Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Licence Delay

• 27-04-2007 11:43am
    Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭

hi,

about to pull my hair out here, you see I bought a shotgun in early
    February...fine.. I applied for my licence and it turned out that the
    gun hadn't been de-registered form the previous gun owner which
    caused a delay, then the garda called me to say that they made
    a mistake in the issuing of the licence (sounded like a clerical mistake)
    and that it'd have to go back in and done again. I've called the local
    firearms officer loads whom I get on with very well but he says that
    there isn't anything he can do about the delay and that he's at the
    mercy of the guys/gals in the phoenix park? I got a stamped receipt
    on Feb 5th from the garda (must check I still have that !!) and I'm
    aware there is a 3 month time limit? any advice??

thanks in advance..
    (going to call again now but the FO is hard to get hold of)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Clare gunner

ring the park and ask them what gives????They are usually very on the ball and get things out within 24/48 hours.It sounds like a local fk up and are blaming Dublin.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭ArthurJ

kiwijbob wrote:

.. I'm aware there is a 3 month time limit? any advice??

The three month limit is not in force yet. So you might have to wait a few more months.

Best of luck

• Registered Users Posts: 295 ✭✭sixpointfive

the sooner the better that is in, my first licence took 9 months (fifteen years ago eeek), my mate took 11 months last year and he already had two lincence

• Registered Users Posts: 115 ✭✭kiwijbob

ring the park and ask them what gives
    ring who in the park?

i talked to the FO today and he said the details
    he had on the computer weren't correct, so I spoke to the gun
    shop and was told that the details have already been changed
    nobody can tell me what to do, will wait til next week !!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,559 ✭✭✭Umiq88

Mary whoever that is never had to so dont have her number someone will though

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

Mary whoever that is never had to so dont have her number someone will though

Mary is usually on the ball and very helpful

• Registered Users Posts: 1,335 ✭✭✭newby.204

Mary??? sorry lads you lost me!!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

newby.204 wrote:
    Mary??? sorry lads you lost me!!

if your license goes wrong and you ring the phoenix park to figure out what's going on, its usually a woman called Mary who tells you what process the license is at and if they have signed off on it yet. At least then you know where you stand and if the local gardai are yanking your chain

• Registered Users Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭Kramer

I don't know what they would do if they didn't have "them in Dublin" to blame :rolleyes: . Delays are 100% totally due to your local guard & super.

Case in point: a friend recently waited 16 weeks for a HMR licence. He was already on PULSE - firearms licence holder. Guard blamed everyone bar himself. "Them in Dublin" took most of the blame. After 12 odd weeks, I rang the Phoenix Park office for him to be told NO application had come in to them & there were NO delays at their end, i.e. max 2/3 days turnaround.

I contacted the super's clerk who said he had NO record of receiving the application from the local station. In effect, the application went nowhere as the "responsible" guard couldn't be arsed to do his job.

It took me 12 weeks earlier this year to get an ammendment from .243 to .223 :eek: .

Keep chasing your local guy as he's the reason nothing's happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭hillybilly

Mary Hurley

The Park caused a delay in my pistol ap.. took a couple of weeks to get instead of coming in with my two rifle licenses