Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why are the PD's singled out for criticism all the time?

• 16-05-2007 6:38pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭

Just wondering (i am not a PD supporter) why Irish people seem to vent so much anger at the PD's constantly. What have they done wrong? Why are they always the whipping boys at elections? It would appear to me that FF should be getting far more stick then the PD's but they are not. I dont have any issue with the PD's but its clear some seem to. Why? I dont understand the sheer hatred toward this party that comes across on most of these forums. I know alot of it stems from SF supporters - a party rightly identified as having a thuggish element and a marxist outlook - IMO they deserve far more stick then the PD's and so do Fianna Fail. I wonder is it still the ususal begrudgery the Irish are renowned for. I mean how dare a party go out of its way to support the middle classes.:rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,986 ✭✭✭✭mikemac

Good question.
    In theory, the PD's should have loads of support.
    We have loads of people with 3rd level qualifications in good jobs and would probably support PD policies, like low tax, privatisation, stand up to public service unions, etc.

I'm not saying the PD's deliver any of this.
    It's just there is a huge demographic that should potentially support a party like this.

edit:spelling

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

I tend to think is essentially a reflection of the leftish bias in the media here, the PDs will eat your babies mentality. Labour could have us in sh1te and you'd still find corners of RTE blaming the PDs for something or other.

Mike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 66 ✭✭RalphCifaretto

Anyone who thinks there is a leftish bias in the irish media needs there head examined.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,255 ✭✭✭✭The_Minister

The PDs are the only party in Ireland who will stand up and say "profit is not a dirty word".
    They don't clothe their economics in social democratic lingo, or pretend to be socialists. They come out and say it.
    Also, many on the left blame the PDs for the rightward shift in Ireland over the last 25 years, as the PDs were the first party to espouse the idea that tax cuts could pay for themselves, and help the economy.
    Also, the PDs were an unwelcome to the Irish political scene because:
    1). FF didn't like them because much of the originsl PD TDs had been kicked out of FF for standing up to Haughey. (They were meant to be good, quiet little independent FF'ers until a new leader brough them back). FF didn't like them highlighting that Haughey was weeding so many good people out.
    2). FG hated them because the PDs took their votes, and made it harder for them to come to power.
    3). Labour hated them because the PDs were set up as a typical European Liberal party, and Labour had always recieved the liberal vote in Ireland. (This shift never came about, as the PDs have always spoken more about economics, so that few people are familiar with their social policies).

Add all that to the fact that no politician ever likes a new party, and that the PDS had several unfortunate disasters over the years (suggesting a constitution without reference to God etc), and the PDs were always going to garner a certain amount of acrimoney. Read "Breaking the Mould" for the full story (you may even have gotten a free copy, the PDs were giving them out).

EDIT: There is also the problem of the media. Most media is biased one way or another in this country, and the lines were drawn before the PDs ever existed, so when the PDs were formed, they went for the throat. Even the Late Late Show was against them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,632 ✭✭✭darkman2

Anyone who thinks there is a leftish bias in the irish media needs there head examined.

Of course there is leftish bias in the Irish media.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

It might have something to do with the mentality that everything should be privatised and competition is the answer to everything.
    Yeah that is why we now have no investment in the telecomms infrastructure.
    Look at the state of the privatised water boards and the state of the rail network in the UK, and the fact that railtrack have to be shored up.
    That is the future the PDs want for Ireland.

On the other hand it could be because your leader is a total muppet who is arrogant, publicity seeking, and only shuts his mounth long enough to prepare the other foot for entry.

Oh and what happened to their promise to keep tabs on FF.
    McDougals favourite song over the last few weeks must have been "shoud I stay or should I go now"...

The best comment to describe him is...
    "he is like a lighthouse in the Bog of Allen, brilliant but useless".

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 3,422 ✭✭✭Avns1s

darkman2 wrote:

Just wondering (i am not a PD supporter) why Irish people seem to vent so much anger at the PD's constantly. What have they done wrong? Why are they always the whipping boys at elections? It would appear to me that FF should be getting far more stick then the PD's but they are not. I dont have any issue with the PD's but its clear some seem to. Why? I dont understand the sheer hatred toward this party that comes across on most of these forums. I know alot of it stems from SF supporters - a party rightly identified as having a thuggish element and a marxist outlook - IMO they deserve far more stick then the PD's and so do Fianna Fail. I wonder is it still the ususal begrudgery the Irish are renowned for. I mean how dare a party go out of its way to support the middle classes.:rolleyes:

Well darkman, I would be critical of the PD's and TBH I'd be a lot more critical of SF so that's your theory about the sources out the window.

The PDs are gentically linked to FF. They have supported FF right through the past 10 years. They have set themselves up as moral guardians but in essence, would support FF through anything. I'm not taken in by the semantics of the past week and other times when the PDs go through their "will we, wont we" theatrical routines.

They are un-necessary in Irish politics and maybe after this election they will get the message and finish up back within FF which IMHO will be their ultimate fate.

It's also hard to say a whole lot of good about their role in government. Mary Harney was all talk when in Enterprise Trade and Employment, but in reality, she did feck all for her brief. The Celtic Tiger did her job for her. She has been poor in the health portfolio.

Add to this McDowells ineptitude as Minister for Justice and their unbridled arrogance and you have my reason for hatred towards them. I would expect variations of this to be shared by a few.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,264 ✭✭✭✭Hobbes

The only thing I have noticed wrong so far in the PD run up to the election is the material.

For example. Every other piece of crap we have gotten in the door is promises of what that particular party plans to do. With the PD material (we got 4 of them, each different) were basically cartoons referring to other parties as crocodiles intent on eating you and your money. No promises just a kind of "dont vote for those retards" (sic).

Anyone who argues that you should pick them because they aren't as bad as the others is probably not worth picking.

darkman2 wrote:

Are you actually serious or is that sarcasm?:confused:

Avns1s wrote:
    Well darkman, I would be critical of the PD's and TBH I'd be a lot more critical of SF so that's your theory about the sources out the window.

The PDs are gentically linked to FF. They have supported FF right through the past 10 years. They have set themselves up as moral guardians but in essence, would support FF through anything. I'm not taken in by the semantics of the past week and other times when the PDs go through their "will we, wont we" theatrical routines.

They are un-necessary in Irish politics and maybe after this election they will get the message and finish up back within FF which IMHO will be their ultimate fate.

It's also hard to say a whole lot of good about their role in government. Mary Harney was all talk when in Enterprise Trade and Employment, but in reality, she did feck all for her brief. The Celtic Tiger did her job for her. She has been poor in the health portfolio.

Add to this McDowells ineptitude as Minister for Justice and their unbridled arrogance and you have my reason for hatred towards them. I would expect variations of this to be shared by a few.

I think you will find the tirade of hatred toward McDowell really started when he began rightfully exposing SF criminality as he knew existed through Garda sources. Why do I get the impression that, in fact, he had more balls as Justice minister then anyone who would be put up for the portfolio by the opposition? Maybe its a case that in this country you need someone arrogant and outspoke as Justice Minister?

But my real point is why there is no level playing feild with FF on this because it is definately the case that the PD's are getting disproportionate abuse atm compared to Fianna Fail.

jmayo wrote:

On the other hand it could be because your leader is a total muppet "...

What do you mean 'your leader'. Ive nothing to do with the PD's. Im making an observation that does not seem to have dawned on many yet.

darkman2 wrote:
    I think you will find the tirade of hatred toward McDowell really started when he began rightfully exposing SF criminality as he knew existed through Garda sources. Why do I get the impression that, in fact, he had more balls as finance minister then anyone who would be put up for the portfolio by the opposition? Maybe its a case that in this country you need someone arrogant and outspoke as Justice Minister?

But my real point is why there is no level playing feild with FF on this because it is definately the case that the PD's are getting disproportionate abuse atm compared to Fianna Fail.

I knew it was him that was finance minister :mad:
    Non wonder biffo looked so grumpy some times snce McDowell pulling the strings from underneeth or behind.

Are you actually serious or is that sarcasm?:confused:

Im serious......really i am. Definate left wing bias in RTE - their a state company - does that give you a clue;)

• Registered Users Posts: 3,422 ✭✭✭Avns1s

darkman2 wrote:

I would agree with you on this point. FF are the main players in government and deserve to get the full ire of whatever the electors feel towards them. I can only think that people feel the PDs are easier prey and also the fact that they were suppose to guard against FF running riot leaves them vulnerable, when in essence FF did run riot. In a sense, its a pity they didn't take a more decisive stand against FF on certain items including Berties finances in recent weeks. Maybe people would have felt that they have a niche as a result.

jmayo wrote:
    I knew it was him that was finance minister :mad:
    Non wonder biffo looked so grumpy some times snce McDowell pulling the strings from underneeth or behind.

Yes ive actually corrected my mistake;)

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,307 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Well as a member of the well educated, well paid middle class that the PDs should appeal to, I can honestly say they don't. I think most Irish people have a strong sense of social justice, and the PDs always come across as being the party of the rich, and not caring too much about the little man. Their constant bleating on about lowering the top tax rate is designed to appeal to their "natural constituency", and fails to recognise that many of that section of society would rather see the lower rate or tax lowered or the tax band widened so that more of society can benefit. They also favour privatisation, but many of their notional supporters more than likely got their fingers burned in the Eircom fiasco, while some already very wealthy individuals made a killing, and would rather not see that situation arise again. Despite these faults, I'd vote PD before I'd ever vote SF.

darkman2 wrote:
    What do you mean 'your leader'. Ive nothing to do with the PD's. Im making an observation that does not seem to have dawned on many yet.

Apologies...
    If you want to distance yourself from them by all means ...

Sorry I couldn't resist about the finance minister.
    Maybe it was a freudian slip?

I have to agree they are above some other parties that have been getting lot of backslaps over last few days for the fact that they have entered government.

FF are a bunch of muppets as well, so I am not been selective in calling PDs the only eejits.
    All you have to do is drag Cullen (he was former PD wasn't he), Jacob, O'Dea and Roche out as examples of their incompetence.

Maybe we the Irish voters are the biggest eejits we keep voting in politicans that are liars, incompetents, cheats, tax dodgers, perjurers, drunks to name but a few vices.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,062 ✭✭✭Voipjunkie

darkman2 wrote:

Yeah of course there is :rolleyes:

The only people who could possibly think that are those so far out on the right they make the Neo cons look like pinko liberals

Look who controls the media in this country big Business the clearest example of that would be the removal of journalists from the Irish Ferries story because they were telling the truth rather than telling the story than Rothwell and his pals wanted told.

jmayo wrote:
    It might have something to do with the mentality that everything should be privatised and competition is the answer to everything.
    They don't. It's not the answer to everything, but does often work. State monopolies are not a good thing. Oh, and FYI, while privatisation of railways failed in England, it has been really successful on the Continent.

darkman2 wrote:
    Im serious......really i am. Definate left wing bias in RTE - their a state company - does that give you a clue;)

Ah that old chesnut. I must have missed the rendition of the red flag after the angelus last night:rolleyes:

The Irish media, particularly the print media, is dominated by the centre right.

Their constant bleating on about lowering the top tax rate is designed to appeal to their "natural constituency", and fails to recognise that many of that section of society would rather see the lower rate or tax lowered or the tax band widened so that more of society can benefit

Have you read the Labour parties manifesto?

Mike.

Can I suggest that this be moved to the Politics forum? This is a long-standing issue which has little to do with the upcoming election.

Ah that old chesnut. I must have missed the rendition of the red flag after the angelus last night:rolleyes:

The Irish media, particularly the print media, is dominated by the centre right.

I agree most of the print media is center or just to the right. However I can tell you with certainty that RTE are left wing. Shock horror:eek:

In what way is RTE " left wing"?

Look at the big names within RTE - Richard Downes, Vincient Browne, Marian Finucane, Tom McGurk...........all lefties by any stretch of the imagination - but there is no way RTE are anything but left wing because their jobs depend on it!:p Anyway back on topic?

zaph wrote:
    I think most Irish people have a strong sense of social justice, and the PDs always come across as being the party of the rich, and not caring too much about the little man. Their constant bleating on about lowering the top tax rate is designed to appeal to their "natural constituency", and fails to recognise that many of that section of society would rather see the lower rate or tax lowered or the tax band widened so that more of society can benefit.
    They also want to lower the lower rate to 18%
    and to ensure that a couple earning €40,000, or a single person earning €20,000, will not have to pay any tax.
    It is the selective reporting of the media which means that most people only hear about the top rate of tax being cut.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,166 ✭✭✭enda1

Who cares about RTE!! Back on topic...

Only in this country would people criticise a minister for Enterprise Trade and Employment for a period of fantastic economic growth and prosperity.

And doing nothing in health? Have you been asleep for the last month?? She has stood up to the 'poor girls' and not given into their sensationalistic and ridiculous demands. It shows strong conviction and character to take this more difficult route coming up to elections.

Fair play I say.

They are left-bias which is not always the same thing. They show thier bias in the guests they choose to have on various programmes and how these guests are treated and how long those guests have to expound thier views and how often they get the chance. For example - middle-east discussion is dominated by the likes of Patrick Cockburn, Laura Marlow (sp) and of course
    Robert Fisk who's collective bias is loud and clear.

Mike

mike65 wrote:
    Laura Marlow (sp) and of course
    Robert Fisk who's collective bias is loud and clear.

Mike

Thought it was 'Lara Marlow'.....Is there a Laura aswell? - i think we need less lefties not more:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,992 ✭✭✭✭gurramok

zaph wrote:
    Well as a member of the well educated, well paid middle class that the PDs should appeal to, I can honestly say they don't. I think most Irish people have a strong sense of social justice, and the PDs always come across as being the party of the rich, and not caring too much about the little man. Their constant bleating on about lowering the top tax rate is designed to appeal to their "natural constituency", and fails to recognise that many of that section of society would rather see the lower rate or tax lowered or the tax band widened so that more of society can benefit.

Bang on.

I work with people on the higher tax rate and they were too scratching their heads at that tax cut from 42 to 41.
    The consensus was that they did not need it, others like the 66% of the workforce earning below 34k p.a. who pay through nose for indirect taxes need it or use it to improve diabolical public services which need it also.

PD's have failed in govt for 10 years on justice and health and we all know the score here.