Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ray D'Arcy Show Thread - Mod note Post # 1 Updated

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,852 ✭✭✭homer simpson

Enjoyed listening to Katie Taylor this morning, she seems like a really grounded no bullsh!t girl. I was glad when Ray didnt try to belittle her beliefs when she was mentioning her faith in her religion.

He handled the whole thing fairly well to be fair.

Mind+Blown+_0d3ee962b5f9b9b3aa22b5a1695d6b34.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

Maybe he was afraid to say anything? :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

Enjoyed listening to Katie Taylor this morning, she seems like a really grounded no bullsh!t girl. I was glad when Ray didnt try to belittle her beliefs when she was mentioning her faith in her religion.

He handled the whole thing fairly well to be fair.

Agreed, although I cringe every time he asks people about money. He asked her was it tens or hundreds of thousands she was being offered to turn pro. I would have said none of your business! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,612 ✭✭✭Lelantos

Jason Todd wrote: »

Agreed, although I cringe every time he asks people about money. He asked her was it tens or hundreds of thousands she was being offered to turn pro. I would have said none of your business! :D
    It's a valid point, pro boxing is all about the money. We already know how much she earns as an amateur from her sport grants from OCI. I guess he asked a question most boxing fans were interested to know.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,766 ✭✭✭JM Skipton

The roundabout guys wife left him....who would have thought

Lelantos wrote: »
    It's a valid point, pro boxing is all about the money. We already know how much she earns as an amateur from her sport grants from OCI. I guess he asked a question most boxing fans were interested to know.

I don't follow boxing so I don't know anything about that, I'm more making the point that he's asking everyone about money lately and in the majority of cases it makes the interviewee uncomfortable. :)

Btw, Tommy Tiernan is in later for a chat... :)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Really enjoyed Tommy Tiernan this morning.

Thoiught it was gas when he was like "Ah Jaysus, there's the craic sucked right out of that then." :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

wnolan1992 wrote: »

Thoiught it was gas when he was like "Ah Jaysus, there's the craic sucked right out of that then." :pac:

What time was he on so I can get it on the podcast?

Neeson wrote: »
    What time was he on so I can get it on the podcast?

11.40 onwards methinks.

Correct. :)

At one point he was by the way talking to Mairead about D'Arcy going, "Ah he's great craic though in fairness."

D'arcy said Omeath was in Northern Ireland. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

Neeson wrote: »
    D'arcy said Omeath was in Northern Ireland. :(

jeez good thing we don't have the death penalty.

crazygeryy wrote: »
    jeez good thing we don't have the death penalty.

He apologized when someone text in. so he'd be let off on appeal.

• Registered Users Posts: 489 ✭✭WaltKowalski

Aren't they good friends? I didn't hear it myself, but the chat would want to be decent between friends.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Clanket

Don't think they're especially close. Just friends from him being on the show a good bit

Ray was at his wedding though, wasn't he? I think they are friends alright, maybe not especially close friends, but they do socialise away from the radio show from time to time, I'm sure I've heard Ray say something along those lines before.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,586 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Ray was at his wedding though, wasn't he? I think they are friends alright, maybe not especially close friends, but they do socialise away from the radio show from time to time, I'm sure I've heard Ray say something along those lines before.

You sure it's not Hector you're thinking of?

Hector and Tommy are close friends. Never heard Ray mention anything about being good friends with either, outside of the show. Could be wrong though

Well Mairead said she got a text from Tommy's wife in the middle of the interview, so maybe it's her and Tommy that are friends.

Either way, funny interview. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

Anyone hear the live performance of 'Of Monsters and Men - Little Talks' on either Tuesday or Thursday??

Some dude with a very husky voice. Fantastic version of it. Would love to hear it online as well as some of his other stuff. Didn't catch his name.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Fizman wrote: »
    Anyone hear the live performance of 'Of Monsters and Men - Little Talks' on either Tuesday or Thursday??

Some dude with a very husky voice. Fantastic version of it. Would love to hear it online as well as some of his other stuff. Didn't catch his name.

That would be Pat Byrne. Yer man who won the voice.

You sure it's not Hector you're thinking of?
    Clanket wrote: »
    Hector and Tommy are close friends. Never heard Ray mention anything about being good friends with either, outside of the show. Could be wrong though

I definitely remember them mentioning their off-air friendship before, and they talked about Ray being at Tommy's wedding before too. Obviously Tommy and Hector are far better friends than Tommy and Ray though!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,357 ✭✭✭RubyK

Does he have to play bloody Mumford & Sons every feckin day :confused:

RubyK wrote: »
    Does he have to play bloody Mumford & Sons every feckin day :confused:

Yes, he does. It's part of the Today FM playlist.

They're shocking for playing the same songs all day, every day. I've sent them numerous emails over the years telling them so but still no change to the policy

• Registered Users Posts: 21,020 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

he's doin "ok" with this interview

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Yes, he does. It's part of the Today FM playlist.

Don't think he is playlisted. He often mentions picking the music for the show the night before. Don't know why he wouldn't be though?

_feedback_ wrote: »
    Don't think he is playlisted. He often mentions picking the music for the show the night before. Don't know why he wouldn't be though?

AFAIK, all shows get some lee-way in the songs they play (Foley being the best example here, playing utterly random stuff like Ace of Base and then playing Nicki Minaj).

I would imagine D'Arcy is no different, choosing a lot of his songs but still having to play some of the high rotation stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

was i the only one wishing ray would ask Mickey Harte about being at the Quinn rally?

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

Ray mentioned today how it is terribly rude to ask somebody are they thinking about starting a family, but yet he finds it okay to ask almost every guest what wages they are on !! "Ray logic" I just dont get it.:)