Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Please note that it is not permitted to have referral links posted in your signature. Keep these links contained in the appropriate forum. Thank you.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2055940817/signature-rules

Speeding in Norn Iron

Options
  • 12-04-2007 11:12pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,554 ✭✭✭

Dont mean to start a flame war between the 'you should always observe the speed limit, righteous brigade' & the 'i'll drive as fast as i like crowd, cos i'm a great driver brigade',

I was just wondering waht is the story with getting caught for speeding in Norn Iron by speed cameras. Do southern drivers enjoy the same diplomatic immunity that the norther drivers seem to enjoy down here. I only ask this as I was travelling back from derry at the weekend and i was passed by many a budding F1 driver on southern plates while in the north and the roles seemed to reverse once i crossed the border on my way back to dublin, the auld yellow reg motors seemed to be flying down the m1 with no regard for speed cameras. So can you flaunt the law in the north without fear of recrimination or can you receive a fine from the PSNI etc in the post, do the respective forces share info??

Thanks for any constructive info.

rgds

TL

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

I think it's a case of penalty points being non-transferrable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,217 ✭✭✭FX Meister

No, they will impound your car if you speed straight away. FACT. If you can't obey speed limits you shouldn't be driving. FACT

• Registered Users Posts: 21,676 ✭✭✭✭smashey

FX Meister wrote: