Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wexford Sayings

• Registered Users Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭The Chessplayer

arseagon wrote: »
    "Bagle" is another one meaning idiot. "Yer a bagle"

It can also mean "taken" when used as "bagleised" :)

Bagle/bagel means an ugly women in Wicklow parlance, e.g. jaysus she's a rotten bagel (gosh, she's rather unattractive).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭johnnyrotten123

Would you get off the stage chap!!! That's hardly a Wexford saying - that's countrywide - and it doesn't mean "very" - it means odd, as in "'he's a quare chap, that lad"

It does mean 'very' man! As in 'that's quare bad'! You can use it as in 'he's a quare chap' too though

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭the GALL

comin from dublin i've heard some 'quare' wexford sayings
    full as a wheelie bin (locked drunk)
    howya hun (story bud)
    that lads a poltice(yer mans a muppet)
    i do be or thems over there(???still tryin to figure that one out???)
    kilenagh(killenagh pronounced....kill-en-a)
    it goes on and on

Would you get off the stage chap!!! That's hardly a Wexford saying - that's countrywide - and it doesn't mean "very" - it means odd, as in "'he's a quare chap, that lad"

Nope - in wex 'quare' also means very

'Dats quare bad'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 328 ✭✭Statso

the GALL wrote: »
    comin from dublin i've heard some 'quare' wexford sayings
    full as a wheelie bin (locked drunk)
    howya hun (story bud)
    i do be or thems over there(???still tryin to figure that one out???)
    kilenagh(killenagh pronounced....kill-en-a)
    it goes on and on

Ha i say 'i do be' all the time, didn't realise it was just a Wexford thing though. Not sure but is kilenagh meant to be 'Killing it!'? Is the way you spell it just what you think the word is? Most people i know say 'Killing it!' all the time when describing themselves drinking or clubbing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭Fulton Crown

Had to ask a Wexford guy for his sons date of birth (no I'M not a Guard) he thought for a while and said.
    "Well if he's not thirty he's up agen it" !!

Figure that out

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,350 ✭✭✭WexCan

Nope - in wex 'quare' also means very

'Dats quare bad'
    I moved to Gorey when I was 13, having been raised in south Dublin, perilously close to Dalkey and Killiney. The word quare had me very confused.

A year later, I was quare'n' good at using it in nearly every sentence with a heavy Wexford accent.

Moved back to Dublin at 16, and regained my posh accent.

Now, however, I live in England (Surrey, v posh) and whenever I go home I spend most of my time in Gorey with the parents, so funnily enough I've found myself reverting to the Wexford accent again. When I'm fresh off a flight from Ireland, nobody can understand a word I say, which arguably has its good points when you work in the service industry. Then again, I've had the odd funny look after coming out with such classics as "That's a quare'n' big bag you've got there."

• Registered Users Posts: 284 ✭✭Holmer

"out" to mean "very"
    as in "that fella is sound out"
    "Meyler shifted this wan an she was rough out"
    Think it's exclusive to wexford

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

the GALL wrote: »

Must say I've never heard this one!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 938 ✭✭✭the GALL

Must say I've never heard this one!!!
    neither had i till i worked with a brickies mate from enniscorty... it took me weeks to figure out what he was sayin':D

• Registered Users Posts: 412 ✭✭IrlJidel

musha - related to sympathy

As in:
    'Ah musha god love ya'

'musha' is a sarchastic term though, at least I always used it as such..

a: I hurt my toe
    b: aww... mussha...
    a: **** off!

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭gonementhol

"skeet" meaning good looking or someone you'd love to "ride"
    "Yer one is some skeet!"

"Look at the dirt o' yer neck. " - refering to a hickie

• Registered Users Posts: 949 ✭✭✭LoanShark

ShowAndGo wrote: »
    Don’t know if anyone has heard of this, I have only heard in one part of Wexford: “Comfortablist”

As is…”these are the most comfortablist pair of shoes…”

My Girlfriend is from Wexford too and her sister uses this word all the time..:eek:

or another saying

"Be Da Feck!"

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Murtinho

Had to ask a Wexford guy for his sons date of birth (no I'M not a Guard) he thought for a while and said.
    "Well if he's not thirty he's up agen it" !!

Figure that out

The son is 29, going on 30, but he's unsure and he may in fact be 30.

"comfortablist" and "be the feck" are right ones too

• Registered Users Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭BigBenRoeth

How about "Ah Bidda 'lard harry"
    Or "Be the long dog"
    Or "Ah bidda holy man above tonight"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17 fastman

"I'll hop off ye"

"Not even the tide would take her out "

"Up and down like a whore's knickers"

"I'm so horny I'd get up on the crack of dawn "

Up Wexford !

• Registered Users Posts: 49 mullanimal

hey lads, congrats on the win against the Deise... i'm from waterford meself and i suppose the best wexford wans i've heard are

a) rissoles... spice burgers in waterford
    b) i'll burn yer house to the axle
    c) quarn ill lad
    d) ee-git (not an electronic git, but an eejit with a strong g sound)
    e) yoh... as in a ewe or female sheep!!!

there's a load on http://www.slang.ie now, very nostalgic... went to college in wit with a few wexford lads and brought it all back... especially powderpissers LOL

• Registered Users Posts: 891 ✭✭✭redfacedbear

mullanimal wrote: »
    a) rissoles... spice burgers in waterford

Rissoles are not Spice Burgers - I made the mistake when I first moved down here of bringing herself back a spice burger rather than a rissole - It was not pretty - won't be making that mistake again! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭ciano1

''Are ya wantin anthin??''

Another one I hear in wexford

Neither me,nor anyone i know would use "Musha" sarcasticly....:p

Meh.. it has been at least 6 years since I used that term... damn times have probably changed!

One week ban for proving a mod wrong!

• Registered Users Posts: 598 ✭✭✭arseagon

Meh.. it has been at least 6 years since I used that term... damn times have probably changed!

I'm with you on this one zaraba. I use Musha sarchastically all the time still. Mostly to chicks that won't stop whinging about something. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 80 ✭✭Araniell

Rissoles are not Spice Burgers - I made the mistake when I first moved down here of bringing herself back a spice burger rather than a rissole - It was not pretty - won't be making that mistake again! :)

Dead right! I'd bate the arse off ya if ya brang me home a spice burger an' I wantin' a rissole!

Is "smack the gob on him/her" only used in Wexford. I remember we used it when I was growing up as a gurrier in a Wexford estate.

It meant kissing somebody without...er... seeking consent first.

"I was too nervous to ask her to shift me, so I just smacked the gob on her"

Jaysus, we were some knackers...

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Quadra

"Mara" was a quare'n popular one when I was young.

Used as a greeting, as in: "Mara, ja go t'da Imperial (Bar) last night, doh?"

Anyone remember a "chaney-alley"? Far as I recall, it was a white marble (or "taw") with coloured bits; very desirable to win in contests.

Another common one in the schoolyard was "gowwafrmme, gowwafrmme". Basically "go away from me" collapsed into one word and said twice at high speed. Generally ineffective.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 twkm05

Yup san. Dunno how I found this thread but i had ta check it out once i spotted it. Cant ****n believe none of yas mentioned "yer ma". Im from Talbot Green(Well its actually Talbot Street) myself n ta be honest Ive heard every ****n sayin out there.
    I'll try list a few(spelling them phonetically);
    • Will ya get down off me hip?! (Leave me alone)
    • Go way will ya! (Leave me alone)
    • Yaaa! (You're right, im wrong now **** off)
    • Dya hear yer man there? (Im loosing this slagging match so i better quit while Im ahead)
    • Alright skin? (Hello)
    • 'Right san? (Hello)
    • Howaya now brother? (Hello)
    • Well pal? (Hello)
    • Yer maaa! ( Ive totally lost this slaggin competition and this is my last resort of a come back)
    • Reply "I rode yer ma last night"
    Now for a few rude ones (n def only heard around Talbot Green n Wolfe Tone n most steets of Wex);
    • Id let her **** in my breakfast! (Wow, she is fine!)
    • What wouldnt ya do ta her!! (Wow, she is fine!)
    I could go on for ages but I should be workin. Good luck lads

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 twkm05

Yup san. Dunno how I found this thread but i had ta check it out once i spotted it. Cant ****n believe none of yas mentioned "yer ma". Im from Talbot Green(Well its actually Talbot Street) myself n ta be honest Ive heard every f.uckn sayin out there.
    I'll try list a few(spelling them phonetically);
    • Will ya get down off me hip?! (Leave me alone)
    • Go way will ya! (Leave me alone)
    • Yaaa! (You're right, im wrong now f.uck off)
    • Dya hear yer man there? (Im loosing this slagging match so i better quit while Im ahead)
    • Alright skin? (Hello)
    • 'Right san? (Hello)
    • Howaya now brother? (Hello)
    • Well pal? (Hello)
    • Yer maaa! ( Ive totally lost this slaggin competition and this is my last resort of a come back)
    • Reply "I rode yer ma last night"
    Now for a few rude ones (n def only heard around Talbot Green n Wolfe Tone n most steets of Wex);
    • Id let her s.hit in my breakfast! (Wow, she is fine!)
    • What wouldnt ya do ta her!! (Wow, she is fine!)
    I could go on for ages but I should be workin. Good luck lads

• Registered Users Posts: 3,311 ✭✭✭xebec

twkm05 wrote: »
    Id let her s.hit in my breakfast! (Wow, she is fine!)

ROFL :D

Never head that one before, but I'll take your word for it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 Able

What about "well lad"?