillment, security, enjoyment... Yeah, I can see how that's a complete waste.

And you're so confident in yourself that you feel the need to come online asking for help on what's gonna come up etc... if you're never gonna use your LC or go to university (and you know for a fact never) why not just not do it at all? In fact, get the f**k out of school... On second thoughts, stay in to bring the average down, thanks to our marking curve scheme we actually need jerks like you still in the system to make B2s B1s A2s A1s...etc.

Nobody would mind if you just asked for advice on what to study in business/econ for what will most likely come up... It's done all the time.. But making these ridiculous comments about people getting a degree and ending up in s**t jobs... Bull, unless your local welfare office (where you'll surely soon frequent) is always filled with doctors, nurses, lawyers and the likes...

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭nedward

Ah now lads. Give the poor flipper a break.

Equilibrium experiment, Boyle's Law experiment, specific heat capacity experiment in Physics at any rate.
    Ethanoic acid experiment in Chemistry.
    Female poet in English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 817 ✭✭✭md99

I'll give you a tip, get someone else to sit your LC, you may be risking being caught but at least you'll break 100 points.

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭nedward

^That would be awful easy, wouldn't it?

Nehpets wrote:
    . . .he knew told him that this guard has three eyes and 5 arms!

5 arms. . .so he has 2 on either side of his torso. . .wheres the other one?
    I've also heard speak that there is an elite squad of athlonian ninjas who keep constant watch outside, flanked by pigs with LAZERZ for eyes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 109 ✭✭boger

and of course what you call her who is going to be the princess ay my wedding

boger, it's over. This is a new thread. The princess is DEAD.

Just finished studying demand in economics - real proud of myself - it better fu ken come up

I'm proud of you. I studied how microwaves work. There's a safety lock to ensure that microwaves don't escape. Who knew microwaves tried to leave the kitchen?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭Spank

md99 wrote:
    Points, a career, money, respect, self fulfillment, security, enjoyment...
    Yeah because they ALWAYS GO TOGETHER.

This thread sucks, shut up about welfare offices and job centers you close minded snobs. Worry about yourself if you're so intelligent, and good luck to yous. I'd sure love to find out my doctor/lawyer/brain surgeon had such prejudices, I'd SO still have the same respect for them.

Rozabeez wrote:
    I'm proud of you. I studied how microwaves work. There's a safety lock to ensure that microwaves don't escape. Who knew microwaves tried to leave the kitchen?
    You werent smoking as well were you ;)
    By the way - is that for the physics course - as part of sound and waves?