Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

spying on somebody claiming off me

• Closed Accounts Posts: 77 ✭✭upsfan

put it this way hes not a ceo and he is in the building trade (not a labourer). i have considered it but when i read the report on the things he says he can no longer do, i got a sudden stench of horse sh*t.
    Sure, you may well be right, I just see this often enough- the automatic presumption that all claims are fraudulent and that insurance companies just roll over. Neither of these are true.

Historically I would have thought the legal and (to a lesser degree) medical _report writing_ (as opposed to treatment) costs are more of a contributor to the high cost of insurance than fraud. (Bad driving and excessive insurance co profit in a limited market also helps.) Fraudulent claims exist but I do think they are somewhat of a bogeyman invented by the industry to divert attention.

Which is why the PIAB is such a good idea for everyone concerned (except lawyers of course.)
    ...the Personal Injuries Assessment Board (PIAB) delivers the same level of compensation to accident victims but three times faster and through a delivery system which is four times cheaper than the old litigation route. (ConsumerConnect)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

I know a guy who worked for a Private Investigator for a summer and spent all his time following around exactly the class of people you describe so yes you can hire a PI or get a long lens and do the work yourself. All you have to do is catch him liftling shopping into a car or playing football and its all over.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭Keith C

Nuttzy wrote:
    While we all pay increased premiums so that knacker can skam over 80grand. Yeah, sure lets have a wee whip around for him too, see if we can drum up some loose change.

How much has your insurance gone up each year over the last 3 years??

• Registered Users Posts: 6,854 ✭✭✭zuutroy

This thread reminds of Paths to Freedom. The OP will be up a tree with his night vision goggles before ya know it!

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭msdurden

i wudnt think twice about spyin on sum cnut like that.. if they are serious then they won't mind you having proof.

You can rent a camera with a long lens in Cons cameras at the back of Brown Thomas :D

im annoyed with the insurance company letting it go on for so long but you cant prove/disprove whiplash!

My mam is physio she reckons any specialist or physio worth their salt can spot a faker.

The problem is they won't for liability reasons. And its difficult to proove they havn't whiplash wheras its very easy to present the symptoms of whiplash.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,288 ✭✭✭pow wow

Insurance companies do use private investigators but in my experience it's only for workplace injuries or public liability. I used to work in insurance and we had PIs working for us regularly, never for motor though.

All you can do is try protesting to your insurer - I suspect it will fall on deaf ears as 80k is almost small change to them, but you never know - if you get a claims handler worth their salt and looking to meet their target for lowering payouts you might get lucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 828 ✭✭✭SoBe

why you bother going through all this and possibly get into trouble?

he isnt sueing you,he is sueing your insurance company.

i know its a ****ty thing to do but unfortunatly this world is full of people like that,always out to make a quick buck.raise the issue with the insurance company and leave it at that.

all you can do is drive more carefully and be more aware of possibilities that miight arise on the road ahead so you wont be in this situation again.

but my advice is definatly dont go down the spying road it will only end in tears.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,960 ✭✭✭DarkJager

Surely its better if you follow your instincts and take a closer look at what he's doing. The bastard is obviously laughing all the way to the bank now. If you catch him doing something that he says he can't, that smug smile will be wiped off his face and he'll be caught by the balls for fraud. Sounds like the crash wasn't major and I've never heard of someone recovering for 9 months after a bit of paint damage.

Go for it.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,714 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Given that the 'victim' is a lying scumbag I would presume that if they find out that you are 'investigating' them they will subsequently claim that this has been ongoing and sue for harassment or even press for criminal charges against you.
    I said get on with your life because earlier because you will more than likely be just wasting your time and at worst end up in deep trouble.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,699 ✭✭✭Santa Claus

I remember a few years ago a Dublin corporation bin lorry ran into the back of my neighbours car when she was stopped at traffic lights.
    The corpo or their insurance company actually had a private investigator trail her for a week to make sure her whiplash claim was genuine (that's a several ton bin lorry hitting the back of your car...If all you got was whiplash you'd be lucky).

The thing eventually got settled in court for around 20k and 6 or 7 years on she still has to get physio in winter for the pain.

I had an accident 5 years ago where a car 2 cars ahead of me jammed on and i went into the back of the car in front (who had already gone into the back of 1st car). I rang the driver afterwards to see if she was OK and her mother said that herself and her 2 friends were fine. By co-incidence about a month later I met all 3 occupants of the car at a nightclub and chatted to them for a while. When I asked the insurance company the following year how much the total claim came to they mentioned to me that there was a 42k personal injury bill paid. I was told it was 1 of the passengers and it really pissed me off as on both occasions I'd had contact with driver/passengers they were all fine.

By and large people will lie!
    A friend knocked someone down when they ran out in front of him. I met her and her son in the hospital and they described the incident.
    By the time the claim went in it appeared that my mate had swerved his bike to aim straight for her!

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭Countryripple

Stories like this are so frustrating. It really makes my blood boil!!! I have come across so many of them over the years. I just hope that people who are money grabbing scammers get what they deserve in the long run for their spiels of lies!!:mad:

Forget about it - its bad money and karma will ensure that they get their due rewards!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,184 ✭✭✭Fey!

kbannon wrote:
    Forget about it - its bad money and karma will ensure that they get their due rewards!

Karma NEVER gets these people. But if you or I tried a scam like that... :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 283 ✭✭Countryripple

True.........its us good people who never get the luck!!

• Registered Users Posts: 667 ✭✭✭Altreab

Fey! wrote:
    Karma NEVER gets these people. But if you or I tried a scam like that... :mad:

Oh Karma gets everyone .....its just that we dont care when THOSE type get theres :D

• Registered Users Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭redman

OP - It will be hard but get your mind onto something else.
    Leave it with your insurance firm.
    This is the society we live in and you need to think of your own health mentally at least.

Trust in the Karma, what goes around comes around.