Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Healthy overclock?

13»

Comments

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭TerrorFirmer

Yeah I think you'd only have to worry about that really on massive overclocks.

Have my 6400 now at 6600 speeds, seems relatively fine, temperatures a bit higher but nothing to worry about. Maybe a new cooler would be tempting after all...

Differences in 3dmark06 (cpu scores)

@2.13 1817
    @2.25 1877
    @2.39 1999
    @2.45 2048

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭Inspector Gadget

Hi All:

I'm relatively new to this overclocking mullarkey (muddled with it years ago with an old Duron, but nothing since, so it's pretty much all new to me all over again)

I picked up a Core 2 Duo E6320 (it's a "G", in case anyone asks), and it's giving me 3.3GHz stable (472 * 7.0) at 1.375v - this seems to be the best stable speed I can manage. Core temperatures are maxing out at 50C but I'm using a Scythe Andy Samurai Master (dumb name, feckin' huge though) heatsink/fan when I run Prime95 on both cores simultaneously.

Based on this (considering my chip is a 1.86GHz part where yours is 2.4GHz stock) I suspect you could push your chip a bit harder if you felt like it, DeafVision?

Gadget

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,401 ✭✭✭✭Anti

Not always, Sometimes the lowe chips clock higher. But that does not always mean it will be faster. As different ammount of cache ect ect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭christophicus

Anti wrote: