Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rate the area where you live!!

• 13-04-2007 9:56pm
    Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭

Ok, this is actually a thread about me moving to Dublin, and seeing as I haven't got a clue of Dublin, or where might be nice to live, I thought this might fill me in a bit.........

So, any positives/negatives about where you live?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Are you seriously asking us to pin point exactly where we're living?.

I doubt too many will do that. I for one wouldn't, but I can tell you what would ruin my quality of life in a particular area if that's any use to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭Carpenter

Sandyford and we love it top class area

Hotel
    School,s
    Shopping center (Dundrum)
    Luas
    Half way up the Dublin mountains

• Closed Accounts Posts: 393 ✭✭Peter Collins

Northwood, Santry, just moved

Class...huge park 30 seconds away, cinema, shopping centre, 20mins from town, 1 min from M50 :cool:

The northside's answer to overpriced, overrated, boxed-in-like-turtle's-pecker Dundrum

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭MLM

Monkstown. Generally quiet. On the DART, loads of buses. Near to Dun Laoghaire, Dalkey, Blackrock. Traffic not too bad. And there's a beach! Blue flag no less.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭InFront

Dundrum, it's nice! I like!
    Good things: Easy access into town with the Luas, the town centre which has everything from Tesco to women's clothing to women's clothing to women's clothing to Tesco's. Oh and the cinema. Oh and I live there which makes it great. It's also very quiet
    Bad things: Sometimes it's too quiet. One thing that really annoys me is that the public transport is really only good if you're going into town as opposed to going somewhere like the beach or even UCD (it's more than a stroll!). You could say this about most suburbs in Dublin, though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

Ballsbridge:

Good points: Very quiet, streets kept clean, within walking distance of town, high Garda presence, few knackers, few children, feeling of security.

Bad points f**king cats everywhere, stuck up people unable to say hello, trees: leaves making pavements slippery and sap damaging to cars.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Raheny

Good:

127 acres of parkland, close to beach, (I have dogs and I surf) "village" like surroundings, mature area, pro-active garda station, not too snobby, people say hello, close to town, Dart and "bus" service.

Bad:

Boy racers, kids boozing in the park (litter), Crap SuperValu in the village, no good restaraunts (exept the thai which is just ok)

The goods far outweigh the bads.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,139 ✭✭✭olaola

Good:

30 mins walk from town.
    Beside Luas/Buses (loads of buses).
    Near M50 (about 10 mins drive to red cow)

Things to do:
    IMMA, Kilmainham Gaol, Pheonix Park, Memorial Gardens.
    It's also nice to walk down the canal.

Great italian ressie (I'm not telling you where... it's my secret :))
    Some nice bars - The Royal Oak (more Kilmainham)

Bad:

No really good shops nearby. The Spar in the village is not great, but better than most.
    Tesco & Dunnes in Crumlin are dreadful & Superquinn is pricey deluxe!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭Cyrus

blackrock

pros - proximity to the sea, plethora or shops and bars, not much in the way of crime or anti social behaviour, old established area so plenty of old trees (makes you feel out of the city), decent public transport

cons - expensive place to live but thats it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Drumcondra

Good points:
    Very few skangers/knackers, very quiet, several good pubs, 15 minute walk to town, good bus service, get to live near Bertie:D

Bad Points
    Croke Park Matchdays when you become a prisoner in your own home, having to remember to bring your residents pass on matchdays for the garda checkpoint, One small Tesco's and all other shops are damn expensive, dodgy areas between home and city centre so walking home to save taxi fare on a night out is not an option

• Registered Users Posts: 70 ✭✭carpediem

Pros
    Very clean
    Nice people
    At the foot of Dublin Mountains yet minutes from the M50
    Small villiage (currently being redesigned)
    Step Inn! (great food at affordable prices)
    A few minutes drive to Sandyford LUAS
    Will be close to new LUAS line (2010)
    Superquinn coming to The Park (Glenamuck Rd) this Summer
    Plenty of golf courses
    Not far from Johnny Foxes
    Nice walks (e.g. Ticknock)
    Lovely drive to Powerscourt Gardens

Cons
    Could do with a few more buses!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,492 ✭✭✭MementoMori

Dublin 1

Pros
    If you're going to move to the city move to the city not the 'burbs
    Don't waste your time commuting to places
    Never need to get taxis home late at night
    Five minutes pop to the shops

Cons
    Can't think of none at the mo
    Cost

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,661 ✭✭✭✭John Mason

Finglas

i love it

Good Points: M50, Airport, Clearwater, great bus service, lovely parks, great gym with a pool, very quiet, good community spirit

Bad Points: €20 home in a taxi (but the night link cancels that out), random horses on the road, police helicopters, a few muppets, empty crisp packets

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 17,993 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Smithfield Market (the square)

Good Points:
    Handy walking distance to town
    Large-ish (but expensive) mini-super market nearby
    Near to the Phoenix Park
    LUAS if ya need it

Bad Points:
    Noise outside!
    Smithfield on Ice
    Local brats hanging around in large groups

... I'm leaving the area...

• Registered Users Posts: 18,336 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Sandymount

Good
    The beach
    Cycling distance from town
    nice village atmosphere, although shops becoming more pretentious, to be expected I guess

BAD

Traffic getting worse
    Not cheap

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 1,600 ✭✭✭00112984

Dublin 2

Pros-
    Bus/Luas and DART all within 5 mins
    Libraries and shops everywhere
    Nice walks along Stephen's Green, Merrion Square, Grand Canal Dock and the Canal
    Artwork on Merrion Square
    Free yogurts/cereal bars/soft drinks as promos on the way to work in the morning

Cons-
    Gangs of kids hanging around Centra
    Everyone in work hits me up for my spare room on Friday nights
    Chuggers
    Beggars every 5 steps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Jimkel

Whitehall

Great!

Pro's

lots of Shops

Loadsa busses 20B every 10 minutes, 16, 16A, 103 and more
    3 nearby shopping centres
    local chinese/indian/european/pizza delivery
    local park
    very central
    handy routes to dollymount beach, City center and dublin airport.
    you've got the malahide road, swords road and grace park road on your doorstep.
    2 minutes from beaumont hospital(in case of emergency's!).
    omniplex cimema
    lots of ATM machines
    DCU ,Whitehall, plunketts and Killester college just up the road
    2 local secondary schools
    24 hour garage 3 minute walk away. very quiet area with no Gangs or scangers.

Cons
    Too many stray cats-Always see them flattened on the side of the road.
    Heavy, heavy traffic from the beaumont road to whitehall junction.
    You simply cannot drive to town in the morning altough going away from it is pretty easy with little traffic.
    very Old housing estates can be cold in winter.
    lack of bird song in the morning and at night due to the cats.
    Beaumont house, I hate that pub!
    No trains, nearest station is in Connoly station or Howth Junction.
    Of course being on the northside, The Luas forgot us

• Closed Accounts Posts: 299 ✭✭Punchbowl

Rathmines:

Good:

Cafe Moda - open til 5am, lovely coffee/food/ambience
    Slatterys Pub - Great Pint, lovely old world bar
    Aldi - Bargain city
    15 Minute walk to Stephens Green
    7 Minute walk to Anseo
    4 Minute walk to the Bernard Shaw
    Canal for walks, swimming, perving on swans
    Kafka - Great food
    Empire - Decent Chinese fare

Bad:

Tram Co
    KFC
    Tesco (Rubbish selection)
    Stella Cinema Closed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 119 ✭✭Lillyella

Ayrefield D.13

Good

Close to M50
    Active residents association (flowers/borders/signs etc)
    Close to lots of new developments - new coffee shops/hotels/convenience stores
    3 routes into city centre (Malahide Rd/Howth Rd/Coast Rd)
    Primary school in middle of estate
    No through traffic
    Close to loads of parks and 10 mins from Beach

Bad

Hoodies hanging around green areas
    Increasing amounts of grafitti
    Traffic ramps...EVERYWHERE

• Registered Users Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭irlirishkev

Dublin 1

Pros
    If you're going to move to the city move to the city not the 'burbs
    Don't waste your time commuting to places
    Never need to get taxis home late at night
    Five minutes pop to the shops

Cons
    Can't think of none at the mo
    Cost

Argh.. You beat me to it!
    plus..

Pros
    So many cinemas
    So many bars
    So many shops
    You can walk everywhere
    ATMs all over the place

Cons
    Litter. One of my pet peeves. Some people just like living in their own filth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Bartronilic

I feel like a tool writing this and am gonna cringe reading back but:

Templeogue, Dublin 6W

Pros:
    No houses on the main roads almost all cul de sac
    Schools (Temp College, McDaras, Ashfield, Our Lady's, Terenure)
    Dublins 2nd biggest park (Tymon)
    3 sets of shops (Village, Orwell, Perrystown)
    3 close buses go around the estates and an additional 8 go to the village
    Spawell
    Beside M50
    Very near Nutgrove, Rathfarnham and the Square, close enough to Dundrum
    Alot of green space
    Mountain views
    Has more sports clubs than sports
    Everyone knows everyone
    Young population
    Not the worst for speed ramps
    No high rise

Cons:
    But the worst for roundabouts
    Young population
    Has terrible choices in elections (everyone running lives in Tallaght and their policies revolve around Tallaght)
    Spawell
    Three ATMS in the whole place. That never work.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,918 ✭✭✭Steffano2002

Avoid...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭bringitdown

Ringsend / Grand Canal Dock

Pros:
    Walk to city centre / work
    Spar/Fresh/etc ... decent choice
    Ringsend Park
    Dart / Bus right there
    Slatterys / Beggars Bush
    Decent neighbours
    Quiet

Cons:
    Dog crap ... everywhere
    Paper thin walls in many of the terraced houses.
    Nearest good Tesco (Merrion) is a drive away