Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ray D'Arcy Show Thread - Mod note Post # 1 Updated

• Registered Users Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭telekon

ondadole wrote: »
    I don't want to sound like an ould woman but Ray very nearly knocked me off my bike a few years back; by completely cutting me off, whilst on his bike at the time.
    Ray if you are reading this, look left before you turn left...

Ha! I know someone that had a similar experience with D'arcy on his bike, except she was a pedestrian.

Ray D'arcy, a menace on two wheels...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,087 ✭✭✭Clanket

Paints that nice, affable Mr Savage in an ever-so-slightly different light, n'est-ce-pas?

I didn't read any of the links and only have minimal knowledge of the circumstances of the girls death. Can you tell me what exactly Anton had to do with it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,455 ✭✭✭✭Monty Burnz

Clanket wrote: »
    I didn't read any of the links and only have minimal knowledge of the circumstances of the girls death. Can you tell me what exactly Anton had to do with it?

Moderator Edit: read the links. The information you seek is reported in there. Any third party interpretation of that information may be misleading (accepted that there was no particular intention to mislead in this post). Apart from anything the links provided earlier make for interesting reading in terms of the subject matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23 Susan Lanigan

Moderator Edit: read the links. The information you seek is reported in there. Any third party interpretation of that information may be misleading (accepted that there was no particular intention to mislead in this post). Apart from anything the links provided earlier make for interesting reading in terms of the subject matter.

Moderator Edit: Susan - If you wish to discuss something then please PM me. Thank you.

Moderator Edit: Susan - If you wish to discuss something then please PM me. Thank you

I see no point so will not comment further.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

The show has turned into pure filth, material of the worst degree.

There he was today piping on about a young lad of twelve looking at gay men's genitals to see if he measured up to them.

Absolute dirt, Ray.

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭smaoifs

Neeson wrote: »
    The show has turned into pure filth, material of the worst degree.

There he was today piping on about a young lad of twelve looking at gay men's genitals to see if he measured up to them.

Absolute dirt, Ray.

Much as I agree that the show has turned to filth lately, he wasn't the one that said that. It was a listener's suggestion for the dad who wrote in about his son looking at gay porn, saying this may be why he was looking, not cos he is gay.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,909 ✭✭✭Neeson

Well he could've looked up a fella sticking his dick up a woman to see how he'd measure up. He hardly had to look at two fellas together!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Pressed the wrong preset on the tuner and heard this D'Arcy fella for about 30 seconds. He sounded utterly bored and it was only 9 am, what's he like by midday?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭Shelflife

Tuned in for 5mins today and heard them talking about the bottles they threw into the sea, ray asked the others to grade the progress so far and then he had a cut at enda kenny for not grading his ministers like he promised to.

ray seems to have forgotton that he reneged on his own promise to leave the country if kenny was elected.

so its ok for ray to renege on his promises but not anyone else?

mike65 wrote: »
    Pressed the wrong preset on the tuner and heard this D'Arcy fella for about 30 seconds. He sounded utterly bored and it was only 9 am, what's he like by midday?
    I listened to the show for about a year. My conclusion; Ray is an intellectually limited man who does not know it. It's grand not to be super-intelligent, or even above average, that's fine. The problem is when a limited man like Ray THINKS he is above average, or indeed quite intelligent. Then it all goes horribly wrong, hearing him expounding his shallow profundities to (what he imagines to be) a world waiting to learn from his wise consideration.

It's a bit like the booze: you're grand if you know you are drunk - you can make allowances. Don't drive the car, don't start a fight, whatever. It's when you are drunk and you don't realise it, or don't realise quite how drunk you really are - that's when it gets messy.

By midday, the show usually winds up with either a barrage of self-congratulatory back-slapping, or a tired limp into the horrendous Ray Foley show. It's best avoided.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,750 ✭✭✭el diablo

I listened to the show for about a year. My conclusion; Ray is an intellectually limited man who does not know it. It's grand not to be super-intelligent, or even above average, that's fine. The problem is when a limited man like Ray THINKS he is above average, or indeed quite intelligent. Then it all goes horribly wrong, hearing him expounding his shallow profundities to (what he imagines to be) a world waiting to learn from his wise consideration.

It's a bit like the booze: you're grand if you know you are drunk - you can make allowances. Don't drive the car, don't start a fight, whatever. It's when you are drunk and you don't realise it, or don't realise quite how drunk you really are - that's when it gets messy.

By midday, the show usually winds up with either a barrage of self-congratulatory back-slapping, or a tired limp into the horrendous Ray Foley show. It's best avoided.

You've just hit the nail on the head. :)

We're all in this psy-op together.🤨

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Shelflife wrote: »
    Tuned in for 5mins today and heard them talking about the bottles they threw into the sea, ray asked the others to grade the progress so far and then he had a cut at enda kenny for not grading his ministers like he promised to.

ray seems to have forgotton that he reneged on his own promise to leave the country if kenny was elected.

so its ok for ray to renege on his promises but not anyone else?

I had a listen to the first 10 minutes this morning before he annoyed me so much I turned off. But again, during the paper review, he had a go at Fine Gael for a number of things, including them having a party to celebrate their 1st year in government, despite it only being on an earlier news bulletin that this 'celebration' had been cancelled. He never lets fact get in the way of a good rant against the government.

I still listen. And so do thousands of others. If you all think you could do better, why aren't you on the radio?

You're all entitled to your opinion. SO is Ray

I still listen. And so do thousands of others. If you all think you could do better, why aren't you on the radio?

You don't see the irony in your statement do you.

Presumably you never criticise anyone doing their job unless it's the same job you happen to do? :rolleyes:
    Yes. And Ray has soooo many of them. And they are soooo predictable. The man never had an original thought in his whole life. Perhaps that's why so many people find it easy to listen to him.

All I'm saying is, I'd like to see some of the people who come on here and criticize Ray, doing what he does. The nature of the job means a talk show radio presenter is going to be showing a lot of their personality to the public, warts and all and some of these parts will annoy people. However, do some people really find it necessary to come onto a forum and attack his personality? It's mostly one off posters to this forum. It's like me going into the Pat Kenny thread just to say I think he's a plank.

Seems to me that the old Irish begrudgery is still alive and well.

Ah yeah, the tired old riposte of Irish begrudgery. It's used so often that it has lost all meaning. And if you're insinuating I'm a one off poster in this thread, you're mistaken.

If you're a fan of Joe Duffy, for the love of god never look in there. Actually, do, pop over and tell them they're all begrudgers.

P.S. check out the difference between not liking someone and begrudging someone.

I wasn't talking specifically about you.

Just because you think the "tired old riposte" has lost all meaning, doesn't negate the fact that begrudgery exists and is alive and well. You can try argue that it doesn't but you'll never convince me. I see it all the time.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,108 ✭✭✭RachaelVO

All I'm saying is, I'd like to see some of the people who come on here and criticize Ray, doing what he does. The nature of the job means a talk show radio presenter is going to be showing a lot of their personality to the public, warts and all and some of these parts will annoy people. However, do some people really find it necessary to come onto a forum and attack his personality? It's mostly one off posters to this forum. It's like me going into the Pat Kenny thread just to say I think he's a plank.

Seems to me that the old Irish begrudgery is still alive and well.

I agree, I actually like the show, listen most mornings, but you'll always have people giving out about whoever is on telly or radio. It's the nature of 'pop' culture. I don't think its significantly only about Ray or Ireland!

The on part of his show I hate is the dating thing. Enjoy the rest of it though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 517 ✭✭✭batm!ke

I've been slaughtered too many times in here defending Ray so I've given up. So don't bother lads, leave the bitches have this thread, we'll stick with a radio show that more often than not can brighten a dull morning in work, it's not there to be the Gospel according to Ray. Plenty of other threads on boards, g'luck.

Meeooow.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,709 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

So if you complain about D'Arcy people will come down on you like a tonne of bricks? But if you defend him other people will do the same?

*big sigh*
    That's what's wrong with this government/country/whatever is on D'Arcy's radar this week.

In better news - we'll be talking to Tommy Tiernan/Des Bishop/Neil Delamere next, and we'll talk about children and exercise.

I'd rather not spend most of my life complaining. Just saying

I'd much rather spend my life accepting whatever crap comes my way and convincing myself it's actually quite good.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭Shelflife

Clanket I used to listen to his show the whole time, loved it, then his daughter was born and it was kate this kate that, it got repetitive, in the same way he has a bee in his bonnet about enda kenny and imo abused his position in knocking him on a regular basis.

what used to be a fun show is now a moan show, he has turned into an ould man and while hes entitled to his opinion shoving it down our throats is not fair. its also poor interviewing techniques where he tries to outshine or get HIS point accross to the person hes interviewing.

• Registered Users Posts: 78 ✭✭southeastg

I think Monty has pretty summed up Ray, very true ,

• Registered Users Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Access

Does anyone else on here think the show has taken note of the growing hate of all the dating segments lately?

Im delighted... as i was sick to my back teeth of jenny kelly trying to get another single muppet laid!

They must of copped on though... as there has been none in a while now... (unless i missed a bit of the show here or there during the past couple of weeks.)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Access wrote: »
    Does anyone else on here think the show has taken note of the growing hate of all the dating segments lately?

Im delighted... as i was sick to my back teeth of jenny kelly trying to get another single muppet laid!

They must of copped on though... as there has been none in a while now... (unless i missed a bit of the show here or there during the past couple of weeks.)

How epic would it be if there was one tomorrow now? :pac: