Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The "Whine About Lost" Thread..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭loon

it's only until now.

sky are not having a 2 week break.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 385 ✭✭loon

why oh why can't lost keep it's internal workings in check???

first we see a crappy rocket experiment, and daniel gives a rubbish explanation about time, etc.

we then find out that the island is actually located 12 hours in the future... which means that the rocket should have arrived 12 before it took off, but it didn't... it arrived later than expected... yet another massive balls up by the writers... why don't they just hire some researchers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,300 ✭✭✭nice1franko

i used to love it but gave up last series. same oul formula/format/****e all the time.

lather, rinse, repeat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,145 ✭✭✭DonkeyStyle \o/

conanm wrote: »
    am i the only one who's forgotten 90% of the burning questions that have been left unanswered from previous episodes?
    Yeah I'm still wondering what this was all about...

charlie1ax2.jpg

looks like Charlie died for nothing :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6 bari1971

No Lost tonight,what is going on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,727 ✭✭✭✭Sherifu

bari1971 wrote: »
    No Lost tonight,what is going on!
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055301272

Welcome to boards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 498 ✭✭daisy123

Yeah I'm still wondering what this was all about...

charlie1ax2.jpg

looks like Charlie died for nothing :/

Haha, Benny...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 463 ✭✭Old_-_School

Where are all the previous threads gone?
    I wanted to see the Season 4 finale one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,200 ✭✭✭✭Basq

Where are all the previous threads gone?
    I wanted to see the Season 4 finale one.
    Search is your friend!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 TheOtherDave

Just watch the first and last two parter of every season, makes more sense that way. :D

The esp. with the jewel thieves was excellent, especially the ending :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭homergriffin

Gave up on Lost midway through season 3 and I'm glad I did, especially with some of the stuff that I heard is going on.

Don't quote me on this now but supposedly:
    The island moved or disappeared?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

Don't quote me on this now but supposedly:
    The island moved or disappeared?!
    that happened at the end of the season 4 finale, so it's not spoiler. the island disappeared, or more like it moved backward or forward in time. we won't know till season 5 where/when it went.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 kerrrory@gmail.

did anyone notice that heroes had one of their characters playing chess with a ghost like Hurley. Very strange

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

The first 2 episodes of season 5 finally pushed me over the edge. The plot's just got stupider and stupider but time travel is one thing I just fúcking hate.

Unfortunately I know I'll keep watching it, but if there was no set end date I'd have given up by now. I don't expect the conclusion to the series to be a satisfying one either if the time skipping shít they're going on about now is anything to go by.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭[-0-]

The first 2 episodes of season 5 finally pushed me over the edge. The plot's just got stupider and stupider but time travel is one thing I just fúcking hate.

Unfortunately I know I'll keep watching it, but if there was no set end date I'd have given up by now. I don't expect the conclusion to the series to be a satisfying one either if the time skipping shít they're going on about now is anything to go by.

Why are you surprised? There was time travel in the forth series.

There was a little, which I was prepared to put up with as long as it didn't become the focal point of the series.

Now they're jumping back in time every 5 minutes... 'oooh what time are they in now?' like I give a shít. It will be used lazily to tie up a lot of loose ends too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,901 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

There was a little, which I was prepared to put up with as long as it didn't become the focal point of the series.

Now they're jumping back in time every 5 minutes... 'oooh what time are they in now?' like I give a shít. It will be used lazily to tie up a lot of loose ends too.
    lol at complaining about time travel in a sci fi series

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Mellor wrote: »
    lol at complaining about time travel in a sci fi series
    Perhaps, but for a long time TPTB gave the distinct impression that Lost wasn't a sci fi series. Only in the latter half of last season did they become openly sci fi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,901 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

I remember the creators saying that it was a scifi series or at least had sci fi elements, I think this was around start of season three. And that it had always been so.
    They did admitt however that abc were unaware of this during the pitch, and probably all of season 1 too, as sci fi shows don't always go down well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Niall0

DeepBlue wrote: »
    Perhaps, but for a long time TPTB gave the distinct impression that Lost wasn't a sci fi series. Only in the latter half of last season did they become openly sci fi.

In fairness theres been a smoke monster hangin around for a few seasons, lost has always been a sci fi show .

I am getting annoyed with all the unanswered questions now, the new episodes were good but its just so frustrating waiting for the next episode!

I guess this new time travel gimmick can explain some of the big questions though like what the dharma initiative were trying to do, the numbers , Walt, the french woman etc also what were the injections for?
    I wish i never started watching it now so i could start from the start again.

Sorry I don't listen to what the creators say, I don't listen to podcasts or read interviews. For years Lost was marketed as a non sci fi show as they knew the words sci fi would put people off. However I don't hate sci-fi, just time travel. I'm not the only one either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭wayne040576

No they were under orders from the network not to use the term sci-fi in relation to the show. It's seen as a dirty word in the business that can drop ratings. Even battlestar galactica is referred to as drama.
    But I think even from the 1st season there was no way they could not have any sci-fi element to the show.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

The writers gave a really great interview recently in which they discussed the whole "since when is Lost sci-fi" issue. This is what Damon said:
    There's been this very interesting thing for me, in terms of certain audience's members to grasp the idea that they're not watching a genre show. To them, I'm like, "What show were you watching? When the big column of smoke is in Eko's face in season two and he stares it down and it retracts into the jungle, that's not a genre show?" And they say, "No, it's not." And it makes you go, "Okay, this is how there can be both evolutionists and creationists." You can take the same data and apply it to your own spectrum. You can go, "Oh, it's not a genre show, because I don't like genre shows, but I like 'Lost.' Therefore, 'Lost' is not a genre show." That's the logic they apply. Well, we've been writing a genre show from the word go. We're sorry that it's getting more genre.

The biggest audience that ever watched the show was the premiere of season two, where we revealed that Desmond was down in the hatch pushing the button every 108 minutes because he's told the world will end. The show had a critical mass at that point, we'd just won the Emmy, people were talking about it, and they tuned in to see, 'What is this thing?" And they saw that, and went, "Alright, it is exactly what I thought it was. No thank you. Not for me."

http://www.nj.com/entertainment/tv/index.ssf/2009/01/lost_damon_lindelof_qa.html

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,026 ✭✭✭Killaqueen!!!

^^ Explains why a lot of my friends stopped watching after season 1.

The writers tricked us into watching sci-fi!!! Ahhhh run! :D

To be honest don't care what genre a tv show is as long as it's good. For the record I don't generally like sci fi shows, and I've watched a lot of them. Don't like like Star Trek, don't like Quantam Leap, don't like Battlestar Galactica etc. while I do like Lost and to a certain extent Heroes.

Don't think people should stop watching Lost just cos it's sci-fi. If watching Lost makes you happy then do it. If you don't like it/fed up waiting for answers - then stop watching, and go have a baby and then you'll realise you might have had the patience for Lost after all :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭AlphaMale 3OO

Sorry I don't listen to what the creators say, I don't listen to podcasts or read interviews. For years Lost was marketed as a non sci fi show as they knew the words sci fi would put people off. However I don't hate sci-fi, just time travel. I'm not the only one either.

This is correct. Not only was it marketed as a non sci-fi show, the producers came out (and I distinctly remember this) in season 1 and said all the goings on could be explained within the realms of science. Thats what captivated me about the show originally and though I'll keep watching it, the mysticism has been "lost" because they've moved the goal posts and any unusual happenings they think up can now simply be explained away in this supernatural world. Everything makes sense now and effectively nothing needs to be answered as anything is possible in the parallel Lost universe. I've lost track of the amount of questions from season 1 or 2 that were never answered and are now forgotten, but it doesn't matter anyway because time travel is the answer. I'll continue to watch Lost because I've invested the last 4/5 years in it but lets be honest, the producers have made a complete mess of what could have been the greatest episodic TV show of all time. They claim they always knew what was going on but it smacks of ad-hoc storytelling and covering over storyline cracks. Season 5 is the icing on that cake. To me it's just another TV show now. How I crave the days of Ethan being exposed as not one of the Flight 815 group or discovering someone in the hatch in Season 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭20goto10

Very nicely put AlphaMale 3OO I agree with you whole heartedly. Except to say I do not think I will continue watching it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

This is correct. Not only was it marketed as a non sci-fi show, the producers came out (and I distinctly remember this) in season 1 and said all the goings on could be explained within the realms of science.
    I'm not necessarily disagreeing with you about everything else but this part isn't true. The writers said no such thing. In season 1 they avoided any categorisation of the show. This idea that they said everything would be explainable by science-fact is a myth stemming from a misquote at Comic-Con in 2005. I've said this many times before and dug up quotes to prove it but people continue to believe this bull**** they read on the internet several years ago.

I'm not keen on the current time-travel direction the show is taking either, but imo the show was always science-fiction. It's true that the show wasn't marketed as sci-fi but what is these days? The sci-fi label has a stigma attached to it. I'm always trying to convince people to watch BSG but the second they hear "sci-fi" they lose interest. Their loss.

The danger with the current season of Lost is that it may end up illustrating the reason for this negative view of sci-fi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,210 ✭✭✭20goto10

The danger with the current season of Lost is that it may end up illustrating the reason for this negative view of sci-fi.
    People don't automatically dislike Sci-Fi just because its Sci-Fi. They dislike it because it comes out with great stories only for the plots to be explained by unimaginable phenomena that basically says "we can't think of a decent ending". It has that reputation because its true. I'm still a Sci-Fi fan for the great stories, but I've long ago learnt to accept the appalling endings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

I thought they did come out with a statement of that kind as well, but perhaps it was as sad prof said. Either way, from my memory, it was that the answers would all be based within the "realm" of pseudo-science*.... not science.
    And everything they have shown so far, could be considered pseudo science... even time travel.

What I can't understand is peoples expectations. Honestly, and I am truly curious about this, where did you think the show was going over the last few years?
    How do you think it was possible for things like the numbers, the smoke monster, all the links between the people, moving islands etc etc etc, to be answered with pure matter of fact science?

Head in clouds me thinks.

*Pseudoscience is defined as a body of knowledge, methodology, belief, or practice that is claimed to be scientific or made to appear scientific, but does not adhere to the scientific method, lacks supporting evidence or plausibility, or otherwise lacks scientific status

20goto10 wrote:
    People don't automatically dislike Sci-Fi just because its Sci-Fi. They dislike it because it comes out with great stories only for the plots to be explained by unimaginable phenomena that basically says "we can't think of a decent ending". It has that reputation because its true. I'm still a Sci-Fi fan for the great stories, but I've long ago learnt to accept the appalling endings.
    Oh I agree. Which is the risk Lost is taking by submerging itself further in the genre.
    jimbling wrote: »
    I thought they did come out with a statement of that kind as well, but perhaps it was as sad prof said. Either way, from my memory, it was that the answers would all be based within the "realm" of pseudo-science*.... not science.
    Yeah they said this is a season 3 podcast. They compared the show to the work of Michael Crichton (Jurassic Park, Sphere, Timeline, etc). Pseudo-science isn't really a genre but if anyone nearly made it into one it was Crichton. He was really a sci-fi writer but his science background made him very good at making stuff sound factual.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

jimbling wrote: »
    What I can't understand is peoples expectations. Honestly, and I am truly curious about this, where did you think the show was going over the last few years?
    How do you think it was possible for things like the numbers, the smoke monster, all the links between the people, moving islands etc etc etc, to be answered with pure matter of fact science?

Head in clouds me thinks.

We were led (or misled, or misled ourselves) to believe that there was an 'almost scientific' explanation, so we spent a lot of time conjecturing/guessing what that was.
    To turn around and say 'head in clouds' is a bit unfair.

Its like I give you a really difficult puzzle and say there is an answer, and you spend 2 years trying to solve it, and then I tell you that of course theres no answer, only an feckn eejit would think something that difficult would have an answer. You'd feel a bit peeved yeah? Whats that, you'd punch me? :)

Yeah they said this is a season 3 podcast. They compared the show to the work of Michael Crichton (Jurassic Park, Sphere, Timeline, etc). Pseudo-science isn't really a genre but if anyone nearly made it into one it was Crichton. He was really a sci-fi writer but his science background made him very good at making stuff sound factual.

Have read them all, and whilst they obviously hokum they were believable hokum in my opinion. You could buy into the plausability of the dinosaur DNA, or the Andromeda virus, even the nanobot 'smoke monster' in Prey.

Funny enough I thought his weakest was TimeLine, as he seemed to get confused himself about some of the initial time rules he set.
    Possibly a bad omen for the next 30 eps of Lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,053 ✭✭✭jimbling

We were led (or misled, or misled ourselves) to believe that there was an 'almost scientific' explanation, so we spent a lot of time conjecturing/guessing what that was.
    To turn around and say 'head in clouds' is a bit unfair.

Its like I give you a really difficult puzzle and say there is an answer, and you spend 2 years trying to solve it, and then I tell you that of course theres no answer, only an feckn eejit would think something that difficult would have an answer. You'd feel a bit peeved yeah? Whats that, you'd punch me? :)

haha... nice analogy, and yes.... I would beat the life out of ya :pac: :pac:

Ya, I see where you're coming from. Guess I just never thought it would be answered by "almost scientific", or I just guessed what they meant by that sort of response.
    I just assumed off the bat we were in Crichton territory, as sad professor put it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 542 ✭✭✭crustyjuggler

Latest episode was class .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭aassddff

Lads who is the pregnant lady that showed up at the end on Sunday night? Its bugging me as I know the name but cannot place her

aassddff wrote: »
    Lads who is the pregnant lady that showed up at the end on Sunday night? Its bugging me as I know the name but cannot place her
    It was a young Danielle Rousseau. The crazy French chick who got shot last season. She was previously played by Mira Furlan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,683 ✭✭✭DeepBlue

Latest episode was shite .
    Fixed your post as this is the Whine about Lost thread :p :pac:.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 907 ✭✭✭AlphaMale 3OO

Latest episode was class .

Hmmmm, wrong place buddy, this thread is for cynical a$$holes like me.:D. I think the last episode was bloody sh1te. Why? Nothing shocks anymore. In the end they'll probably all get off the island and everybody who died in the crash or on the island will be brought back to life via time travel (Jack will visit each time and save them all, via a Back to the Future style car) and everyone will live happily ever after. Thats where this series is going, but I'm a sucker because I keep watching. :D

aassddff wrote: »

If you mean the actress as opposed to the character (Rousseau as SP said) then according to wiki she has appeared in episodes of Cold Case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 paddy353

I don't like Hate lost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 paddy353

Fixed your post as this is the Whine about Lost thread :p :pac:.

I agree completly
    Hmmmm, wrong place buddy, this thread is for cynical a$$holes like me.:D. I think the last episode was bloody sh1te. Why? Nothing shocks anymore. In the end they'll probably all get off the island and everybody who died in the crash or on the island will be brought back to life via time travel (Jack will visit each time and save them all, via a Back to the Future style car) and everyone will live happily ever after. Thats where this series is going, but I'm a sucker because I keep watching. :D

Yo Crusty, said i'd fix your post for ya.......
    I didn't watch the latest episode
    :p:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,297 ✭✭✭Ron DMC

Just realised we've to wait an extra week. :(

/whine.

Just realised we've to wait an extra week. :(

/whine.

Aye, for St Patricks weekend I was hoping for an episode with a few flashbacks set in Ireland, like the quality stuff they did in Heroes :pac:
    Maybe next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭jackdaw

Jins English !!

cop on !! -- ok after 3 years ... but before that ... the ep when he met Danielle ...

piss off after 3 months of real time ... esp learning from a non european language...

such bollox ...

**** character anyway ...

get rid ..

writers didn't have the BALLS to keep him dead ...

There was scenes of the other survivors trying to teach Jin English going back as far as season 2. Last season he said he was trying to learn, he even spoke a bit. I mean he's stuck amongst a bunch of English-speakers for 3 months, he's bound to pick up something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭jackdaw

not like that ...

trust me .. he wouldn't have been able to say sh*t to the french people...
    anyway .. there are worst things to whinge about on LOST ª!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Pollythene Pam

Okay.
    I get your point.
    But please, please, please answer me this......
    What is an Emo? I hear young lads saying it all the time. Ah, the google generation. Does it stand for something???? Is it like an Emu?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭purple_hatstand

Okay.
    I get your point.
    What is an Emo? I hear young lads saying it all the time. Ah, the google generation. Does it stand for something???? Is it like an Emu?

Emo: [noun] tall, skinny bird like an emu. Black coat and thin, black legs. Long neck and thin, drawn (almost hollowed) face with long beak/nose topped with scraggle of black, greasy plumes. Congregate in groups, mumbling and listening to gloomy music. High propensity for ill-health.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,498 ✭✭✭wayne040576

Okay.
    I get your point.

It originally referred to a style of music “emo”. Had its roots in the punk\hardcore scene but had a more ‘emotional’ theme. These days it’s used to refer to whiny teenage kids who are like an update of 80’s Goths.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭purple_hatstand

It originally referred to a style of music “emo”. Had its roots in the punk\hardcore scene but had a more ‘emotional’ theme. These days it’s used to refer to whiny teenage kids who are like an update of 80’s Goths.

That was too easy:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Pollythene Pam

Thanks. That has cleared things up for me.
    I will sleep better tonight.