Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ray D'Arcy Show Thread - Mod note Post # 1 Updated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭lucyburn

I'm a massive fan of Ray's i think he's the best DJ on today FM, he's so funny to listen to and always plays great music.
    What more can you ask from a DJ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,884 ✭✭✭grumpytrousers

lucyburn wrote: »
    I'm a massive fan of Ray's i think he's the best DJ on today FM, he's so funny to listen to and always plays great music.

Hi Ray

• Closed Accounts Posts: 171 ✭✭lucyburn

Hi Ray

:D:D

No i'm not Ray just a big fan.:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 kerrrory@gmail.

Apparently his slot on the Restaurant where he cooked Smoked Haddock went down well. Its selling very well at the shops.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭el diablo

lucyburn wrote: »
    ]
    surely you cannot be serious. He's turned into a bore and plays the same music (his favourite music) everyday...:rolleyes:

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

• Registered Users Posts: 2,686 ✭✭✭EdgarAllenPoo

When he's not being serious (which isn't that often lately) the show is good but over the last month or so I swear he's been auditioning for a job on primetime or rte radio. This morning's bitching session between him and Will over Mary Harney was painful. Thankfully I've found an alternative in Spin 103.8. I don't know what their morning show is but they seem to be playing some good music while D'Arcy is pissing and moaning.

• Registered Users Posts: 161 ✭✭dogerster

Sorry dragging up an old thread but my self and my friends were talking about the very same thing. All 6 couples listen to today fm. For me Ray was always a show I never flicked from when it was on. Recently he has been wrecking my head. He is so so so opininated. The final straw was his rant over not being able to understand why people would not want children. Who the f***in hell does he think he is. I no longer listen cant bare him. I do listen to Ray Foley (not all of the show though) I listen to Ian Dempsy (gift grub) love it. So that is 12 people I know that no longer listen so I dont know where they are getting their figures from. Oh and by the way FIX it Friday has deff deff run it s course half the questions are a simple Google job boaring !!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 792 ✭✭✭juuge

Don't think he'll last as long as Larry Gogan !

• Registered Users Posts: 4,282 ✭✭✭gucci

dogerster wrote: »
    Oh and by the way FIX it Friday has deff deff run it s course half the questions are a simple Google job boaring !!!!
    yeah but belive it or not there are enough builders/eejits who sit in a van eating breakfast rolls dying of a hangover on a friday morning to keep that part of the show going. 50% dont have access to a computer and the other 50% wouldnt know how to work it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,909 ✭✭✭✭Wertz

gucci wrote: »
    yeah but belive it or not there are enough builders/eejits who sit in a van eating breakfast rolls dying of a hangover on a friday morning to keep that part of the show going. 50% dont have access to a computer and the other 50% wouldnt know how to work it.

Afraid gucci's on the money there, I work with plenty of people like that and have sat in said van wishing I had earplugs.
    That said, it's not just people like that that keep it going, but it would definitely be a mainstay. FiF is one part of the show that has always pissed me off...but mainly because Jenny Kelly get's on as if she already knew the answer to every single thing some moron txts in to ask. Oh and that bloody jingle :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 968 ✭✭✭Pigletlover

I'm really sick of Ray Darcy and his endless crusades, he has a different campaign running every day, from getting more paternity leave for fathers to reducing the VAT rate on condoms, he bores me to tears. He's so egocentric, like the day when he was talking about people who don't want to have kids, saying they must have some deep rooted problem. Yeah. Or here's a thought, maybe they just don't like kids??!

The show used to be great but it all started to go downhill around a year ago. I thought it would pick up again when Jenny came back from maternity leave but I find her more irritating than Ray, she's so full of sh*te.

And yes, I know I don't have to listen but there really is no alternative - Jerry Ryan or local radio. We have a crappy old radio in work too so I have to twist the dial thing to change station and I can't ever seem to tune it in right so it's just easier to turn the radio down low until Ray Foley comes on.

so it's just easier to turn the radio down low until Ray Foley comes on.

...at which point you can just turn it off altogether. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Wertz wrote: »
    ...at which point you can just turn it off altogether. :D

Well said. I just saw the charter, we can't talk about RF...

I agree though, Ray D'arcy seems to be morphing in to a hybred of Gerry Ryan, Joe Duffy and some weird do gooder!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

Today was the day that all interest was lost, a crusade about CLOWNS, f'ing Clowns of all the things to ban. The radio in work is just on today fm as background fodder but no more, i just don't care to listen to him. If iam driving i will flick around.

I was a big fan but the moment his yolk popped out a sprog he was totally different and became boring and everything revolved around kids s**t. Like the panto they used do before christmas in 06 it was a take on the De-Vinci Code and the rose turned out to be the kid, then i was "oh darcy your annoying me". But i didn't know what else there was to listen to.

Now i will find soemthing else to listen to. OH well!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 474 ✭✭john concannon

I'm sorry if I offend you all by being a D'arcy fan but if ye don't like him just turn off the feckin radio or change the channel.I agree that he does go on about his kid but I personally hate the fact it has changed so much in 3 years or so.Will is the only consitency on the show.
    Don't even get me started on Foley or Fenton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭Nightwish

cabrwab wrote: »
    Today was the day that all interest was lost, a crusade about CLOWNS, f'ing Clowns of all the things to ban.

For fcks sake. Did one make Jenny Junior cry? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 23,216 ✭✭✭✭monkeyfudge

Coulrophobia is a very serious condition, I'll have you know.

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭deemy

Ya clowns. but here in the sticks its either turn off (which i can't do in case I miss something) or g ryan prat. Darcy needs to get his head out of his as* sooner rather than later. Has anyone else noticed that since that journalist(whos name escapes me at moment) who used to be on the show once a week was on the late late show and admitted doing drugs hasn't been on the show since. wats that about??

Ban clowns?
    Who would they get to fill in the entire daytime schedule on TodayFM?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

deemy wrote: »
    Has anyone else noticed that since that journalist(whos name escapes me at moment) who used to be on the show once a week was on the late late show and admitted doing drugs hasn't been on the show since. wats that about??
    A no c'mon, ow you're just looking for things to complain about. Ian O'Doherty was dropped from the show well before he made his revelation on the LLS.

Listen folks, D'Arcy isn't half as bad as you make him out to be. I moved office recently and I'm stuck with Gerry Ryan on in the background. Now THAT'S a fvcking nightmare!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 41,926 ✭✭✭✭_blank_

Wertz wrote: »
    Ban clowns?
    Who would they get to fill in the entire daytime schedule on TodayFM?
    :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cabrwab

I was a huge darcy fan i have the books and the cds. But its just in the last year, my head is wrecked by him, just with everything they are doing, Mr construction what the hell, and then the big gay mr construction page on the today fm website that came up automatically and when somebdoy asked for it to be removed as when they were in work it looked like they were looking at porn websites, ray's response was well no it stays tough it is for charity, we aint making it a small banner!
    If it goes back to the good ol days id be happy.
    but i agree the g-ryan is rather annoying too.
    WHAT IS THE ALTERNATIVE!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,375 ✭✭✭kmick

cabrwab wrote: »
    WHAT IS THE ALTERNATIVE!

Turn off the radio and give your brain a rest from the incessant ads, idiot personalitities and earnest music that it the RD show.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 220 ✭✭Rozbeef

what on earth was he on about this morning? something about losing the irish identity and turning into europeans? because of coffee, people eating outside and the fact that the irish don't jaywalk anymore...

he's just an awful radio presenter and so very very boring. i'm glad i start work at 9 most morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12 apper76

Today really took the biscuit. Talking about jaywalking on Dame St and when a listener questions the fact that he is always going on about road safety and then promotes jaywalking he turns into a grumpy old man and tells the listener to lighten up.

Does he think we are all morons who spend our days trying to live like Ray?

And that poor fella who has to emulate his eating and excercise habits to lose weight.... cringe.

i'd be embarrassed if ray darcy was my dad :-(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28,128 ✭✭✭✭Mossy Monk

Are people actually entertained by that opinionated arsehole every morning?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 131 ✭✭Sin scéal eile

I'd love to be able to join in this conversation, but for some reason I can't access the live stream anymore :( (a fact that I've been moaning about here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055221910)

I actually really enjoy listening to Ray D'arcy (or at least I did until i lost access ..)

Today FM is definitely the best radio station around, and D'arcy is most definitely 100 times better than that juvenile Ray Foley.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,752 ✭✭✭el diablo

Mossy Monk wrote: »
    Are people actually entertained by that opinionated arsehole every morning?

well, apparently not if you read this thread. I've given up listening to him also. he's opinionated and boring.:(

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

I'd love to be able to join in this conversation, but for some reason I can't access the live stream anymore :( (a fact that I've been moaning about here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055221910)

I actually really enjoy listening to Ray D'arcy (or at least I did until i lost access ..)

Today FM is definitely the best radio station around, and D'arcy is most definitely 100 times better than that juvenile Ray Foley.

I used to think that aswell, but I've realized that the majority of presenters are awful (Ray D'Arcy is not the only culprit). Even Matt Cooper is becoming really annoying with his consistent arrogance and repetitive subjects. The less said about Ray Foley the better.

The news readers get on my nerves as do the sport readers aswell come to think of it. Also the "today fm, TODAY FM, today fm (whispered), switched on yet?" thing is terrible. We're obviously switched on if we can hear you :mad:

Dammit why do I persist with it :confused: