Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dobies and rots and other breeds

124»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,378 ✭✭✭ISDW

As far as I am aware, there is nowhere in Dublin that these breeds are banned. There is a list of 11 breeds that people who live in council owned property are not allowed to have in the property, and they are not allowed in council owned parks etc, but there is no law banning them from the streets as far as I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 36 Snoop Dogg

andreac wrote: »
    People are not allowed to own them in certain areas alright, but there are no banned breeds as such in Ireland. I own one of these breeds so i do know what i am talking about.

sorry about the f,
    so id be able to get an american pitbull terrier if your right
    what breed have u got.

and thats good cuz i dont live in a council house

• Registered Users Posts: 8,000 ✭✭✭andreac

I own a rottweiler. It depends on where you live whether you can get one of the restricted breeds or not.

How come you want a pitbull now, thought it was Dobermann you wanted??

• Registered Users Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Morganna

017.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

I own a rottweiler. It depends on where you live whether you can get one of the restricted breeds or not.

Why go for one of these dogs? it seems some people go out of their way to get one of these so called "dangerous breeds" in order to prove they are not dangerous.

Rotties, Pit bulls, Dobermans and GS dogs should be only made available for legal ownership with experienced owners. Of course people will still own them illegally but the law should come down on them very hard. How legal ownership of such a breed will be implemented is open to debate but surely those who are experienced and are really enthusiastic about such breeds will not mind the extra work of following the correct channels to attain ownership.

Also i'd like to point out that referring to Westies and smaller terriers as dogs that more commonly bite- its a moot point when comparing them to bigger breeds. Theres a difference to being attacked by a doberman and being attacked by a bichon frise for example. This has already been pointed out by a previous poster.

Now as an experienced dog owner of many years, I have had German Sheps, 2 Rotties, Staffies and numerous other breeds. All of my dogs have been socialised to the highest standard, have been exercised regularly and so forth.

With one of our previous rotties for instance he was a good dog, loyal, good with strangers, affectionate and passive. For 5 years he remained this way. One day whilst playing in the garden he snapped and tore into my 19 year old son who was always affectionate with him and was a constant in the dogs life. He left him with multiple lacerations.

Now my point is, this dog was raised to the highest standard, we are experienced dog owners and always train our dogs thoroughly. No matter how hard you train a breed like this ( I wont say dangerous breed, I'll say breed that can potentially cause the most damage) there is always a small chance that such a breed can attack. Most people who claim otherwise are owners who have formed a close relationship with their own dog or maybe a dog of a relative. They may even have had multiple dogs with no problems. But there is always a chance. Do not compare such a breeds affection to that of children either. there is often no right or reason with dogs.

And in some cases (i.e where there are neighbours close by, children, urban setting, housing estates etc......) I would seriously question someones judgement in getting any of the breeds mentioned. Why take the risk?? No matter how well your dog is trained, socialised etc.......

This is coming from an experienced owner who loves all dogs and has not attached a stigma to any breed (including rottweilers) despite obvious consequences. Dogs can just do that sometime for no reason and may never do it again. But I wouldnt put myself in that position again where id take even a 0.5% risk. And it baffles me why some people do, maybe its just to prove a point to themselves and to others.

Jayob10 wrote: »

No matter how hard you train a breed like this ( I wont say dangerous breed, I'll say breed that can potentially cause the most damage) there is always a small chance that such a breed can attack.

QUOTE]

Im sorry, but this can be applied to ANY breed of dog and not just a rottie etc, so you cant single out one of the restricted breeds for doing this, any dog can turn nasty whenever it wants. Any dog can attack whenever it wants so you cant just say because its a bigger, more powerful dog that this could happen, it could happen with any breed of dog.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,787 ✭✭✭Jayob10

No matter how hard you train a breed like this ( I wont say dangerous breed, I'll say breed that can potentially cause the most damage) there is always a small chance that such a breed can attack.

QUOTE]

Im sorry, but this can be applied to ANY breed of dog and not just a rottie etc, so you cant single out one of the restricted breeds for doing this, any dog can turn nasty whenever it wants. Any dog can attack whenever it wants so you cant just say because its a bigger, more powerful dog that this could happen, it could happen with any breed of dog.

of course its applicable to any dog. But there are not many dogs that can cause as much damage as Rottweillers or Pit Bulls.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 69 ✭✭biggybum

I own a staffie and have had 8 dogs before him including sheepdogs, yorkshire terriers, border collie and corgi's and i have to say out of all of them Max (staffie) took less training than any of them. Having said that i would'nt leave any dog alone with a child/children, all it takes is a pull of the ear oran innoncent tug from a child to make a dog snap!! Here'sapic of Max, he's a real softie :D

of course its applicable to any dog. But there are not many dogs that can cause as much damage as Rottweillers or Pit Bulls.

I understand they can do more damage, but you pointed out that these dogs are more likely to attack than other breeds which i think is wrong an unfair to say.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Why go for one of these dogs?

The exact same reason you did I presume.

And it baffles me why some people do, maybe its just to prove a point to themselves and to others.

What point were you trying to prove when you owned them... Jaysus, you claim to have owned loads of them and then you are on wondering why everyone else has them!!

I'm sorry Jayob10 but I complete refute your argument. I have a variety of dogs, none of which are on the restricted breed list, expect possibly a bitch that may be a GSD cross. I own a Siberian husky male that is just as big as a GSD and some rotties that I've met. He isn't on any list, but surely as he's a big, powerful fella, he could do just as much damage? He entered a weight pull competition there a few months ago and beat a fair few staffs and pit bulls, so he is just as strong as them.

Yes of course you get some people that get certain breeds because they think it makes them look hard, but then you also get people who get other breeds as fashion accessories. There are a lot of huskies owned by people because they saw them in a couple of films and thought they looked cute, without doing any research into them and what their needs are. Dalmatians were very popular a few years ago after the 101 and 102 dalmatian films, but they generally really aren't great as family dogs. So people get dogs for all sorts of reasons, unfortunately a lot of the time, not for good enough reasons in my opinion, but thats the way of the world. People buy cars that can go at speeds way in excess of the speed limit - why?

We did have a rottie cross up until last year, and he was a fantastic dog, I certainly didn't get him because of his image, I got him because he was very cute and needed a home. My brother has a rottweiler. My brother is also 6 foot 7 in height, and nearly the same in width:D, and certainly doesn't need any accessory to make him look intimidating, he just loves rotties. Maybe look at the history of a lot of these dogs, they were originally bred as herding dogs.

• Registered Users Posts: 456 ✭✭kildara

How many of the following dogs could not inflict as much damage as a Rottweiler, Staffordshire, Pit Bull etc?
    The following is a list of large dogs that (thankfully) do not conform to the hardman image but are large and I would think could inflict just as much damage as the two dogs you have mentioned.
    I could also think of a number of medium breeds that could inflict just as much damage...

Saint Bernard
    Newfoundland
    Anatolian Shepherd
    Swiss Mountain Dog
    Caucasian Mountain Dog
    Akita
    Irish Wolfhound
    Mastiff
    Great Dane
    Kuvasz
    Tibetan Mastiff

I agree, somewhat, with your sentiments, but believe you are a bit unfair in saying that "such a breed can attack". Had you said "any breed can attack" you would have hit the nail on the head.

Had gsds all my life no problems .The only breeds ive been bitten by where terriers and a chihuahua

• Registered Users Posts: 3,125 ✭✭✭lightening

Morganna wrote: »
    017.jpg

I swear, that goat has positioned himself to be in the shot and is actually smiling.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭boomerang

no i was just using that as an example i thought the A pittbull was banned everywhere cuz its mostly used for illegal fighting, and i saw a show on bbc where they smuggled 1 through dubin airport wit false papers sayin it was a cross

cloudy day wrote: »
    What is their job.? If you mean gaurding and agression, well this is precisely the reason why these breeds are banned by the council. Heavy powerful breeds of dog's (in heavily populated urban areas with lots of kids and small dogs) which can cause serious damage to people if they attack them.

The problems always revert back to one thing, owners and bad handling training of these dogs. But it is the dog that suffers, not the owner.

no i ment if they are trained to be vicious (not sayin they ever shud be) and they bite sum1 ,its not there fault, they think thats what there suposed to do ,please nobody get the idea that i want them to be like that cuz i dont.

Snoop Dogg wrote: »
    no i was just using that as an example i thought the A pittbull was banned everywhere cuz its mostly used for illegal fighting, and i saw a show on bbc where they smuggled 1 through dubin airport wit false papers sayin it was a cross

Pitbulls arent banned, as i said before, there are no banned breeds in Ireland.

Snoop Dogg wrote: »

The programme was on the BBC because it was about Northern Ireland, where certain breeds are banned. I did watch the programme, but can't remember all of the details now, but yes, they did bring the dogs in through Dublin, from Finland I believe? I guess the false papers were just in case when they got back to the North they could produce them if ever questioned.

ISDW wrote: »
    The programme was on the BBC because it was about Northern Ireland, where certain breeds are banned. I did watch the programme, but can't remember all of the details now, but yes, they did bring the dogs in through Dublin, from Finland I believe? I guess the false papers were just in case when they got back to the North they could produce them if ever questioned.

yea,
    so no dog is banned is ROI ?
    none at all ,not even the American Pitbull?(in USA they are only banned in some states because they have realised it is not the breeds fault but the owners fault!)
    which is the only reason i posted in the first place,cuz i thought dobie was banned.and i wanted to get one!
    From what i read in a few sites those 11 dogs including dobie and basically anything with pitbull in its name, i got the impression you could not have them dogs anywhere near a dublin county council area or wherever, so im sorry why i even posted in the first place, and if it stirred up sh*t or got a reaction out of you i wasnt trying to

so a sincere apoligy and thanks from Snoop Dogg

No, no dogs are banned in the ROI. There are 11 breeds (and crosses of those breeds) on a restricted breed list, and there are certain restrictions placed on these breeds. Amongst other things, they have to be muzzled when in public, and on a lead no longer than 6 foot, and always under the control of somebody over 16 years of age.

Unfortunately there are some councils around the country now that do ban certain breeds from their properties.

The fact that there are no banned breeds, is why there is a major campaign to get a dog from the north into the south, his name is Bruce, he has been classed as pitbull type, which is banned in the North and unlike the rest of the UK, they have no exempt list there, so any dogs that are on their banned list are pts. The campaign to save Bruce is trying to get him over the border where he could have a long and hopefully happy life.

lightening wrote: »
    I swear, that goat has positioned himself to be in the shot and is actually smiling.
    Thats exactly what we thought she is hilarious isnt she that pic always makes me smile

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭corkimp

i agree with some of you, and not with others. I have always had dogs around - at the moment we have 2 GSD's - our mix breed had to be put down (due to her having a bad background before we got her and her biting my mother several times - my mother couldn't take the risk with my nieces). Out of the two - if you come into the driveway both will go beserk - growling barking etc. now Kesh (male) will quite literally come in greet you, and if he thinks "ya your ok" will rub against you for attention. He's a bit aof a slut of a dog - always was. yet to see him not like someone to be honest. As for Esri (my dog - female) - she is very wary and not as approachable - not in an agressive way but cos she backs up and barks. if you put her into a situation with strangers (in particular men) she will cower.
    Now I had her from 12 wks old and she was like that when I got her from her breeder. So when kids come up to her, she is a little scared herself but will sit and watch ( i have her muzzle on her just for her safety more then anything) and she'll let them watch. The two of them love my goddaughter - and were fascinated by her - Esri more so - they would circle her while she was on the ground and lick her face.....
    I trust them with my life - if for any reason I feel something is out of sorts or am worried in a situation, I'll go get help to rectify it. I'm responsible owner - I don't let them off leash and make sure Esri's muzzle is on when in public places (not when in a field). Yet I have met more aggressive small dogs who have "big dog" attitudes - and I've been bitten by small dogs enough to not trust them - no matter how "well socialised" they are.
    Research the breeds - some terriers were bred to go down holes after rats/weasels/etc hence why they won't back down, others are natural guard dogs/sheperds. If you train the dog to work they are much happier - even if just carrying a newspaper! But unfortunately why we have the dangerous dog act and list of the breeds is not wholeheartedly the dogs fault - they were BRED to be what they are by us - majority are great dogs - no problems, are socialised etc yet you will ALWAYS get a bad one - just like people. I personally trust larger breeds more - if you look at statistics, when they do bite they go mainly for arms/legs, smaller dogs ie like lapdogs the chiwuhua (can't spell that one!) will go for your face....
    but my point is - a dog is a dog - be it a lab, rottie, king charles, GSD and so forth - they are all capable of biting or attacking.......... only reason the list exists is cos of what they are capable of doing/injuries they can inflict. don't persecute the dogs....... we bred them. They should make it compulsory to everyone getting a dog to attend puppy classes/dog training classes - no one being exempt

• Registered Users Posts: 5,255 ✭✭✭getz

this may interest a few boardies-dangerous dogs top 10---1 ,pit bull-2, rottweilers-3 ,german shephards,-4,huskies,-5,alaskan malamutes,-6,doberman pinschers,-7,chow chow,-8 ,presa canaro,-9,boxer,-10,dalmatian
    this is the word top 10 of dangerous dogs,shows what muppits we have in goverments only two bull type breeds in it

Id love to know how they come up with the figures and what way they evaluate that these are the most dangerous dogs.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭are you serious

hi, in the past i owned a doberman, i had her for 14 years until she had to be put down, i'm now looking to get 2 x doberman puppies or rottweiler puppies, has anyone got a good contact or where to start.

i was young when i got my first dog as a gift so ive never had the need to go looking for one. ive looked online for an irish site but just cant find one for a doberman anywhere.

cheers.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,713 ✭✭✭lrushe

Try contacting the Clubs for the breed you are interested in, not only can they put you in touch with a reputable breeder they can also give you advise (pro's and con's) regarding the breed.

Dobermann Club of Ireland

Mrs. E. Drennan
    27 Watergate, Tallaght, Dublin 24.
    (01-4524896)

Rottweiler Club of Ireland

Ms. S. Taggart
    16 Nugent Road, Churchtown, Dublin 14.
    (087-2171935)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 98 ✭✭sashasdad

garkane wrote: »
    hi, in the past i owned a doberman, i had her for 14 years until she had to be put down, i'm now looking to get 2 x doberman puppies or rottweiler puppies, has anyone got a good contact or where to start.

i was young when i got my first dog as a gift so ive never had the need to go looking for one. ive looked online for an irish site but just cant find one for a doberman anywhere.

cheers.
    just a wee word of advice don't get litter mates as you could,imo, have some major problems down the road with sibling aggression.