Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wexford Sayings

124»

• Registered Users Posts: 284 ✭✭Holmer

AAAAHAAAAA!!! SICKENED!!!!!!!!!

Meaning: I've proved you wrong. I'm vindicated!
    Never hear it any more.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7 twkm05

"Well lad". Now thats the wexford bogger slang. Ya do hear it quite a bit around town tho.
    "Sickened". Still use that myself.
    Heres one;
    "The smell a rage off ya".

Never heard that one bout the tide; "The tide wouldnt take her out like". Funny!
    Heres a few that jus cant be beatin;
    • Domestos wouldnt shift her. (She is stinkin')
    • I'd rather get up on a monday mornin. (She is stinkin')
    • I wouldnt get up on her ta get over a wall. (She is stinkin')
    Few classics there. But here is the best jeers ever;

"She has a face like a bulldog lickin p.iss off a nettle".
    or
    "She has a face like a slapped arse".
    or
    "She has a face like a bag of rusty hammers".
    or
    "She has a face like a bucket of hot dogs vomit".

Theres loads of those tho. Id be ere all day writin em down

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40 eoinalmighty

I'd have to vouch for wel lad being of Carlow origin

OK bunclodyisms

1. Beore
    A good looking female

2. Stick
    Good i.e. Oh be the stick beore

3. Takent
    Embarassed

4. Fawlse
    Not nice e.g. Aw son youre fwlse ouva ( out of it)

5. Munye
    Good

6. **** lad
    Self explanatory

7. Cheeks
    Embarassment e.g. Cheeks over you son

8. Feen
    Good looking male

Kilrushisms

Oh be the living lord jaysus

As wide as a ducks arse

Hands - a call to announce yourself as goalkeeper

Other things

Chicargo- Its called chicago people

Owneded - Grrrrrrr

Sted - Pronounced as stayed by others

Wan- pronunciation of 1

I'd just like to say that the above four "Drive me wrong"

• Registered Users Posts: 452 ✭✭Murtinho

heard yer man on SE radio yesterday, the way he said "hunderd" for 100

• Registered Users Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭BigBenRoeth

A good Gorey one would be "Oh bidda lamma da lard jaysus!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 42 Mygsy

Cant forget the classic hardly- a response to everything!
    Or def-fin-ite-ly instead of def-in-it-ly never realised i was pronouncing that wrong until i went to college!
    Shift!!!
    im quare hungry lads..i'd ate a scabby babby off a tennis racket so i would!! that might be just a sayin off my mates!
    I'll breaaaak yer face so i will!
    corped-caught
    ah god good of man whilst yawning
    curse of mice on it anyways (screenism)

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭shawneebuy

There are some classic Wexford expressions out there..

'Smell of rage off ya' being one from my youth..

Anyone got any others?

Another classic Wexford Town expression is,''He's under the doctor'', meaning he is attending the doctor.

• Registered Users Posts: 506 ✭✭✭PoolDude

'I'm tellin ya now, you'll be quaren mad when I tell yer Ma, hun!'
    'How's it goin hun'
    'Ya'll rite hun'
    'Hard lines' - for the more sophisticated golfers :-)
    'Better than a kick in the arse'
    'fine night'

• Registered Users Posts: 23 Holyharry

"Cursed a da wooden jaysus on ya!"

My Grandad used to use this in moments of, shall we say, annoyance. Usualy addressed to inanimate objects, for example, the hammer that missed the nail but found his thumb... God bless him...

Don't hear it anymore. Except when I'm using a hammer.

...and Wexford tradesmen call a hammer a "Hommer"

• Registered Users Posts: 11,276 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

twkm05 wrote: »
    Yup san. Dunno how I found this thread but i had ta check it out once i spotted it. Cant ****n believe none of yas mentioned "yer ma". Im from Talbot Green(Well its actually Talbot Street) myself n ta be honest Ive heard every f.uckn sayin out there.
    I'll try list a few(spelling them phonetically);
    • Will ya get down off me hip?! (Leave me alone)
    • Go way will ya! (Leave me alone)
    • Yaaa! (You're right, im wrong now f.uck off)
    • Dya hear yer man there? (Im loosing this slagging match so i better quit while Im ahead)
    • Alright skin? (Hello)
    • 'Right san? (Hello)
    • Howaya now brother? (Hello)
    • Well pal? (Hello)
    • Yer maaa! ( Ive totally lost this slaggin competition and this is my last resort of a come back)
    • Reply "I rode yer ma last night"
    Now for a few rude ones (n def only heard around Talbot Green n Wolfe Tone n most steets of Wex);
    • Id let her s.hit in my breakfast! (Wow, she is fine!)
    • What wouldnt ya do ta her!! (Wow, she is fine!)
    I could go on for ages but I should be workin. Good luck lads

wp sir, had me in bits laughin

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭MissHoneyBun

Craytur: as in "ahhhh shur the poor craytur though" (pronounced "dohhh") = I feel quite sorry for that individual

Loch Garman abu ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 293 ✭✭WexfordWarrior

cant believe everyone missed out on these ...

'RIIIIIIIIIGHT LADS" OR "ALRIGHT SAN"

ill effin burst ya..ya GONK ..

state a him/her/you ...

big ATIN(eaten) away face on ya!

head on him doh ....

right pal

im broke up altogether now ... im in bits(physically injured or drunk)

im in the rats !! (drunk)

i remember the 'desh' and 'deadly' times well .... trying to think of more...

goin down to willie grace for the bit of battered black or white puddin though.. oh yeah now son... f...n loves that now.... and a LOAD of RED SAUCE on it then tooo.... bottle of skipper orange though ...HAWWW !!

hawww...used alot at the end of sentences too hhhaawwww !!

ILL PULL THE FOREHEAD OFF YOU YA GIMP....gowayfromme (aggressive term)

what about this one when ya meet someone in the street that has a new haircut or a pair of new white runners...of course you wouldnt want them to be too happy or to get too ahead of themselves so when ya meet them walkin down the street you give them the bit of "LOOK AT YOUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUU THOUGH, DELIGHTED WITH YERSELF AN ALL"

could go on for hours ..... :))

all wexford town terms...i dont know many wexford town people who use "QUARE" thats more country wexford but you some wexford town people sayin "QUARN GOOD LADS" in the biggest wexford accent they have just taking the piss though rather than actually meaning to say it...

oh here another one "know what i mean pal, ya know what i mean"

g'luck...

• Registered Users Posts: 851 ✭✭✭JayEnnis

Shift, feek and the one that annoys me the most.

"Awww boysh".

• Registered Users Posts: 244 ✭✭vedwards

Enniscorthy: quare
    Gorey: quaren
    As in:
    "Datwuz quanen gud" following some delectation or expression of delight.

Rasher Counter I can relate to :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 423 ✭✭foolelle

jinnet

• Registered Users Posts: 656 ✭✭✭Bearhunter

Does anyone remember "outlawed", meaning very good? As in "Jaze lads that beer was outlawed."

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Last night was outlawed,ya got quare drunk ya beagle,you were in the horrors and got yourself taken,you told some eejit you'd pull the forehead off him.:D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,017 ✭✭✭jpb1974

I had the supposed pleasure of being told I was a 'skeet' by a Wexford Hun outside a nightclub many years ago. Apparently it means 'a fine thing'?

'There's a hare up' - specific to the Shannon/White House Bar in Enniscorthy. It's used to highlight the fact that a fine woman has just entered the premises.

'Cat' - as in bad, crap, no good. Is that Wexford?

• Registered Users Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Ms. Chanandler Bong

jpb1974 wrote: »
    'Cat' - as in bad, crap, no good. Is that Wexford?

AFAIK it's said a lot around Sligo/Mayo as well

'Ah Come Out'

This used to be popular in Enniscorthy in the early 90s -

I'm not quite sure as to the exact meaning but it was usually used in conjunction with "your taken" or "your swept".

"Ah come out... you're taken"

Anyone remember "burr" as in when something bad or unlucky happened to someone: "Burr on you..."

Or an old favourite was "bursting it open", as in:

"Are yez doin' any work at all there lads?"

"Jaze boss, we're burstin' it open for sport here."

• Registered Users Posts: 326 ✭✭marathont

smodgley wrote: »
    one i remember from the days in CBS wexford in the 80's was ''desh or dealdly desh' dont hear it much thesedays

Yeah, dont here desh anymore at all. I think I read somewhere it comes from the Yola language that used to be spoken in parts of Wexford.

"Are you going out tonight"

"I am fate" (meaning "I sure am")

(or was it faith?)

jpb1974 wrote: »

(or was it faith?)

Faith an' it twas...

And I think desh came from the Irish deis, meaning right (as in right-sided).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Jaafa

Any strange? = any news?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,270 ✭✭✭spyderski

What about plain old "Hun", as in "D'ya want salt'n vinegar on tha' hun"?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20 Klove

"Skwezz" instead of squeeze

"be the lord lampin' jaysus"

"I've seen more meat on good friday" used when a person looks particularly malnourished

"bet to the ropes" to convey fatigue/over indulgence

and one of my favourites - "by the new time". To express speed/heavy usage ie "baytin' the rissoles in to her by the new time".:D

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭wexfordia

Timans wrote: »
    We use "quare" the most down here.

Meaning very. pronounced "Qwear"

"That is quare bad"

I was going to say that one.It's quare bad ! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 376 ✭✭mcgarrett

The kids spotted this on Sunday night and announced "thats what granny always says".

Is Dermot O Leary making use of his Wexford parentage and throwing in the odd Wexford saying on the Xfactor.

Watch from 5.15 to 5.25 and listen for "How are ya feelin' hun?

http://www.tv3.ie/videos.php?video=28743&locID=1.65.536&date=2010-10-31&date_mode=&page=1&show_cal=&newspanel=&showspanel=&web_only=&full_episodes=