Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 100% guaranteed official summer exams thread!!!111!!!

Trying in vain to study for trusts (law for those who don't know) tomorrow, and the blasted ice-cream van is coming around. Fúcking hate that thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,151 ✭✭✭beanyb

I've hit a study wall. My body and brain are rejecting it. I have an exam tomorrow and spent an hour and a half in the library on bebo. Then went home and went shopping with my parents...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Font22

aw the call of shopping! i fell prey to that today as well! i'm also studying for trusts 2moro but went to the Pavilions in Swords to look at all the clothes I cant buy. ye so now its constructive trust overload into the old brain! whoops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,173 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

Best thing about trusts is you have to study them all over again for the fe1s!

thanks for that sangre. but oonagh sets the fe1 does she not? if so i'm not too worried bout it. trusts isnt all that bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

40 hours left of college.

Ahhhh.... this exam tomorrow (at 9.30) is possibly the most boring thing I have ever read about. Half of it is basically about a damn bit of cell moving up and down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 738 ✭✭✭TheVan

No she doesn't, she's the extern!

Oh god, my head is awash with the rather tenuous distinction for constructive trusts where a wife has contributed directly or indirectly and a resulting trusts for a property bought in another's name.....

Come on last exam!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

I dont want to take the thread off topic, Bcomm Vs BBLS is something thats debated a lot on this board I think, but I really dont know that much about BBLS. Do they make it clear to you want careers require what subjects? Do you get a list of the subjects broken down by Bcomm mode?

I'm lucky enough to have a job waiting for me when I graduate, but I know that if I hadnt done a stream line mode (if instead I had a bit of marketing, finance, HR, accounting etc) I wouldnt have gotten it. A good part of the interview revolved around the courses Im studying (banking and finance mode).
    Choice is good, the BBLS gives you more options and for longer, but in that particular interview, specialisation was seen as a strong advantage by the interviewers.

It's a fair point. We do get pretty messed around on the business front regarding subjects. For example its almost impossible to get into all the required accounting subjects. It's not a problem if you want to do law as we can do all the required there. It may however mean that you may need to do an extra exam or two if you go into accounting etc

However I wouldn't agree that it hinders your job prospects in the slightest. As I said accounting is one where the requriements are the most difficult to get and I don't know of a BBLS student who wants to go into accounting who hasn't got a big four offer so it hasn't held us back.

I think that interviews tend to revolve around what you have done - rather then what you havn't. Thus if you hadn't taken the stream option that wouldn't have been focused on. This year I went for interviews with an investment consultancy. I was the only non actuarial student in the final round and in one of my interviews to get there I had taken the interviewer through a step by step history of the development of the law of equity. I'm sure everyone else's interviews focused on subjects they had done - but clearly it wasn't a pre requisite for the job.

To be honest - I think *most* people within BBLS have managed to pretty much get something that they want next year and I havn't heard of anyone turned down because of the subjects they have chosen. In an interview situation I think this would be cancelled out by the extra year we have done which is a great way to start talking about 'maturity' etc.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10 Devoted Drog

Just in the middle of studying for physical geography tommorow, its my last exam!Its like hitting my head off a brick wall though tbh, just dont have the energy or concentration. Whats everyone foccusing on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,567 ✭✭✭delta_bravo

Just in the middle of studying for physical geography tommorow, its my last exam!Its like hitting my head off a brick wall though tbh, just dont have the energy or concentration. Whats everyone foccusing on?
    Flows of energy which is basically the whole course

Whats the story with the essay, were we given exact topics to look at for that or can it be on anything?

We were told the essay will be to do with flows of energy. You could discuss glaciation,hydro system, geomorphology, the atmosphere etc. What theyre looking for is linkages between systems that were covered by both lecturers

Grand.Then the mcq's are on everything else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

Is this the first year class?
    I took that last year, and Jonathan Turner thought it. He claimed that anyone who didn't turn up to lectures would never pass the exam. Boy, did I prove him wrong! Last year your LC knowledge would be more than enough to get you through the class.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,124 ✭✭✭Jonny Arson

I'm also suffering from this ingoring last exam syndrome. Last exam tomorrow morning at 9 and I haven't even studied for it anytime during today. The fact I need something stupid like 12% on the actual written exam to pass the module doesn't exactly get the adrenaline rushing to do study! :)

Grand.Then the mcq's are on everything else?
    Kinda everything i think. A sample mcq was put up on blackboard. It should help ya. Good luck

Notorious wrote:
    I took that last year, and Jonathan Turner thought it. He claimed that anyone who didn't turn up to lectures would never pass the exam. Boy, did I prove him wrong! Last year your LC knowledge would be more than enough to get you through the class.

Sound,exactly what i wanted to hear!;)

Thanks delta bravo, all help gratefully appreciated.

Notorious wrote:

Yeah, basic LC stuff can anyone through Physical Geography. Glaciation was perfect topic to waffle for me. Though I did that module when Gerald Mills did it before the module changed so it may not be as easy to fluke a pass as I've heard Turner doesnt exactly mark easy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,167 ✭✭✭Notorious

Sound,exactly what i wanted to hear!
    No problem, good luck with it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭besty

Trusts = yucky but then finished college forever....

Good morning crammers!.....

last day....come on Trusts!

I feel like a prisoner who will have to re-integrate himself into society.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,885 ✭✭✭Stabshauptmann

this is my idea of early morning cramming!

Done and done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,173 ✭✭✭✭Sangre

fair play besty.

personally ive an exam in 2 hours and im messing on the internet. what is wrong with me?

Sangre wrote:
    fair play besty.

personally ive an exam in 2 hours and im messing on the internet. what is wrong with me?
    Cheers, I would have asked, what's right with you after seeing your status on Facebook! :p
    You out tonight?

• Registered Users Posts: 473 ✭✭Ballerina

woooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

finished :D
    althought today was a stupid exam so was kinda finished this time last week and did all my celebrating then.... such an anti climax

delighted with trusts but feel sorry for all of those that spent hours studying charitable trusts!!! one tiny thing on it and loads were expecting a full problem question or at least an essay!!!!!! surprising seeing as our lecturer is head of charitable trusts in ireland (is that what u said to me theVan???).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭mloc

One more exam... just one more

I'm a bit pissed off about trusts, she didn't put anything on the whole second half of the course (apart from a tiny little bit) but I think I did ok.....although if it had been a fairer paper I would have nailed it....

That being said.....I'M DONE!

Degree over....

Citibar tonight Besty? I'm heading student bar direction first!

BOOOYAAA! Finished 2nd year :)

*goes to bed for 3 months*