Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ray D'Arcy Show Thread - Mod note Post # 1 Updated

ThisRegard wrote: »
    He has a Degree in stating the bloody obvious, and is made out to be some sort of financial guru because of it.

aw thats a bit harsh.........some of his advice is good and at least its normal "adult" talk not baby talk and sniggering! Conor's not the worst on the show :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,065 ✭✭✭crazygeryy

I'm in tears here in the kitchen. Poor rat

• Registered Users Posts: 21,014 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

+1 for howard stern... Whatever your opinion is of him he's infinitely better than our DJs....try and tell Howard something is off limits!

• Registered Users Posts: 609 ✭✭✭Left Back on the Bench

Why did he stop having Ian o Doherty on the show?

• Registered Users Posts: 18,625 ✭✭✭✭BaZmO*

Why did he stop having Ian o Doherty on the show?

Too controversial

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭6781

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Same here. The guys brilliant. Do you get the impression Ray's not too fond of him? He seems to deride a lot of what Conor has to say and he tends to speak over him a good bit.
    I don't think so, that's just Darcy been himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 245 ✭✭Les Ferdinand

6781 wrote: »

Raymond doesn't like anyone that he knows is smarter than him.

• Registered Users Posts: 407 ✭✭PIORUN

whatever happen to Meave Higgins slot...a bit whacky but it at least something different....On Conor Pope, if Ray didn't like him then he wouldn't be on..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 431 ✭✭6781

How many times is he going to giggle like a little girls at the baps?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

A ham sandwich competition. Jesus, and again with the "bap" jokes. Whats next, Irelands fastest knitter?

eisenberg1 wrote: »
    A ham sandwich competition. Jesus, and again with the "bap" jokes. Whats next, Irelands fastest knitter?
    whoo hooo i'd say they're great with their hands giggle giggle

• Registered Users Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

PIORUN wrote: »
    whatever happen to Meave Higgins slot...a bit whacky but it at least something different....On Conor Pope, if Ray didn't like him then he wouldn't be on..

I could not stand that one. That wackiness you mentioned seemed so contrived, as if she had to get into charachter before going on air.. Different strokes I suppose.

Email bag is just tortuous now. I honestly believe Arthur reads his lines for the first time on air. And how many times can people give out about Fair City? It's shít, we know it is, get over it.

Otherwise it's a great morning show, would ye rather be listening to D'Arcy or Pat Kenny?? Rays show is exciting, unpredictable & a good bit of craic.

GerB40 wrote: »
    I could not stand that one. That wackiness you mentioned seemed so contrived, as if she had to get into charachter before going on air.. Different strokes I suppose.

Email bag is just tortuous now. I honestly believe Arthur reads his lines for the first time on air. And how many times can people give out about Fair City? It's shít, we know it is, get over it.

Otherwise it's a great morning show, would ye rather be listening to D'Arcy or Pat Kenny?? Rays show is exciting, unpredictable & a good bit of craic.
    most comedians are in character while on air!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

most comedians are in character while on air!

I agree. I'd actually go as far as to say all of them get into charachter. But Meave just seemed too fake. Like there was a conscious decision to be as quirky and weird as possible. Perhaps I'm wrong and that's just how she is but she just didn't seem genuine to me.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

I agree. I'd actually go as far as to say all of them get into charachter. But Meave just seemed too fake. Like there was a conscious decision to be as quirky and weird as possible. Perhaps I'm wrong and that's just how she is but she just didn't seem genuine to me.

She was not funny and every second word out of her mouth was the word "like", it used to drive me crazy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

Pat Kenny is professional, knows how to conduct an interview at is actually versed in the things he talks about. He might not be brilliant at the lighter stuff but he hosts a different type of program, one I only wish I could listen to at work

Whereas with D'arcy everything is about him, he's a lazy host, and his rantings on politics are akin to some of the more ludicrous posts in After Hours. He's certainly not predictable either, the shows format is so hopelessly telegraphed at this stage. You can nearly predict at what point he's going to let out a contrived sigh during the morning papers too

• Registered Users Posts: 934 ✭✭✭mikep

Jeebas...stop talking about that gobsheen, they might get her back on...about as funny as dog turd on your shoe..
    I blame D'Arcy for her existence in the public eye..I recently read one of her IT articles, and I thought she couldn't get worse... :eek:

BTW crazygerry, did you also txt your post to the show..it was read out!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,673 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

6781 wrote: »

Right! Ha... I find Ray's a bit quick to diss anything that he considers too "new" or "modern" particularly when it comes to food he didn't grow up with.

• Registered Users Posts: 979 ✭✭✭Michael Weston

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Right! Ha... I find Ray's a bit quick to diss anything that he considers too "new" or "modern" particularly when it comes to food he didn't grow up with.

Like the I phone, no no I won't have that , don't see the point in all that money on a phone, I'm happy with me owl Nokia 7200...fast forward two months he's singing the praises of the iPhone ,how he was out running and two American tourists asked for directions so he whipped out his iPhone and showed them, amazing device. He's a hypocrite and to be honest John Rambo I think it's time you stepped in and did some first blood type stuff on his ass!!

• Registered Users Posts: 20,054 ✭✭✭✭neris

Like the I phone, no no I won't have that , don't see the point in all that money on a phone, I'm happy with me owl Nokia 7200...fast forward two months he's singing the praises of the iPhone ,how he was out running and two American tourists asked for directions so he whipped out his iPhone and showed them, amazing device. He's a hypocrite and to be honest John Rambo I think it's time you stepped in and did some first blood type stuff on his ass!!

thought ray would be a Nokia 5110 or maybe a 6110 men. Still trying to beat his high on snake

neris wrote: »
    thought ray would be a Nokia 5110 or maybe a 6110 men. Still trying to beat his high on snake

Snake Ha Ha I see what ya did there. Hee hee

• Registered Users Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Today's show was going so well... really enjoyable two hours, light, fun - perfect for a Friday. (Well, take out that piece with the kid...)

And then a bloody ham sandwich eating contest. *sigh*....

• Registered Users Posts: 6 petitegall

Would you ever consider charging D'Arcy rent? You could stand to make a fortune.

petitegall wrote: »
    Would you ever consider charging D'Arcy rent? You could stand to make a fortune.

What do ya mean?

When Ray meets celebs he turns into the type of people that text his show....
    "jaysus fassbender you're taller on the tellybox" etc

• Registered Users Posts: 346 ✭✭HooohRaaah

Cupid Kelly & Mairead being asked to help out single folk again.
    Who in their right mind e-mails Dr. Raymond D'Arcy looking to get help in their love life.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,812 ✭✭✭Addle

So at meetings they have to tell him beforehand no anecdotes about his kids-take the hint Ray!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

I wonder will he suggest putting a fried egg on top of the crickets........

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭Ugo Monye spacecraft experience

The little anecdote about Darcy and Fassbender was actually somewhat amusing. Even if he was at pains to mention how he introduced Jenny as his wife in case he got any ideas

No offense Ray, but I don't think your in any trouble of losing Jenny to a Hollywood A lister hung like a horse (see Shame)

bit of a generalisation there, assuming that its more likely boys that are curious about porn than girls - he said its "shocking" that its a girl looking at porn, and that its more boys that "gravitate towards it"

oh really??