Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wexford Sayings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Able

Timans wrote:
    We use "quare" the most down here.

Meaning very. pronounced "Qwear"

"That is quare bad"

In Wexford town "quaren" is also used. This is just quare+and. I'm not quite sure of the eptymology, but there you go.

Another good one is "stawp".

• Registered Users Posts: 11,276 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

lol quaren is quality.

man its some town of inbred gypos when you think about it

• Registered Users Posts: 284 ✭✭Holmer

More Wexfordisms:

Ah jaysus stop:
    what you are saying, i know only too well.

Leedle:
    Lethal. Exceptionally good. Not affiliated with German cut price supermarket chain.

Burst Em, John Paul:
    John Paul, you must physically injure him. Talbot Green's honour is at stake.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭Zhane

Holmer wrote:
    More Wexfordisms:

Burst Em, John Paul:

That's so true.

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭Padjo1981

It is not only the slang we use in Wexford, but the speed at which we talk can throw alot of people off any effort to try to understand us, and as a scalder I have to admit we have some of the worst slang and speak just about as fast as anyone can.

Stray outside the town, it gets even worse. In the badlands around my place if you're not gettin lost in the hills (which have eyes) you might hear gems like these:

pinsion: pension(?)
    vit: vet(?)
    clen: cleaned (someone mentioned this before, its a favourite of mine)
    'clare to god: i declare to god (some sort of exclamation)
    resh: as in "duhhh". Exlusive to bridgetown school i think, circa 1993

These are from a very localised area, I'm sure everyone has some from their own parish or whatever

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32 Seb-K

c.untish - as in bad!

"thats a c.untish pub we were in last night"

Oh yeah ive heard that one.
    or "hows it goin lad?" meaning i cant remember your name cos im drunk, but hello anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 68 ✭✭ShowAndGo

Don’t know if anyone has heard of this, I have only heard in one part of Wexford: “Comfortablist”

As is…”these are the most comfortablist pair of shoes…”

I’m living in Wexford, not originally from there, so when my girlfriend came out with this I cracked up laughing and tried to explain that there was no such word. It didn’t go too well, she phoned her mates and they all agreed I was talking crap…lesson learnt!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 79 ✭✭JMURPHY3

Go to below link for more Wexford slang words:

http://www.slang.ie/index.php?county=Wexford:D

Seems pretty blank..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Araniell

Holmer wrote: »
    More Wexfordisms:

Burst Em, John Paul:

*Falls over laughin'*

Quaren usually gets coupled with the 'boy' form of address, doesn't it? As in: "I'm quaren knackered, boy."

How about "Lisa's after slappin'" - Lisa has fallen down.

Araniell wrote: »
    *Falls over laughin'*

Quaren usually gets coupled with the 'boy' form of address, doesn't it? As in: "I'm quaren knackered, boy."

How about "Lisa's after slappin'" - Lisa has fallen down.

I knaaaaaawwwwww, the bouncers'll never ledder inta the staaaaaaaaaaaaaaawrs like, she's quare bad

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,352 ✭✭✭funky penguin

Quaren bad mouldy ouvih.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭europerson

Have a look at this too.

Yeah, was readin a bit about Yola lately, the only word i recognised that I've heard in use is "keek" meaning to peek at someone. But the only person I've ever heard using it is my mother

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Murtinho

Holmer wrote: »
    Yeah, was readin a bit about Yola lately, the only word i recognised that I've heard in use is "keek" meaning to peek at someone. But the only person I've ever heard using it is my mother

Very like the scandinavian word "kika" pronounced "chika" meaning the same, probably viking related, like a lot of wexford slang is.

If only we could blame the vikings for "quare bad" or "Lisa's after slappin"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Statso

The only contribution i can think of right now is the word 'san' instead of son. Surely you have heard people saying 'Alright san, whats the craic eh?'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭johnnyrotten123

The ultimate Wexford town sentence, back in my day anyway, was: Lort, dat's quaren desh doh' (or subsitute deadly for desh). Translation: 'My God, that is fantastic.'

And Wexford people always say 'y'know like' after most sentences.

Moving outside the town, anyone ever come across 'be de rath' as in an exclamation of some sort. Eg 'be the rath boys, Joe was in sum state last night'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Statso

Aye i've heard of 'be the rath' but i heard a slightly longer one, 'be the wrath of josie!'

I remember desh too, me bro used to say it all the time before deadly took over. :D

'be the rath' - that bring back memories!

Statso wrote: »
    The only contribution i can think of right now is the word 'san' instead of son. Surely you have heard people saying 'Alright san, whats the craic eh?'
    My brother and his mates use that one. Thought it was just their thing never heard anyone else say it. Be the rath is a classic too!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭johnnyrotten123

Aye i've heard of 'be the rath' but i heard a slightly longer one, 'be the wrath of josie!'

We used to say 'be the rath of the ten snotty-nosed orphans' - don't ask where in the hell that came from!!

• Registered Users Posts: 602 ✭✭✭will1977

We used to say 'be the rath of the ten snotty-nosed orphans' - don't ask where in the hell that came from!!

LOL. Jasus, that brings me back !!!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

FrCrilly wrote: »
    Here's more from Enniscorthy.

1. Bagel
    Contrary to popular belief, this has nothing to do with the bread, but
    is a
    bastardised version of the dog name beagel. Will be heard in the phrase
    "Go
    away you, ya bagel"

2. In Da Horrors
    Popular description of your bodily state after 12 pints of cider in
    Benedicts. "Jaysus lads, i was in the horrors last night"

3. The Rasher Counter
    The name of part of the bar in John Doyles pub. Serious drinkers will
    be
    proppin up the rasher counter on a Wednesday morning at 11am.

4. Anorexic Spunk bubble
    Enniscorthy for "twat".

5. Pull the forehead
    Pronounced "forrid", you will hear this outside Benedicts at 2.30am.
    "Go
    away you ya bagel, i'll pull the forrid off you.

6. Spuntino
    An original dish created in Malocca's chipper, the spuntino consists of
    bread, tomato sauce and cheese. Comes in a foil wrapper.

7. Floods
    Shorthand for Murphy-Floods Hotel. For years this was the focal point
    of
    social life in Enniscorthy, till it burnt down in September 2005. Is
    now
    a
    big eye sore.

8. The Castle
    Original and ****tiest nightclub in town, now closed down. Was once at
    the
    bar there waiting for a drink when i saw a knacker urinate on a girl.
    DJ
    Jabbers was resident dj.

9. The Proddy Church
    Conveniently located across from The Castle (see above), the proddy
    church,
    shorthand for the Protestant Church was the scene of many a romp
    involving
    a gob****e from Glenbrien and a 16 year old dirtbird from the Shannon.

10. The Shannon
    Enniscorthy's answer to Darndale/Moyross/Ballybay/Coolock...you get the
    picture.

11. The Strawberry Festival
    This was once a two week festival called the Strawberry Fair, where big
    names like Gay Byrne would come down to celebrate our local strawberry
    industry by gettin "in the horrors". Is now a 3 day event, overrun by
    tinkers and class acts such as Declan Nurney, Teresa and the Stars and
    TR
    Dallas.

12. Scaulders
    Shorthand for Enniscorthy, if you are from town, you are a Scaulder.

13. Taken

An exclamation of extreme embaressment.
    As in...I was totally taken!m

Haha i have a friend whos lives in Enniscorthy and all the stuff on the list is bang on :D

• Registered Users Posts: 598 ✭✭✭arseagon

Haha i have a friend whos lives in Enniscorthy and all the stuff on the list is bang on :D

No it's not, the Spuntino is completely wrong.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Real B-man

arseagon wrote: »
    No it's not, the Spuntino is completely wrong.

Really lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5 Jonny Haych

"Sure you tinks your great", anyone remenber that one?

How bout, "I had yer ma, sure I'm yer da"

The "san" instead of "son", was started by people from the Talbot Green (the Greeners as they were konwn as!!) area of Wexford Town, I should know as I used live not to far from the area.

As for deadly takin over from desh...what's rong wit u, ya have ta add the two of them together...sure that's deadly desh n all n everthn n all like n all!!!!

Ah, Wexford town in the 80's, sure ya cant bate that!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

Timans wrote: »
    We use "quare" the most down here.

Meaning very. pronounced "Qwear"

"That is quare bad"

Would you get off the stage chap!!! That's hardly a Wexford saying - that's countrywide - and it doesn't mean "very" - it means odd, as in "'he's a quare chap, that lad"