Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

have student card, want non student one

Options
  • 16-04-2007 12:25am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 19,080 ✭✭✭✭

I'm with AIB. I have a Student Credit card. I want a normal one, as I'm only a part time student now.

Rang them up did all the neccessary bits on the phone and they said they'd check it out and post me out some stuff to sign.

I got something in the post requiring me to go into an AIB branch with my passport and a recent utility bill or bank statement (Proof of ID and Address) to get them copied, verified and sent off by the bank to the credit dept.

WTF? I have a student card with them. I have a current account with them. I have a ****ing loan with them. Why the hell do I need to bring ****e into the bank? Was talking to a mate in work who says this is normal - I just don't understand it?

Will be ringing them tomorrow as only recieved it on Friday when I got home from work.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,756 ✭✭✭vector

>I'm with AIB. I have a Student Credit card. I want a normal one, as I'm only a part time student now.

Sure, just keep the Student MasterCard, you can even increase the limit via 24hour banking, it is a fine card, except for the high APR, but then again you shouldn't be running a balance

>I got something in the post requiring me to go into an AIB branch with my >passport and a recent utility bill or bank statement (Proof of ID and Address) >to get them copied, verified and sent off by the bank to the credit dept.

The Criminal Justice Act 1994 imposed anti money laundering rules on banks