Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I saw an abandoned classic and took a pic thread!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

Max_Damage wrote: »
    Not in this country. They'd rot out in no time.
    If you lash on the waxoyl and keep it clean you'll have a good chance,the problem is the metal they used is crap though.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

If you lash on the waxoyl and keep it clean you'll have a good chance,the problem is the metal they used is crap though.

Ew, i hate waxoyl. Makes the paintwork look crap:o

Haha..it helps if you keep it off the paint!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Haha..it helps if you keep it off the paint!:)

Actually, edit that. I was thinking of a fella that uses it, but put's it on the joints and stuff. Paintwork is just crap, my bad haha:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

He bought it,its as clean a 120Y as you will get,i know theres lads reading this saying im mad for having interest in such a car,but the fact its so clean and has lasted so long beyond its design life makes it unusual.It is as new inside,no marks anywhere. Its not exactly an inspiring car to drive i will say though!

No, don't think you're mad (well any madder than I thought you were already). I totally agree. I much prefer this kind of 'classic' because they are the ones that really bring back memories for me when I see them

Onkle wrote: »
    No, don't think you're mad (well any madder than I thought you were already).
    I dont know what to think of this!!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

I dont know what to think of this!!:D

:D Well all of us old car enthusiasts are a little mad aren't we?

Onkle wrote: »
    :D Well all of us old car enthusiasts are a little mad aren't we?
    Yep,thats for sure!:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭245

Could have been for a disabled driver,or maybe an older person.
    Iv never seen an irish 140Y.
    The MK1 100A is badged cherry on the glovebox lid,but nowhere else AFAIK.No cherry badging on the FII
    The 120Y is just badged 120Y,not sunny i think,

Interesting how they were sold as cherrys and sunnys etc,but not badged as such.

The only 140 that I remember was the 140J (also badged as the Violet I think)

245 wrote: »
    The only 140 that I remember was the 140J (also badged as the Violet I think)
    This was the early version..
    More than likely this one below though,STMvc-373f.jpg

VioletRA.jpg
    This was badged violet in this country alrightthough,lots of them were wrecked in rosegreen..

• Registered Users Posts: 353 ✭✭DaveCol

Great memories of getting lifts from an Aunt and Uncle who had a Datsun 1200, 100A, 120Y and Violet over the years

• Registered Users Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

I guess the 140Y wasn't poverty-spec enough for us. It seems to have existed at least in South Africa and maybe other countries, the B310 140Y was definately sold in Europe though - again probably not here.

I take it the 100A was the only Cherry spec available here?

Not sure if the 120A was sold here?

• Registered Users Posts: 523 ✭✭✭Lauder

Original Irish minor spotted in Dublin City Centre this morning
    Image0062.jpg

^Crusty...been there awhile!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

A 1978 Datsun 120Y a friend bought as a spares car,unusually its an automatic.Was apparently parked up in a leaky shed near the sea when the NCT came in in 2000 hence the rot

Did ye manage to start it, or is it banjaxed?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,105 ✭✭✭hi5

^ Is it a Jap import, going by the square plates at the back (and that most JDM cars are autos too)?

Most of the offical import jap cars imported back in the 70's and 80's had the square number plate space on the back they didnt change them for the european maket at the time.the early Carina and Corrola had square number plates.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

hi5 wrote: »
    Most of the offical import jap cars imported back in the 70's and 80's had the square number plate space on the back they didnt change them for the european maket at the time.the early Carina and Corrola had square number plates.

I think the Isuzu Gemini was the last of the 'offical imported' cars to have square plates on the back instead of the long ones.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,214 ✭✭✭mountain

I think the Isuzu Gemini was the last of the 'offical imported' cars to have square plates on the back instead of the long ones.

like all of us here, i have an interest in cars,
    but knowing the above infomation is taking things a little bit to far,;)

Where they just straight unmodified JDM models sold here or what? It's quite odd that they apparently weren't sold anywhere else outside of Japan as Isuzu Geminis in RHD form, except maybe Malta (there seems to be some there but it's hard to know if they're used Japanese imports as they are common there too). Where they maybe just leftovers when the new model came out in '89, or were they sold here before then too?

The Subaru M80/Signet seems to be a similar oddity - it was sold in LHD markets, but apparently it was only called a Signet over here (it was "Mini Jumbo" in the rest of Europe, "Rex" in Japan, and just "M80" in east asia AFAIK). Not sold in the UK at all either.

Where they just straight unmodified JDM models sold here or what? It's quite odd that they apparently weren't sold anywhere else outside of Japan as Isuzu Geminis in RHD form, except maybe Malta (there seems to be some there but it's hard to know if they're used Japanese imports as they are common there too). Where they maybe just leftovers when the new model came out in '89, or were they sold here before then too?

The Subaru M80/Signet seems to be a similar oddity - it was sold in LHD markets, but apparently it was only called a Signet over here (it was "Mini Jumbo" in the rest of Europe, "Rex" in Japan, and just "M80" in east asia AFAIK). Not sold in the UK at all either.

I didn't know the Gemini wasn't sold in the UK. It would probably explain why I never saw any for sale on eBay UK throughout the years.

If you notice in their brilliant TV ad, which was filmed in France, the hatchback versions (which were the same typpe as sold here) have the long plates on them:

As for the Signet, I remember them. Haven't seen one in YEARS though. I remember seeing a few of them with the square old-style pre-'87 plates on them years ago. I doubt there is many of them left in the country now (if any).

Subaru_600_Super_Deluxe.JPG

Did ye manage to start it, or is it banjaxed?
    Didnt get around to that yet,wouldnt fire,twas a little cold for more investigations,engine is free though.Might have a go the weekend.

mountain wrote: »
    like all of us here, i have an interest in cars,
    but knowing the above infomation is taking things a little bit to far,;)
    Nah,its the small details that are the best:D

I didn't know the Gemini wasn't sold in the UK. It would probably explain why I never saw any for sale on eBay UK throughout the years.
    I have a What Car? magazine from late 1993 with the used car section going back to 1987 (used to have a 1991 issue too but lost it at some stage) and some other old junk - very handy for looking up stuff like this. AFAIK the only Isuzu passenger cars sold in the UK in the '80s and '90s were the Piazza and the Trooper, plus the Vauxhall rebadges of course.
    If you notice in their brilliant TV ad, which was filmed in France, the hatchback versions (which were the same typpe as sold here) have the long plates on them:
    Here's the originals: http://ie.youtube.com/watch?v=ybEBjdMi334
    Do those plates not look smaller than usual though? I don't know what's normal for French plates of the time though.
    As for the Signet, I remember them. Haven't seen one in YEARS though. I remember seeing a few of them with the square old-style pre-'87 plates on them years ago. I doubt there is many of them left in the country now (if any).
    There was a rather dented navy blue '91 example (newer model than your pic) that I saw frequently in UL, don't know if it's still on the road as I graduated this year so not over that side of town much these days. I should bring a camera there some day, there's often the old banger there (pre-'87 Starlets, Sierras, a Mk. III Escort) and even the occasional proper classic...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 760 ✭✭✭245

AFAIK the only Isuzu passenger cars sold in the UK in the '80s and '90s were the Piazza and the Trooper, plus the Vauxhall rebadges of course.

Whatever about the UK I think that we had the Aska but I can't find a picture that looks like the one I'm thinking of - they were all diesel (GM 1.7 unit I think). The only ones that Google shows are rebadged Subaru Legacys :eek:

You're right,there was a few around tralee,a friend of mine had one,it was a pre 87 reg too,cant remember the no tho..

Id forgotten about those cars!!
    isuzu_aska_3485593.jpg
    Very GM styled body..

^ Doesn't look too bad, I preferred the Gemini though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,978 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Aska was a 2.0 unit, I had a black turbocharged model for a little while (crap car really)

Found this..
    The Isuzu Aska was a midsize car produced by Isuzu of Japan. The Aska, released in 1983, was one of GM's 'J-Car' family of cars and was available as a sedan. It was exported to Southeast Asia, where it was known as the Isuzu JJ, and to New Zealand and sold there as the Holden Camira between 1984 and 1987. It was also assembled in Arica, Chile from CKD kits from 1984 and sold as Chevrolet Aska in the domestic market and in Ecuador.
    When Isuzu withdrew from car production, the Aska became a rebadged Subaru Legacy (sold as the Aska CX 1990–1994), and then a Honda Accord (two generations, 1994-1997 and 1998-2002).

Whatever about the UK I think that we had the Aska but I can't find a picture that looks like the one I'm thinking of - they were all diesel (GM 1.7 unit I think).

Oh yeah, forgot about that one. Don't think it was sold in the UK either.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Isuzu_Aska

It looks a good bit like the Ascona C, especially the sides - see this vs. this - not that surprising since they were built on the same platform.

Here's a fancy '85 Irmscher turbo version (lots of pics): http://item.rakuten.co.jp/sepia/10007551/

Kinda weird that Isuzu don't make (or rebadge) any passenger vehicles now - all that's left is the D-Max pickup and their trucks and buses.