Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

German Shepherds

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭corkimp

Cold - Tyson seems to be looking at you as if to say - " i know youhave my food, i ain't budging til i get it!" lol. He's beautiful.

Actually, I would like to know and if anyone can answer my question I'd appreciate it. Can you show a dog that is neutered? I was considering originally breeding from Esri in the future but to be honest, unless I won the lotto, had my own house and didn't have to work, I don't think we can look after a breeding female as we'd probably be working so she would be on her own for a few hours and I'd rather one of us was there. Anyone have an idea about it? cheers.

• Registered Users Posts: 744 ✭✭✭cold_filter

corkimp wrote:
    Cold - Tyson seems to be looking at you as if to say - " i know youhave my food, i ain't budging til i get it!" lol. He's beautiful.

Actually, I would like to know and if anyone can answer my question I'd appreciate it. Can you show a dog that is neutered? I was considering originally breeding from Esri in the future but to be honest, unless I won the lotto, had my own house and didn't have to work, I don't think we can look after a breeding female as we'd probably be working so she would be on her own for a few hours and I'd rather one of us was there. Anyone have an idea about it? cheers.

We were sharing a pedigree jumbone!!! I held it in my mouth and helf the camera in front of it as it was the only way he would sit still!!

PS i didnt actually eat the jumbone! the smell good though!!

I'm not sure about showing a neteured dog though, my gran showed her dogs but they were all intact

Dave and I brought her for a walk there 10 mins ago. She saw our neighbours husky going for a walk an tried following him (typicial took me 10 mins to walk her 50m!). She loves sniffing the grass also stops to listen and watch people and kids around. 4 Kids saw her and ran towards her. she was ok until they got to 5m away and she hid behind me. she did cower a little - i'm trying to socialise her but it will take time as she is nearly 14 weeks old now - hence the stubborness on the lead! lol.
    Had a feeling she might need to be intact for showing - guess its more for breeding purposes.

Esri growled a little at a loose dog - jack russell type male dog. She didn't notice him at first, I saw him first so I turned and was watching him. I raised my voice but made it sound deep saying "get" probably sounded like a growl. She turned round, watched for a little and when he approached more, she started a low growl - first time I heard her growl! Her shackles stood up on end and she kinda sneezed (blew air out through her nose hard) and growled a little more. He stayed back but when he tried getting closer I made a run at him and shouted at him, while she watched slightly growling. He ran off but she sat to attention watching making sure he was gone.
    Not sure should I be proud of her ( I am a little!) or worried in case she does this to all dogs. I want to socialise her more but only with dogs who are under their owners control - I think she was feeling a little threatened and followed my lead. What you guys think? She is getting confident and interested in her walks. She is also sleeping outside. To be honest, the dogs should be more worried bout me then her! lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭Alfasudcrazy

All young dogs (in my view) will be like that at first. Mine were like that too but now they generally take no notice of other dogs as they are usually too interested in what each other (of mine) are doing.

My main worry is that they assume all other dogs are friendly - which so far they have been correct about but of course they may have to learn the hard way that some are not.

My view is that especially if its your only dog it will always want to meet other dogs during walks. Leaving your dog actually meet other dogs is part of its socialization.

Always better to have at least two dogs so they can learn off each other and of course keep each other company.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭michelleans

corkimp congradulations on your absolute little beauty :)

we will definitely be needing regular updates and photos they grow soooo quickly! And so big :p Enjoy her. Lots and lots of socialisation is the best thing for her. She will grow out of it with enough socialisation. Take her everywhere you can with you. I like to sit outside on benches where alot of people pass. They usually will stop and rub a puppy especially such a cute one as yours :)

When my boy was a pup we went on the bus, train, into shops, met lots of people, men women and children and other animals not just dogs. Loud noises different objects everything and anything. Then he grew into a confident well socialised (still pup) 12 month old now :D

kashi would love to see some photos if you can get them online!

cold_filter your baby is a cutie :)

Couple more of Jake's pics as I'm at home now :D

P1060173.jpg

P1060210.jpg

she got scared of cars - mainly cos of boy racers with noisy exhausts racing past (in a housing estate). She is getting over it. Got her to sit if smething she didn't like was passing - getting less frequent thank god! she is so spoilt she has our gazebo over her box so she doesn't get soaked to get her food. Lol. It's not working, she runs round the garden after her ball like a looney! Will try get her to walk out as much as possible - she is ok with adults just a little wary of kids. Who'd blame her really! Got to take her out tomorrow in the car, maybe to Tramore beach for a walk or to a park. Hope to bring her up to visit my family in Cork next week if she is ok in the car. If I do I'll take a pic of Esri and my sister Kashi's dog Kesh when I'm up to show ye. :) If Kashi wants that is!
    Jake is gorgeous michelleans! Are ye going to breed from him? I'm still in two minds bout Esri. As much as I'd love to, not sure if I'd feel comfy with breeding her in such a built up area. I have less then 3 months to decide - to breed or to neuter. I'd rather not work if I do breed her. What you lot think?

When the noisy cars pass it's a good idea to get her to sit - everything is about calming the dog. If she does act up and get scared or excited whatever you do don't pet her - it won't make her feel better it will only re enforce her scared behaviour something you don't want to enforce. Also try working on FOCUS when you see something coming up that she is nervous or exited about call her name get her to look into your eyes and focus on you. Treat and slowly extend the time she has to look at you to get the treat. This is great for training afterwards too as she full attention will switch directly onto you in just one word. What about puppy classes? Lots of playing with little kids?

Sounds like you're having a great time with her :) Would love to see photos.

I'm not sure about breeding from him - It won't be a decision to make until he reaches 2 years old anyway. Definitely won't be doing any breeding until that age at least. So we are still thinking about. You couldn't deicde until she is at least a year old whether you will or not anyway she will need to be hip scored at that stage.

Oh I know she needs to be hip scored if I am considering breeding from her. Thing is I need to decide myself as there are two intact male boxers either side of us! lol All I need is for her to come on heat and have every male in the parish after her!
    Brought her up home (forgot camera!) to my parents and introduced her to Kesh (kashi's dog) and molly. She had a gala! She was so tired she slept all the way home thank god. Will be probably going up sat 23rd or so again so will try remember the camera! Shes ok with big dogs but she is quite rough and dominant over my friends cavalier king charles - lady, so we don't know if its ok to leave Esri there with her.
    She isn't too keen on treats to be honest - unless its pure meat aka chicken, beef or lamb! Lol. How many can say that! :D will take pictures ofher at the weekend.

She is settled in totally now. she tried going up the stairs, keeping her body down low as she climbs up. Up isn't a problem - it's down she has to be "encouraged" to do. I'm trying to organise a trip up to cork next week but I have one problem. Hope I can get some pointers. Esri gets sick in the car. Her nose gets wet and she looks depressed looking. I know its probably motion sickness, but anyone know what I can do to help her? Will a static strap on the car help?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,819 ✭✭✭✭peasant

Stairs are very hard on the joints for dogs and the necessary movement doesn't suit their setup well.

Go easy on stairs as long as she is a pup ...better still ...try to avoid stairs as much as you can while she's still growing. Especially with a German Sheperd with their inbred back and hip problems, anything that can trigger or aggravate this should be avoided.
    Even fully grown she best shouldn't be climbing stairs all day long ...it'll benefit her later in life.

As for car sickness ...keep practising. Start with short trips only that have something nice (like a walk on the beach or whatever) at the end. Keep the trips short and as she gets more used to it make them longer.

Try and avoid long ordeals in the beginning, as this could spoil car travel for her for a long time, possibly forever.

And no ...static straps don't work :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

They certainly are kings among dogs. I love the pic of the one reading :D

Tell me. Is there any difference between Alsations and German Shepards?

German sheperds became "Alsations" during WWI ...when anything German became soemwhat unfashionable in the English speaking world (same time when Battenberg became Mountbatten and Sachsen-Coburg-Gotha became Windsor :D )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

peasant wrote:
    Sachsen-Coburg-Gotha became Windsor :D )

Oh. Is that QE2's name?

She decided she'd try follow me up the stairs to be honest, it was getting her down was the problem! I don't want her to do it often to be honest, as I'd worry about her hips. As for her in the car, unfortunately my family are at least 1hr 30 mins drive away depending on traffic. I don't want to scar her but when she gets to my parents, she has 2 dogs to play with - mainly Kesh, Kashi's dog. Tried not feeding her before going but she still trying to get sick -bringing up a white foam - she only did that when I got her but will try get sick even if on an empty stomach. Will ask the vet if I can do anything else for her as I really want her to go in the car and have good times and know there will be some at the end. She was ok when Dave sat with her on the back seat cuddling her but we can't do that every trip.
    As for walks on the beach, I've been told the majority of the beaches here in waterford ban dogs on the beach in peak season due to owners not cleaning up after them and general safety. Would love to bring her for a walk on one though. She's getting on grand - has the cheek to climb up on the couch now! She hasn't gotten the hang of jumping yet so literally climbs up on it! Minx! lol. She's getting heavy to lift into the car now - I'm the only one doing it - Dave's afaid he'll hurt her! The joys. Better go and leave others post here huh. Night all - thanks for the tips.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭noels little bu

What a beautiful dog you have. I had a german shephard called max. Sadly he died last summer. I had him for 7 years and he passed away due to cancer. I miss him so much every day cos he was such a loyal and loving friend. treasure each day you have with your pets cos they are worth every second of it.
    R.I.P. MAX

• Closed Accounts Posts: 106 ✭✭noels little bu

what a beautiful dogs. i had a german shephard who passed away last summer. i had him for 7 years and cancer took him from me. he was the most loyal and loving dog and a faithful friend and i miss him every day that passes. treasure all your dogs and give them as much love as possible beacuse they are worth every second of it.

R.I.P. MAX

noels little bu : Sadto hear it. I had a GSD who died when I was 15 y.o. She was the most loyal dog we had. She went blind at 6 or 7 years old and had to be PTS when she was 9 as her hips went and was in agony. They really are fantastic dogs, I treasure Esri, she is so loving.

I have loads of pictures of Esri and my family's dogs Molly (mongrel) and Kashi's dog Kesh. I'll put the links to some of the pictures as well as a link to the page which would show all the pictures together.
    Myphotobucket page with all the pictures:
    http://s136.photobucket.com/albums/q195/corkimp/

the pics

Kashi's doggie Kesh
    http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q195/corkimp/Kesh.jpg
    Molly and Esri
    http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q195/corkimp/Mollyandesri.jpg
    Esri in Long grass
    http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q195/corkimp/esriinlonggrass.jpg
    Esri Trotting along
    http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q195/corkimp/esritrotting.jpg
    What's that?!
    http://i136.photobucket.com/albums/q195/corkimp/Whatsthat.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Vikings

Somebody help me!

For the last hour i've been sent pictures and video's of our new GSD puppy and i'm stuck in work... can't take it any more!!!! He's so damn cute and lovely I just want to go home to him right now! Havn't been this excited since... well in a long time.

He's a 10 week old GSD, brown paws and bit of brown on his head and black the rest of him from what I can see in the pictures, will throw some up in the morning if im not too busy :D only thing is I wont get to see him till I finish work at half 7 tomorrow morning :( so cruel work can be..

Anyone got any advice or general tips that I can read through the night with regard to GSD puppies?

And here he is:

dsc00071xr8.jpg

dsc00074ru6.jpg

dsc00083cs9.jpg

dsc00076aa2.jpg

dsc00078vx0.jpg

He's so placcid as well, thought he would be a lot more active than he is but I think he is just lonely... lots of crying going on at the minute as he was split from the last of his brothers last night which cant have helped. Lovely dog, still stuck for a name though!

Only 10 weeks old so still a lot of training and veterinary work to be done, can anyone provide any pointers, tips to help us along the first few days/weeks with regard to... everything GSD!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 48 kashi

Oooooo he is sooooooo cute. I love how adorable they are at that age. It's hard to believe my looney was that cute once. He was, of course, but I still love looking at puppies.

As for a name, just go with his personality, and yours too. As for some websites you could try www.germanshepherds.com. It even has a section for some names. Google is a wonderful thing..........just search for GSDs and you will find loads of websites.

Good luck with your adorable little bundle of mischief and spoil him a little.

kashi

Mustangs - hows your pup settling in? He looks gorgeous! Wish I got my pup at the fluffy stage - got mine at 12/13 weeks old - the leggy stage! lol but GSD are such joys to own.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭palaver

Nature always works :D
    The cute face, the tapsyness (if there is such a word), the cuddlyness, the utter emotion and love they splash around. The baby instinct kicks in.
    That's how they get us all the time. And yes, I fall for it anytime, too.

But wait until he gets older. German shepherds aren't the easiest to control, and you need to control them big time. Grew up with one, Olaf (a Scandinavian name, not my choice), was a sweetheart towards us kids, all over us and slobbering, but killed our rabbits, chased all cats and growled away potential boy-/girlfriends. Not funny, when you're 16.

So don't get fooled about the cuddly thing.

Didn't read the whole thread. Just reacted like Pavlov to the pictures ...:o

Things are going well... he has been named Titan. (not my choice but its not so bad)

He's decided he wants to chew on everything! That goes from socks/ankles/trousers to wallpaper and garden plants!

He also goes crazy when he see's his reflection in the cooker, he could sit there for hours just barking away at himself its hilarious :D And he is so clumsy as well, the amount of times he ends up falling flat on his face, its bound to take a toll on the brain when he gets older :D

He's to go back to the vets tomorrow to get more shots and then he's done for the year. He's getting bigger already... and the sound off his paws when he runs and jumps! Deafening...

• Registered Users Posts: 139 ✭✭tattoo

hello out there,

loved the pictures of the germans, got two myself holly and dudley. but i want a new dog, and i am downsizing. anybody out there have any sausage dogs. i want to call him hubert.

tattoos gf

conchita ;)

All you German sheperd lovers, read this thread

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2055117692

Only a matter of time until someone's gonna come and take your dog away and kill it! :eek: