Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I saw an abandoned classic and took a pic thread!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

Tin Lizzy wrote: »
    Is this the bus thats on the road to Aradra?
    That looks like the Yellow Bus Scoile...I think they were Bedfords..although I havent ever heard of a red one....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Bigus

Slidey wrote: »
    1742048.jpgThey are big images alright!

Looks like a Peugeot steering wheel to me..

More like 1970's datsun , would have said celica except for the position of the spark plugs

Look at this and the small clutch resevoir

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

bonzodog2 wrote: »
    I couldn't tell ya if this counts as a classic, haven't a clue what it is, found it while going for a long tramp in the woods (didn't get him !). All I can tell you is

RWD
    4 cyl petrol
    OHC
    disc front brakes
    servo brakes
    That's a Mazda of some variety, possibly a 929 Coupe going by the steering wheel, as that wheel wasn't fitted to the saloons.

3ccb4127.jpg

It's defiantly a 929, the door handles give it away. Rare as hens teeth, the one we have here is probably the only one in the country now. This is what it looks like.
    beb87dde.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

I noticed the old Mazda logo on the engine block too, compare it to this:
    P10107031280x768.jpg
    Full thread of someone restoring a 616 here: http://japanesenostalgiccar.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=12675&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

Nothing else matched up with the 616 though so I was stuck, didn't know they sold those 929s over here.

AFAIK they didn't sell 929s here, its the doorhandles that give it away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,943 ✭✭✭Bigus

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQNzY2ZY826wc27yxnt9yD5pIMOXsRG-1llVI6GfMEgbrjgoEZO

929 wheel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,227 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

Ye lads are the dogs bollix! The engine in question has I think VC cast into the block where zilog's picture has NA.

Pm me if anyone wants spare doorhandles !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Kat1170

Pass this most days but hadn't a clue what it was until I got up close and read the ID plate ...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,638 ✭✭✭zilog_jones

AFAIK they didn't sell 929s here, its the doorhandles that give it away.
    I guess it was an import so, maybe a Japanese Mazda Luce? I forget if this was discussed here before, when did Mazda start selling in Ireland? There is/was also an 818 in this place: http://www.flickr.com/photos/scrawb/4728598096/in/set-72157624866278872

I would guess the first 323s were the first imports here? Don't think the Luce/929 ever was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46 sid131

i had a 929 many years ago, bought it for 40 quid drove well lasted a few weeks until some one drove it into a bread shop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭Kat1170

sid131 wrote: »
    i had a 929 many years ago, bought it for 40 quid drove well lasted a few weeks until some one drove it into a bread shop!

I'd say that cost you a bit of dough :D:D

sid131 wrote: »

Do you know who that someone is?:D

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭Tin Lizzy

A pair of non-classic Escorts today.

CopyofDSCI0001.jpg

Copyofthomas102.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,461 ✭✭✭Max_Damage

^ Where is that Mk3? I'm in need of a interior carpet for mine.

Max_Damage wrote: »
    ^ Where is that Mk3? I'm in need of a interior carpet for mine.

The first car has either been saved for parts or scrapped (along with the Talbot Horizon infront of it)

The second car has disappeared,Dont know where it went.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,358 ✭✭✭kev1.3s

The first car has either been saved for parts or scrapped (along with the Talbot Horizon infront of it)

The second car has disappeared,Dont know where it went.

So you don't know what has happened to either of them then!:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,407 ✭✭✭G Luxel

Looks like a Mk3 Zephyr in the background of the Mk3 escort picture.....but the SI escort is very rusty...compared to some I saw recently which are perfect

• Registered Users Posts: 231 ✭✭DarenO

Found today, Dolly Sprint and 2 Volvos if you look closely at the second pic, there is another Sprint under covers and a motorbike on a CZM ... plate

G Luxel wrote: »
    Looks like a Mk3 Zephyr in the background of the Mk3 escort picture.....but the SI escort is very rusty...compared to some I saw recently which are perfect

Think its a Triumph Dolomite.

For today is a Pug. 504 pickup and a Mk. 1 Transit.

tom021.jpg
    tom022.jpg
    tom028.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭salamander27

Is the mk1 tranny still about? I'm looking for a rare piece of quarter glass....

Dont know if its been scrapped or if its still sitting there. Should be in the yard that its in withen the next few months so i'll see..

Was going put this sad Shadow in the 'I saw a classic' thread, but I think it's more deserving in here. Apologies for the distorted pic, I took it at 50mph.
    6d97f844.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,309 ✭✭✭VolvoMan

Ah FFS, that's disgraceful.

Have people no shame?

VolvoMan wrote: »
    Ah FFS, that's disgraceful.

Have people no shame?

That car has been there for ages, the decoration on it changes from time to time though. I'd say the roller is only fit for the short oval at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Posted on the Motors forum earlier, 200+ pics from Kildare graveyard scrapper.

Linky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭salamander27

Dont know if its been scrapped or if its still sitting there. Should be in the yard that its in withen the next few months so i'll see..

Would you find out if it's the opening sort. Cheers!:)

• Registered Users Posts: 49 Hearse 1

DarenO wrote: »
    Found today, Dolly Sprint and 2 Volvos if you look closely at the second pic, there is another Sprint under covers and a motorbike on a CZM ... plate

Any idea if the Volvo and the DAF are original Irish machines?