Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

So my parents think I'm gay.

• 10-05-2007 2:09am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭

Not worthy of the personal issues forum, since I couldn't really give a shite what they think. I just found it funny that they confronted me today and ask me if I was gay over dinner. I didn't give them a straight answer either. I said nothing and laughed slightly and continued eating, despite the fact that they were deadly serious. They probably think I'm gay now more than ever. Ha ha!

Just thought I'd share. Anyone else ever have something similar happen?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,698 Mod ✭✭✭✭Silverfish

There's a lot of this lately. Its something in the water. Or else an updated Parents Handbook has been sent out.

Apparently 'You'll have someone's eyes out with that!!' and 'I'll <insert word from previous sentence> YOU!!!' have been removed, I hear.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Silverfish wrote:
    Apparently 'You'll have someone's eyes out with that!!' and 'I'll <insert word from previous sentence> YOU!!!' have been removed, I hear.
    Bring 'em back, I say.

Binomate - are you Gay?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭Binomate

davyjose wrote:
    Bring 'em back, I say.

Binomate - are you Gay?
    No. -_-

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,682 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

And have you given them any reason to think that you are?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,287 ✭✭✭davyjose

Gay porn pop-ups on the PC, perhaps? They can make fools of us all..... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,945 ✭✭✭Anima

"My Binomate is not a homosexual. He may be a liar, a pig, an idiot, a homosexual, but he is not a porn star!"

And have you given them any reason to think that you are?
    Not at all really. I think it was my brother who brought the idea in to play by suggesting jokingly that I could be gay. I guess that idea stuck in their minds, paired with the fact that I don't have a girlfriend, havn't had one for quite some time. They keep bringing it up as well, as if it were some kind of important issue. "When are you going to go out and bag yourself a woman?", and all this shite, and when they do, I usually tell them to stfu.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 47,353 CMod ✭✭✭✭Black Swan

Who gives a Star*ucks what they think? If it's a problem for them, it's their problem not yours. This reminds me of the dating scene, in particular a couple of weeks past. My flatmate and I were out-on-the-town and had a few too many cool ones and were sharing a seat at the bar (cause it was the last seat in the house). These two lads come with their one-liners and we say we are not interested. One pops off that we must be "les" cause were not interested in them. We laugh, I give them a hand signal (understood internationally), and my flatmate gives me a hug and big kiss on the cheek. They move off, mumbling something we didn't care to hear. It was their problem, not ours! The lads I'm interested in don't have such issues, so in a way it's nice for them to show their colours early, so I can sort through them before getting burned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,761 ✭✭✭✭Winters

It seems to be the "in" thing for kids these days. That and being emo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,258 ✭✭✭✭Rabies

It is only a phase OP, you will grow out of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,857 ✭✭✭✭Dave!

You'll think twice before wearing make-up again!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Hagar

Binomate wrote:
    I didn't give them a straight answer either. I said nothing and laughed slightly and continued eating, despite the fact that they were deadly serious. They probably think I'm gay now more than ever. Ha ha!

You're lucky enough to have parents who care about you and the best response you have is to wind them up and cause them needless worry?
    How incredibly cool. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

yeah right, They have only fed you,housed you, educated you,clothed you,looked after you, up to now.

Do the decent thing and sort it out with them.

Don't be such a spanner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Binomate wrote:
    ...and when they do, I usually tell them to stfu.

Don't worry about it. You'll soon find a nice woman and settle down and have kids. :)

In the meantime, it's good to see you still respect your parents.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,147 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

You know what this means of course? You now have free reign to bang some hot chick on the kitchen table in front of them with none of that usual awkward silence. Congrats! :D

yeah right, They have only fed you,housed you, educated you,clothed you,looked after you, up to now.

Do the decent thing and sort it out with them.

Don't be such a spanner.
    They brought me in to this fucking dump. It's not as if I asked them to be born.

I'd rather let them get their knickers in a twist over it just for the humor factor. I'm sure this whole situation would be a pretty nice pre-text to a decent practical joke too. It's kind of an added bonus that they're semi-religious, so I guess their view of me goes against their beliefs, for extra lol.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,104 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tar.Aldarion

Hagar wrote:
    You're lucky enough to have parents who care about you and the best response you have is to wind them up and cause them needless worry?
    How incredibly cool. :rolleyes:
    If they are 'worried' that he is gay, I really don't see why he shouldn't wind them up. His poor soul...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭KTRIC

Introduce them to a guy you know and tell them that you're lovers, then after the effects of the heart attack has worn off and they've regained conciousness tell them you're joking :D

Should be good for a laugh. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,943 ✭✭✭Burning Eclipse

Appropriate me thinks,

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LZoO8LyizLA

But more importantly, also funny!!

@ MarkR .... rofl

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,575 ✭✭✭✭FlutterinBantam

Binomate wrote:
    They brought me in to this fucking dump. It's not as if I asked them to be born.

I'd rather let them get their knickers in a twist over it just for the humor factor. I'm sure this whole situation would be a pretty nice pre-text to a decent practical joke too. It's kind of an added bonus that they're semi-religious, so I guess their view of me goes against their beliefs, for extra lol.

Oooh ,there's a lot of anger in that response....

(The Flutt hangs up his white coat and rings the professionals)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Unshelved

They brought me in to this ****ing dump. It's not as if I asked them to be born.

This makes you sound but incredibly immature and incredibly disrespectful to your parents. Unless you're aged about 15 - then it's pretty much par for the course. You should save this message of yours and have a look at it again in a couple of years time, just to see how much you've grown up.

Enjoy the rest of puberty!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,399 ✭✭✭✭r3nu4l

Binomate wrote:

Are you still a teenager? I really hope you're about 15 or so given the amount of childish crap in your posts in this thread. Please don't tell me you are in your 20's and behaving like that! :eek:

EDIT: @unshelved - snap! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,643 ✭✭✭0ubliette

Binomate wrote:

How deliciously emo.

[Kevin the teenager]I hate you!! youre SO UNFAIR!!![/kevin]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,191 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

If you hate your parents so much, why hang around? Get your own gaff and get a BF. You know you want to.

Defo don't get a girlfriend. Accidents can happen and you might bring a child into the world that didn't ask to be born. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,714 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

When I was 19 I started having trouble with my stomach so I gave up drink. Naturally, my parents thought I was an alcoholic.

Binomate, have you tried being gay?

Slow coach wrote:
    If you hate your parents so much, why hang around? Get your own gaff and get a BF. You know you want to.

He didnt say his parents hated him. He's just having a little bit of harmless fun with uptight, conservative people. I think it has the potential to turn into a harmless practical joke.
    Keep going Binomate! Could use a good larf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,628 ✭✭✭Asok

Gah attached....

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 24,056 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sully

Asok wrote:
    fb778bdb88f743377067eb911b1324ef43a45408.jpg

Access Denied. ;)

I don't look gay, do I?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Binomate wrote:
    I don't look gay, do I?

100% flaming homo. Look at the way you've posed for the photo

Dun laoire wrote:
    100% flaming homo. Look at the way you've posed for the photo
    Hmm, maybe that one didn't do me justice. What about this one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,982 ✭✭✭Caliden

How is being gay a worry?

I'm sorry but the amount of homophobes in this thread is astounding

Caliden wrote:

I'm not worried that they think I'm gay. As stated in the original post, I couldn't care any less. Hence no definate answer when they asked me. The majority of people who appear homophobic in this thread are taking the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 78,494 ✭✭✭✭Victor

Binomate wrote:
    I don't look gay, do I?
    Nice T-shirt! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,687 ✭✭✭Dun laoire

Binomate wrote:

Hahaha. I like your humour. This lad is definately not gay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

You sure you're parents werent actually asking if you were ghey??

or it could have been
    binodad: son, be honest with me..are you gay?
    binomate: yes dad,yes i am
    binodad: well that explains it...thank christ for that, i thought you were an emo f**ktard for while there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭MicraBoy

Aww he's a little emo-gay. You should check out Q&A in the Temple Bar Music Center..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,288 ✭✭✭✭ntlbell

Binomate wrote:
    Not worthy of the personal issues forum, since I couldn't really give a shite what they think. I just found it funny that they confronted me today and ask me if I was gay over dinner. I didn't give them a straight answer either. I said nothing and laughed slightly and continued eating, despite the fact that they were deadly serious. They probably think I'm gay now more than ever. Ha ha!

Just thought I'd share. Anyone else ever have something similar happen?

I find people who usually begin a sentence with "so" are usually gay.

Caliden wrote:

If you just found out your going to have to take a 10 inch bread stick up your tight one every night for the rest of your life would you not be worried?

Binomate wrote:

That looks pretty darn gay, I can see their point.

on the Brian from placebo side of gay.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

Sigh* We didn't have the gay back in my day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,956 ✭✭✭layke

Just to ask, what promted them to ask you this? Would you consider yourself camp? Have they set up a recruitment centre nearby to your residence? :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,262 ✭✭✭Elessar

Out of interest, how do you think they would've reacted if you said yes?

And yeah, I have also been asked this before :mad:

layke wrote:
    Just to ask, what promted them to ask you this? Would you consider yourself camp? Have they set up a recruitment centre nearby to your residence? :p
    I think the topic of me not having a girlfriend came up first which lead to them asking me. Nope, I'm not camp.
    Elessar wrote:
    Out of interest, how do you think they would've reacted if you said yes?

And yeah, I have also been asked this before mad.gif

If I gave them a serious answer, they probably wouldn't give a damn. They're pretty laid back and they can take me saying shit like what I said in a previous post about not being asked to be born etc. They let me drink alcohol since I was about 15. Just to shed a little light on what the 'rents are like. I don't think it's so much that it's against their beliefs, but it's more that I'm not giving them a straight answer causing them to constantly wonder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,650 ✭✭✭cooperguy

Binomate wrote:
    I think the topic of me not having a girlfriend came up first which lead to them asking me. Nope, I'm not camp.

If I gave them a serious answer, they probably wouldn't give a damn. They're pretty laid back and they can take me saying shit like what I said in a previous post about not being asked to be born etc. They let me drink alcohol since I was about 15. Just to shed a little light on what the 'rents are like. I don't think it's so much that it's against their beliefs, but it's more that I'm not giving them a straight answer causing them to constantly wonder.
    Well maybe you should give a straight answer if your causing them genuine worry then its not really very nice.

Oh and for the record, the pictures - As camp as a row of tents.

Edit: Wohoo iv just joined the league of 3 star boardsies, it only took me 2 years!! Now to become a mod and get my 4th star :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

Start buying tubs of vasaline, dig little holes in them, then leave them around the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,437 ✭✭✭Crucifix

cooperguy wrote:
    Edit: Wohoo iv just joined the league of 3 star boardsies, it only took me 2 years!! Now to become a mod and get my 4th star :D
    Now you get the link to the real feedback forum. And don't bother calling 911 anymore...et cetera

I think it's clear you should tell your parents that you aren't gay.

Vehemently deny it. Then start leaving gay porn mags around the place, poorly hidden, but continue to deny it. If you're gonna freak em out, you might aswell go for it.

Edit: Looks like The Minister is thinking along similar lines :D

Crucifix wrote:
    Now you get the link to the real feedback forum. And don't bother calling 911 anymore...et cetera

I think it's clear you should tell your parents that you aren't gay.

Vehemently deny it. Then start leaving gay porn mags around the place, poorly hidden, but continue to deny it. If you're gonna freak em out, you might aswell go for it.

Edit: Looks like The Minister is thinking along similar lines :D
    Excellent ideas.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,266 ✭✭✭Steyr

Say your not gay, leave gay porn all over the shop and say its your brothers!!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,200 ✭✭✭muppetkiller

Those pics look deffo gay + homosexual + bi-curious (Cartman the god)....
    Oh and what's the story with your sig ..lots of men holding hands ?
    Maybe by the time this thread is complete you will be gay lol