Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will Varadkar (FG) be a part-time TD?

• 04-05-2007 6:17pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭

Leo Varadkar, the Fine Gael candidate in Dublin West, seems widely considered a near-certainty for election. The rumour I've heard is that he intends, if elected as a TD, to continue practising as a medical doctor.

So, my questions are: can anyone shed some light on the truth or otherwise of this; and, do you think it's practically possible, or even preferable, to have a TD working simultaneously in a profession other than politics?

(Let's for the moment leave aside the question of whether politics is a profession...)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,315 ✭✭✭ballooba

Well it would bring a whole new meaning to the word "clinic" when used for politicians.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 161 ✭✭patsyh

Plus if his coalition partner Pat Rabbitte gets his way and increases the Dail sittings by 50% would be even less practical.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,730 ✭✭✭✭simu

I don't see how he could do it without scrimping in both jobs tbh.

I can't really see him continuing as a MD and a TD. I hope he is not planning on doing so.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,307 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

That's my constituency, and although I wouldn't have voted for him anyway, had I been inclined to do so I wouldn't after hearing this. I appreciate that he has patients to look after, but they're not going to be looked after properly if he's performing his duties as a TD properly. But then again, if he's looking after his patients he's not going to be looking after his constituents properly, so I wouldn't want him elected. And if I heard that any that I do plan to vote for were going to do something similar, I wouldn't vote for them.

Are there any part-time TDs at the moment? I'm sure there must be farmers and publicans in there.

They don't need the sponds anyway at €93,000.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭Dirk Gently

What's the story with mad Dr. Bill Tormey (FG).

Is he also a Councillor / Doctor / wannabe TD?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭E92

Dr Bill Tormey is a FG hopeful to gain an extra Dáil seat. AFAIK he is not a councillor. Balloba, a certain Dr James, commonly known as Jim Mc Daid is a part time TD. I dont think that Dr Varadkar will get away with that in Fine Gael if he only intends on being a part time TD.

clown bag wrote:
    What's the story with mad X.

Is he also a Councillor / Doctor / wannabe TD?
    Do you want to get sued? ;)

ballooba wrote:
    Do you want to get sued? ;)
    I'm sure he's been called worse by wealthier and more important people than me if he wants to sue anyone.

So, what's his story anyway. If elected will he be a full time TD?

I was joking. Insults don't constitute defamation. He's a little eccentric alright and Enda has distanced himself from comments made by Tormey in the past. It takes all sorts to make up a government though. His sins are minor compared to those of people like McDaid.

Tormey is a highly respected and oft quoted doctor and has important work
    to do in that profession. I'm not sure whether he will be full time or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Wisheress

ballooba wrote:
    Tormey is a highly respected and oft quoted doctor and has important work
    to do in that profession. I'm not sure whether he will be full time or not.

Ah now. did train as a doctor but is now a chemical pathologist and does not see patients (although I completely accept some feel that trying to juggle both types of clinics is asking a bit much, just pointing it out).

Oft quoted does not equal oft respected. Find me a doctor who respects him.

e.g. (as quoted from wiki) he has said that religious missionaries returning to Ireland from Africa should be tested for Aids, stating: "Sure look at the Catholic priests with all their concubines in Latin America. Let’s get real."

In September 2006 he advocated the need for the establishment and continued operation of sex shops and associated businesses as part and parcel of the changing face of inner-city Dublin on the Liveline radio programme. He was criticised by fellow party councillor, Paschal Donohoe, who said:

"I am the FG public representative for the Phibsborough area, not Bill Tormey. The presence and number of sex shops in Dublin Central and Phibsborough, in particular, is demeaning. This is a primarily residential area after all. I live in Phibsborough, with my wife and young son - and want it to have proper shops and amenities, not sex shops which lower the tone and character of the area. Bill is expressing his own personal views and not the views of FG. I have a track record of campaigning for a strategic development plan for the Phibsborough area, in order to avoid inappropriate development, and to enhance the rejuvenation of one of Dublin’s finest Urban Villages. This whole incident is most unfortunate. I work incredibly hard, year round, to try to ensure the best for my community and I deeply regret that any of my constituents have been upset by such loose-lipped words from someone who does not have to face the difficulties that such businesses bring to the area on a daily basis. If Bill wants these kind of shops then he's welcome to them in his own community."

Fine Gael have distanced themselves from Tormey in many situations and have expressed concerns that he does contribute to advancing party policy.

I said he was eccentric.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Wisheress

I accept that he is eccentric and a major publicity seeker. I do not wish for my political representatives to be either.

I do not agree that he is highly respected.

Tha's the beauty of politics. We can all have our own opinions!

Wisheress wrote:
    I do not agree that he is highly respected.
    I was studying the whole idea of experts recently as part of my masters. It is interesting how you become perceived as an expert, the fact that he is often quoted would confer expert status on him. Whether you believe he deserves it or not. Does expert status mean you are respected? Possibly not.

I agree he is great at getting publicity. He seems to have a chequered electoral history, I'm not sure if i would vote for him.

WRT Leo Varadkar, he is obviously not in the same league as Tormey. Varadkar polled the highest first preference of any candidate in Ireland in 2004.

ballooba wrote:
    I'm not sure if i would vote for him.
    So if you were living in finglas, you might not vote for the FG representative even though you are a FG member :eek:

clown bag wrote:
    So if you were living in finglas, you might not vote for the FG representative even though you are a FG member :eek:
    I am not completely blinkered by party politics. I believe in my local candidate and in the party in general. Would you vote for Dick Roche if you lived in Wicklow?

I don't see how that is a bad thing.

Varadkar got enough votes in 04 to get him a quota in an election IIRC. And yes Tormey is eccentric.

ballooba wrote:
    I don't see how that is a bad thing.
    Ahh I'm only having a bit of fun with ye.

All partys have their odd ball members, just wish he wasn't up in my area. unfortunetly the realistic winners in dub north west are limited to an IRA bomb maker, the two FF'ers, mad bill and Rosin shorthall. Green party wont get a look in and then theres a few workers party heads and an independant socialist. I may have to limit my vote to Labour and a token green vote and possibly the independant socialist. Which in reality means I'm voting just for labour.

Do you think the SWP are fooling many with their PBP front?

I'm presuming they have a candidate in Dublin North.

nah, I very much doubt the swimmers are fooling anyone but themselves with this people before profit nonsense. Not sure where else except for Dun Laoghaire they're standing but the dubnorthwest looney lefty contingent consists of WP (2) and an Irish socialist network head.

Might give the ISN chap a transfere for the craic. Will have to find out a bit about him first though. I look forward to chatting about marxism and beards with him if he comes knocking on the door, if only to make him feel better about knowing he's only getting 12 votes in the election, give or take half a dozen :)

The SWP are running Rory Hearne in DSE under the PBP banner. Chap looks like a header on his posters. Saw posters in DL/Rathdown for some other header today.

that would be Richard Boyd Barrett. I think he spends his days thinking up new names for new "alliances" and then runs them himself untill everyone leaves and it's just the SWP again.

still though....... Richie boy or mad bill. who's more mental :confused:

In a half hearted effort to kinda bring the thread back on topic, is there any other part time potential TD's seeking election.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,761 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I don't know why the original poster is so sure that Leo Varadkar will get elected. Dublin West is only a 3 seater and as Brian Lenihan Jr and Joan Burton are pretty much certain to get re-elected, that would lead Varadkar contesting Joe Higgins of the Socialist party for his seat.

Word on the street is that Varadkar will get a strong vote in Castleknock but his prospects in much bigger Blanchardstown are much less certain. I don't think there will be any big changes in Dublin West but I might be wrong...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 214 ✭✭thelepo

I'm not a FG fan by any stretch of the imagination, but I really think that we would need a source on an allegation such as this. This would influence ones vote. I don't think that it is fair to Varadkar to post rumours on sites such as these. He will not be getting my vote, but I would like to see a fair race.

All the best,
    John

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,925 ✭✭✭RainyDay

E92 wrote:
    Varadkar got enough votes in 04 to get him a quota in an election IIRC. .
    Not quite - though he did perform extremely well. He got 4,894 and was elected on the first count. The quota for Dublin West in the last general election was 7,498. Just for comparison, Joan Burton got 3,810 on the first count in the general, and went on to win a seat with transfers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

JupiterKid wrote:
    I don't know why the original poster is so sure that Leo Varadkar will get elected. Dublin West is only a 3 seater and as Brian Lenihan Jr and Joan Burton are pretty much certain to get re-elected, that would lead Varadkar contesting Joe Higgins of the Socialist party for his seat.

Word on the street is that Varadkar will get a strong vote in Castleknock but his prospects in much bigger Blanchardstown are much less certain. I don't think there will be any big changes in Dublin West but I might be wrong...

I'd say it will be Varadkar > Joan Burton > Lenihan.

I'm not keen on Varadkar but hes literally everywhere and make noise about everything. Kinda annoying tbh seem like he'd go to the opening of a crisp packet. Burton seem to have increased her presence too, though I think you do see her getting involved on the ground in lots of issues than the others. With all the problems in D.15, especially schools Lenihan has to have lost a lot of support. But the FF diehards won't be swayed. I think Higgins will come in after the rest. I don't even know who standing for the greens, their presence is so low.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Judt

BostonB wrote:
    I'd say it will be Varadkar > Joan Burton > Lenihan.

I'm not keen on Varadkar but hes literally everywhere and make noise about everything. Kinda annoying tbh seem like he'd go to the opening of a crisp packet. Burton seem to have increased her presence too, though I think you do see her getting involved on the ground in lots of issues than the others. With all the problems in D.15, especially schools Lenihan has to have lost a lot of support. But the FF diehards won't be swayed. I think Higgins will come in after the rest. I don't even know who standing for the greens, their presence is so low.
    Greens is, err, that guy, glasses, funny smile.

Lenihan being FF, I'd say he's a shoe in. Varadkar is an example of how all politics are local - he's not my favourite politician by any stretch, but on a national level I want to see FG in power. Higgins is also a good example, as I wouldn't want to see the socialists in a government, I do think that he's one of the most worthwhile TD's in the place. So, for better or worse they'll both be up there on my list.

Apparantly Varadkar will get in at the expense of Burton. But that really isnt that good, I want FG to getting seat gains at the expense of someone other than Labour and Greens. Personally I hope Burton and Varadkar will both get in, and Joe Higgins goes, but all the same I would miss Higgins if he left, while his policies are obviously as daft as a brush, he does at least genuinely believe in what he says plus I find him very entertaining, so it would have to be at the expense of Lenihan, but he is one of the few Feel and Failers that I have time for(him, John Mc Guiness and Mary Hanafin). All the same the 3 sitting TDs are well known people, I cant see Burton losing, as she is one of the most senior front benchers in Labour(being their spokeswoman on Finance),but I know that she barely got in the last time, so its all to play for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,056 ✭✭✭✭BostonB

Why so fond of Lenihan. He talks a lot but doesn't seem to get anything done.