Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to take the piss out of FF politicans on the street

• 09-05-2007 7:46pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭

I was walking to the Luas this morning and lone behold what stands in front of me?

Jim O'Callaghan (In case you dont know who he is - http://www.jimocallaghan.com/; he's also Miriam O'Callaghan's brother, but we'll forgive her for that) - our friendly FF South East candidate. Anyhew, making my way to the Luas (and already late for work), one of his dogsbodies beckens me over......

Imagine the scene in front of the centra in Ranalagh at ten to 9 - Jim on my right and FF dogsbody on my left. I'm attempting to walk through the middle of them, trying to avoid them like the plague. Jim is standing like a gob****e trying to catch people going to work, school etc

FF dogsbody: - "Ah <in a shady carsales man voice>, have you met Jim?"
    Me: - <Big smile, thumbs up... Walked on laughing to myself>

Next time I actually want to stop and talk.... :D What do you suggest I say next time I meet the pair of gob****es?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,208 ✭✭✭✭aidan_walsh

"Met him? You still owe me €20, ye cnut!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Hand him a large brown envelope, before he can react, step back and take a picture of him holding it in the car park...

• Registered Users Posts: 81,310 CMod ✭✭✭✭coffee_cake

"When do you want that money in your account? The secret offshore one yeah? Oops sorry I'll be quiet now!"

• Registered Users Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭Lennoxschips

"any chance of a fiver? i'll pay you back in 2019."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭Chakar

Just a note to say O'Callaghan is contesting Dublin South East not Dublin South Central as previously said.

How about asking him what his policies are? No, really, he has none!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

Chakar wrote:
    Just a note to say O'Callaghan is contesting Dublin South East not Dublin South Central as previously said.

Well spotted there Chakar. It a pity Bertie didnt spot it first. Imagine all the jokes we could have had.....

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 39,772 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

stepbar wrote:
    Next time I actually want to stop and talk.... :D What do you suggest I say next time I meet the pair of gob****es?
    Ask him if he can put in a good word for you with his sister!

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭Oirthir

Myth wrote:
    How about asking him what his policies are? No, really, he has none!

He's part of Bertie's Team - he doesn't need policies, just a safe in his office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,123 ✭✭✭stepbar

kbannon wrote:
    Ask him if he can put in a good word for you with his sister!

Now there's a thought :D

• Registered Users Posts: 8,830 ✭✭✭SeanW

Oirthir wrote:
    He's part of Bertie's Team - he doesn't need policies, just a safe in his office.
    lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 100 ✭✭Senator

Ask him for the correct spelling of "politicians". :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Titter.....titter....

• Registered Users Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Heres one to shout at Bertie in the street!!

"Watch out Alberts behind you!!!"

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

If confronted by Dick "how's your water" Roche offer him a drink of water.
    Maybe someone should do an Erin Brockovich on his ass and see his reaction.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,045 ✭✭✭✭Nevyn

Well there is also the tatic of enguage them for as long as possible and hit them with hard questions to stop them from getting more cavassing done.

bluewolf wrote:
    "When do you want that money in your account? The secret offshore one yeah? Oops sorry I'll be quiet now!"

Is there some suggestion that this candidate was 'on the take'?

I really don't think you can imply that someone is a crook on these sites without at least backing it up. I would imagine that could leave this board in a spot of bother.

And are opposition candidates just all gosh so golly good that the proverbial can't be taken out of them?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,506 ✭✭✭Jackz

What a contribution this thread makes to the intelligent discussion of General Election 2007!

• Registered Users Posts: 308 ✭✭Oirthir

Jackz wrote:
    What a contribution this thread makes to the intelligent discussion of General Election 2007!

Fianna Failers, always looking for a "contribution" ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭joolsveer

jmayo wrote:
    If confronted by Dick "how's your water" Roche offer him a drink of water.
    Maybe someone should do an Erin Brockovich on his ass and see his reaction.

I hear that someone in his constituency changed the Dick to Cock on his posters. Cock Roche has a certain ring to it for a politician who is universally popular.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

Jackz wrote:

I would agree to be honest.

No great love for FF but if wee sniping remarks are the opposition I would stick with FF.

Well maybe if they didn't treat us, the taxpayers and voters, with such disdain and feed us so much bull**** then maybe we wouldn't have this thread in the first place.
    They treat the voters as eejits and what is worse they bloody get away with it.
    Fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me.

jmayo wrote:
    Well maybe if they didn't treat us, the taxpayers and voters, with such disdain and feed us so much bull**** then maybe we wouldn't have this thread in the first place.

Must say my FF TD treats his constituents with respect and does great work. Thanks John O'Donoghue. South Kerry has never done so well.

The Labour candidate is currently trying a big spin over local hospital funding. Given her disdain and feeding 'bull****' to her constituents is it in order for me to abuse her and how should I do so? I presume and 'go screw yourself you liar, you've done absolutely nothing but spread crap' would produce great guffaws here?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,120 ✭✭✭PH01

Surely politicians from other parties are fair game as well?
    And for balance here's a few to try...

FG: "Is it true that Kenny wants to decentralise the Dail to Castlebar?";
    LAB: "Tell me again about Pat's glory days in Republican SF...";
    Greens: "...That McKenna wan, she's amazing isn't she? She's the leader of yer party isn't she? Well she should!!!";
    SF: "Can you help me. I've this laundry business...";
    PDs: "Tell Michael that he should wear that uniform more often. And the jack boots too."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭RalphCifaretto

Tell me again about Pat's glory days in Republican SF

Bit strange considering he was never in Republican SF:rolleyes:

I thought all his records pre-Worker's Party were a bit difficult to chase up and the source of much speculation?

They are. That doesn't mean there is any truth to the RSF myth. There isn't a single shred of evidence to support it. Why would he move so dramatically across the political spectrum in the space of two years?

Why would he move so dramatically across the political spectrum in the space of two years?

He's movement from left to right has been pretty amusing throughout his career though. Once a make believe socialist, now its private schools and SSIAs...

But that's hardly an untrodden path over the course of a "socialists" political career. Given the aversion toward all things red within RSF in the early days, it seems unlikely that an aspiring young socialist would have anything to do with them.

Ahh now Conor74 how could you complain about JO'D, after all anything that moves has ended up in your constituency. There are even rumnours that if the cricketers get their national arena it is earmakred for Kenmare.

But maybe people are tired of a government that keeps telling us how wonderful everything is and how we should be eternally grateful to them.
    Tell that to a sick person left on hospital trolley for days or somebody sitting in A&E for 12 hours. Tell it to the people of Galway who are without a basic human right, drinking water.

Maybe a lot of people are sick of a party that has given us Ray Burke, Liam Lawlor, Charles J Haughey, Stroke Fahy and now Bertie has questions to answer as to how he transacted his business when he held the second most important office in the land.

Somehow I don't think these are the descendants Éamon de Valera, Seán Lemass, Seán T. O'Kelly, Seán MacEntee and other FF luminaries had envisaged when they set up the party.

Yes other parties have there own dodgy characters (e.g Lowry) but none seem to have made it into such an art form and have had them in such abdundance as FF.

And speaking of going from left to right, I thought Bertie was a socialist one week as well or was Joe Higgins the only one ?
    And for speaking of loosing records of past membership, funny how some educational institutions have no record of Berties attendance ?
    Lads if in glasshouses do not throw stones.