Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Feed Back - Waterford Open 2007

• 20-05-2007 5:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭

With us looking at running 4 opens this year we are looking for feedback on the event .. Structures dealers .. standard play .... etc

Neill Kelly

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

From my pov, everything was good. Dealers were fine (though a couple of the lads could be introduced to the concept of deodourant), structure was terrific, in fact it never really felt like a crapshoot even on the final table. Things ran smooth and the atmosphere was great. No real complaints at all. Oh, the food wasnt great, but as a festival veteran I guess I'm used to that.
    Given my record in your festivals, I think I'll be back :)

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,317 ✭✭✭The Clamper

probably the best i've been to this year, but then i havent been to many, and my perspective would be tainted at the best of times by bias towards myself

ok, it was a great tourney, super structure, dealers were 99% very good and Neill put on a good show

i didnt notice a BO problem with dealers, but then i wasnt sitting beside one

well done all round Neill and his team

i will be back for more of the same thanks

The Clamper

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Flipper

soooo sick I couldn't make this. I hear it was a great tourney.... And I assume the booze was flowing too from the drunken 5am phone call I got telling me J7 is the nuts!

• Registered Users Posts: 490 ✭✭Russh

Yeah..This was great...structures, venue, layout of room, games starting bang on time, tournament direction, running commentary....everything about this was classy and delighted to hear that there's a couple of these in the pipeline..

I think the overall standard of play was pretty decent. I started on a table with Sideshow, Connie, Eoghan Lyons, Sligo John, Mickste and Buddha...so unless I was just lucky (not so much with the cards), ye can judge for yourselves the standard of players floating about..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35 suckcalf

it was a great event,only food was bad.:cool:

i was having good second day till i ran 10,10 in2 kk,never recoverd after that:eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭nicnicnic

super event lads only complaint was about my cards

any1 from waterford make final table

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭BIG-SLICK-POKER

Paddy Dooley Made It

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭Gus Ivey

great event Neill, well run , fantastic structure/set-up etc.

Looking forward to your next one already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭Flushdraw

Neill,

Tournament was top notch. The room was laid of very well, the tables weren't on top of each other and easy to find and access. All dealers that dealt to me were pleasant and very capable. All credit to Laura for keeping the dealer ship sailing smooth!

The structure worked really well . It made for loads of play and all breaks restarted on time which was good. You done a great job Mc'ing and keeping people informed. Cant really say a bad thing about anything to do with the event so theres not a lot that needs improving on for next time.

I do hate the 200 chips in the side events though!!

I'll defo be down again next time and hopefully put up a better show than this time around!

Tony

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

500 chips arrived later on (when the 100's had been removed but we needed to make a 500 ante :) ). They were the very same colour as the 25's :)

I think everyone understands the need to get rid of those 200 chips!

DeV.

• Registered Users Posts: 290 ✭✭mickste

I had heard a lot of positive reaction about bsp events before and decided to try one out for myself.

The whole weekend was fantastic from structure, organisation, banter, cash games, hotel etc..

I thoroughly enjoyed myself and would advise anyone looking for a quality weekend of poker and craic to get down to the next BSP event.

mickste

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

Flipper wrote:
    soooo sick I couldn't make this. I hear it was a great tourney.... And I assume the booze was flowing too from the drunken 5am phone call I got telling me J7 is the nuts!

Amazingly prescient Flipper, J7 turned out to be the winning hand heads-up for Ireland's latest poker legend John D Ward, the J7 standing up preflop against Eddie Walsh's AK.

Best-run poker tournaments I have ever played, anywhere.

Super show, Neil. Well done to yourself, Keith, Laura and all the team.

Only slight hitch on the weekend was that NF Rob's Saab broke down just outside Carlow on the way home at 2 o'clock this morning, but we managed to bribe the local AA agent to tow the car and us home so not a complete disaster.

Particularly enjoyed the merry omaha session on Sunday morning. Can't wait for your next festival.

KP

Merry?! Is that what you are calling it now? :p

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭kakak1

Well done to neill, Richie, Laura & all the team at BSP.

Fabulous event, great structure, superbly well run, one of the very best I have played in. Loved the way the main event started bang on time, let that be a lesson to all tournamnet orgainisers.

There were a few complaints about the food and this was very understandable. I was speaking to Neill and from the money they had to pay for the food it was a disgrace to the Hotel & i intend writing to them about this.

One of the big problems in Waterford is a hotel with a big enough room for the poker & also a big enough room to feed the players. The obvious answer is to get enough space but this might mean a no drink location & for the kind of event thia was that would be a non runner.

Anyway BSP are well aware obf the problems which were totally outside their control.

I would suggest to all Boardies, if you want a quality tournament BSP are the one.

Once again well done to all for a superb weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 403 ✭✭TheRock

Great stuff all round Lads. Organisation definitely the best I've come across at any event. Thought the hotel was a great venue.
    Again I thought it was great that you started the main event spot on time on all days and after all breaks. Other organisers should definitely learn from this!

If you want a small constructive thing I came across a few issues where some of the dealers were implementing rules differently and seemed to not have heard the house rules you stated at the start. Couple of times in tournament regarding showing of second card, 1 dealer knew that anyone could ask to see the second card if one was shown, a second insisted that this was wrong and it didn't have to be shown, think 2 or 3 rulings were called for. At the cash table some dealers raked a split pot, some didn't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

Have to applaud Neil and his team for a very well run weekend, tourney structure was excellent, management and organisation skills = 100%

I’ll for deffo be heading down for next event….

Again well done lads…

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭ollyk1

Hey Neil,

I'd echo a lot of the positive comments above.

The structure was excellent and the conference room was very well laid out.

Some constructive criticism for future improvements

Get the main event roped off earlier in Day 2 (possibly from the start of Day 2) and make a bigger effort to stop the "flash mob" appearing around any table with significant acton going on. If you take a hard line early in the day it makes things easier.

Food provided at the interval was obviously pretty tasteless as mentioned already. The carvery was fine so the the hotel is obviously capable of better.

Hotel reception staff were fairly unhelpful imho having said that the bar staff/floor staff were very good. (I know this is outside your control but no harm to give the hotel a bit of feedback too as the poker players were putting a lot of money into the place over the weekend).

There was some discrepency in dealers interpretations of the rules (for intance when is a hand dead if the player isn't there and when they were taking the dead hands in. Some dealers were letting late players look at the hands before pulling them into the muck something that can only end in tears)

Having said that the general dealer standard in the main event was high in my experience but one or two in the €250 game were a bit weak.
    To be fair I'd be judging against top level casino standards so that isn't a criticism at all. Plus all dealers put in a lot of hours so I hope they all get well looked after (from what I saw that seemed to be the case as there wasn't any moaning in front of players) and they all looked to be having a good time after their nights work was done.

One thing for yourself- never use the microphone to announce the requirement for a new deck at a table. A schoolboy error that one!! :eek:

Apart from all that well done to yourself and the crew on a great show. A serious effort was put in and it showed. I'll be back

Olly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,698 ✭✭✭semibluff

nicnicnic wrote:
    super event lads only complaint was about my cards

you need cards now do you???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Norwich Fan Rob

this tourney was the most fun ive had playing poker in ireland.
    brilliantly ran, straight from when we arrived at about 7.32, walked in the door and there was 2 mins gone off the clock already !!
    structure really ensured a proper test of poker, and the whole tourney was top class.
    all dealers were very friendly, and i witnessed almost no errors at the table.
    Neill was always on hand for any questions, and kept everyone bang up to date with what was going on, when the next breaks were, the payouts, how many players were left, etc.
    another touch i really liked was the players names on the back of the chairs when we went 2 tables. other organisers should look into doing this imo.
    the tourney was played in a tremendous spirit, as the deal shows, everyone seemed to be having fun and i think that showed.
    well done to John Ward, he was a very hard guy to play against, and always had a smile on his face.
    as everyone has said, the food wasnt up to scratch, thats the only complaint i can think off, well done to everyone involved for organising a top quality weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,140 ✭✭✭ocallagh

Great event Neil. I would echo what Rob said above. 9.9/10, with a little more hot food next time (I was starving!) I would give it 10/10

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭brianmc

There's nothing more that I can add to any of the above. An excellent event.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,361 ✭✭✭dougee19

this was without a doubt the best tournament i have ever played in and i got such a great experience for my money and would really like to thanks neill and all the dealers who hosted an amazing event and i with them all the best success in the future

amazing event!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭SIDESHOW BOBs

tournament : structure and starting stack size . this was without doubt the best tourney i have ever played in , fullstop.

hotel: nice event room and accomadation was second to none.pity not enough rooms available for all .

food was appalling both in quality and availability. Can something be done , its a fcukin joke that one cant get something to eat from midnight til breakfast when playing cash games.

also hotel staff were conspicious by there absence after midnight.glasses and bottles were lying around in huge quantities and certainly posed a health and safety risk.

Cash games : is it possible to play more than 8 hands an hour ?

the sooner people realise that the cash games are not being televised and there are no hollywood casting directors lurking in the background the better.

players that are constantly slowing down the game , deliberately or not have to be dealt with.Quicker games , more dosh for players more rake for organisers its a win win situation .

if i hear the excuse of iv been drinking one more time.....

glad i got that off my chest

on the whole neil another great event , i think more liason with hotel to iron out a few gripes and you have a top quality event.

Not allowing Bops a rebuy in the 250 game so I could stuff him again. :p

DeV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 837 ✭✭✭kpnuts

the sooner people realise that the cash games are not being televised and there are no hollywood casting directors lurking in the background the better.

players that are constantly slowing down the game , deliberately or not have to be dealt with.Quicker games , more dosh for players more rake for organisers its a win win situation .

mea culpa. sorry, guv!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,145 ✭✭✭bottom feeder

tournament : structure and starting stack size . this was without doubt the best tourney i have ever played in , fullstop.

hotel: nice event room and accomadation was second to none.pity not enough rooms available for all .

food was appalling both in quality and availability. Can something be done , its a fcukin joke that one cant get something to eat from midnight til breakfast when playing cash games.

also hotel staff were conspicious by there absence after midnight.glasses and bottles were lying around in huge quantities and certainly posed a health and safety risk.

glad i got that off my chest

on the whole neil another great event , i think more liason with hotel to iron out a few gripes and you have a top quality event.

bob have to agree with ya man, the amount of **** that went on in that cash game was dreadful and i do love a bit of banter at the table but that was a joke, i think it boiled down to people getting too drunk and them angry monsters coming out...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,793 ✭✭✭bops

DeVore wrote:

DeV.

You're such a poor player Tom that words cannot express it - you are a calling station who can't even laydown KK preflop to a person of my talent

I think your call was just tilt considering I staked you with bottm pair agaist your AI call for a gutshot on the cash table the night before

BTW the orbit before in the tournie when you rasied my BB from the button - i came over the top with 6 8 !!!!

Stick that in your eye you jammy little luckbox :D

EDIT: BTW excellent job Neill - no complaints here ta ta

• Registered Users Posts: 446 ✭✭pppspecial

another top notch tourny no more i can say that hasnt been said already and fair play to fish with chips aka john ward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,577 ✭✭✭mormank

DeVore wrote:

DeV.
    How many times di i have the chance to stuff you in the side event and failed everytime, once with aces!!! Don't think ill even need to identify myself for you to know who i am dev.. at least you cashed, ill collect my 10 percent of u the next time.. :-)
    On the tournie. Even tho i lost money over the weekend i came away with a very positive opinion of the experience. Everything already mentioned tho, startin on time, good dealers etc.. but who was that wankeeer on the mike!! :-)
    like you said neil,in a world where buy ins are gettin bigger and bigger there is an awful lot to be said for a slightly smaller buy in and larger fields with great structures. good job guys!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 601 ✭✭✭C4Queen

Hi there lads!

The Swedish girl here, not that many of us so shouldn’t be so hard to figure this one out ;-)

Am absolutely definitely impressed on how you arrange this size of an event. Very classy and smoothly everything just kept on going, hey hey big up!! Compeer to other “local” events one been to around Europe this was by far the best.

Sweet structur that created real nice poker.

Darn good job Neill and the team!!!

And one can’t really complain about the atmosphere here guys; you really know how to treat a girl eh? I think I sat around the table for 30 seconds before someone with very little hair ;-) and an enormously passion for Heineken says: nice tits sweetie! ;)

I mean… that’s an ice breaker for sure!

The table I ended up on at main event was hilarious fun, the word battle where quick and sharp. If I dared I would post some of them but somehow I think I rather don’t. But make no mistake, I do remember all the promises I got ;-) and I will be back!

So no one of you can run and hide.

And Mark, the best dealer I ever came across, love you man—3 touuuuuuusand! And it wasn’t your fault I went out first from FT on 250 side event, I mean I just asked you for no 10 I dint say no J, so completely my fault.:rolleyes:

Or what a bout all the offers about quickies in the toilet ;-) one gotta be proud of all those compliments, especially from that man that “used” to have very very much hair and played Omaha very early in the morning.

Food?

Well I didn’t eat anything but a toast sandwich until Sunday night at the hotel in Dublin that I had to stay in missing my flight due to queuing into Dublin hence to a football game…. But as long as the waiting are for a decent reason am ok! And as long as am home to the big game on wendsday!

Ah well guys ..the cider you can keep,:eek: even though it tasted a bit better with some beer in it, thx “Ronney boy”, but far from that, big big thanks for all the drinks and as one say back home here: -keep em coming!

And to the poor bugger that several times in a road run into my monster hands such 910, 67, 34, I mean, totally winning hands, but the fact that I 3 times in a road told him his exactly hands before him flipping them up, he ended up calling me a Norwegian witch and my respond on that was simply and easily: ship it baby!

And to the more or less disturbed person who forgot a jumper in my room,, good you didn’t bother to come and get it, it could have cost you a black eye.

(no one can blame me for telling names right)

So hang in there and look forward to see you all soon again!
    Feel free to pop me an email, I never sleep anyway.

ac@mermaidpoker.com

Anna Colley

C4Queen wrote:

And to the more or less disturbed person who forgot a jumper in my room,, good you didn’t bother to come and get it, it could have cost you a black eye.

(no one can blame me for telling names right)

Anna Colley

I didnt catch the person's name but this storey needs to be told Anna its better then the Captain tom and flipper incedent from last year:D

nicnicnic wrote:
    I didnt catch the person's name but this storey needs to be told Anna its better then the Captain tom and flipper incedent from last year:D

I agree 100%. Come on Anna, it was the funniest thing i've heard in years!!! Nice to meet you by the way :)

And nickey how do you know the story dear!!!!!!!

someone has been rattling and are up for a huge spank ;)

No sorry this story can and will only be told live and direct from me personally guys... so you better invite me over if you wanna hear it!

And hey... not EVEN i know the name of him!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 567 ✭✭✭Solksjaer

Whatever did become of the gansey ?

Nobody said there would be Swedish girls at this, nobody said.:mad:

Solksjaer wrote:
    Whatever did become of the gansey ?

Nobody said there would be Swedish girls at this, nobody said.:mad:

well i think it was only one ;-) but if you ask around i guess they will say 20, since i have a way of sounding like that...:D

""Nice to meet you by the way """ nice meeting you to flushdraw, but honestley dont have a clue who you are LOL but since it was nice to meet everyone, almost, so very NICE!!!

anna

C4Queen wrote:
    Or what a bout all the offers about quickies in the toilet ;-) one gotta be proud of all those compliments, especially from that man that “used” to have very very much hair and played Omaha very early in the morning.

I'm sure i know who this is but i just cant think at the moment :p

C4Queen wrote:
    cant trust those Man U guys!

good detective work:)

Bops, please see my other post about ultra aggro fish deskilling the game. K thx bye :p:)

Anna, a spanking from a swedish female poker player? I know a few cash gamers who would pay good money for that! :) Nice playing with you (and no, whatever the story is... I wasnt involved!)

DeV.

nicnicnic wrote:
    good detective work:)

no no no no no hell no, it wasent him, your crazy man!!!

LOOOL.... HE i could easily have let to come and left his jumper ;-) and come back for it, like a 3 days event kind of :D

C4Queen wrote:
    no no no no no hell no, it wasent him, your crazy man!!!

LOOOL.... HE could easily have come and left his jumper ;-) and come back for it, like a 3 days event kind of :D

I'm pretty sure thats what he was trying to do!

Flushdraw wrote:
    I'm pretty sure thats what he was trying to do!

OMG OMG now this turned into something in totaly wrong direction very off topic :D, and am 100% sure your wrong. *i always get tangled into posting idiotic things but since am chick i get away with it most of the time ;)

Ok OK Anna we believe you. We ALL must have got the wrong end of the stick!

DeVore wrote:

Anna, a spanking from a swedish female poker player? I know a few cash gamers who would pay good money for that! :) Nice playing with you (and no, whatever the story is... I wasnt involved!)

DeV.

most likley nice playing with you too, but once again am cluless....:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,438 ✭✭✭jbravado

Literally no complaints-absolutley top class from start to finish.Wp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15 variance

yea absolutely top class event!! few too many drunks at cash tables but that is to be expected.

Thanks for all the comments all...

We are in the process of announcing 4 opens at the moment ...
    This will continue Yearly..

JAN -
    FEB - Coursing Fest First sunday - weds
    Team Event Waterford - end of Feb
    MARCH -
    APRIL
    MAY - Waterford Open 2008
    JUNE
    JULY
    AUGUST - Wexford Open - end of aug or start of sep
    SEP
    OCT - OPEN TBA START OF OCT
    NOV
    DEC - WINTER OPEN TBA 2ND WEEK IN DECEMBER

Going Forward we do not expect this to change and we will eventually get to a €1000 Buy in next year but all our €500 events will not become sats ....

I just feel that the Big buy ins are everywhere ..

N.B

Some rule changes with the Dealers we have changed since the weekend

1. Show one shoe all - If one card is shown players may request the other card .. - This will now be scrapped

2. Cards are Live until they hit the muck - The Line will come into play for both Chips and Cards

3. Dealer Button in Wrong position after hand is dealt - If two actions have occurred then then hand must continue

4. Dealers will be in earlier to just finalise all the BSP RULES so that they are all under the same Guidance

5.The Dreaded 200 chips will be sorted :D These were a printing mistake and the problem then was the 25 and 50 chips were of the same colour ...

Again thanks to all for travelling ,To all the dealers who travelled from all around the country thanks again this would be nothing without ye all .. See you at our future events

Neill K

RANKING RESULTS ARE UP

Results are up on - http://pokerdb.thehendonmob.com/festival.php?a=r&n=4448
    Pokerineurope.com
    Blondepoker.com

http://pokerdb.thehendonmob.com/festival.php?a=r&n=4448

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 635 ✭✭✭Gus Ivey

Hi Neil,

Just a minor mistake in the results on hendon mob.

John Magill - or little Johnny, you were saying all weekend finished 12th in WSOP ME as a joke - his result his actually entered as the John MaGill...:p

Gus Ivey wrote:
    Hi Neil,

Just a minor mistake in the results on hendon mob.

John Magill - or little Johnny, you were saying all weekend finished 12th in WSOP ME as a joke - his result his actually entered as the John MaGill...:p

Sorted:D