Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Starting out as a sole trader i have a few questions

Options
  • 11-05-2007 5:12pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4

I am considering going down the Sole Trader route and as I have never done anything like this before I thought I would ask a few questions before I consider it

(1)Do I need an accountant.
    (2)Do I pay Corporation Tax on an annual basis or how is it charged
    (3)Do I need to register for VAT and if so who do I speak to or contact
    (4)Am I entitled to any form of tax Credits or similar Tax Free allowances.
    (5)Do I need business bank accounts and if so what do I need to get them set up.
    (6)If I operate from my home initially will this create any problem for tax purposes.
    (7)Am I entitled to off set the initial set up expense against tax, such as Computers, Office furniture ect..

Sorry for asking so much but its my first time to really consider this option as a serious consideration as I know there are a few job cuts coming where I am working at the moment and I want to make sure that if I go before they come that I have as much sorted out.

Thanking you in advance for you help .
    Paul.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 4,231 ✭✭✭bullpost

I was a Sole Trader but that over five years ago.

(1)Do I need an accountant. - Strictly No but probably realistically yes!
    (2)Do I pay Corporation Tax on an annual basis or how is it charged - Its charged in Advance which is a bummer!
    (3)Do I need to register for VAT and if so who do I speak to or contact - Yes if you go over the limits, which you will if you want to make a living!