Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ray D'Arcy Show Thread - Mod note Post # 1 Updated

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭ondadole

The annoying thing about this thread is that mostly everyone on here moan about Darcy.
    So why listen?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,206 ✭✭✭✭amiable

ondadole wrote: »
    The annoying thing about this thread is that mostly everyone on here moan about Darcy.
    So why listen?

You know so much about the thread yet very little.

Do yourself a favour and read through it and you may find out why.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Clanket

ondadole wrote: »
    So why listen?

Coz we're Irish and it's all we do. Give out!

Clanket wrote: »
    Coz we're Irish and it's all we do. Give out!

Yes Ireland is Unique that way(can't find my sarcasm font)

Ah Sarcasm. That's another thing we do all the time

Again, not unique to Ireland

Ok, both are just unique to Irish people on this forum.

No they are not. Boards is full of this.

If people want to bitch within reason and as long as it's not abuse D'Arcy is fairgame in my opinion.

If you want a Ray D'Arcy appreciation thread by all means go start one

I'm not against giving out. I do it myself all the time.

But it's interesting how it's (nearly) always negative comments that get posted up here. I suppose the positive people are too busy "crying here in the kitchen laughing while texting" :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭_feedback_

But it's interesting how it's (nearly) always negative comments that get posted up here. I suppose the positive people are too busy "crying here in the kitchen laughing while texting" :pac:

I think it is because it is (nearly) always rubbish, done to death, worn out, rehashed material, along with recycled guests that generate the negative response.

The good content usually gets a good response here in fairness.

In answer to the poster that (again) questioned why do you listen. Some don't have a choice.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Speaking for myself, the reason I complain about stuff here is because I know if D'Arcy tried he could make a brilliant show everyday. It's just he reuses the same crap like the stupid dating thing over and over and it just gets irritating. I used to love the show, listening for the full 3 hours whenever I could, but I'm finding myself flicking more and more during the show because standards are dipping.

And when he does something good and funny, we do tend to acknowledge it on the thread, but it doesn't exactly make an interesting discussion if we all post "Oh man, that piece this morning was so funny" for about ten posts in a row. Debating on how the show could be improved and what we feel isn't up to D'Arcy previously high standards is what makes the thread imho.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,781 ✭✭✭clappyhappy

I love the show and have done for years. While living abroard I used to listen to it online. However over the past year or so I have found it to be annoying at times. I really miss the segments where he had ordinary people on telling their story trying to fight on their behalf, like the little girl Joy who needed a heart operation etc. I think the stuff with Jenny & Mairead is very juvenile, the "tights off", vajazzling, etc. I have gotten to really like Jenny over the past while, think she had a good head on her shoulders, Mairead though has begun to annoy me, all this silly laughing, her Spanish massage, loving herself etc. Will needs more input, give him a topic to rant about. Basically cut back on the dating and silliness a bit, (not completely) and have some more serious/real stuff on.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭ofcork

Paracore wrote: »
    Does she have one? I think her husband left her.

She is going out with a nephew of johnny ronan now i believe.

• Registered Users Posts: 61 ✭✭ondadole

amiable wrote: »
    You know so much about the thread yet very little.

Do yourself a favour and read through it and you may find out why.

yayaya

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭smaoifs

I love how Ray Foley takes the piss out of the D'Arcy listeners and reads out "texts" from emotional listeners - "I'm a 6 foot 8, 30 stone plumber and I never cry but I've flooded Ireland with my tears." :D

• Registered Users Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

smaoifs wrote: »
    I love how Ray Foley takes the piss out of the D'Arcy listeners and reads out "texts" from emotional listeners - "I'm a 6 foot 8, 30 stone plumber and I never cry but I've flooded Ireland with my tears." :D

He's worse on the podcast, takes the absolute piss out of Jenny and Máiread all the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭el diablo

Ray Foley's great.

if you're sixteen years old.

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

el diablo wrote: »
    Ray Foley's great.

if you're sixteen years old.

Talk to Joe....

• Registered Users Posts: 39,809 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

So ray isint very fond of four foot tall dolls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭batm!ke

Itssoeasy wrote: »

Who is?? :eek:

Edit: Saw the article on Journal.ie, thing is well freaky looking'.

Talk to Joe....

Wha? :confused:

You're giving out about Ray Foley in the Ray Darcy thread.

Giving out == Joe Duffy.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 183 ✭✭Paracore

Giving out == Joe Duffy.

Plus the fact he a grumpy old dry ****e too.

Giving out == Joe Duffy.

Wasn't giving out. I said he was great. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 350 ✭✭bogtreader

I wish he would not interrupt his interviewees so much let them answer the
    question

Itssoeasy wrote: »

If I saw a doll the same height as me I'd probably feel slightly intimidated too.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,269 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Funny line from a co-worker about the show this morning:

Ray is talking about this guy who has erected a sign, trying to track down a girl who he met but was too shy to get her number.

After telling the story, Ray exclaimed with glee: "Well, we managed to track down the guy that put up the sign"

Co-worker: "It wasn't that fookin hard Ray, his number is on the billboard". :cool:

423348_10150560156267585_70730467584_9163340_258319325_n.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 39,809 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Funny line from a co-worker about the show this morning:

Ray is talking about this guy who has erected a sign, trying to track down a girl who he met but was too shy to get her number.

After telling the story, Ray exclaimed with glee: "Well, we managed to track down the guy that put up the sign"

Co-worker: "It wasn't that fookin hard Ray, his number is on the billboard". :cool:

423348_10150560156267585_70730467584_9163340_258319325_n.jpg
    Also the fact that Derek mooney rang the number already on his show this week.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭swingking

Here comes the trucker who pulls over in tears.

edit: Actually this is really sad story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭batm!ke

swingking wrote: »
    Here comes the trucker who pulls over in tears.

edit: Actually this is really sad story.

Heartbreaking story. Really feel for that family. Fair play to that man for having the head to write that letter/email. :(